Page 2 of 3

Re: Very Good News: Rohr won't be sacked- Pinnick

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:26 am
by Odas
deanotito wrote:Finally, some sanity
I think NOT terminating coach Rohr is the best option 'for now.' If this type of result repeats itself, then Rohr's termination will be more than justified

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 12:31 am
by Odas
No sane person would fire a coach whose team is on top of his group table just because he did not get desired result against a particular team. I called for his firing during the game in Benin, but that was because I lost my sanity temporarily after Sierra Leone scored the 4th goal.
Hmm, 1Naija has recovered from his anger. Hey, you are not the only one, bro. Though I didn't watch the 4-4 draw (game), but I was drained also.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:03 am
by vancity eagle
ohenhen1 wrote:At this stage it is not stupid. It is not foolish to fire Rohr. Rohr hasn't really improved the team. There is still 2 years until the next world cup. It is foolish to delay and drag your feet and then decide to fire him when it is too late like they normally do in the NFF. Fire him now or don't fire him at all. I don't want to see a situation where the fools decide to fire him 6 months before a major tournament.

I go talk real. Rohr can't win any major tournament for Nigeria. You are wasting your time with him. Source for the funds to pay him his 1.2 million dollars and end his tenure. Bring in Amuneke and let him pick his own staff. Also look at a long term replacement in case Amuneke is not the answer.
So what happens if Amuneke cant get the team to play well? After how many games should he be fired?
If Amuneke is a disaster, you fire him too, but you tell the public the truth like you don't expect the team to do well at the world cup. Hire a coach and have a long term strategy. Keeping Rohr on the job now is the dumbest thing i have ever heard. There is still 2 years left until the next world cup. Nigeria shouldn't go to the next world cup to learn.
So 2 years but you say we should not expect to do well ?

What the heck is the point then ?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:06 am
by vancity eagle
Otitokoro wrote:And what will be the basis of your firing him? Failure to meet deliverables? No, because he met both on his first contract - Qualification for WC (check) and Qualification and reaching semi finals of AFCON (check). Or should we fire him based on the Nigerian fans belief that he is not 'tactical' enough and can't win anything?
So, fire him now, even when he is clearly on track to meet/exceed on his next deliverable. Sure. Real smart.
Again, for some context, this is a man that has the best win/loss percentage of arguably ANY Nigerian coach, including the so-called greatest coach, Clemens Westerhof.
ohenhen1 wrote:At this stage it is not stupid. It is not foolish to fire Rohr. Rohr hasn't really improved the team. There is still 2 years until the next world cup. It is foolish to delay and drag your feet and then decide to fire him when it is too late like they normally do in the NFF. Fire him now or don't fire him at all. I don't want to see a situation where the fools decide to fire him 6 months before a major tournament.

I go talk real. Rohr can't win any major tournament for Nigeria. You are wasting your time with him. Source for the funds to pay him his 1.2 million dollars and end his tenure. Bring in Amuneke and let him pick his own staff. Also look at a long term replacement in case Amuneke is not the answer.
Basis for firing him.

1. The team is regressing defensively
2. The team is regressing offensivelly
3. Poor in game management

If I see progress, light at the end of the tunnel, I will support keeping Rohr. The guy has reached his ceiling, I can't see the team getting better with him as coach. It is time to move on.

See you are just a dishonest fool.

How on earth can you claim the team is regressing offensively, when we just scored 4 goals within a half hour, and the qualifying game before that we scored another 4. Please tell me when last SE was scoring 4 goals in a match.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:27 am
by ohenhen1
Otitokoro wrote:And what will be the basis of your firing him? Failure to meet deliverables? No, because he met both on his first contract - Qualification for WC (check) and Qualification and reaching semi finals of AFCON (check). Or should we fire him based on the Nigerian fans belief that he is not 'tactical' enough and can't win anything?
So, fire him now, even when he is clearly on track to meet/exceed on his next deliverable. Sure. Real smart.
Again, for some context, this is a man that has the best win/loss percentage of arguably ANY Nigerian coach, including the so-called greatest coach, Clemens Westerhof.

Basis for firing him.

1. The team is regressing defensively
2. The team is regressing offensivelly
3. Poor in game management

If I see progress, light at the end of the tunnel, I will support keeping Rohr. The guy has reached his ceiling, I can't see the team getting better with him as coach. It is time to move on.

See you are just a dishonest fool.

How on earth can you claim the team is regressing offensively, when we just scored 4 goals within a half hour, and the qualifying game before that we scored another 4. Please tell me when last SE was scoring 4 goals in a match.
NIgeria 4 Sierra Leone 4

Nigeria 0 Sierra Leone 0 (What is Sierra Leone ranking? Mighty Sierra Leone)

Nigeria 0 Algeria 1

Nigeria 1 Tunisia 1

Last 4 games for Nigeria. The guy threw a 4 goal lead away at home to Sierra Leone. Mighty Sierra Leone.

The current trajectory of the Eagles won't cut it. Some thing has to change. Pay the man off and move on.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:36 am
by ohenhen1
Notables under Rohr.

1. Nigeria was at the world cup to learn.
2. Nigeria lost a game to Madagascar for the first time.
3. Nigeria first round exit at the World cup, regressed from the 2nd round exit in 2014.
4. Golden Bronze at Afcon, regressed from winning the Afcon in 2013 the last time we were at the tournament.
5. Lost two straight games to Algeria. A team that we consistently beat. I remember the 5-1 win against Algeria

6. First time in our history that we gave up to 4 goal lead at home.

7. Back to back draw to the 120th ranked team in the world. Mighty Sierra Leone.

We have lowered our standards for a Oyibo man. I still can't believe it. We threw a 4 goal lead away at home to the 120th ranked team in the world. It is time to move on. Enough of this nonsense.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:56 am
by ohenhen1
If we had the Sierra Leone coach coaching Nigeria and Rohr coaching Sierra Leone. Which team do you think will win ?

@Vancity Eagles

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:30 am
by wanaj0
I called for his firing during the game in Benin, but that was because I lost my sanity temporarily after Sierra Leone scored the 4th goal.

Bros we are all human, and we all have emotions.

But sanity is being able to deal with those emotions and think rationally in the aftermath. I became ambivalent after the two matches, but the more I thought about it, sacking a coach who is leading his group is just completely asinine.

This angry mob mentality never leads anywhere productive, and usually leads to further destruction.

I am not a nihalist.

Rohr is not the greatest, but I do not see anything positive comming if we fire him and replace him with another journeyman, or even worse an unqualified former SE.
You and your ilks not only call for the sack of coaches who topped their groups but you actually wish DEATH on one of them. Got so bad that you actually supported another team against the SE.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:37 am
by wanaj0
maceo4 wrote:Cool :thumb: , if you gonna stick by your man stick by him all the way through, but don't now change your mind at the eleventh hour when there is not enough time to find a proper replacement before the next tournament. To me, this was a good time to explore a proper replacement, so if they are happy with **** stick with him through the next two tournaments...regardless of outcome
We should have sacked him after the WC! A coach that cannot get us to the 2nd round should be sacked.

Now that we have decided to continue to learn in tournaments, then we should stick with him.

The bar is so low now that Rohr will be the one to decide when to leave!

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 7:14 am
by Damunk
maceo4 wrote:Cool :thumb: , if you gonna stick by your man stick by him all the way through, but don't now change your mind at the eleventh hour when there is not enough time to find a proper replacement before the next tournament. To me, this was a good time to explore a proper replacement, so if they are happy with **** stick with him through the next two tournaments...regardless of outcome
We should have sacked him after the WC! A coach that cannot get us to the 2nd round should be sacked.

Now that we have decided to continue to learn in tournaments, then we should stick with him.

The bar is so low now that Rohr will be the one to decide when to leave!
:roll: :roll: :roll:
All this bitterness on display becos dem no gree sack...
Are you an agent-in-waiting?
:taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 7:16 am
by Damunk
I called for his firing during the game in Benin, but that was because I lost my sanity temporarily after Sierra Leone scored the 4th goal.

Bros we are all human, and we all have emotions.

But sanity is being able to deal with those emotions and think rationally in the aftermath. I became ambivalent after the two matches, but the more I thought about it, sacking a coach who is leading his group is just completely asinine.

This angry mob mentality never leads anywhere productive, and usually leads to further destruction.

I am not a nihalist.

Rohr is not the greatest, but I do not see anything positive comming if we fire him and replace him with another journeyman, or even worse an unqualified former SE.
You and your ilks not only call for the sack of coaches who topped their groups but you actually wish DEATH on one of them. Got so bad that you actually supported another team against the SE.
Name them.
I dare you to name the 'ilks'. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 8:52 am
by mcal
...fire him means a hefty payout, the money they don't have.
Rohr is not Nigerian coach they can kick around. He will go to a European court, and the NFA will pay thru their teeth.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:35 am
by delisyomie don
all you guys dont give up ,fire this or that ??? is only football for God sake ,and the man is still leading qualifier table anyway,or is it because is a white man!!!!why dont you guys fire
Muhammadu Buhari ,or the senators or governors that they dont do there job for fellow country people lol

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 11:45 am
delisyomie don wrote:all you guys dont give up ,fire this or that ??? is only football for God sake ,and the man is still leading qualifier table anyway,or is it because is a white man!!!!why dont you guys fire
Muhammadu Buhari ,or the senators or governors that they dont do there job for fellow country people lol
I don't think you thought this post through. How can you fire a democratic elected president?

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 1:46 pm
by Orion
I guess it's official that he is staying.

Those of you salivating at the thought of his sack, shield your swords and go find something better to do. Rohr will go when the time is right, and that is after the 2022 world cup. :wink:

--------------------------------------

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/africa/55014657

Gernot Rohr: Nigeria Football Federation refuses to dismiss coach

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) president Amaju Pinnick has insisted there is no plan to sack coach Gernot Rohr despite mounting pressure.

Rohr has faced scrutiny following a run of four games without a win and more criticism followed after the Super Eagles let a 4-0 lead slip at home as Sierra Leone fought back to draw 4-4 in their 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier.

It further increased after the country's sports minister Sunday Dare took to social media to question the 'suitability and competence' of the coach on the back of the 0-0 draw in the reverse fixture.

"Nobody is happy about what happened against Sierra Leone in both matches," Pinnick told BBC Sport Africa

"But it is not enough to sack the coach because his team is still top of the Nations Cup group after four matches.

"His statistics speaks volume for him, so on what indexes do we want to sack him considering the contract recently signed by both parties.

"No matter how emotional and disappointed the fans are, there's no basis to sack him now and he deserves to keep his job."

Rohr took charge of the three-time African champions in August 2016 and led them to a third place finish at the 2019 African Cup of Nations - after the team had missed back to back tournaments in 2015 and 2017.

But he has faced unrelenting criticism over tactics and choice of players from the local media, former players and disappointed fans.

However, Pinnick has backed the German to lead the West African nation to the delayed continental showpiece event in 2022 and the World Cup in Qatar same year, as agreed in his recently extended two-year contract.

"When you look at his performance, where he has won 29 matches, drew 14 and lost 10, you can say that is enough to back him," said Pinnick.

"Yes, the performance in the last two games has not gone down well with some people, but we need to be professional, honest and respectful in how we analyse things."

Interestingly, Rohr has been widely credited with assembling a young team made up of players who had previously represented their country of birth at age-group levels.

Yet his critics argued that obsession 'with foreign-born players' has led to his decision to overlook players from the domestic league in his squad.

Rohr's defence is that Nigeria's best players are based in Europe and he would always pick local players good enough to compete at international level.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:15 pm
by ohenhen1
Absolute rubbish, they should have sacked him after the WC instead they gave him a new contract. Pinnick must also go.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 2:17 pm
by ohenhen1
Nigeria is talented enough to qualify out of Africa. But we have no chance against a well organized, better coached side like Algeria or teams like England and etc.

Posted: Sat Nov 21, 2020 6:52 pm
by mcal
...Nigeria is too talented enough to be king of the world/Africa in infrastructures. But we have no chance against corruption, tribalism, nepotism, scams and all vs top modern world/Africa like Algeria, England.

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:33 am
by Cellular
ahidjo2 wrote:Pinnick: Under-Fire Rohr Won’t Be Sacked
President of the Nigeria Football Federation Amaju Pelvin Pinnick has reiterated his support for Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr despite recent calls for the German dismissal, reports Completesports.com.

Rohr came under intense criticism after the Super Eagles failed to beat the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone in their 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying double-header.

The Super Eagles were forced to a 4-4 draw by the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium Benin City last Friday, while both sides battled to a 0-0 draw in the reverse fixture on Tuesday at the Siaka Stevens Stadium, Freetown...

https://www.completesports.com/pinnick- ... be-sacked/

I really dislike talking football with fans of certain teams in the EPL. And Pinnick is a fan of such a team that will remain nameless.

Rohr doesn't reflect the way we want football to be played. We have a football philosophy contrary to what some of you might think.

This is year 5, no? How many more years? Who should he draw/lose to for fans to be calling for his head? Or is this now the new normal?

THE JOB OF FANS IS TO KEEP THE FOOT OF THE FA AND COACH ON THE FIRE.

If our aim is to get COP (Certificate of Participation) and have no expectations even playing against football minors, since we know having such expectations against big teams are misplaced with Rohr, then we should keep Rohr.

Pinnick has made his bed with Rohr and his foreign legion... what is sad are fans justifying and excusing results they won't tolerate from a Naijarian but with Rohr, they can't help with excuses.

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 12:47 am
by 1naija
ahidjo2 wrote:Pinnick: Under-Fire Rohr Won’t Be Sacked
President of the Nigeria Football Federation Amaju Pelvin Pinnick has reiterated his support for Super Eagles head coach Gernot Rohr despite recent calls for the German dismissal, reports Completesports.com.

Rohr came under intense criticism after the Super Eagles failed to beat the Leone Stars of Sierra Leone in their 2022 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying double-header.

The Super Eagles were forced to a 4-4 draw by the Leone Stars at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium Benin City last Friday, while both sides battled to a 0-0 draw in the reverse fixture on Tuesday at the Siaka Stevens Stadium, Freetown...

https://www.completesports.com/pinnick- ... be-sacked/

I really dislike talking football with fans of certain teams in the EPL. And Pinnick is a fan of such a team that will remain nameless.

Rohr doesn't reflect the way we want football to be played. We have a football philosophy contrary to what some of you might think.

This is year 5, no? How many more years? Who should he draw/lose to for fans to be calling for his head? Or is this now the new normal?

THE JOB OF FANS IS TO KEEP THE FOOT OF THE FA AND COACH ON THE FIRE.

If our aim is to get COP (Certificate of Participation) and have no expectations even playing against football minors, since we know having such expectations against big teams are misplaced with Rohr, then we should keep Rohr.

Pinnick has made his bed with Rohr and his foreign legion... what is sad are fans justifying and excusing results they won't tolerate from a Naijarian but with Rohr, they can't help with excuses.
What is this football philosophy we have? Who established it?

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 3:30 pm
by Molue Conductor
I think NOT terminating coach Rohr is the best option 'for now.' If this type of result repeats itself, then Rohr's termination will be more than justified
We dream of a new coach thinking about how much better things could be. And forgetting how much worse things could be

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 5:52 pm
by Enugu II
Molue Conductor wrote:
We dream of a new coach thinking about how much better things could be. And forgetting how much worse things could be
Molue Conductor,

If we are to be afraid of how worse it could be then we have no ambition to be successful. There is always risk involved in trying to be better. If you are seeking a risk-free environment, my brother, you will not find it except at the bottom of the cellar.

Posted: Sun Nov 22, 2020 6:16 pm
by ohenhen1
mcal wrote:...fire him means a hefty payout, the money they don't have.
Rohr is not Nigerian coach they can kick around. He will go to a European court, and the NFA will pay thru their teeth.
They have the $1.2 million, they just don't want to pay it. And they can reach a structured buyout deal to pay him in installments. Got to cut your losses. Why did they renew his contract after the world cup?