Bartholomew Ogbeche

The Eagle
Bartholomew Ogbeche

Post by The Eagle »

So I see this news story about Barto Ogbeche transferring from Kerala Blasters to Mumbai City FC, both in the Indian League .... some eighteen years after featuring for the Eagles at the 2002 World Cup. Of course I have to look for video highlights. I couldn't find any from his new club Mumbai (they probably haven't started the season), but here are some clips of Ogbeche in action for Kerala in the recently concluded season.

So, the league seems to have 11 teams, with a 20-match regular season, during which Ogbeche played 16, scored 15, with 1 assist, albeit as his team's designated penalty taker. Should we cap him before India does .... or Kenya convinces him to naturalize? :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVX8wUWY2JM[/video]
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Re: Bartholomew Ogbeche

Some said he was an age cheat when he played for SE at the WC but here we 18rs later he's still a pro player in great shape. He literally looks the same as he did back then and just as quick. Very happy for him that he's still making a living as a player. He must have the longest active streak ever of all Nigerians players, can't think of a Nigerian that lasted 18yrs as a footballer.

This guy played for SE 3yrs before Mikel's 2005 wc and I think 4yrs same time Vince went to the wc. He's still playing!

Back then, Ogbeche was a good one. He played with Oga (JJ) in the same club, I forgot the name of the club, though.

No way this is the same Ogbeche :shock: :shock: No farking way!! :shock:

doctorollie

Post by doctorollie »

Odas wrote:Back then, Ogbeche was a good one. He played with Oga (JJ) in the same club, I forgot the name of the club, though.

PSG!

Odas wrote:Back then, Ogbeche was a good one. He played with Oga (JJ) in the same club, I forgot the name of the club, though.
:shock:
The Eagle

Post by The Eagle »

Scipio Africanus wrote:No way this is the same Ogbeche :shock: :shock: No farking way!! :shock:
E do you like film trick? :)

Think back to all the names and personalities from eighteen years ago .... from Mali'02 and Jap-Kor'02. So much has happened, it seems like so long ago. I enjoyed watching the clip of Ogbeche, still fit, still active, enjoying his football and earning cash. More power to him. I feel he could be making rupees for another four or five years.
The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.

doctorollie wrote:

PSG!

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I will take him over the basketball player that **** is in love with.

Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Amazing stuff!

Go Bartho go. Shame there was no bicycle kick amongst his goals :tic:

PS: Theres a black Messi up top alongside Bartho...?
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)

The Eagle wrote:So I see this news story about Barto Ogbeche transferring from Kerala Blasters to Mumbai City FC, both in the Indian League .... some eighteen years after featuring for the Eagles at the 2002 World Cup. Of course I have to look for video highlights. I couldn't find any from his new club Mumbai (they probably haven't started the season), but here are some clips of Ogbeche in action for Kerala in the recently concluded season.

So, the league seems to have 11 teams, with a 20-match regular season, during which Ogbeche played 16, scored 15, with 1 assist, albeit as his team's designated penalty taker. Should we cap him before India does .... or Kenya convinces him to naturalize? :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JVX8wUWY2JM[/video]

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

The Eagle wrote:
Scipio Africanus wrote:No way this is the same Ogbeche :shock: :shock: No farking way!! :shock:

Think back to all the names and personalities from eighteen years ago .... from Mali'02 and Jap-Kor'02. So much has happened, it seems like so long ago. I enjoyed watching the clip of Ogbeche, still fit, still active, enjoying his football and earning cash. More power to him. I feel he could be making rupees for another four or five years.

I think someone here on the CE stated back then that he knew him from secondary school....if that was to be believed, then Bart should be mid 40's by now.

Wow I noticed a huge poster-flag of his that the crowd here holding. Amazing how he's been underneath the radar all this while.

Playing in the low level Indian league at age "36" doesn't prove he used his real age. I don't know whether he did. I do feel like he was rushed into the SE. Agali and Yak in my opinion were more ready for the world cup, but were unfairly pushed out of the 2002 squad.

The Eagle wrote:

I think someone here on the CE stated back then that he knew him from secondary school....if that was to be believed, then Bart should be mid 40's by now.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The Eagle wrote:

I think the guy was claiming he was closer to 40s then so he should be in his 50s now :wink: :woot:

Good stuff though, bobo was always underrated, I remember I found clips from his PSG days and was like wow he actually was a baller.

damn impressive

Unbelievable. :clap: :clap: :clap:

Impressive.

Ogbeche attended FGC Okigwe.. Class of 1996 or 1997 i think..
Celebrity

Post by Celebrity »

Purity wrote:Ogbeche attended FGC Okigwe.. Class of 1996 or 1997 i think..
Class of 94 i think.

A friend of Mine was in JSS1 (1994) when Ogbeche was in SS3.

Celebrity wrote:
Class of 94 i think.

All this thinking and guessing na wa :tic:

Celebrity wrote:
Class of 94 i think.

where does that put him in terms of age? ~ 40? Where does that place his age as at the 2002 WC? ~ 22?

Not questioning your friend o...just asking.