Page 2 of 3

Re: Awoniyi in action vs Dortmund on ESPN+

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2020 11:34 pm
by mcal
mcal wrote:...good game from our boy, but it seems they play well against the best, on a better surface, with better staff and logistics than when the descend ANC matches and Nigeria FA.
How would you perform if they moved your job to Ebute meta with no power, water and you had to walk to the 5th floor office because there's no elevator?
...I won't accept the job, not desperate :biggrin:

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2020 11:54 pm
by Damunk
Flex Swift wrote:Full time 2-1 :Taiwo Awoniyi’s teams moves up to 5th position . Deserves a call up to the national team
At who's expense?
He has to be demonstrably better than the person he is displacing.
Unless of course, its just a friendly.

Posted: Fri Dec 18, 2020 11:58 pm
by maceo4
maceo4 wrote:Argh loses ball in his half and Dortmund equalizes with a venomous shot by Makoko, first Bundesliga goal - apparently youngest BL scorer...
You must be related to Bushboy or an agent for a Bushboy :woot:
What do you mean?

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 12:37 am
Flex Swift wrote:Full time 2-1 :Taiwo Awoniyi’s teams moves up to 5th position . Deserves a call up to the national team
At who's expense?
He's a better striker option to back up Osihmen than Nacho, only competition is Onuachu. Taiwo is doing better in a top league than all,other Nigerian strikers.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:16 am
by olu
Glad he is in form. An invite will be warranted if he continues scoring like this. Not convinced yet that he's better than Onuachu, Sadiq, Simy, or Maja. Will see how he continues to progress.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:38 am
by ohenhen1
Should be called up for a friendly.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:47 am
by Otitokoro
He offers much more than those 4 can, especially since he seems to be the only one of them that can play across the front 3 (in a 4-3-3 formation, which Nigeria plays). He was an extremely effective flanker for 1. FSV Mainz 05 last season (over this past summer) before his unfortunate concussion. None of those 4 can do that as effectively as Awoniyi.
olu wrote:Glad he is in form. An invite will be warranted if he continues scoring like this. Not convinced yet that he's better than Onuachu, Sadiq, Simy, or Maja. Will see how he continues to progress.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:55 am
by Otitokoro
The purpose of which would be what again?...
Considering the fact that he has played in every other set up (from U17 through U23) and knows the drill.
Not sure that would accomplish anything.
Playing in one of the top 3 leagues in the world should suffice.
ohenhen1 wrote:Should be called up for a friendly.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 2:08 am
by ohenhen1
Friendlies are used to test players. Don't see any one outside of Osimhen that is not replaceable in the SE squad.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 2:45 am
At who's expense?
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 9:19 am
by Adisboy
olu wrote:Glad he is in form. An invite will be warranted if he continues scoring like this. Not convinced yet that he's better than Onuachu, Sadiq, Simy, or Maja. Will see how he continues to progress.
Not sure you've actually watched him this season. If you have you wouldn't mention Onuachu, Sadiq, Simy or Maja. Recently against Bayern, he was fantastic, was a serious problem for Boateng & Alaba. In one instance sat Alaba on the floor with Neuer beaten but missed the post my milimeters. For me Awoniyi is clearly the next best striking option we have to Osimhen on current form. No question.

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 11:32 am
by Dammy
Adisboy wrote:
Not sure you've actually watched him this season. If you have you wouldn't mention Onuachu, Sadiq, Simy or Maja. Recently against Bayern, he was fantastic, was a serious problem for Boateng & Alaba. In one instance sat Alaba on the floor with Neuer beaten but missed the post my milimeters. For me Awoniyi is clearly the next best striking option we have to Osimhen on current form. No question.
Kpom!

Posted: Sat Dec 19, 2020 12:18 pm
by Damunk
Adisboy wrote:
I just saw the clip now.
Wow, if that ball had gone in..... :clap: :clap: :clap:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVgcB4_ieLE[/video]

Awoniyi is definitely coming into his own. Fast, powerful, skilful and his confidence is growing.
You are right, he is definitely a contender for the central striking role with the SE.

Life is funny sha.
This is the guy that in a star-studded U17 team, was second fiddle to Kelechi Iheanacho and Isaac Success.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 12:49 pm
by Dammy
At who's expense?
If an SE match was next week, he would definitely be in the squad. He's doing the business against top level international defenders, so I don't think he would have a problem with Lesotho or Benin Republic defences.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 1:24 pm
by Damunk
At who's expense?
If an SE match was next week, he would definitely be in the squad. He's doing the business against top level international defenders, so I don't think he would have a problem with Lesotho or Benin Republic defences.
Except maybe for one small matter of the pitch.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 3:39 pm
by Tobi17
On current form and considering the quality of the league he plays in, I would think he's ahead of those guys.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:31 pm
by mcal
At who's expense?
...won't it be nice if they bring that smooth epl pitch when next they come home to play :laugh:

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:53 pm
by Damunk
At who's expense?
...won't it be nice if they bring that smooth epl pitch when next they come home to play :laugh:
Abi o. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
What exactly is the magic required to maintain a top grade pitch that we can't achieve?
U have Nigerians working with NASA, doing brain surgery, even making the world famous nkwobi, yet ordinary pitch management dey hard us.
It doesn't make sense. :oops:

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 7:36 pm
by mcal
At who's expense?
What exactly is the magic required to maintain a top grade pitch that we can't achieve?
U have Nigerians working with NASA, doing brain surgery, even making the world famous nkwobi, yet ordinary pitch management dey hard us.
...grass cutting is a poor man job in Nigeria, so to say, oga no wan dirty him hands.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 8:08 pm
by Damunk
At who's expense?
...grass cutting is a poor man job in Nigeria, so to say, oga no wan dirty him hands.
If I had the interest, I'd set up a company strictly dedicated to pitch laying and maintenance in Naija.
Can it really be that difficult, or expensive?
Most of the people I see maintaining pitches out here are old men that have been doing it for years.
I'm sure theres a simple and basic science to it.

https://www.thegma.org.uk/learning

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 8:43 pm
by vancity eagle
To me Awoniyi seems to be a jam body type striker. I am not yet convinced and I watched this match.

Not sure he is what we need tbh.

If I were Rohr I would think outside the box and give Sadiq Umar a chance.

Goal scoring, technique, hold up play, dribbling and assists all in one. We have no other striker with all those abilities.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:24 pm
by Dammy
vancity eagle wrote:To me Awoniyi seems to be a jam body type striker. I am not yet convinced and I watched this match.

Goal scoring, technique, hold up play, dribbling and assists all in one. We have no other striker with all those abilities.
Sadiq has surprisingly good technique for a big man.

Posted: Sun Dec 20, 2020 11:54 pm
by Otitokoro
Well, so were Yekini, Amokachi and Aiyegbeni, to a degree, as some might argue. Yet, there was little or no doubt about their efficacy in the SE lineup.
The problem is virtually all the other options (save for Osimhen who is on the brink of being a super striker) come across as lightweight and tend to get pushed around, especially when facing big, burly center backs - which most teams (even on the African continent now) are leaning towards. Their hold up play and ball retention isn't up to scratch, as well as their ability to bring others into the play. They also lack the ability to play off the flanks.
Awoniyi, on the other hand, has demonstrated he is extremely strong on the ball and can't easily be muscled off the ball. That is an issue we have with all the other options - they come across as softies. He is also very good playing off the flanks, if necessary, as demonstrated during his time at FSV Mainz.
I feel he maps better into the SE than the other options.
vancity eagle wrote:To me Awoniyi seems to be a jam body type striker. I am not yet convinced and I watched this match.