Aswani wrote:
Dammy,
David Beckham was voted second best player in the world twice. This was a person that wasn't even the second best midfielder at any point at his clubside then. That is also why all of this voting by whoever doesn't register with me.
Finidi was a cog in the wheel with every Naija team he played in. Segun Odegami was the wheel at times.
To those who see fit to denigrate African football of the 70's and 80's just to belittle Segun Odegbami's ability and give fuel to pro-Finidi arguments, .
Tell us who here is "belittling Segun Odegbami's ability".
You accuse others of 'unfair play' only to go ahead and unfairly misrepresent their position?
Or are you saying that the audacity of the mere suggestion that Finidi was a better right winger is "belittling" in itself?
Quote:
how come Finidi's CV doesn't show him at clubs like Milan, Inter, Juve, Barcelona or Real Madrid. The cream of football clubs when he was at the top of his game.
Are you a Generation Z pikin??
Chief, we are not talking about 2021 here.
Or any time post-millennium.
Because
Ajax in Finidi's time was at the same level of greatness as the teams you mention. Probably even greater. Ajax beat Real Madrid like they stole something en route to beating AC Milan in the UEFA Champions League final of '95.
The following year in '96, they lost to Juventus on penalties aet, again in
the final.See how you are downplaying it all simply to enable your argument.
Quote:
Finidi was a good player but even as a right winger that made it in Europe, I cannot rate him above Segun Odegbami
If anyone is "belittling" anybody here, it is you belittling Finidi.
Not because you don't rate him above Odegbami, no.
But because you casually minimise his achievements.
He played and
excelled with and against
some of the world's greatest players of his era en route to winning the
UEFA Champions league in '95 against Milan and
runners up in '96, losing on penalties to
Juventus.The likes of
Seerdorf, Kluivert, Maldini, Desailly, Simone, Vialli, Deschamps, Davids, Riijkard, Ravanelli, Overmars, Baresi, Costacurta, van der Saar, the de Boer brothers, Del Pierro..... all household names globally at the time.
He was not a mere passenger.
He was one of them - attested to by the fact that he was rated above another great
Luis Figo, as "the best right winger in the world".
So when you say he was "good" and then say he merely "made it in Europe", you obviously and deliberately downplay his achievements. Numerous Nigerian players are good and have "made it in Europe".