ROHR Comments on Real Madrid Academy in PH

Rohr tips Real Madrid Academy to rival big European facilities
09 December 2020 | 4:02 am
https://guardian.ng/sport/rohr-tips-rea ... acilities/

Super Eagles’ Coach, Gernot Rohr (left) and Special Adviser to Rivers State Governor on Real Madrid Academy, Christopher Green.

Super Eagles’ coach, Gernot Rohr, is excited by the development at the Real Madrid Academy in Port Harcourt, which he says is comparable to the best academies across the world.
After a comprehensive tour around the four different blocks of the Academy situated in the same surroundings as the Yakubu Gowon Stadium, Elekahia, Port Harcourt, Rohr could not hold back his admiration for the project and the facilitator, Governor Nyesom Wike.

He said, “The infrastructures are high level, it’s like in Europe and you can compare with one of the best academies in Europe like they have in Spain; Madrid, Barcelona and Valencia or in France in Paris (PSG) and in Germany in Bayern Munich.

“I think they (Real Madrid Academy, Port Harcourt) are ready to start this programme with these wonderful structures and also with the good pitch. It will be very interesting to see what they can do.”

Aside from the outdoor facilities comprising of a football pitch and well-constructed swimming pool among others; Barrister Green took Rohr and his contingent round the academic blocks which house classrooms, staff rooms, student hostels, ICT rooms, Biology, Physics and Chemistry laboratories, Dining Halls and other meticulous provisions provided for in the well thought out structure.

Rohr added that he is particularly impressed by the academic aspect of the Real Madrid Academy, sayi8ng, “There are teachers who will be coming because you are never sure to succeed in football and if you don’t succeed, there can be injuries, there can be other problems, it is good to have the school side also and that they did not forget it.”

In Rohr’s company for the tour were Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) Technical Director, Austin Eguavoen, and Super Eagles’ Team Secretary, Dayo Enebi Achor. Earlier, Special Adviser to Rivers State Governor on Real Madrid Academy, Christopher Green, had affirmed that the state government was resolute in their quest of making the project the best ever in Africa.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: ROHR Comments on Real Madrid Academy in PH

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

What did he say?

And the NFF never thought about building their own academy?

Eaglezbeak wrote:And the NFF never thought about building their own academy?
Eaglezbeak,

BOOM!!! That is a very important point. In addition, there should be a better way of checking these organizations and persons running youth football in Nigeria. It appears totally uncontrolled and it is possibly rendering lives of several youths to be useless. Many of these schemes are designed as get rich quick without any concerns for the lives of youths. This, IMO, is terrible given that only a very minute number of these youths will ever make it to the very top. So what happens to the multitude that do not make it? That should concern not just the NFF but the Nigerian state as well.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

see no social distancing

Eaglezbeak,

BOOM!!! That is a very important point. In addition, there should be a better way of checking these organizations and persons running youth football in Nigeria. It appears totally uncontrolled and it is possibly rendering lives of several youths to be useless. Many of these schemes are designed as get rich quick without any concerns for the lives of youths. This, IMO, is terrible given that only a very minute number of these youths will ever make it to the very top. So what happens to the multitude that do not make it? That should concern not just the NFF but the Nigerian state as well.
The Academy is 100% owned by the Rivers State Government!!!!!

Eaglezbeak,

1naija,

Yea, I am aware of that. Was it not the one where photos were shared on this board? This academy as is today is the type of academy needed. Unfortunately, that does not reflect most of the mom-and-pop academies strewn all over the country.

Eaglezbeak,

1naija,

Yea, I am aware of that. Was it not the one where photos were shared on this board? This academy as is today is the type of academy needed. Unfortunately, that does not reflect most of the mom-and-pop academies strewn all over the country.
The challenge will be if the next governor will continue with the vision...

Enugu II wrote:So what happens to the multitude that do not make it? That should concern not just the NFF but the Nigerian state as well.
What happens to the multitude that don't make it elsewhere in other academies?

Enugu II wrote: So what happens to the multitude that do not make it? That should concern not just the NFF but the Nigerian state as well.
This particular Academy is meant to be like a top notch private school. The ones that don't make it as footballers would have gotten top notch education that prepares them for top universities in Nigeria. It's a win win situation if implemented as currently planned.

Enugu II wrote: So what happens to the multitude that do not make it? That should concern not just the NFF but the Nigerian state as well.
This particular Academy is meant to be like a top notch private school. The ones that don't make it as footballers would have gotten top notch education that prepares them for top universities in Nigeria. It's a win win situation if implemented as currently planned.
I won't be surprised that some could go on to become top class coaches.
They'll probably have game analysis and strategy as part of their basic football curriculum.

Actually, just found this...

Real Madrid FC academy has started recruiting players. They started yesterday. It will continue today at the Yakubu Gown stadium.

Did a brief facility tour with them last year in November, 2020. (20.1.2021)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_xBzW1RhK8IREAL

Eaglezbeak,

1naija,

That is the crux of the matter. Every other thing here is besides this...

No government in Nigeria should be owning a football club much less an academy.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Eaglezbeak,

More than 7yrs ago I authored a piece in The Guardian asking the NFF to set up a youth dept and to use that to "regulate" youth football and academies.
Regulate wrt officially recognizing each through a registration system that is not financially burdensome; institute standards for record keeping; keep records of all competitions, etc

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Eaglezbeak,

More than 7yrs ago I authored a piece in The Guardian asking the NFF to set up a youth dept and to use that to "regulate" youth football and academies.
Regulate wrt officially recognizing each through a registration system that is not financially burdensome; institute standards for record keeping; keep records of all competitions, etc
This is precisely what is needed because it is now a wild west out there and getting worse.

Eaglezbeak,

1naija,

I'm not sure I agree with your point about the academies tbh.
They could come under the Ministry of Education, but as 'specialised' schools.
They'd be educational institutions with a special emphasis on football (and probably sport in general).

If anything, every state should have one... 'FEGOSCOs' and 'STAGOSCOs' - federal and state govt sports colleges, run along the same lines as the Fed Govt Colleges all over the country.

Eaglezbeak,

1naija,

They'd be educational institutions with a special emphasis on football (and probably sport in general).

If anything, every state should have one... 'FEGOSCOs' and 'STAGOSCOs' - federal and state govt sports colleges, run along the same lines as the Fed Govt Colleges all over the country.

damunk, I DISAGREE WITH YOUR FIRST BUT AGREE WITH YOUR SECOND

I hate govt involvement in anything - it ends up being very inefficient, a den of thieves and a candidate for failure. But I agree that every state (or region) can have something like this. If kids are brought in early, it could dramatically improve Nigeria's sports performance. And if they do this, they can go to Europe and recruit all willing foreign born Nigerians.

BTW, is this open to girls?

Bell wrote:
txj wrote: That is the crux of the matter. Every other thing here is besides this...

damunk, I DISAGREE WITH YOUR FIRST BUT AGREE WITH YOUR SECOND

I hate govt involvement in anything - it ends up being very inefficient, a den of thieves and a candidate for failure. But I agree that every state (or region) can have something like this. If kids are brought in early, it could dramatically improve Nigeria's sports performance. And if they do this, they can go to Europe and recruit all willing foreign born Nigerians.
There is nothing stopping private concerns running standard academies, but just as you are wary of governments running anything, I am specifically worried about the private sector running educational institutions of any kind. I feel the emphasis is always on money and the poor invariably lose out.
Our private schools and universities are either substandard (despite the money being charged) or prohibitively expensive - and our church-run institutions are no less guilty of this.
Federal govt schools/universities, though not perfect, are at least open to everyone across a wider socio-economic range.
So sports academies can be run by the govt (I'd prefer federal-run academies tbh) alongside privately run, but the federal will insist on academic standards in addition to sport - something I do not believe the private sector will much care for.
BTW, is this open to girls?
Absolutely!!!!!!
It would be a travesty if restricted to boys only.

Complain don start..

From a Parent:

Some of the boys who wrote the aptitude test for REAL MADRID ACADEMY are between the ages of 15 and 17 years, whereas the laid down rule was to give priority to boys of between the ages of nine years and 12 years.

Purity wrote:Complain don start..

From a Parent:

Some of the boys who wrote the aptitude test for REAL MADRID ACADEMY are between the ages of 15 and 17 years, whereas the laid down rule was to give priority to boys of between the ages of nine years and 12 years.
I can see how Nigeria parents would collude with the academy and their LG authorities to age cheat.
When we say our greatest problem lies within each of us and not Buhari or Goodluck or OBJ, people continue to deny and point fingers elsewhere. :roll:

From a Parent:

At Age 9-12 they should be in school, playing grass root football, then from there they can now chose the best players, I have never heard of aptitude test being used to determine who gets in an academy...

The governments are just being lazy, not sure the investments is worth the returns.

Prince wrote:

From a Parent:

At Age 9-12 they should be in school, playing grass root football, then from there they can now chose the best players, I have never heard of aptitude test being used to determine who gets in an academy...

The governments are just being lazy, not sure the investments is worth the returns.
We will PM when we want your opinion please. You..you .. you, is it not at 25 you started standard school under the tree that Awolowo cleared for free primary education? Abeg gerrarahia.

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: To the action Governor.
Real Madrid Academy Port harcourt to include girls hostel

The Rivers state owned Real Football academy has been expanded to include girls.
The Special adviser to Gov Wike says every year 10 boys and girls will move to Madrid for further training
Admission starts in Sept 2021 in Port Harcourt.

Watch here: