Afcon qualification overshadowed by Benin-Sierra Leone Covid

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:27 am
by delisyomie don
https://www.goal.com/en/news/afcon-qual ... fy95rhq8sv

caf should do something before world cup qualifier [afirca and complications lol]

Re: Afcon qualification overshadowed by Benin-Sierra Leone C

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:54 am
by vancity eagle
Benin are stupid.

They had enough players to play the match, and only needed to avoid a 2 goal loss.

If CAF gives Sierra Leone a 3-0 victory, they will feel really dumb.

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:11 am
vancity eagle wrote:Benin are stupid.

They had enough players to play the match, and only needed to avoid a 2 goal loss.

I doubt you're smarter than they are, get to know Africans. :laugh:

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 6:56 am
by Eaglezbeak
Caf need to reschedule the game unless a thorough investigation proves Sierra Leon tried to fix COVID tests!

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:05 am
by Damunk
Eaglezbeak wrote:Caf need to reschedule the game unless a thorough investigation proves Sierra Leon tried to fix COVID tests!
The whole thing smells one-kine...including the Iwobi positive.

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:41 am
by Undertaker

That isn't true. They would have been out with a 1-0 loss as well on superior goals scored! So you want them to play without five of their best players? Nigeria wouldn't beat SL with 11 of their best players, yet you want Benin to try to do it without their best 11?

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 3:43 pm
by TonyTheTigerKiller
CAF is squarely to blame. How can you have the hosts deciding who gets to play in such high stake games? Benin tried the same thing with Nigeria yet the CAF did not take any measures to make sure such brigandry is not repeated❗️

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:06 pm
by Enyi
This is laughable....they wrote the blueprint with the fake Iwobi positive result...

SL took it and went into overdrive....u make ur bed...u lie in it....

CAF should ban Benin...u called up 23players....

Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 4:58 pm
by Tobi17
Undertaker wrote:

That isn't true. They would have been out with a 1-0 loss as well on superior goals scored! So you want them to play without five of their best players? Nigeria wouldn't beat SL with 11 of their best players, yet you want Benin to try to do it without their best 11?
Bro football isn't always 2+2=4...there are lots of probables and variables in the beautiful game of football, this your logic or lack thereof vet serious K leg.

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 9:34 pm
by Cmoke
Nna,

Before pointing one stupidity finger towards Benin, observe where the rest of your stupidity fingers are pointing.

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 10:21 pm
by Enugu II

VE,

Easy, bros. From what I understand, these were key players. Moreover, if the tests were indeed fake, why on earth should Benin Rep. accept it? Now, I am not stating that they are fake test results but I surely will NEVER be willing to accept someone trying to get over me. NEVER. If results are real, no problem if they are faked to get over then it should NEVER be accepted.

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 10:32 pm
by Sir V

VE,

Easy, bros. From what I understand, these were key players. Moreover, if the tests were indeed fake, why on earth should Benin Rep. accept it? Now, I am not stating that they are fake test results but I surely will NEVER be willing to accept someone trying to get over me. NEVER. If results are real, no problem if they are faked to get over then it should NEVER be accepted.
when are they playing the match?

Posted: Thu Apr 01, 2021 10:42 pm
by Enugu II
Sir V wrote:

VE,

when are they playing the match?
I believe they will attempt to squeeze it into another FIFA International match window before the draws in the summer.

For me, CAF dropped the ball by not insisting on oversight of these COVID tests. While one accepts that these tests have to be done locally if you should have home-away games, you can still insist on an oversight. By not doing so, there have been shenanigans starting from the continental club competitions. It is ridiculous. Imagine where, consistently, it has been the visiting team players testing positive! Does that make sense? Certainly makes no statistical sense. These games of attempting to eliminate the opponent via the backdoor must stop.

Posted: Fri Apr 02, 2021 8:32 pm
by Cito

Benin has 0 goals difference.
SL has -1.
I think a 1-0 or any 1 goal difference victory will suffice.

That said your “avoid a 2 goals...” statement is an overkill. They need a draw to qualify as any victory against them keeps em home.