Did Westerhof ever drop points at home ?

i am yet to see any competitive home fixture of the SE dropping points at home when he coached , i think there was a year we played like 20 games and he only lost 2 competitive matches

Re: Did Westerhof ever drop points at home ?

Bigpokey24 wrote:i am yet to see any competitive home fixture of the SE dropping points at home when he coached , i think there was a year we played like 20 games and he only lost 2 competitive matches
Twice.
28th Jan 1990 vs Senegal 1-1
13th April 1991 vs Ghana 0-0
Non-competitive: 9th March 1994 vs Ghana 0-0

Those are the only three home games in his 52-match tenure that he didn't win.

I'm putting final touches to the complete coaching records (in tabular form) of our four longest serving coaches: Westerhoff, Amodu, Keshi and Rohr.

Bigpokey24 wrote:i am yet to see any competitive home fixture of the SE dropping points at home when he coached , i think there was a year we played like 20 games and he only lost 2 competitive matches
Twice.

I'm putting final touches to the complete coaching records (in tabular form) of our four longest serving coaches: Westerhoff, Amodu, Keshi and Rohr.
Please don´t forget to include the OFFICIAL FIFA record (3 - 0) to Algeria. Or else, you would be accused of sexing up your dossier!

Twice.

Please don´t forget to include the OFFICIAL FIFA record (3 - 0) to Algeria. Or else, you would be accused of sexing up your dossier!
Uh..., Fabio.
I'm not like you at all, at all.
I already posted the records reflecting the OFFICIAL results over a year ago.
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=299760&p=5562553&hi ... r#p5562553
I ty and stay honest. No mago-mago, no sentiment. :D

All I was asking you was who scored the goals on the field since we were debating on-field performances, not 'official paper records'.
Any recollections yet?
You see yasef? No answer from you and your crew after 48hrs. :taunt:

Anyway, I am updating the chart to include the Amodu and Westerhoff records since Ive found a source with their info. Just the raw data which you can feel free to spin to your satisfaction. 8-)

Damunk wrote:Uh..., Fabio.

All I was asking you was who scored the goals on the field since we were debating on-field performances, not 'official paper records'.
Any recollections yet?

Anyway, I am updating the chart to include the Amodu and Westerhoff records since Ive found a source with their info. Just the raw data which you can feel free to spin to your satisfaction. 8-)
Baba, please free to contact FIFA for those who scored :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Remember: figures don´t lie, liars can figure.

Interesting, I was looking at the 93/94 season...my goodness the SE only lost like 2 to 3 games in like 20 plus , they had at least 16 wins.. it was a very impressive record..

Keshi also had a long tenure of being undefeated until the loss to Peru

So Westerhof's teams almost never dropped points at home, but also rarely won away qualifying games. They mostly tied their away qualifying games.

olu wrote:So Westerhof's teams almost never dropped points at home, but also rarely won away qualifying games. They mostly tied their away qualifying games.
how many away games has **** won

Damunk wrote:Uh..., Fabio.

Any recollections yet?

Baba, please free to contact FIFA for those who scored :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Remember: figures don´t lie, liars can figure.
But you don't like figures nah.
You pick and choose the ones that suit your sentiments, innit? :idea:

We beat Lesotho and Benin away in the qualifiers for the next CAN, and I believe we beat Libya and Seychelles (as expected) in the qualifiers for the last CAN.
olu wrote:So Westerhof's teams almost never dropped points at home, but also rarely won away qualifying games. They mostly tied their away qualifying games.
how many away games has **** won

hey..BigBoob...U get access to Google abi make Moderator send U link?

The important thing should be the TROPHIES won!

wanaj0 wrote:The important thing should be the TROPHIES won!
wait :D

wanaj0 wrote:The important thing should be the TROPHIES won!
Win one trophy and then fail to qualify for the next one. The latter cancels out the former. You can’t overlook it.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Can we also post Westerhoff’s trophy wins before the magical 1993 season. Me thinks he had better players than we do now but but how long did it take him to win?

1naija wrote:89697
I was worried he wouldn't make it.

kawawa wrote:Can we also post Westerhoff’s trophy wins before the magical 1993 season. Me thinks he had better players than we do now but but how long did it take him to win?
Wsterhof, qualified the SE when Afcon was difficult to qualify for (8 teams) finished 2nd..won Afcon in 94....**** would have been fired right after this Afcon, however covid gave him a lifeline....which lead to Afcon postponed

kawawa wrote:Can we also post Westerhoff’s trophy wins before the magical 1993 season. Me thinks he had better players than we do now but but how long did it take him to win?
Wsterhof, qualified the SE when Afcon was difficult to qualify for (8 teams) finished 2nd..won Afcon in 94....**** would have been fired right after this Afcon, however covid gave him a lifeline....which lead to Afcon postponed
Fewer spaces but the smaller teams were much weaker.

Gamesmanship :!:
Right from the MMA airport.

You cannot make this stuff up. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
See someone try to edit this from wiki...
During the late 1980s and 1990s, the international terminal had a reputation of being a dangerous airport.
From 1992 through 2000, the US Federal Aviation Administration posted warning signs in all US international airports advising travelers that security conditions at Lagos Airport did not meet ICAO minimum standards.

In 1993, the FAA suspended air service between Lagos and the United States. During this period, security at LOS continued to be a serious problem.[9] Travelers arriving in Lagos were harassed both inside and outside of the airport terminal by criminals. Airport staff contributed to its reputation. Immigration officers required bribes before stamping passports, while customs agents demanded payment for nonexistent fees. In addition, several jet airplanes were attacked by criminals who stopped planes taxiing to and from the terminal and robbed their cargo holds.

Source

Westerhoff than better players because he actually went and scouted for players.

Yes, times are different and the league is not what it used to be (Yes and many more excuses).

We seem to be making excuses for Rohr. Or as Cellular says.... Set the bar low for Rohr.

WESTERHOFF'S RECORD

COMPETITIVE GAMES:
P45 W25 D10 L10 Win% 55.55 Loss% 22.22

ALL GAMES
P52 W27 D12 L13 Win% 51.92 Loss%25

TOURNAMENT RECORDS

WC 1994: P4 W2 D0 L2 GF7 GA4 PTS 6
OUTCOME: 2ND ROUND EXIT

AFCON 1990: P5 W3 D0 L2 GF5 GA6 PTS 9
OUTCOME: SILVER MEDAL

AFCON 1992: P5 W4 D0 L1 GF8 GA5 PTS 12
OUTCOME: BRONZE MEDAL

AFCON 1994: P5 W4 D1 L0 GF9 GA3 PTS 13
OUTCOME: GOLD MEDAL

ALL AFCON TOTAL: P15 W11 D1 L3 GF22 GA14 PTS 34
ALL TOURNAMENTS TOTAL: P19 W13 D1 L5 GF29 GA18 PTS 40

DATA SOURCES:
https://www.11v11.com/teams/nigeria/tab ... ason/1990/
I've also broken down games by Home, Away & Neutral grounds for all four managers (Westerhoff, Shuaibu, Keshi and Rohr) but all this is best presented in tabular form which I can't post at the moment, but will do eventually.

But this below is a more general chart made last year with far less detail.

Strictly for reference purposes guys.
I am not making a 'political' point. :sneaky:

In his 52 games in charge, Westerhoff played 14 home games, won 12, drew 2 and lost none.
He played 17 away games, won 2, drew 9 and lost 6.
I haven't been able to break those figures down into competitive and non-competitive games yet, but out of those 52 games, only 7 were friendlies.
(Note: Tournaments are counted as 'neutral' rather than 'away' games. I posted his tournament records above)