OLISEH, WE MISS YOU

ROSSIKE
OLISEH, WE MISS YOU

Post by ROSSIKE »

We miss Sunday Oliseh.

IF SUNDAY had played in that midfield today, it would have been a very different ball game.

And Ikedia should have started.
Bombastic
Re: OLISEH, WE MISS YOU

Post by Bombastic »

ROSSIKE wrote:We miss Sunday Oliseh.

IF SUNDAY had played in that midfield today, it would have been a very different ball game.

Forgetful, aren't you? Did Nigeria win the Nations Cup the last time, even with Oliseh in the team? Stop living in the past and work with what is here and now.
Verbum Sapienti----A word to the wise.

And what would oliseh do as the only man in midfield ?

WE NEED A TEAM.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

marloski

Post by marloski »

:x :x :x :evil: :evil: :twisted: :twisted:
My friend better move forward.

Unbelievable,
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

We miss Sunday Oliseh.

Seyi Olofinjana is but a poor imitation of the real deal. And it showed.

Sunday is a far better distributor.
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

Seyi did the dirty job he was there for, his distributor was JJ. He aint no Sunday but give him time

please, spare us. instead of improving our youth system we are thinking of bringing back our past players. nonsence. morocco beat us with 20 yr olds. u no dey shame
I don't think we understand the concept of TEAM

When Morrocco finished the first half, you could see a defender going to Naybet and shaking his hand. The morroccans came out with a plan. It was obvious and clear to everyone. We did not lose because Morroco has better players, we lost because they had a TEAM. Something Nigeria has been lacking since 1998. Watch the morrocans and notice one thing, they always had support. Look at their defence, always communicating with each other. It was like they were reading each others minds.

For the past 3years, we have been forming and disbanding our teams left and right. If we do not get the required result, everyone is fired and we start from scratch. Nigeria is known for her skills and freeflowing football. Being able to turn up the speed in a second. Thats what Naija is known for. We had players willing to lay everything down and play till their last breath. Players who did not know what giving up meant.

Even back then, we were still known for our skills and being able to work as a TEAM. Nigeria does NOT have a team. We have a bunch of GREAT players who are great when they are able to work as a team. You can't just put them together and expect results. That might work in the 90's but not in this day and age. I read topics like JAG being overated and everyone blaming Yobo or Isaac for the Goal.

You can get the best players in the world in each position. Put them together and you'll notice that there is friction. This is not basketball where 1 player can single handedly bring the team back. You need everyone to bring their A game. From what i saw, there was lack of communication between the players. No one was helping the other when they got in trouble. I did not see anyone running to free themselves for an open ball. They did not flow like the eagles of 94.

How can you have a training camp for a major tournament and invite 41 players ? All you need is your core team and you work your strategies day and night. When you invite 41 players, they all will show you their individual skills so that you may pick them. So really you only had 1week to work with your core team.

Thats not how the game is played today. Nigeria has a bright future in all the young players being discovered left and right. BUT that means nothing for the Nigerian team if they cannot work together.

Watch, If naija gets kicked out at the q-finals, The whole team will get disbanded, CCC fired, another temp coach hired to help the country qualify for the WC. If we qualify for the WC, that temp coach gets replaced by another coach.

I am behind my eagles regardless of if they win or lose. But we as naijas need to put something in place and let it grow. Enough of this heads must roll approach. It is no different from the fire brigade approach.
Chima

Post by Chima »

Amazing....Nigerians are really amazing! The same Oliseh who was draggin his nyash around the field like he had never played football a day in his life in Mali 2002? The same Oliseh that was crucified on this board as a "tired leg" after ANC2002? You guys never cease to amaze me.

Abeg jare, we lost to a team that outplayed us, our midfield was disjointed, and our defence sucked bigtime. Okoronkwo had a terrible outing and Kanu was also terrible. Having said all that, let's face our next match and stop all this whining and crying...it's very annoying.
Graphic & Web Design Specialists
http://www.effectualdesigns.net

You forget we have a coach that would have probably used Oliseh in goal;

serge_renine

Post by serge_renine »

Juventuss, brillant analysis :-)

I share your comments.
What needs Nigeria is giving time to rebuild a team.

Soccer is not like a playstation game.
In fact, the SE players did they best individually but they miss a collective force.
This team is young, and SE players have to face difficulties to grow and strengthen together.

The Defeat against Marocco is a very good result !

SE have to work hard and build a team spirit.
I am sure that this defeat against Marocco was necessary on the road of this new Generation of Eagles.

I look forward watching the match against South Africa :-)
Garrincha : "The Joy of people !"
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

\i dont miss u Oliseh..stay retired...your past it anyways..u guys have such short memories..
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie
Chima

Post by Chima »

Blakes wrote:\i dont miss u Oliseh..stay retired...your past it anyways..u guys have such short memories..

Ya mama born you proper....
spastic

Post by spastic »

Chima it is people like you who don't stop amazing me, simply because a lot of people on this site ripped on Oliseh, doesn't neccesarily mean everyone on the site aggrees with that opinion particular opinion. Inasmuch as I don't see Oliseh making any difference in this tourney doesn't neccesarily mean someone else can't see it differently, we are all single individuals that form a part of a larger group, and even though A particular opinion might seem central to the core of the forum, either bicos the majority feel that way or those who do tend to be loud about it doesn't mean contraoppinions of that opinion doesn't exist.

Your view of the Forum as some BORGlike commume is in reality funnier or more amazing than the ridiculous either of the retuen of Oliseh

You Feel me :idea:
MCTID... We don't play that weak stuff.
realplayer

Post by realplayer »

Oliseh would have made a big difference in the midfield where we totally lost the game.

It should be noted that we had more possession in both halves but were unable to give killer passes to our strikers as we resorted to long balls that worked to the game plan of the lanky Moroccan defenders.

Seyi played very well and showed great potentials. If Lawal had played instead of Kanu in the left side of the mid field, we most likely would have done better. Okocha and Kanu were liabilities and I must admit I have never seen both play so badly. Okocha was too deep behind and gave the Moroccans and trouble. It was as if he was scare of the Moroccan 18. He hardly crossed our half. Kanu ran around like a headless chicken!

The encouraging things for Nigeria is that Aghahowa is still sharp and if he gets better service will finish as we saw him do with the 2 disallowed goals.

Utaka and Ikedia must start next match as they showed fighting spirit and played their part. Yakubu and Agali would have to wait as we can not afford to put more than 2 strikers on due to our leaking defence.

I watched both Benin and Souuth Africa and we cannot afford to play like this or else we might be worse off. I feel if the players go all out to win, they will win both matches and still win the group. Morroco might find it tough against SA and Benin who will be more compact and physical than Nigeria.

The players have to take responsibility and pull themselves out of this national embarrassment.
Talent can only blossom with hard work!

If and more ifs. If Oliseh had played we surely would have won. Oh yea! Was he not in Freetown when Sierra Leone beat us. If Obodo had played, we surely would have won? Oh yea! He is now the God would will assure us of a win.

Man, the fact is it is easier to sit in the comfort of our rooms and talk about eternal ifs. Yes, there were missing pieces but none of them could have guaranteed any thing. Take that to the bank.
nakson

Post by nakson »

You folks are clowning. One loss and you are thinking of bringing back Sunny Oliseh. He would not have changed squat today. Olofijana is not that bad of a player. You cannot serve two masters. It's either you believe in the eagles or you don't.
If a monkey is amongst dogs, why won't it start barking?

Nobody mourns an unnoticed death.

If a donkey kicks you and you kick back, you are both donkeys.

He who eats well speaks well or it is a question of insanity.

A tiger does not have to proclaim its tigri-tude.

When man pikin dey piss, him dey hold something for hand. Woman wey try-am, go piss for her hand.