WHO IS THE FASTEST SUPER EAGLE PLAYER EVER?

I am currently debating a sports journalist who may be limited in his knowledge of the Super Eagles regarding the fastest ever player for the nation. He argues it is Obafemi Martins. Obagoal was fast, but certainly not the fastest. I may not be conclusively right as there may be one or two I have omitted, but below is how I rate the fastest players:

1. Tijani Babangida
2. Ahmed Musa
3. Uwem Ekarika
4. Julius Aghahowa
5. Obafemi Martins
6. Finidi George

Who do you guys pick? How do you rate them?
Re: WHO IS THE FASTEST SUPER EAGLE PLAYER EVER?

Your list implies that Nigeria did not have fast players before the 21st century. Ever heard of Emeka Onyedika? Comparatively, Tijani Babangida was as slow as a turtle❗️

Fastest with the ball- Musa
Fastest in a sprint - Aghahowa

MUSA

The day Enugu Rangers players beat Nigeria’s sprinters at their own game

5 August 2019

The name Sam Onyeaka may not ring many bells with many Nigerian football fans. However, he was a folk hero for most fans of Enugu Rangers. Onyeaka was a right winger who was arguably the fastest thing on two legs in Nigerian football.

He played for Rangers for over 10 years from the early 1970s to the early 1980s, before leaving for the United States to study engineering at the University of Alabama. Onyeaka had the misfortune of being around at a time that Rangers were blessed with top quality right wingers such as Emeka “Owusu” Onyedika and Christian Ogbodo . This meant Onyeaka was not always first choice for his position. What made him part of Rangers folklore was his blistering pace, which earned him the nickname “404” – after the Peugeot model of the same name.

Onyeaka now lives in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and was a guest over the weekend at the annual convention of the College of Immaculate Conception Enugu Alumni Association, which was held in Seattle. During a Friday evening yacht cruise along Lake Washington, Onyeaka, who might not be as fast as he was in his heyday, was quick to regale guests with tales from his time with Rangers.

He recalled one particular day in the 1970s when he was training with teammates at the National Stadium in Surulere and the Nigerian national sprint relay team were also using the same facility. The banter between the footballers and the sprinters then resulted in a sprint challenge in which the national relay team squared up to four of the fastest Rangers players.

The Rangers quartet were Emmanuel Merenini, Charles “Wagner” Adimora, Emeka “Owusu” Onyedika and the fastest of them all, Onyeaka. To the shock of the national sprint team, the footballers won. The sprinters first thought it was a mistake, so they asked for a rerun and were beaten two more times by the Rangers players.

Nigeria never got an Olympic gold medal in the sprints or sprint relay. Maybe it was because Onyeaka and his Rangers teammates chose to focus on football.
https://www.naijiant.com/sports/the-day ... -own-game/

1. Ahmed Musa
2. Ahmed Musa
3. Ahmed Musa

Its between JAG and Ikedia.

You guys forgot to add Victor Osimhen to the list!!

Pius Ikedia used to run into the bill boards!
Ezesportsworld

Post by Ezesportsworld »

The fastest actually was Emma Okala..Surprised ?
www.ezesportsworld.net

Chesapeake sports Academy
kendo

Post by kendo »

bret- hart wrote:Its between JAG and Ikedia.
My first thought was also Ikedia
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

Finidi George, by a mile.
I recall reading somewhere a few decades ago that he clocked 10.5 secs (or there about - pardon my memory) in a 100m sprint test at Ajax.

Ikedia but he also had the advantage of not being weighed down since he had the lightest brain matter.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:Your list implies that Nigeria did not have fast players before the 21st century. Ever heard of Emeka Onyedika? Comparatively, Tijani Babangida was as slow as a turtle❗️

...abi o! should compare or list Green Eagles vs Super Eagles

Otitokoro wrote:Finidi George, by a mile.
I recall reading somewhere a few decades ago that he clocked 10.5 secs (or there about - pardon my memory) in a 100m sprint test at Ajax.
... then it might surprise you to know that Sunday Izevbighie, by late 1971, already had a personal best of 10.2 in the 100m. Besides being one of the most creative schoolboy footballers at the time, he was also a member of the Edo College Track and Field team, competing in the 100m, 200m, long jump and triple jump❗️

Last edited by TonyTheTigerKiller on Sat Apr 17, 2021 2:50 am, edited 1 time in total.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:
... then it might surprise you to know that Sunday Izevbighie, by late 1971, already had a personal best of 10.2 the 100m. Besides being one of the most creative schoolboy footballers at the time, he was also a member of the Edo College Track and Field team, competing in the 100m, 200m, long jump and triple jump❗️

Did he Play for the Eagles?

Ike Uche was also quite fast

Kako wrote:
... then it might surprise you to know that Sunday Izevbighie, by late 1971, already had a personal best of 10.2 in the 100m. Besides being one of the most creative schoolboy footballers at the time, he was also a member of the Edo College Track and Field team, competing in the 100m, 200m, long jump and triple jump❗️

Yes❗️

No one here thinks Odegbami was fast? or quick?

Kako wrote:

Yes❗️

Ok!

Its really hard to separate effectivness from just pure speed

Finidi on record is the fastest.
Martins gets my vote,