How come the SE wins AFCON with a mixture of FB and HB

we've never won the AFCON with a squad of all FB(foreign based) the AFCONs we've won consists of a mixture except the 1980 edition ( strictly Homebased with Rangers and 3SC making up majority of the squad) Just maybe we can win the worldcup one day with a mixture. I know for a FACT no foreign manager has ever won the worldcup for their respective teams, France, Germany, Italy, Brazil etc all have local managers . However 1994 AFCON had home based, 2013 had homebased, but every other AFCON we've gone strictly with FB, we've come home with Bronze and more bronze

Re: How come the SE wins AFCON with a mixture of FB and HB

Bigpokey24 wrote:we've never won the AFCON with a squad of all FB(foreign based) the AFCONs we've won consists of a mixture except the 1980 edition ( strictly Homebased with Rangers and 3SC making up majority of the squad) Just maybe we can win the worldcup one day with a mixture. I know for a FACT no foreign manager has ever won the worldcup for their respective teams, France, Germany, Italy, Brazil etc all have local managers . However 1994 AFCON had home based, 2013 had homebased, but every other AFCON we've gone strictly with FB, we've come home with Bronze and more bronze

This guy, you do know how to fight.
Agree Rohr should go, and perhaps the extra 3 months (September instead of June) should give Nigeria the window of opportunity to do so. Rohr is like an old man with a fine 22 y/o babe.

Having said that, ur logic is spurious. Netherlands have always played with a local coach, so has Belgium, Scotland, poland, Croatia, Romania, Columbia, Russia. :lol:
Nigeria won bronze also with a mixture, many more times than not. :lol:

ANC wrote:
Bigpokey24 wrote:we've never won the AFCON with a squad of all FB(foreign based) the AFCONs we've won consists of a mixture except the 1980 edition ( strictly Homebased with Rangers and 3SC making up majority of the squad) Just maybe we can win the worldcup one day with a mixture. I know for a FACT no foreign manager has ever won the worldcup for their respective teams, France, Germany, Italy, Brazil etc all have local managers . However 1994 AFCON had home based, 2013 had homebased, but every other AFCON we've gone strictly with FB, we've come home with Bronze and more bronze

Agree Rohr should go, and perhaps the extra 3 months (September instead of June) should give Nigeria the window of opportunity to do so. Rohr is like an old man with a fine 22 y/o babe.

Having said that, ur logic is spurious. Netherlands have always played with a local coach, so has Belgium, Scotland, poland, Croatia, Romania, Columbia, Russia. :lol:
You are well aware that the the winners of the WC are recycled among the regular winners, France, Brazil, Argentina etc , these are the norms and so may it be until countries like Nigeria makes an impact. AFCON have been won by only 10 teams, all recycled etc.. this aint about that ****. I reviewed the entire Nigerian squads from 1978 to 2019 (Afcon) and came with the above Factual thread title

ANC wrote:

Roberto Martinez(from Spain) coached Belgium in the last WC. Fabio Capello (Italian) has coached Russia and England. Before Capello Sven Eriksson(from Sweden) coached England. Countries with a deep knowledge and culture of football (Spain, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Brazil, Argentina, France) are very unlikely to have foreign coaches. England and Russia once thought they were among that elite club but decades of poor results forced their hand.

Scipio Africanus wrote:
ANC wrote:

Roberto Martinez(from Spain) coached Belgium in the last WC. Fabio Capello (Italian) has coached Russia and England. Before Capello Sven Eriksson(from Sweden) coached England. Countries with a deep knowledge and culture of football (Spain, Netherlands, Italy, Germany, Brazil, Argentina, France) are very unlikely to have foreign coaches. England and Russia once thought they were among that elite club but decades of poor results forced their hand.

Pardon, I know I stopped counting WC winners around 1994.
Did Belgium and russia win any of the recent WC?s

England does not have a deep culture of football? :rotf: :rotf:

ANC wrote:

You are well aware that the the winners of the WC are recycled among the regular winners, France, Brazil, Argentina etc , these are the norms and so may it be until countries like Nigeria makes an impact. AFCON have been won by only 10 teams, all recycled etc.. this aint about that ****. I reviewed the entire Nigerian squads from 1978 to 2019 (Afcon) and came with the above Factual thread title

Dude you have a bad coach and that's the end of it.
The rest is nonsense than cannot be proven.
The man is just collecting pension, he has lived in Africa for a long time so he understands how to play the officials
folem

Post by folem »

Odiye was FB in CAN 1980.

Its only twice (2008, 2010) IIRC that SE had no HB in the squad at CAN. No Golden Bronze for SE in CAN 2008.
folem

Post by folem »

ANC wrote:

CAN has been won by 14 countries. Recent WC first time winners are France as hosts in 1998 and Spain in 2010.

folem wrote:

Its only twice (2008, 2010) IIRC that SE had no HB in the squad at CAN. No Golden Bronze for SE in CAN 2008.
he was a college Student, didn't earn income while playing,.. it is against NCAA rules to pay students . This was similar to Courtney Dike who rejected her bonuses during the worldcup playing for Nigeria

folem

Post by folem »

folem wrote:

he was a college Student, didn't earn income while playing,.. it is against NCAA rules to pay students . This was similar to Courtney Dike who rejected her bonuses during the worldcup playing for Nigeria
Was Odiye HB or FB @ CAN 1980?

folem wrote:

He wasn't a professional, he played college football

folem wrote:

He wasn't a professional, he played college football
But where was he based?

There were only 2 homebased players at the 1994 AFCON, none of which saw a minute of action. These players Semitoje and Fuludu where subsequently dropped from the World Cup Squad. In our last 2 competitions, Rohr has taken 1 hombased player (Ezenwa), and will likely do so again with John Noble. The way this squad is progressing, apart from Noble, it would be extremely difficult for any other homebased player to make the 23 without reducing the quality of the squad.

Adisboy wrote:
There were only 2 homebased players at the 1994 AFCON, none of which saw a minute of action. These players Semitoje and Fuludu where subsequently dropped from the World Cup Squad. In our last 2 competitions, Rohr has taken 1 hombased player (Ezenwa), and will likely do so again with John Noble. The way this squad is progressing, apart from Noble, it would be extremely difficult for any other homebased player to make the 23 without reducing the quality of the squad.
For the record Isaac Semitoje played in the Semi Finals!
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Adisboy wrote:
For the record Isaac Semitoje played in the Semi Finals!
Thank you my brother. I think say my memory was playing tricks on me.

Not quite the same I know but was the late Thompson Oliha not also part of the squad granted he was in the Ivorian league then.

How about Nduka Ugbade ? Was he still in Spain or back home in the Nigerian league? I vaguely recall both been squad members to Tunisia 94.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

hestonap wrote:
Thank you my brother. I think say my memory was playing tricks on me.

Not quite the same I know but was the late Thompson Oliha not also part of the squad granted he was in the Ivorian league then.

How about Nduka Ugbade ? Was he still in Spain or back home in the Nigerian league? I vaguely recall both been squad members to Tunisia 94.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1994_Afri ... ons_squads

1 GK Wilfred Agbonavbare Spain Rayo Vallecano

16 GK Alloysius Agu Belgium RFC Liège

22 GK Peter Rufai Netherlands GA Eagles

2 DF Augustine Eguavoen Belgium Kortrijk

3 DF Benedict Iroha Netherlands Vitesse Arnhem

4 DF Stephen Keshi Unattached

5 DF Uche Okechukwu Turkey Fenerbahçe

12 DF Isaac Semitoje Nigeria Iwuanyanwu Nationale

19 DF Nduka Ugbade Unattached

6 DF Uche Okafor Germany Hannover 96

21 MF Mutiu Adepoju Spain Racing Santander

20 MF Edema Fuludu Nigeria BCC Lions

18 FW Efan Ekoku England Norwich City

7 MF Finidi George Netherlands Ajax Amsterdam

10 MF Jay-Jay Okocha Germany Frankfurt

8 MF Thompson Oliha Unattached

15 MF Sunday Oliseh Belgium RFC Liège

14 FW Daniel Amokachi Belgium Club Brugge

11 MF Emmanuel Amuneke Egypt Zamalek

17 FW Victor Ikpeba France AS Monaco

13 FW Samson Siasia France Nantes

9 FW Rashidi Yekini Portugal Vitoria Setubal

ANC wrote:England does not have a deep culture of football? :rotf: :rotf:
Scipio Africanus wrote:
countries with a deep knowledge and culture of football
You missed the "knowledge" part, you ...... quack ImageImageImageImageImage

folem

Post by folem »

ANC wrote:

Netherlands have had many foreign coaches, same with Belgium, Poland, Romania, Russia, Colombia. Scotland once had Vogts at the helm.

Scipio Africanus wrote:
ANC wrote:England does not have a deep culture of football? :rotf: :rotf:
Scipio Africanus wrote:
countries with a deep knowledge and culture of football
You missed the "knowledge" part, you ...... quack ImageImageImageImageImage

Dont cry when the london brigade come after you...dumb@ss. :biggrin:

Can someone advise the mufu that U chose your best regardless of location?

paj wrote:

A team should have a specific style of play, Nigeria no longer have one.
That's a problem, his comment is not without merit.

ANC wrote:
paj wrote:

A team should have a specific style of play, Nigeria no longer have one.
That's a problem, his comment is not without merit.

this stupid "style" argument

When facts cannot be challenged

Like the fact that Rohr's team win more games than previous teams, AND SCORE MORE GOALS THAN PREVIOUS TEAMS

The haters have to switch to a "feelings" based agrument like

We have "no style"

abeg sharrap with that meaningless garbage.

We are winning and scoring more goals that usual, THAT IS OUR STYLE.

These haters will never shut up.

Like Paj said, you choose your best players PERIOD. You do not pay attention to where they play but HOW THEY PLAY.

This home based nonsense should have died with Keshi.