ROHR: NIGERIA CANNOT MAKE WORLD CUP IMPACT!!

Dont let Rohr kill SE

He doesn't believe in the project. You never achieve anything if you don't believe. You can win without necessarily having the best team.
Babies likes Van City thinks it's just players. His favorite scape goat being Onuachu.
Rohr is second rate. No wonder he can accept not being paid for over 6 months.
https://africa.espn.com/football/nigeri ... ssion=true
Re: Dont let Rohr kill SE

The qualifiers never even start and the so called naija coach don talk say our players are trash and they play for small clubs, so forget making an impact :rotf: we warned yall about this loser..una eye go clear. SE can take a break or in fact forget 2022 and focus on 2026 ..we dey wait dem

What a fake coach...the SE has been the longest ever coaching job he ever had....but we get peakmilk paying him to continue for 4 more years...we have a Buhari type coach for the SE

Man i am so done with this hopeless coach. If he isnt capable of getting Nigeria to the level we want then he needs to stepdown. :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo: :boo:

azuka

Post by azuka »

The guy should go. It is that obvious he lacked the capacity to mould this players into a great team.

azuka wrote:The guy should go. It is that obvious he lacked the capacity to mould this players into a great team.
Please what is new??? :taunt:

I hope it is not because of a friendly

Replace Rohr for who ?

Sometimes the devil you know is better than the devil you do not know.

We have to admit it Nigeria has a technically deficient coach who is good enough against the weaker African opposition but is way over his head at the World stage.

Rohr running his mouth on the quality of the clubs the players play for is proof he will never win the ANC or get Nigeria out of the group stages at the World Cup. When Senegal got to the quarter finals of the World Cup how many players from that team played in champions league? When Ghana reached the quarter finals of the World Cup how many players from that team played for top clubs? Their great performances was as a result of great coaching.

At this point Nigeria should sack Rohr and try and hire any of the following:Clarence Seedorf or Frank Rijkaard & Emmanuel Amunike

It is really shocking the kind of crap Nigerians take! He doesn't know football is about building a solid team and not individuals, all he does is complain about the club sides our players play in. Rohr is crap and has been crap for years! Funny that some Nigerians are just figuring this out!...This man is not taking us anywhere.

highbury wrote:He doesn't believe in the project. You never achieve anything if you don't believe. You can win without necessarily having the best team.
Babies likes Van City thinks it's just players. His favorite scape goat being Onuachu.
Rohr is second rate. No wonder he can accept not being paid for over 6 months.
https://africa.espn.com/football/nigeri ... ssion=true
Rohr has serious issues. Never seen such a pessimistic coach.

Flex Swift wrote: At this point Nigeria should sack Rohr and try and hire any of the following:Clarence Seedorf or Frank Rijkaard & Emmanuel Amunike
You can "try and hire' whoever you want, however you want.
But will you get them? :idea:

This is the kind of legacy Nigeria has been left and what we are fighting against:
Former England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson has revealed he turned the chance to manage the Super Eagles at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa after he was told by an official of the Nigeria Football Federation that his salary would be paid into two different bank accounts.
You still think they are going to come running like you wish?
And what exactly are they doing at the moment? Seerdof was sacked by Cameroun and Amunike was sacked by Tanzania, no?
With that kind of reputation (amongst so many other 'issues') no top level foreign manager is going to come knocking.

You have to be realistic and manage your expectations.
And be ready to roll with the ups and downs of an Amuneke or Finidi
I am certain Nigerians will NOT be able or even wiling to do that. Too impatient, too fickle.

But we can 'try'....yet again. :lol: :lol: :lol:

The blame has be laid on the door step of Pinnick. He brought this rubbish. Rohr will not change. That attitude is fossilized in his brain. Don't worry when they suck at AFCON, everybody eyes go clear. Not the folks in CE who are for the most part enlightened( with some few exceptions.. Cough Van City)

highbury wrote:The blame has be laid on the door step of Pinnick. He brought this rubbish. Rohr will not change. That attitude is fossilized in his brain. Don't worry when they suck at AFCON, everybody eyes go clear. Not the folks in CE who are for the most part enlightened( with some few exceptions.. Cough Van City)
Come, are you not an Arsenal fan?

highbury wrote:The blame has be laid on the door step of Pinnick. He brought this rubbish. Rohr will not change. That attitude is fossilized in his brain. Don't worry when they suck at AFCON, everybody eyes go clear. Not the folks in CE who are for the most part enlightened( with some few exceptions.. Cough Van City)
Come, are you not an Arsenal fan?
I am a SE fan first of all. Everything other support na secondary :thumbs:

Flex Swift wrote: At this point Nigeria should sack Rohr and try and hire any of the following:Clarence Seedorf or Frank Rijkaard & Emmanuel Amunike
You can "try and hire' whoever you want, however you want.
But will you get them? :idea:

This is the kind of legacy Nigeria has been left and what we are fighting against:
Former England manager Sven-Goran Eriksson has revealed he turned the chance to manage the Super Eagles at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa after he was told by an official of the Nigeria Football Federation that his salary would be paid into two different bank accounts.
You still think they are going to come running like you wish?
And what exactly are they doing at the moment? Seerdof was sacked by Cameroun and Amunike was sacked by Tanzania, no?
With that kind of reputation (amongst so many other 'issues') no top level foreign manager is going to come knocking.

You have to be realistic and manage your expectations.
And be ready to roll with the ups and downs of an Amuneke or Finidi
I am certain Nigerians will NOT be able or even wiling to do that. Too impatient, too fickle.

But we can 'try'....yet again. :lol: :lol: :lol:
How were Cameroon able to hire Seedorf yet Nigerian can’t? Yes Cameroon sacked Seedorf but Cameroon did not have the talent Nigeria processes. Seedorf being aChampions league winner and World club cup winner would bring that experience and energy to our team. Again he would not select 12 defenders in a 23 man squad. He would select more creative players and get them to play. Attention to set-plays and would be able to effectively manage the bench and not wait until the 90 min to make a sub.

The NFF officials that tried to hire the former English manager are they still in post?

Amunike being sacked by Tanzania is not a big deal as they are not a football powerhouse and over achieved. The positive are he took the challenge and they qualified for the ANC. He coached the under 17 and won the World Cup at the first attempt. He discovered Victor Osimhen, and Chukwenze both of which are established on the world stage.

Staying with Rohr the best we can hope for is getting another bronze medal at the ANC and if we qualify for the World Cup it would be three game at the group stage and out. The team would be packed full of defenders and not attention to creative midfielders and not subs made in any of our games.

As I said Nigeria will not win anything with ****, in fact we are not making the WC. Keep this man on and then when pekamill tenure runs out as FA chairman next year, nah back to square one. All our Youths failed to qualify for the world cups. The SE is next. The delusion of beating trash CAF teams like Lesotho to qualify for a 24 team Afcon clouds the natives here. It isn't even the loss vs Cameroon, the issue here, the SE has no pattern of play. They have no system. The coach chooses 8 defenders 2 strikers and boom ,anywhere belle face ball

ROHR: NIGERIA CANNOT MAKE WORLD CUP IMPACT!!

Can Nigeria make a World Cup impact? Their coach isn't convinced...
play

https://africa.espn.com/football/nigeri ... -convinced

4 Jun, 2021
Colin Udoh

Nigeria players were in phenomenal form for their European clubs this season, especially in 2021, but Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr remains unconvinced that they can reach the FIFA World Cup knockout stages in 2022.

The coach's main concern is that while players, like Paul Onuachu who won Belgium's Player of the Year and Golden Boot after a record-breaking season, bang goals in on the regular, they are not at top-tier clubs.

Nigeria forwards called up by Rohr over the last two international windows have tallied close to 150 goals in the past season. That is by far the highest among African countries, with the closest being Cote d'Ivoire with around 100.

Senegal and Mohamed Salah and his Egypt teammates are distantly third in the 70s. Cameroon and Algeria, the current African champions, are even further behind in the 50s.

Still, Rohr believes that these other African countries have a better chance of making it to a World Cup quarterfinal than his wards.

"They have players playing in the best teams in Europe. We don't, unfortunately have these players," he told ESPN.

"Our players are playing in lower clubs. We don't have these players like Egypt, like Senegal, like Cote d'Ivoire who are playing in the biggest clubs. Our players are playing in clubs who are not the best ones.

"Only [Samuel] Chukwueze [won the Europa League with Villarreal]. All others are fighting to stay in the league or are fighting to be starting player.

"When you see the world champions, France, the players are playing for Bayern Munich, Real Madrid, PSG, Manchester United.

"When we have players in the biggest teams, then we can say we have chance to get to the semifinal of the World Cup."

While the bulk of Nigeria's players ply their trade in Europe, Gernot Rohr feels they need to be playing on bigger teams to make a run for World Cup success in 2022. KHALED DESOUKI/AFP via Getty Images
Wilfred Ndidi is acknowledged as one of the world's top midfielders, and his uncompromising play provided the foundation for Leicester City's [eventually failed] push for a Champions League spot, and a successful FA Cup title.

The duo of Joe Aribo and Leon Balogun are Scottish champions, Zaidu Sanusi played up to the UEFA Champions League quarterfinals, and William Troost-Ekong helped Watford secure promotion to the Premier League.

They may not be playing for big teams, but does it make a difference that they play in the same league with these big teams and play against the league's top players?

"Yes, of course, fortunately," Rohr admitted. "But they have to struggle to stay in the [top] league. Which means that the level of the teams that they play on is not the same as the teams they play against.

"[But] we are happy about it to have some of them doing well. I think Onuachu, for instance, will have proposals from some bigger teams for the next season. Simy [Nwankwo]... I hope he will leave [relegated Crotone]. [Terem] Moffi too, I hope he will have a big club."

Defender Troost-Ekong, who left Udinese in Serie A to play in the English second tier with Watford, disagrees with his coach.

"We all want to play football in the top leagues," Troost-Ekong told ESPN. "I think Kelechi and Ndidi are probably the guys who are doing it most consistently, I would consider Leicester now to be a top six club in England.

William Troost-Ekong silenced the doubters after he left Serie A for the Championship by helping Watford to Premier League promotion. Tess Derry/PA Images via Getty Images
"Victor Osimhen is doing it at Napoli, a Champions League team as well. So, everyone has their journey. And you know, all of these players, when the time is right to play in the top leagues, and also playing the top clubs, including myself, yeah, then the time is right, and will happen.

"I don't think there needs to be more pressure on that. And in the same way, I don't think that there's a lack of motivation, or I don't think there's any player that doesn't want to be there, or could do more.

"We are all doing our very best and we just have to respect everyone's journey and respect where one is at.

"And some of those things are not as easy as that because when the players will be playing in the top clubs, and then they're not getting any the game time, everyone will be saying that they should be playing in a smaller club and play more."

Big clubs or not, under Rohr the Super Eagles have worked their way through three qualification series, losing just once on their way to two Africa Cup of Nations tournaments and the World Cup, qualifying each time with at least a game to spare.

Rohr acknowledges that those accomplishments show that his team are better than the sum of their individual parts and is at least more optimistic about their chances of making it to Qatar.

The first of those World Cup qualifiers is scheduled for September after being delayed from June due to COVID, with Nigeria hosting Liberia, then traveling to Cape Verde.
Last edited by Enugu II on Sat Jun 05, 2021 1:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Rohr: Nigeria Cannot Make a World Cup Impact....

In my view this is absolute RUBBISH by Gernot Rohr.

I ask:

Which clubs were Cameroon and Senegal players in when they made their World Cup impact? Which clubs did Nigerian players play for during the run of 1994? Which clubs were the Korean players in when they finished fourth in a World Cup? This argument is just unconvincing. Moreover, Nigerian players' ability is not accurately assessed by the clubs in which they are playing given the fact that Nigerian players are more focused on escaping the economic problems at home than locating the best European clubs. This isn't German or English players that we are assessing here. Those players in Europe may make club choices based on the reputation of clubs because they do not have the economic baggage that may impede such decision making.

This Rohr complex explains to me his crazy focus on where a player is playing club football rather than the talent.

In my view, Rohr after milking the argument that "our players are too young" as an explanation for a trophy-less tenure is now setting up his next brand of excuse "our players are not playing for Europe's best". Let the gullible swallow up his argument as usual. However, please be reminded of the examples of country's that have had World Cup impact without players all over Europe's "best" leagues and let us be reminded that Nigeria has won the AFCON with players that included a significant number drawn from the local league. Those are facts.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: ROHR: NIGERIA CANNOT MAKE WORLD CUP IMPACT!!

The man feels that way and plays that way.

Folks were busy defending him as not being boastful as him just being respectful of his opponents.

The man must first believe in his team before it can transfer to the pitch.

I have been saying for the longest time that he does NOT have the mindset required to coach the team and get the best out of the team.

For those afraid of change, Algeria did it and finally won the AFCON. Chelsea did it...

When you see your team underachieving or not playing the way they ought to play you make changes.

And it is not an overreaction from a friendly.

Amunike I just laugh, the guy who coached the WORST team at the last AFcon is who you want to replace a coach who literally has one of the best SE records ever. You guys are fools.

I dont really like Rohr sef, but unless we are moving upwards with our decision, and unless that coach will be significantly better, then HELL NO.

Also no Nigerian coaches, sorry to say, keeping Rohr is worth not having extreme bias and sentiments with player selection.

We saw the nonsense that Oliseh and Keshi pulled, and the disastrous results that followed. I have not forgotten those terrible days, nor how piss poor SE was under those coaches.

So no, I will not join the knee jerk reaction crowd, over a friendly at that, I mean come on.

The team was seriously depleted and the players likely are not very motivated if reports about bonuses are to be believed, but yes Rohr is annoying as hell with some of his decisions, but again I prefer the devil I know than the devil I do not know.

The players can say the same about him since they work with better managers at their club sides.This is the longest serving Nigerian coach in history, even longer than Westerhof and he has achieved nothing.

I don’t see how any SE fan can accept such BS from the coach of the team being paid to achieve things. This defeatist mentality is simply unacceptable and I can’t believe he voiced this in public even if that’s how he personally feels. This is not the type of talk you want from a coach who actually dreams of making an impact. We’ve already lost before stepping foot at any tournament. We play Senegal or Algeria or Egypt now these words will be ringing that we don’t have a chance they have players in big clubs we don’t...Kai so sad we are stuck with this ****

gochino wrote:The players can say the same about him since they work with better managers at their club sides.This is the longest serving Nigerian coach in history, even longer than Westerhof and he has achieved nothing.
What are you talking about?
Tell us how many AFCONS Westerhoff attended and how many World Cups.
Then compare.
If you want to compare, at least don't be dubious about it.
Use the facts, not faction :idea:

vancity eagle wrote:Amunike I just laugh, the guy who coached the WORST team at the last AFcon is who you want to replace a coach who literally has one of the best SE records ever. You guys are fools.

I dont really like Rohr sef, but unless we are moving upwards with our decision, and unless that coach will be significantly better, then HELL NO.

Also no Nigerian coaches, sorry to say, keeping Rohr is worth not having extreme bias and sentiments with player selection.

We saw the nonsense that Oliseh and Keshi pulled, and the disastrous results that followed. I have not forgotten those terrible days, nor how piss poor SE was under those coaches.

So no, I will not join the knee jerk reaction crowd, over a friendly at that, I mean come on.

The team was seriously depleted and the players likely are not very motivated if reports about bonuses are to be believed, but yes Rohr is annoying as hell with some of his decisions, but again I prefer the devil I know than the devil I do not know.
Keshi got us to the second round of the WC with an average team. Rohr could not get us out of our group with a significantly better team.