**** to Coach SE vs Mexico

Just maybe we've seen the light. Egu will coach the homebased SE vs Mexico, he was fierce as SE coach vs Algeria and Zimbabwe scoring 10 goals home and away. Had a decent AFCON in 2016... hopefully he brings the goal scoring and quick attacking transition back to the SE .. I hopefully hope he gets to take over the WCQs, he wasn't given enough time to coach the SE.... Just maybe i could now head to Cali to watch Egu vs Mexico ... well done :clap: :clap: :clap:
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Re: Great News Austin Eguavoen is back to Coach SE vs Mexico

Lol if true then **** wisened, this was a setup from the get go…

maceo4 wrote:Lol if true then **** wisened, this was a setup from the get go…
I think people are getting smarter, they've found **** out and he has pushed the SE as far as he could. I am hoping for a new breeze of fresh news soon . We are unable to defeat a top rated team in Africa and beyond

Owngoal reported that Yobo is unavailable to handle the team cause of TV punditry commitments. It makes no sense to me for a national team coach to be excused for that when we have a game coming up. I also thought Rohr was going to handle the hombased team?

I don't have that much confidence in Eguaveon as a coach, however, he is more qualified than Yobo. I was suprised like many others that Yobo was given the assistant coach job in the first place. I hoped that position would have been given to Finidi or one of the up and coming NPFL coaches. However, since Yobo is the assistant I do hope he gets some responsibilities delegated to him that will help him develop and grow as a coach. That depends though on how much Rohr and the NFF trust him.

Getting Rohrs coaching influence off this team however short-lived is a breath of fresh air, at least we will get to see something different under Egu even though the team will be largely home-based.

Guys abeg try attend the game, I plan to host you guys at one of the best Naija spots out here in LA.

olu wrote:Owngoal reported that Yobo is unavailable to handle the team cause of TV punditry commitments. It makes no sense to me for a national team coach to be excused for that when we have a game coming up. I also thought Rohr was going to handle the hombased team?

I don't have that much confidence in Eguaveon as a coach, however, he is more qualified than Yobo. I was suprised like many others that Yobo was given the assistant coach job in the first place. I hoped that position would have been given to Finidi or one of the up and coming NPFL coaches. However, since Yobo is the assistant I do hope he gets some responsibilities delegated to him that will help him develop and grow as a coach. That depends though on how much Rohr and the NFF trust him.
I do hope this is just owngoal during their usual thing, how can a coach be excused for that?

Big boys do what they please. Let's just accept it. Yobo is Nigerian football. He has earned the right to do whatever he pleases, bad belle from commoners notwithstanding... :D

gochino wrote:
olu wrote:Owngoal reported that Yobo is unavailable to handle the team cause of TV punditry commitments. It makes no sense to me for a national team coach to be excused for that when we have a game coming up. I also thought Rohr was going to handle the hombased team?

I do hope this is just owngoal during their usual thing, how can a coach be excused for that?

eget as the story be. There shouldn’t be dis awkward dichotomy of two national teams coached by different coaches. Is any other nation doing this; what in fact is the model. Didn’t Keshi or amodu handle both teams before

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

I thought Eguoavoen was decent as SE coach, losing to a superior Ivory Coast side in the semis and then finishing 3rd.

Same thing Rohr has done, yet big Pokey the dunce will praise one and attack the other relentlessly.

vancity eagle wrote:I thought Eguoavoen was decent as SE coach, losing to a superior Ivory Coast side in the semis and then finishing 3rd.

Same thing Rohr has done, yet big Pokey the dunce will praise one and attack the other relentlessly.
At a fraction of the price and gaining experience that has remained with the country rather than basically funding an old mans retirement fund to Cartoon country. He’s looking at the bigger picture…

The matchup with Mexico will surely expose the coaches and the home-based players to
international football. It will also help put in perspective exactly how those involved have improved.
Great idea.

vancity eagle wrote:I thought Eguoavoen was decent as SE coach, losing to a superior Ivory Coast side in the semis and then finishing 3rd.

At a fraction of the price and gaining experience that has remained with the country rather than basically funding an old mans retirement fund to Cartoon country. He’s looking at the bigger picture…
:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

The last time Egu played Algeria this happened

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOo35lyhdDc[/video]

you are comparing 2 entirely different Algeria teams LOL

Do you also know that Belgium was once a whipping boy in Europe not too long ago ?

You are not the brightest person are you ?

you are comparing 2 entirely different Algeria teams LOL

Do you also know that Belgium was once a whipping boy in Europe not too long ago ?

You are not the brightest person are you ?
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

jette1 wrote:eget as the story be. There shouldn’t be dis awkward dichotomy of two national teams coached by different coaches. Is any other nation doing this; what in fact is the model. Didn’t Keshi or amodu handle both teams before

Do you really think Rohr wants any part of this? The fact is no, because the foreign based lads will not be available and Rohr is not interested without those players. The NFF is interested perhaps because of associated funds. So what gives, bros?

This will be a hurriedly assembled home-based team. For Eguavoen or any coach with this ream, you have little to lose but a lot to gain. That is the picture.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Eguavoen must have a very strong juju man.
He was below average as a player, yet he played for Nigeria well beyond his sell by date
His coaching was not much better but guess what, he is back.

I change my mind, Rohr should stay, he is way better than this former wrestler turned coach.

ANC wrote:Eguavoen must have a very strong juju man.
He was below average as a player, yet he played for Nigeria well beyond his sell by date
His coaching was not much better but guess what, he is back.

I change my mind, Rohr should stay, he is way better than this former wrestler turned coach.
ANC,

You may be correct in terms of his record as a player.

As a coach? You must have it 'mixed up' when it comes to SE. If you fancy Rohr's record then you ought to do the same with Eguavoen. Theire records are quite similar in terms of winning rates. They both have also won AFCON bronze medals.

Now, of course we cannot compare that record (including Rohr's) with the records of the likes of Westerhoff and Keshi or Gloria but the fact is that the latter three stand way apart from the rest. Given that, you cannot correctly state that Eguavoen is poor if you are willing to want Rohr's stay.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Celebrity

Post by Celebrity »

What has Eguavon done (coaching wise) since his last stint as CE coach? Any progress? Any coaching certification or RE-certification?

This proves NFF is a complete Joke, Rohr a joke and Yobo a joke. Honestly, what's the point of appointing Yobo if he couldn't do the job because of media commitments.. Why can't Rohr lead the home based team? Home or Foreign based, it's still SE. Besides, Rohr hasn't been doing anything for the past few months. Yet he was getting paid. That is Why I respected Keshi. He didn't buy this foreign/ home based nonsense. He lead every SE team. That's why I have no respect for the likes of Van City who disrespected the man and called him all sort of names. Was Keshi perfect? No! He was the best Coach besides Westerhof we ever had. I have no issues with Eguaveons competence. I just detest the way they run things without planning and foresight. Let me not start with Pinnick, the career politician.... TBC

jette1 wrote:eget as the story be. There shouldn’t be dis awkward dichotomy of two national teams coached by different coaches. Is any other nation doing this; what in fact is the model. Didn’t Keshi or amodu handle both teams before

Do you really think Rohr wants any part of this? The fact is no, because the foreign based lads will not be available and Rohr is not interested without those players. The NFF is interested perhaps because of associated funds. So what gives, bros?

This will be a hurriedly assembled home-based team. For Eguavoen or any coach with this ream, you have little to lose but a lot to gain. That is the picture.
Prof, I don't think the highlighted is correct. From what I know, the players to for the game have already been selected just not yet announced. I also think they have already sorted out the logistics e.g. visas, etc. Just a start date for camping. It will be a very interesting match and great exposure for the CHAN team.

Not too sure if Ivory Coast was superior. The 2006 squad was one of the best teams Nigeria has paraded at AFCON (on paper). That team had Okocha , Kanu, Mikel, Obodo, Oruma, Martins, Aghahowa, Osaze, Utaka, Enyeama, all in one team.

Nigerians voted for Buhari,
Nigerians are happy that Eguavoen is back
Nigerians have short term memory, collectively

ANC wrote:Nigerians voted for Buhari,
Nigerians are happy that Eguavoen is back
Nigerians have short term memory, collectively
Egu is better and miles ahead of ****. Egu defeated Senegal 2ce in a tournament , took Nigeria to 9th in FIFA rankings.. Won Golden Bronze, all within a short period of time . Egu defeated ghana in AFCON( the last AFCOn win vs ghana
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AU6g4ww0vbY[/video]

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M3lAF7sIrBk[/video]