Mexico vs Nigeria (4-0) FT

Celebrity
Re: NIGERIA SELECT 0 MEX 2

Post by Celebrity »

What am I even watching?
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Not bad considering the circumstances.

Half time, **** better lay into his boys in the dressing room.

Well we stemmed the leak. Had two good chances which Iwuala blew. Not a bad score for 45 min. I expected worse. Boys are trying and that is admirable
Re: Mexico vs Nigeria (2-0)

Nigerian teams seem to struggle with any kind of high pressing, whether it's the main SE, home based SE, or Enyimba.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:46 am chei this is the Iwuala that people have been hyping.
...around foreign based he is good. Today he is the leader, and it's jittery to lead, the load is too heavy.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:50 am ****'s teams have never been good at defending set pieces, this one is no different.
When has Nigeria, or even African teams in general EVER been good at defending set pieces ?

mcal wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:46 am chei this is the Iwuala that people have been hyping.
...around foreign based he is good. Today he is the leader, and it's jittery to lead, the load is too heavy.
Did you forget how bad he was against Cameroon ?

Wait oo. So UK folks wake up to watch this match :rotf: it is like 4am there

olumide

Post by olumide »

okidoki wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:48 am
txj wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:44 am
okidoki wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:38 am The funny thing is some of these our players will end up having more successful individual careers than the Mexicans.
Based on what?

I wish the boys luck though...
On history. We simply produce more successful European based players.
Maybe if you just are taking Europe into account. Liga MX is probably a top 10-15 league in the world in terms of finance, interest, and quality and many of these players are obviously doing very well in that league. Honestly, a lot of these players currently on the pitch for El Tri play at the top level in Europe now anyway. Players like Herrera, Corona, and Lozano are at big teams; you are underestimating them.

olu wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am Nigerian teams seem to struggle with any kind of high pressing, whether it's the main SE, home based SE, or Enyimba.
They look like enyimba playing away in the caf cup games

joao wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:50 am Our goalie is quite insane, He gives to ball back to the opposition every time he touches it.
Definitely a liability.
You don’t like how he exhibited arm strength by tossing the ball well over 50 yards into throw-in?

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:48 am Bringing a home based team wasn’t the mistake. Bringing a home based team without adequate preparations is the big, unforgivable mistake❗️
Chief, if we check, I’m sure they had about two weeks prep time.
That’s a luxury most national teams don’t have for their international matches.
This is the CHAN team. They all play in the same league.
No self-serving excuses abeg.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am
maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:50 am ****'s teams have never been good at defending set pieces, this one is no different.
When has Nigeria, or even African teams in general EVER been good at defending set pieces ?
So you agree....great, now can **** please work on this his weakness? He's been there how many years now? Or our players don't have the mental capacity or ability to understand how to defend set pieces?

Overhyping players is not good. Period!

However our goalie looks good as a quarterback. Bobo get serious one handed long throw sha

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:54 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am
So you agree....great, now can **** please work on this his weakness? He's been there how many years now? Or our players don't have the mental capacity or ability to understand how to defend set pieces?
I recall SE under Rohr shutting out Iceland who were known for their aerial and set piece prowess. Did you forget ?

Why is it that we have no midfield??

Rubbish!!! This has to the worst set of players ever to wear the GWG. No clue how to play …. Just playing Long balls to nobody and no pressing when not in procession …..nobody marking when Mexico attack. The score line flatters the Home based team

kawawa wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:51 am Well we stemmed the leak. Had two good chances which Iwuala blew. Not a bad score for 45 min. I expected worse. Boys are trying and that is admirable
:thumb:
Stage fright.
It happens.

Don't think the second goal shouldn't have stood. Tecatito, the Porto player controlled the ball with his hand before passing the ball into the box. May have been offside as well.

It's been all Mexico in the first half. Hopefully the nerves of our boys will settle down in the second half. Don't think any of them have ever played in front of such a large crowd. Hope they can actually play out of the back and keep possession.

Flex Swift wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:56 am Rubbish!!! This has to the worst set of players ever to wear the GWG. No clue how to play …. Just playing Long balls to nobody and no pressing when not in procession …..nobody marking when Mexico attack. The score line flatters the Home based team
But **** is the technical adviser to all national teams. What is he doing on the bench? Saw him at kickoff, since then he picked race

...at least stage fright is over, hope Mexico don't score again.