Mexico vs Nigeria (4-0) FT

Re: NIGERIA SELECT 0 MEX 4

Sir V wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:19 am
wanaj0 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:09 am
Enugu II wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:04 am Game over. Our team play was poor and in my view the fact the team was just put together showed glaringly. It could well have been more than four goals. On talent level, it was not too bad in terms of gap but team play was a huge disparity. Will share more of my views later.
That's what I thought also. The GK example was not terrible in anyway.

Team play was non existent. The players have not played together before.

Now is the time to BUILD on this.
Build on this Equavoen's mago mago team?
The NFF have arranged another round of friendliest for the team in Baltimore in November.
:D :D :D

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:19 am
wanaj0 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:13 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:06 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:02 am
fabio wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:00 am Let's say the truth. We know Egu didn't pick the squad. So calling him various names is wrong.
We all know the NFF picked the squad.

Eguoavoen was just the front guy.
That sounds like an excuse to me, as in “there are far better players in the NPFL”
:roll: :roll: :roll:
Or maybe the messiah coach put his imprint on the talent on display :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

If it was Egu that was on the bench, it will be used to validate how BAD Nigerian coaches are.

If we had won, it will be use as evidence of how good Rohr is
Your spin.
Vancity got it spot on before the game: it’s a win-win for you guys, even in a 4-kondo defeat.
You are confirming his prediction.
He must be a genius. :taunt: :taunt:
Yes. Certified By Damunk :taunt: :taunt:

Only a genius certified by Damunk could have that 'body of work' :taunt: :taunt:

Where is the Elephant player picture again :thumbs:

Enugu II wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:04 am Game over. Our team play was poor and in my view the fact the team was just put together showed glaringly. It could well have been more than four goals. On talent level, it was not too bad in terms of gap but team play was a huge disparity. Will share more of my views later.

Build on this Rohr's coached team :thumb:

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:23 am

The NFF have arranged another round of friendliest for the team in Baltimore in November.
Who are we playing? With this same Sunday league side?

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:23 am
fabio wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:00 am Let's say the truth. We know Egu didn't pick the squad. So calling him various names is wrong.

That sounds like an excuse to me, as in “there are far better players in the NPFL”
Or maybe the messiah coach put his imprint on the talent on display :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

If it was Egu that was on the bench, it will be used to validate how BAD Nigerian coaches are.

Your spin.
Vancity got it spot on before the game: it’s a win-win for you guys, even in a 4-kondo defeat.

Only a genius certified by Damunk could have that 'body of work' :taunt: :taunt:

Well, if he is no genius and as dumb as you seem to suggest yet he could still predict you so easily, that says a lot about you. :rotf:
It’s on record, so you can’t deny it matey.

You are now part of his ‘body of work’.
Congratulations. You are famous! :taunt: :taunt:

Sir V wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:27 am

Who are we playing? With this same Sunday league side?
I know I heard “Ghana” and a few others not yet confirmed.

Yes, this same team.
Any problem? :blink: :blink: :blink:

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:34 am

Your spin.

Well, if he is no genius and as dumb as you seem to suggest yet he could still predict you so easily, that says a lot about you. :rotf:

Of course your agenda was to show that there was no good homebased player.

Now that the team was coached by the messiah ...................................

Congratulations to the Genius and the Certifier of the Genius.

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:37 am
Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 6:34 am

Your spin.

Of course your agenda was to show that there was no good homebased player.

Now that the team was coached by the messiah ...................................
See dodging! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

My alleged agenda is not important.
Your agenda has been put to the test.
What is the outcome?

Or you are now confused? :idea:
Congratulations to the Genius and the Certifier of the Genius.
All thanks to you.
You made us look good. 8-) 8-) 8-)
Re: NIGERIA SELECT 0 MEX 0

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:12 am
txj wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:11 am
1naija wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:07 am Who authorized this friendly?
Precisely!

If you cannot get your main team to play, then why open yourself to this kind of abuse...
they wanted to pimp these homebased players.

Come on you should know this by now.

They've been telling us that "Rohr is ignoring the homebased"
Damunk certified Genius has spoken :taunt:
Re: RAG TAG EAGLES 0 MEX 4

I THINK YOU GUYS ARE BEING TOO HARSH

This team was hastily put together and I'm sure most of the players had never played together before. Merely getting them to practice for a few days is not what it takes. The NFF is always caught unprepared - it's not the first time they've responded to an invitation with a shambolic arrangement.

As for the statement by the coach that they could never defeat Mexico, I believe he said that before he knew he was going to be in charge. That said, it was an irresponsible and demoralizing statement to make. How can the players be expected to put up a fight when their boss is telling them it's for naught?

(As a side note, the NFF continues this practice of not putting names on the back of players. maybe they didn't have enough time but the Mexicans didn't have the same problem)

Bell wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 7:36 am I THINK YOU GUYS ARE BEING TOO HARSH

This team was hastily put together and I'm sure most of the players had never played together before. Merely getting them to practice for a few days is not what it takes. The NFF is always caught unprepared - it's not the first time they've responded to an invitation with a shambolic arrangement.

As for the statement by the coach that they could never defeat Mexico, I believe he said that before he knew he was going to be in charge. That said, it was an irresponsible and demoralizing statement to make. How can the players be expected to put up a fight when their boss is telling them it's for naught?

(As a side note, the NFF continues this practice of not putting names on the back of players. maybe they didn't have enough time but the Mexicans didn't have the same problem)
The Mexicans are on the verge of playing a major tournament in just over a week.

As for our team, they all play in the same league, some maybe in the same team and others would have met each other in competition.
They haven’t been brought in from different countries like the SE.
Secondly, they had close to a fortnight’s preparation - which is more than most national teams have to prepare for international games.

So your reasons aren’t very strong.

Having said that, the harshness unleashed on the players is unfair.
Football get levels and they are playing to the levels they are capable of.
They simply need to improve. Talent alone is nothing in the modern game.

I bet you, not one of our full SE players past or present will deny having grown way beyond the level they were at when playing in Naija.
Ask Musa. Ask Enyeama. Damn, go back in time and ask Finidi, Amokachi and Amuneke.

It’s not rocket science. :idea:

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 7:22 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:12 am
txj wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:11 am
1naija wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 4:07 am Who authorized this friendly?
Precisely!

If you cannot get your main team to play, then why open yourself to this kind of abuse...
they wanted to pimp these homebased players.

Come on you should know this by now.

They've been telling us that "Rohr is ignoring the homebased"
Damunk certified Genius has spoken :taunt:

It’s not about me or anyone else bruv. Stop diverting.

Face front.
Address the real issue, embarrassing as it is. :idea:

Vs Ghana and Canada in October

Bell wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 7:36 am I THINK YOU GUYS ARE BEING TOO HARSH

Bell,

I think that you should Google what Rohr actually said. Don't fall for the nonsense being propagated by some in these parts.

i hate the new look of forum

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Beaten like we stole something. Rodney King type #$% whooping. So glad i missed the game as it would have totally ruined my night!

jette1 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 8:23 am i hate the new look of forum
I hear you but Please exercise a little patience. They're working on fixing the kinks. I've made suggestions in the P&S forum of what i think will improve my experience given the upgrade....please go there and do the same.

maceo4 wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 3:55 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 3:30 am I refuse to call this team the Super Eagles.

Enjoy

http://www.hesgoal.com/news/82500/Mexic ... geria.html
Then you should also call it Mexico's Olympic team as its not their main NT either...
No this is not their Olympic squad they’re regulars!
Re: NIGERIA SELECT 0 MEX 2

Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:43 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:39 am
highbury wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:19 am The easy thing is to bash the players. I feel like it is good for the players exposure
they can get all the "exposure" they want. Just keep them far away from SE.
Are you not being too harsh here?
They are Nigerians.
Let’s be fair.
It’s their right to represent their country wherever they play. :|
But they are obviously not good enough to play at that level so why should they represent a country,the question is do the NFF select players fairly and do they have the expertise in doing so ?

Eaglezbeak wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 10:14 am
highbury wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 5:19 am The easy thing is to bash the players. I feel like it is good for the players exposure
They are Nigerians.
Let’s be fair.
But they are obviously not good enough to play at that level so why should they represent a country,the question is do the NFF select players fairly and do they have the expertise in doing so ?
We have been told Eguavon selected the squad but for some reason people insist it wasn’t him.
Why? :idea:

:clap: w
Damunk wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 10:30 am
Eaglezbeak wrote: Sun Jul 04, 2021 10:14 am
They are Nigerians.
Let’s be fair.
We have been told Eguavon selected the squad but for some reason people insist it wasn’t him.
Why? :idea:
Otitokoro wrote:
Paul Aigbogun picked the team (as NFF Chief scout). Eguavon will train and manage the team (as NFF Technical Director).
Rohr has ZERO input in the selection and coaching process. He made that crystal clear when asked about it.
How Rohr factors into this is beyond me.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=304742&hilit=Aigbogun&start=23

I watched this game from quite late in the opening half and thus missed the early play. Here is my view:

The result could have been worse because the difference between the teams was quite wide. However, one must also understand that this was a game between a team coupled together for the first time for a little over a week against a team built over several months in addition to being highly ranked globally. That is, essentially, a team of individuals v one that has built team chemistry over time. That difference was enormous, particularly defensively.

If you watched carefully, Nigeria's team defensively was poor with very little TEAM organization and disorganized when Mexico attacked in numbers after dispossessing Nigeria in the Mexican half. Moreover, at those moments the team was widely unbalanced which created gaping holes. However, these issues are things that can be fixed with more training and importantly playing together. The lack of those two things showed.

A good point on the above is comparing this performance to that of the Falcons v USA women a few weeks ago. I use that comparison because in both games, the gulf was wide. However, in the Falcons' case you could see players that remained disciplined for long periods to avoid a humiliating result. For this team, that discipline was intermittently broken with some bravado that did not pay off. Nevertheless, I feel that this Nigerian team has potential to develop well. More preparation (see Keshi v Emordi build ups) will definitely lead to better outcomes. Ofcourse, this is not to state that this team can ever be the best Super Eagles team. Not by any chance, IMO.

Ultimately, there are individuals from this team that surely can be part of the full SE going forward. Of course we saw the inventiveness of Iwuala, already, but there were others. For me the #24 Sanusi was quite good. I know people have spoken of Ndah at centreback. I have watched him play for Nigerian selections at least three times. This time, it became apparent that he is not international class. He is a gritty defender but his pace is not up to par. Now understand that, for me, pace matters and I have similar problems with some of the guys in the regular SE team and this lad is not better than any of those.

I hope this team gets to play together going forward, at least in the main. I state this because it is obvious that a few of them will be leaving for foreign clubs after this game as well as based onprevious performances. However, there will be core.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Mexico vs Nigeria (4-0) FT

...the morning after, those few who gained are enjoying their 'loot' while majority fans are tearing dem skins like what happened :shock: