Watching The Game Again!

..and I have seen some very bad things -- particularly from Aiyegbini, Abbey George, Okoronkwo and Olofinjana. First half is almost over

like what band things ?
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

ugly boy
Re: Watching The Game Again!

Post by ugly boy »

YUJAM wrote:..and I have seen some very bad things -- particularly from Aiyegbini, Abbey George, Okoronkwo and Olofinjana. First half is almost over
Yujam abeg post your unbiased("unless involving Obodo and Diouf") analysis ...I know say you go talk true...anyway I only watched the 1st half and I'm on my way home to watch the game again on sports.tv

Post by 27 »

After the initial emotional lamenting, people will actually talk sense after watching the game again.
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

im watching it again an one thing is for sure..kanu sucks...i will not change that....
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie
Re: Watching The Game Again!

YUJAM wrote:..and I have seen some very bad things -- particularly from Aiyegbini, Abbey George, Okoronkwo and Olofinjana. First half is almost over
YUJAM:
Of course, you will see "some very bad things" if you go searching for them -- probably with a microscope!

It is not unlike those who only see the 'diving' skills of El Hadj Diouf -- ignoring that, after all of his histronics (the diving, the spitting, etc) are dispensed with, he remains an exceptionally-talented football player.

Man, just finished watching the first half:

Coaching: The formation is suspect but we already know this.

Enyeama - Has done well so far. No major mistakes except for a corner kick he clumsily hit over the bar.

Abbey George - Has done very well so far going forward. However, I am a bit concerned about how the Moroccans went thru his end with thru balls constantly. Did they have an extra player in midfield or was Abbey simply being caught at sea?

Yobo - Has done very well. He saved one or two crosses which could have been converted for goals - with athletic moves.

Isaac - Certainly stretched across the field. Also made a few hasty clearances. Looks a bit match rusty but has done his best.

Baba - Has been solid. Because CCC did not field a left midfielder, he has been a bit hesitant moving forward. Overall though, his part of the field has been unviolated as opposed to Abbey's.

Olofinjana - This is where I saw the problem. Did nothing spectacular. No long passes to open up the defense. His passing was all short to defenders. No dynamic movement. No speed and when he was beaten on the other half of the field, he did not hustle back. He even got in the way of an open Oga - a play which resulted in Moroccan player closing of the lane and stealing the ball after Seyi finally moved out the way. Won a few balls though.

JJ- Oga is oga but he was unnecessarily burdened. Brought a tear to my eye, when I saw him go down after making a tackle. Oga was played very deep today. It is criminal to do this to Oga. Players like Oga and Zidane should never have to work to hard to win balls.

Uttaka - Decent game. Has made a few runs down the side and has defended well.

Kanu - Interesting observation here. CCC pretty much gave Kanu, Oga's role today. He was essentially the creator behind the attack. However, Kanu was visible at times and invisible most of the time.

Aiyegbini - Very lazy performance so far. Has not helped Baba much. On one play, the Moroccan player dispossed Yak and passed to another teamie on the left side. Yak did not even hustle to help him. No wonder Baba did not trust coming forward.

Aghahowa - Has not done too badly but a dearth of opportunities has not done much to help him. Was he tactically constrained? Why didnt he drop back deeper to pick up the ball and make his customary devastating runs? And yes, he disallowed goal was offsides.
Last edited by YUJAM on Wed Jan 28, 2004 12:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
nakson

Post by nakson »

Yujam you have to Understand a Strikers mentality. Once they are dispossed they don't try to win back the ball. they simply wait for another play. I am sure you have noticed how Utaka, Kanu, Yakubu, Julius clogged around the 18yrd box anytime we tried to initiate attacks. Is it not amazing that any clearance in the Moroccan 18yrd box fell into the hands of the morrocans?
If a monkey is amongst dogs, why won't it start barking?

Nobody mourns an unnoticed death.

If a donkey kicks you and you kick back, you are both donkeys.

He who eats well speaks well or it is a question of insanity.

A tiger does not have to proclaim its tigri-tude.

When man pikin dey piss, him dey hold something for hand. Woman wey try-am, go piss for her hand.

YUJAM:
I must admit that it was a beter-balanced report than I had expected. :o
Chima

Post by Chima »

YUJAM..not bad.....
Graphic & Web Design Specialists
http://www.effectualdesigns.net
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

yeah, we really weren't that bad, yeah really

RUBBISH!!!!!!!
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.
HAWKEYE

Post by HAWKEYE »

Whao!!! and I thought I was recording. My tapes are blank!!! Well, good riddance to bad rubbish. Excuse me guys , but I'm still peeved.
CAPTAIN HAWKINS

Watched it again myself...everybody was below par. For the goal, Babayaro was too scared of being dribbled and left the morrocan winger to his devices - heck that guy had enough time to say a prayer and still get his cross in. Okocha might have cleared the ball if he had a defenders mentality (can't really be blamed). Okoronkwo should definitely have cleared the ball if he had a defenders mentality - oops sorry he is a defender! As for Yobo, ole boy just dey day dream - what a mugu!

I have to say Enyeama did okay.

Second half, as I finish watching the second half of S Africa vs Benin

Referee: Fallou Ndoye called an excellent game today unlike other times in the past. Both disallowed goals were correct calls. For the most part, he let the game flow and this was good.

Coaching: In this coaching battle between legends of the African game, Zaki came out on top. I wonder if our soccer guru, Ayo, realized that Zaki played a 3-5-2 formation with Naybet, Karkouri and Ouaddou doing a wonderful job. So much for LCs not knowing their stuff. But for real, what was up with CCC's weird formation? If it would've worked, we would have hailed him as a genius. But did this hair-brained scheme ever have a chance of working? Poor Aiyegbini has never been effective down the left wing. I could not help but notice that when Kanu went out for Ikedia, Uttaka disappeared in what I call a deep tactical hole. The guy was nowhere to be seen after this.

Enyeama - I don't see what everyone was complaining about. He did well and saved what looked like a sure second goal for Morocco. He played very well.

George - I guess he did OK but I like half backs that can also pass that medium range ball to players on the inside. Unfortunately, Abbey prefers to lob the ball to his forwards. Though this worked once or twice, it is not a particularly efficient system of play and when a player does this over and over, it takes away from the efficiency of the team. Overall, he put in a solid effort. He can play for a good division 1 team in England.

Okoronkwo - Stretched to the limit and beaten on several occasions by swift Moroccan players. Surely, the time on the bench at Wolves has made him very rusty and short of match practice. He got turned around too many times for my liking. How will he cope against the Nomvethes and CO?

Yobo - Played a solid overall game but was clearly at fault for the goal. He simply gave his man too much space and this is unacceptable at this level. He had a few other shaky moments.

Babayaro - In the second half, the Moroccans seemed to use his side a bit more than in the first half. However, because he received very little defensive help, this was to be expected. A competent and professional performance.

Olofinjana - Someone must have talked to him at the half because he put up a much better performance in the second half. He got stuck in and anticipated the balls that were coming in. He probably won in the range of 15 balls all game long. I like his clean and heads up football. Unfortunately, Seyi does not seem to have the long range ground passing game that I like to see in holding midfielders. The kind of pass that a forward can do something with. Also, Seyi looked quite tired in the second half and clearly needed some help. Overall, a very good performance.

JJ -- Oga is oga but unfortunately he was played too deep. Simply a travesty.

Uttaka - Did well and created well up front. He even had a good shot saved earlier in the half. The Ikedia substitution resulted in him being sent down a tactical hole, which he seemed unable to emerge from.

Aiyegbini - The less said about his performance, the better. Missed a clear goal in the seond half when he shot wide with his right foot. His poor match was capped off when Naybet heighted him in the Moroccan box.

Aghahowa -- He looked rather amateurish on two headers in the second half. Just on account of such amateurish play, his performance greatly depreciated in my eyes. He is clearly more comfortable with the ball at his feet.

Kanu - Invisible most of the second half. Did very little and was subbed?

Ikedia - Did OK. Same ole Ikedia performance. Some hard running down the flank and some decent crosses.

Agali - Showed some signs of poor control and general clumsiness. However, he did look like an aerial threat. Considering the aerial prowess of Naybet and Co, one has to wonder why CCC did not start him! :roll:
Last edited by YUJAM on Wed Jan 28, 2004 3:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

THERE MAY BE CELEBRATIONS AT HIGHBURY, STAMFORD BRIDGE, GOODISON, REEBOK, BUT...

...they may be premature. The death of the SE may have been exaggerated.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Yujam, very good analysis. Thanks!
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

HAWKEYE wrote:Whao!!! and I thought I was recording. My tapes are blank!!! Well, good riddance to bad rubbish. Excuse me guys , but I'm still peeved.
na Ojuju thief am

Post by segebaba »

i beg i never see the game can someone help mw,where can i watch the game on the internet? pls help
those who fail to plan, plan to fail........

"Valdez comes out & spits the verbiage like Mussolini at the balcony", lol...
"Puyol almost got caught w his knickers down" Lmao!
"Messi could follow u into a revovling door and still come out first"
"It's the maestro himself, the puppeteer who turns into the daggerman..", lol...

Bell wrote:THERE MAY BE CELEBRATIONS AT HIGHBURY, STAMFORD BRIDGE, GOODISON, REEBOK, BUT...

...they may be premature. The death of the SE may have been exaggerated.
Bell, or it may have not been.