Is Kennedy Boboye an NPFL Super Coach?

Given Kennedy Boboye winning the NPFL title at Akwa United and being the first to win it with two different clubs in the NPFL, would you classify him as an NPFL Super Coach?

My view is YES. He definitely belongs with the other three NPFL Super Coaches. Here are the other three:

1. Salisu Yusuf
2. Abdu Maikaba
3. Gbenga Ogunbote

I have not listed them in any particular order.

What do you think?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
chuks69
Time to recognise Coach Kennedy Boboye coaching Prowess

Post by chuks69 »

Coach Boboye first won the NPL a few years ago with Plateau United (their first NPL title), now he has repeated the trick with Akwa United.
Kennedy teams play breath taking attacking football.. The unfortunate thing, the times he has been in the National teams, he has been one of the Assistants... Kennedy Boboye can be the next top coach from motherland.
afc##
Re: Is Kennedy Boboye an NPFL Super Coach?

Enugu II wrote: Sun Aug 01, 2021 7:41 pm Given Kennedy Boboye winning the NPFL title at Akwa United and being the first to win it with two different clubs in the NPFL, would you classify him as an NPFL Super Coach?

My view is YES. He definitely belongs with the other three NPFL Super Coaches. Here are the other three:

1. Salisu Yusuf
2. Abdu Maikaba
3. Gbenga Ogunbote

I have not listed them in any particular order.

What do you think?
No doubt!! If we're even looking at NPFL titles won in a 38 game season, technically this is his 2nd in a row.
He's built a tough squad of players with the largest point gap from 2nd that i've seen in a long time. Though I want to see how he'll do on the continent on a bigger stage as well with the potential loss of key players to bigger leagues sooner or later he has to think fast.

Considering Salisu Yusuf is a thief who has been caught on camera collecting bribes, one must question his successes. it is tainted! It is not far-fetched that he bribed his way to any title he won.

Only in Nigeria will a well known thief and fraud be praised and called a "super" anything. smh, Who cursed us?!

danfo driver wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 2:06 am Considering Salisu Yusuf is a thief who has been caught on camera collecting bribes, one must question his successes. it is tainted! It is not far-fetched that he bribed his way to any title he won.

Only in Nigeria will a well known thief and fraud be praised and called a "super" anything. smh, Who cursed us?!
Yes but I was told that Salisu learned his lesson and won't do it again and also that it was only small money they bribed him with so they shouldn't investigate and we should forgive.
Re: Time to recognise Coach Kennedy Boboye coaching Prowess

chuks69 wrote: Sun Aug 01, 2021 9:36 pm Coach Boboye first won the NPL a few years ago with Plateau United (their first NPL title), now he has repeated the trick with Akwa United.
Kennedy teams play breath taking attacking football.. The unfortunate thing, the times he has been in the National teams, he has been one of the Assistants... Kennedy Boboye can be the next top coach from motherland.
I agree. Boboye and tge Plateau Utd coach have shown their mettle as attack minded coaches that also produce results. Ogunbote also produces results but prefers to defend resolutely. I hope that instead of present I ng them as assistants at the NT level that they should be given the reins handling one of the national teams.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Let's see what his team does on the continent.

He must be doing something right to win 2 titles with different teams.

Hopefully Akwa will perform well at the CAF tournament. If they do, then it might be a good idea to bring him in to manage one of our national teams, preferably U23.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

They went like 18 games in the league without a defeat and in 37 games , they've only lost 4 matches.. in my books, dude is miles ahead of the current joker we have coaching our SE

Is he a relation of Boboye, who coached the Atlanta 96 dream team qualifiers? (I believe Boboye coached the team until the 0 - 0 draw with Kenya in Lagos. Foreign based players were invited for the battle in Mombasa (2nd leg), Which the team won 3 - 0.
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Gbenga Ogunbote and Kadiri Ikhana fall into this category of Super coaches too, surely.
chuks69

Post by chuks69 »

fabio wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 1:09 pm Is he a relation of Boboye, who coached the Atlanta 96 dream team qualifiers? (I believe Boboye coached the team until the 0 - 0 draw with Kenya in Lagos. Foreign based players were invited for the battle in Mombasa (2nd leg), Which the team won 3 - 0.
Dude Kennedy Boboye played in that Atlanta team, as a Striker, #8 or #9, and was dispensed when the Foreign based players took over..
afc##

fabio wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 1:09 pm Is he a relation of Boboye, who coached the Atlanta 96 dream team qualifiers? (I believe Boboye coached the team until the 0 - 0 draw with Kenya in Lagos. Foreign based players were invited for the battle in Mombasa (2nd leg), Which the team won 3 - 0.
You mean he played? He played the qualifiers but didn't make the final cut.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

SEs has not being the same since Yusuf left. Bring him back and get rid of Joseph Yoyo.

Aswani wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 2:08 pm Gbenga Ogunbote and Kadiri Ikhana fall into this category of Super coaches too, surely.
But Kadiri Ikhana has long left the coaching circuit. Unless you are counting on retirees.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 11:45 am They went like 18 games in the league without a defeat and in 37 games , they've only lost 4 matches.. in my books, dude is miles ahead of the current joker we have coaching our SE
NNIgeria league that home team never losses? Ive been privileged to watch some league games live this year and i must say its been totally dissapointing. A league were referee decides the winner before the match starts.

chief nfachairman wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 4:17 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 11:45 am They went like 18 games in the league without a defeat and in 37 games , they've only lost 4 matches.. in my books, dude is miles ahead of the current joker we have coaching our SE
NNIgeria league that home team never losses? Ive been privileged to watch some league games live this year and i must say its been totally dissapointing. A league were referee decides the winner before the match starts.
But all said and done, he still emerged from the battle as last man standing.
TWICE!!!

https://bbcgossip.com/sports/akwa-unite ... l-triumph/

Akwa United’s Boboye shifts focus to Caf Champions League after historic NPFL triumph
SPORTS
August 2, 2021

Updated: 12 hours ago

After helping the Promise Keepers win their maiden Nigerian top-flight title, the tactician is aiming to lead the team to a fruitful outing in Africa

Coach Kennedy Boboye has shifted focus to Akwa United’s Caf Champions League campaign after leading the Promise Keepers to Nigeria Professional League glory.

Inspired by a Charles Atshimene hat-trick, the Uyo-based outfit mauled MFM 5-2 at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium to end their NPFL title wait with a game to spare.

Following winning their maiden top-flight crown, the former Nigeria international now boasts of two winners medals after leading Plateau United to the country’s elite division diadem in 2017 after leaving Abia Warriors.

While revelling in Akwa’s historic feat, Boboye claims his next goal is to lead the team to a successful outing when the African club tournament commences.

“It feels good winning the Nigeria Professional Football League title with Akwa United. That is a great reward for our hard work and consistency,” Boboye told Goal.

“This trophy is for the Akwa Ibom state governor Mr. Udom Emmanuel, the commissioner for youths and sports Monday Uko and our amiable chairman Paul Bassey for their supports since I was appointed as head coach of this great team.

“I will not forget to appreciate the contributions of my technical crew and players because, without them, this feat would have not been possible.

“I’m the happiest man in the world at the moment because, at the start of the season, no one gave us a chance, but with a game left, we have emerged as champions of one of the biggest leagues in Africa.

“All celebrations are on hold for now because we have commenced preparations for our game against Lobi Stars.

“Although the result is inconsequential, we are hoping to end the 2020-21 campaign on a winning note.

“Having won the NPFL title for the very first time, our next target is to represent Nigeria well in next year’s Caf Champions League.

“Aiming for the African crown is a tall dream, but we are hoping to give a good account of ourselves and also to show everyone that we are worthy champions of Nigeria.

“Shortly after the end of this campaign, we will have a brief rest before commencing preparations for the Caf Champions League with full force.”

Nasarawa United, Rivers United, Enyimba, Kwara United and Kano Pillars will battle for the last slot in Africa’s elite club competition allocated to Nigeria
Aswani

Post by Aswani »

Enugu II wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 2:30 am
Aswani wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 2:08 pm Gbenga Ogunbote and Kadiri Ikhana fall into this category of Super coaches too, surely.
But Kadiri Ikhana has long left the coaching circuit. Unless you are counting on retirees.
I didn't realise he was only referring to current coaches plus Gbenga Ogunbote was originally mentioned but I missed it.

You mean Bazuaye. Willy Bazuaye was the one who initially coached the Atlanta 96 team before Bonfere Jo took over. No relation.

Adisboy wrote: Wed Aug 04, 2021 8:23 am
You mean Bazuaye. Willy Bazuaye was the one who initially coached the Atlanta 96 team before Bonfere Jo took over. No relation.
Thanks! It was Wily Bazuaye. At least, I know you followed the team right from the beginning. :clap: :clap:

Damunk wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 6:14 am
chief nfachairman wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 4:17 am
But all said and done, he still emerged from the battle as last man standing.
TWICE!!!
which battle?

:bump: :bump: :bump:

How far?
His name keeps coming up.