Nigeria should learn from the USA

The US just won the Gold Cup using a B squad, beating their arch rivals Mexico who used their first team. This shows that the US is building a serious team that will do well in 2022 and may even make a serious run in 2026 when they host the cup.

Their success using this B team highlights what I have been trying to tell people on this forum, the importance of squad depth, and KNOWING the heirarchy of players for each position and installing a sense of competition among the players.

From looking at the US forum on Big Soccer it became apparent to me that the US fans and the US soccer program were aware of their squad depth and took the fight for places deadly seriously.

When they played friendlies or nations league matches, everything was done strategically. They looked at new players (that deserved to be looked at) and built team chemistry as well.

When a player gets injured or is unavailable, they know the next player on the depth chart who will slot in to take that players place.

I attempted to draw up a depth chart for SE players for each position, and if the NFF/Rohr had looked at my charts and built the team around that instead of wasting time picking all sorts of "hey you" junks, organizing games for a useless "homebased B team" that have no business anywhere near SE. Believe me the SE will be in a much better place.

How is it that the US can win Gold Cup with a B team, and yet Nigeria has not even given any serious look at the following players

Sadiq Umar, Simmy Nwankwo, Alhassan Yusuf, Obinna Nwobodo, Paul Mukairu, Kelechi Nwakali,

If these players were American, they would all have received multiple caps and would be well integrated into the system.

Yet we are wasting time with homebased junks and junks like Abdullahi who plays in Cyprus, and Ahmed Musa who is well past it and clubless.

Nigeria is not a serious nation.

Football is scientific, look how the US has established a formidable core of players.

Contrast that with Nigeria who will be scrambling to replace an injured Osimehn or Ndidi, because we REFUSED to look at deserving players and ignored to build a solid squad depth.
Re: Nigeria should learn from the USA

The majority of this squad are homebased sha :roll:

Sunset wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:31 pm The majority of this squad are homebased sha :roll:
the point is not about homebased or not.

Its about knowing the depth of your team and how to utilize it.

Its about knowing where your talent lies, obviously we cannot compete with the US in terms of domestic league production, because their league is vastly superior, and attracts all manner of international players.

They know they can build upon developed talent in their league, but they also know they have plenty of overseas based players.

Cannon, Moore, and Hoppe were key players for the US in that tournament, who all play in Europe, but they are still outside of their regular euro players.

The bulk of Nigerian talent is in Europe.

We could easily have 2 to 3 full squads of 23 players entirely based in Europe. ( Besides the goalkeepers perhaps)

It is an absolute failure of our organization , coaching, NFF, blame whoever that we haven't even integrated in many of the mentioned players who are doing well in European leagues.

Yet we have time to call up junks like Ahmed Musa, Abdullahi.

We continue to call up 3 midfielders for key matches while calling up 10 defenders.

We waste time and resources with home based nonsense, instead of building up suitable backups to our first team.

Total lack of organizations, strategy, and foresight.

You got it completely wrong IMO.

The US is this successful because they have an organized home based league and grassroots structure. It is that simple.

They now have enviable depth in quality and I expect the USA to get better and better
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:27 pm The US just won the Gold Cup using a B squad, beating their arch rivals Mexico who used their first team. This shows that the US is building a serious team that will do well in 2022 and may even make a serious run in 2026 when they host the cup.

Their success using this B team highlights what I have been trying to tell people on this forum, the importance of squad depth, and KNOWING the heirarchy of players for each position and installing a sense of competition among the players.

From looking at the US forum on Big Soccer it became apparent to me that the US fans and the US soccer program were aware of their squad depth and took the fight for places deadly seriously.

When they played friendlies or nations league matches, everything was done strategically. They looked at new players (that deserved to be looked at) and built team chemistry as well.

When a player gets injured or is unavailable, they know the next player on the depth chart who will slot in to take that players place.

I attempted to draw up a depth chart for SE players for each position, and if the NFF/Rohr had looked at my charts and built the team around that instead of wasting time picking all sorts of "hey you" junks, organizing games for a useless "homebased B team" that have no business anywhere near SE. Believe me the SE will be in a much better place.

How is it that the US can win Gold Cup with a B team, and yet Nigeria has not even given any serious look at the following players

Sadiq Umar, Simmy Nwankwo, Alhassan Yusuf, Obinna Nwobodo, Paul Mukairu, Kelechi Nwakali,

If these players were American, they would all have received multiple caps and would be well integrated into the system.

Yet we are wasting time with homebased junks and junks like Abdullahi who plays in Cyprus, and Ahmed Musa who is well past it and clubless.

Football is scientific, look how the US has established a formidable core of players.

Contrast that with Nigeria who will be scrambling to replace an injured Osimehn or Ndidi, because we REFUSED to look at deserving players and ignored to build a solid squad depth.

Homebased means nothing if you have a good league with good academies and grassroots you should be expecting good results,Nigeria has non of the above so just bunching a load of guys that can’t reach the Wafu semifinals,can’t qualify to the CHAN and then failed in the All African games and of cause couldn’t qualify to the Olympics won’t change a thing until a professional and competent organisation takes control.

YUJAM wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:53 pm You got it completely wrong IMO.

The US is this successful because they have an organized home based league and grassroots structure. It is that simple.

They now have enviable depth in quality and I expect the USA to get better and better
[/quote]

Nigeria will never have a league like the MLS, so I dont know what I have wrong.

We dont have the money or infrastructure to develop a league like the MLS, so you are comparing apples to oranges if you think we can replicate what they are doing with their domestic league.

What we can learn from the US is that as a national program you should be methodical in terms of building and understanding your squad depth.

When Wilfred Ndidi gets injured, we should not be scrambling to replace him. We should know who the next best 4 or 5 options are. It shouldn't be a shot in the dark.

If we do not have Osimehn to score for us, we should not be relying on a hit or miss basketball player because we have refused to look at other options, or because a fat, clubless and useless Musa has wasted squad positions for years.

Instead of building for Qatar 2022, the NFF is busy parading some useless Homebased players who dont even know the fundamentals of football. They are even talking about tournaments in the US in october, yet guys like Kelechi Nwakali, Obinna Nwobodo, Alhassan Yusuf, do not even have 1 cap for Nigeria.

Please something is not right with the way we are going about things.

the last chart I composed from back in March

March 2021 Update

*possible return or change of nationality

STRIKERS

Victor Osimehn-22
Umar Sadiq-24
Kelechi Iheanacho-24
Terrem Moffi-21
Josh Maja-22
Paul Onuachu-26
Taiwo Awoniyi-23
Simy Nwankwo-28
Cyriel Dessers-26
Tolu Arokodare-20

*Odion Ighalo-31

WINGERS/WIDE STRIKERS

Ademola Lookman-23
Samuel Chukwueze-21
Samuel Kalu-23
Simon Moses-25
Chidera Ejuke-23
Paul Mukairu-21
Emmanuel Dennis-23
Henry Onyekuru-23
Ahmed Musa-28
Noah Bazee-24
David Okereke-23
Peter Olayinka-25

*Victor Moses-30
*Bright Osayi Samuel-23

ATTACKING MIDFIELDER

Alex Iwobi-24
Ovie Ejaria-23

*Eberechi Eze-22
*Michael Olise-19
*Noni Madueke-18
*Nathan Tella-21

CENTER & DEFENSIVE MIDFIELDER

Wilfred Ndidi-24
Joe Aribo-24
Peter Etebo-25
Ramon Azeez-28
Mikel Agu-27
Obinna Nwobodo-24
Kelechi Nwakali-22
Frank Onyeka-23
Yusuf Alhassan-20
Azuibikwe Okechukwu-23
Kingsley Michael-21
Tom Dele Bashiru-21
Samson Tijani-18
James Igbekeme-25
Ogenyi Onazi-28
Anderson Esiti-26

*Josh Onomah-23

CENTRE BACKS

Leon Balogun-32
Kevin Akpoguma-25
Semi Ajayi-27
William Troost Ekong-27
Kenneth Omeruo-27
Chidozie Awaziem-24
Valentine Ozornwafor-21

*Tosin Adarabioyo-23
*Jordan Torunariga-23

RIGHT BACKS

Ola Aina-24
Tyrone Ebuehi-25
Moses Odubajo-27
Shehu Abdullahi-27

*Kingsley Ehizibue-25

LEFT BACKS

Zaidu Sanusi-23
Jamilu Collins-26
Brian Idowu-28
Ikouwem Udo-21

*Felix Agu-21

GOALKEEPERS

Maduka Okoye-21
Francis Uzoho-22
Daniel Akpeyi-34
Matthew Yakubu-21
Sebastian Osigwe-26
Ikechukwu Ezenwa-32
Dele Alampasu-24
OnlineOnline
Quick Reply

Mexico's 1st team is at the Olympics. This is a makeshift team as well. Anyways Vancity we all know your boy **** is an obstacle in the SEs unleashing its full potential. He never tries any new players he invites and if he does its a 5- 10 minute cameo. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

bret- hart wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 8:03 pm Mexico's 1st team is at the Olympics. This is a makeshift team as well. Anyways Vancity we all know your boy **** is an obstacle in the SEs unleashing its full potential. He never tries any new players he invites and if he does its a 5- 10 minute cameo. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
No its not. :atc: Their u-23 alongside a couple of the main guys are at the olympics while a bulk of their main team played in the Gold Cup.

Below is the Olympic team and only Ochoa , Romo and Martin were the overaged guys.

Of their defenders from the list below, only Montes has played more than 5 times for the senior team. . In the midfield you have guys that have played about 20 times for the Main team. They are however, not starters as Alvarez, Dos Santos , Pineda and Hector Herrera (All part of the gold cup) are their main starters.

The forwards? Apart from Martin who is overaged, the other 2(Vega = 8 times, Aguirre = 0) are not 1st team mainstay.

So please, where did you get the info about the olympic team being their 1st team?
1 GK Luis Malagón 2 March 1997 (aged 24) Mexico Necaxa
13 GK Guillermo Ochoa* 13 July 1985 (aged 35) Mexico América
22 GK Sebastián Jurado 28 September 1997 (aged 23) Mexico Cruz Azul
2 DF Jorge Sánchez 10 December 1997 (aged 23) Mexico América
3 DF César Montes 24 February 1997 (aged 24) Mexico Monterrey
4 DF Alberto Angulo 30 January 1998 (aged 23) Mexico Atlas
5 DF Johan Vásquez 22 October 1998 (aged 21) Mexico UNAM
6 DF Vladimir Loroña 16 November 1998 (aged 22) Mexico Tijuana
12 DF Adrián Mora 15 August 1997 (aged 23) Mexico Juárez
14 DF Érick Aguirre 23 February 1997 (aged 24) Mexico Monterrey
7 MF Luis Romo* 5 June 1995 (aged 26) Mexico Cruz Azul
8 MF Carlos Rodríguez 3 January 1997 (aged 24) Mexico Monterrey
10 MF Diego Lainez 9 June 2000 (aged 21) Spain Betis
15 MF Uriel Antuna 21 August 1997 (aged 23) Mexico Guadalajara
16 MF José Joaquín Esquivel 7 January 1998 (aged 23) Mexico Juárez
17 MF Sebastián Córdova 12 June 1997 (aged 24) Mexico América
19 MF Ricardo Angulo 20 February 1997 (aged 24) Mexico Guadalajara
20 MF Fernando Beltrán 8 May 1998 (aged 23) Mexico Guadalajara
21 MF Roberto Alvarado 7 September 1998 (aged 22) Mexico Cruz Azul
9 FW Henry Martín* 18 November 1992 (aged 28) Mexico América
11 FW Alexis Vega 25 November 1997 (aged 23) Mexico Guadalajara
18 FW Eduardo Aguirre 3 August 1998 (aged 22) Mexico Santos Laguna

bret- hart wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 8:03 pm Mexico's 1st team is at the Olympics. This is a makeshift team as well. Anyways Vancity we all know your boy **** is an obstacle in the SEs unleashing its full potential. He never tries any new players he invites and if he does its a 5- 10 minute cameo. :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
Mexico first team wasn't at the Olympics bret! Their first team was at the Gold Cup and got beat by USA C team! Let give credit where credit is due!

...allow people underestimating the US to continue.
Meanwhile, a Nigeria B team have to homebased abi? and no one likes the homebased playing for the SE. Look at what happened vs Mexico, they were all caricatured.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 6:02 pm

Nigeria will never have a league like the MLS, so I dont know what I have wrong.

We dont have the money or infrastructure to develop a league like the MLS, so you are comparing apples to oranges if you think we can replicate what they are doing with their domestic league.

What we can learn from the US is that as a national program you should be methodical in terms of building and understanding your squad depth.

When Wilfred Ndidi gets injured, we should not be scrambling to replace him. We should know who the next best 4 or 5 options are. It shouldn't be a shot in the dark.

If we do not have Osimehn to score for us, we should not be relying on a hit or miss basketball player because we have refused to look at other options, or because a fat, clubless and useless Musa has wasted squad positions for years.

Instead of building for Qatar 2022, the NFF is busy parading some useless Homebased players who dont even know the fundamentals of football. They are even talking about tournaments in the US in october, yet guys like Kelechi Nwakali, Obinna Nwobodo, Alhassan Yusuf, do not even have 1 cap for Nigeria.

Please something is not right with the way we are going about things.[/quote]

Not sure how or why u would make the above highlighted statement.

We have our own league and what it requires is the dedication to make it work, in our own way and reflecting our own circumstances.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:50 pm
Sunset wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:31 pm The majority of this squad are homebased sha :roll:
the point is not about homebased or not.

Its about knowing the depth of your team and how to utilize it.

Its about knowing where your talent lies, obviously we cannot compete with the US in terms of domestic league production, because their league is vastly superior, and attracts all manner of international players.

They know they can build upon developed talent in their league, but they also know they have plenty of overseas based players.

Cannon, Moore, and Hoppe were key players for the US in that tournament, who all play in Europe, but they are still outside of their regular euro players.

The bulk of Nigerian talent is in Europe.

We could easily have 2 to 3 full squads of 23 players entirely based in Europe. ( Besides the goalkeepers perhaps)

It is an absolute failure of our organization , coaching, NFF, blame whoever that we haven't even integrated in many of the mentioned players who are doing well in European leagues.

Yet we have time to call up junks like Ahmed Musa, Abdullahi.

We continue to call up 3 midfielders for key matches while calling up 10 defenders.

We waste time and resources with home based nonsense, instead of building up suitable backups to our first team.

Total lack of organizations, strategy, and foresight.
We know the depth of our team. Certainly Rhor does, from the first team games and friendlies...
He's stated that quite often.

That you don't agree with the choices/decisions by the coach does not change the facts...

Ultimately, it is the coaches choices and how he evaluates players that count. We certainly can disagree with these, but it does not signify disorganization or lack of foresight.

There's plenty to criticize about Rohr, but I'm not sure his squad management is one. He has his core team which has evolved progressively.

Nwakali, to use one of your fav egs is not rated by him. I mean, what does it take for u to recognize that?

Like it or not, Ahmed Musa is proven in the SE. And even then he's not one of the mainstays anymore, which again shows evolution...

The job of a NT coach is not one of endless experimentation. At some point a core emerges. It has in this SE.

Recognize that and STOP your endless whining!!!!!!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

This is Mexico's A team minus three players at most.

[/quote]

I REJECT THAT PREMISE - THAT NIGERIA CANNOT DEVELOP A LEAGUE LIKE THE MLS

It just requires the right people to put their heads together and to have some self-belief. And it can't start by saying it can't be done. When the MLS started there was no shortage of naysayers.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 5:27 pm The US just won the Gold Cup using a B squad, beating their arch rivals Mexico who used their first team. This shows that the US is building a serious team that will do well in 2022 and may even make a serious run in 2026 when they host the cup.

The defense is an "A" defense NOT a "B".
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

............ all these discussion will be dismissed by the following ....................
1. In addition to an "A" defense that I previously mentioned,
2. it is their National coach that assembles/coaches any of these squad of players, unlike in yours where your National Coach does not except when the Sports Minister barks at him like a dog.
3. Plus their National Coach attends matches all the time to watch players unlike in yours.

CASE CLOSED.

Oguleftie wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 4:54 am ............ all these discussion will be dismissed by the following ....................
1. In addition to an "A" defense that I previously mentioned,
2. it is their National coach that assembles/coaches any of these squad of players, unlike in yours where your National Coach does not except when the Sports Minister barks at him like a dog.
3. Plus their National Coach attends matches all the time to watch players unlike in yours.

CASE CLOSED.
Then go back and support your Team USA and leave our team to us, okay?
What are you even doing here sef?
We should limit your access to the WORLD FOOTBALL section.
Gerrarahia with your two left feet.
Nonsense. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

...Nigeria, and Nigerians, are beyond learning in any facet of our life. Football, politics, governing, you name it. The rot is too deep.

Uncle EII and Uncle Cellulite said we should learn from Coach Mike Brown too. At this rate we will be learning from every Tom, DcK and Harry that win one useless friendly game or tournament.

Thank you, TXJ. VE simply doesn't get it.

Grassroots organization and a solid league (just well organized) will take you a long way. The USA is showing this right now. They have a deep pipeline of players to the point where they can beat Mexico A-

Some of the guys on their supposed B team will actually start for the full team. Miles Robinson has shown world-class talent and he will start for the A team alongside John Brooks. Kellyn Acosta is another top-notch DM who may beat out Tyler Adams of Leipzig for a starting spot. Bello at left-back also looks capable of playing at a higher level.

I have no doubt that with the proper grassroots set-up, Nigeria can produce a similar pipeline. And for VE if you want to look at the league that is not rich but effective at producing talent, look at Colombia.
txj wrote: Mon Aug 02, 2021 10:45 pm

We have our own league and what it requires is the dedication to make it work, in our own way and reflecting our own circumstances.

[/quote]

YUJAM wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 11:40 pm Thank you, TXJ. VE simply doesn't get it.

Grassroots organization and a solid league (just well organized) will take you a long way. The USA is showing this right now. They have a deep pipeline of players to the point where they can beat Mexico A-

Some of the guys on their supposed B team will actually start for the full team. Miles Robinson has shown world-class talent and he will start for the A team alongside John Brooks. Kellyn Acosta is another top-notch DM who may beat out Tyler Adams of Leipzig for a starting spot. Bello at left-back also looks capable of playing at a higher level.

I have no doubt that with the proper grassroots set-up, Nigeria can produce a similar pipeline. And for VE if you want to look at the league that is not rich but effective at producing talent, look at Colombia.

[/quote]

I'm not saying the Nigerian league can not and should not improve, I am saying you cannot expect them to be on the level of the MLS that can afford to pay players top dollar. It is even known as a retirement league because top players who are old can go there for a payout.

Nigeria is struggling to keep its top talents who will even leave to go play in Latvia or any other fourth rate European league.

If you want to improve the league, you need incentive to keep the top players there, similar to what they are doing in Egypt.

What we should be doing however, which we are not is making sure we build up our squad depth. That is a lesson we can immedietly learn from the Americans and work on without any development which is a longer term strategy.

But so long as Latvia and Azerbaijan are "lucrative" destinations for Nigerian based players, the league will not improve.

vancity eagle wrote: Wed Aug 04, 2021 5:07 am
YUJAM wrote: Tue Aug 03, 2021 11:40 pm Thank you, TXJ. VE simply doesn't get it.

I'm not saying the Nigerian league can not and should not improve, I am saying you cannot expect them to be on the level of the MLS that can afford to pay players top dollar. It is even known as a retirement league because top players who are old can go there for a payout.

Nigeria is struggling to keep its top talents who will even leave to go play in Latvia or any other fourth rate European league.

If you want to improve the league, you need incentive to keep the top players there, similar to what they are doing in Egypt.

What we should be doing however, which we are not is making sure we build up our squad depth. That is a lesson we can immedietly learn from the Americans and work on without any development which is a longer term strategy.

But so long as Latvia and Azerbaijan are "lucrative" destinations for Nigerian based players, the league will not improve.
[/quote]

I understand the role of economics and livelihood in this.

But that is only half of the issue.

The other half is the appropriate development of players.

Nigeria is not the poorest country in the world. Besides, in the context of the reward system in Nigeria, footballers are not the least paid people, albeit irregularly.

Its about FIRST, using what you have effectively.

In that context you do not need a league with the incentive rate of the MLS or any other country to make a success of instituting a high average standard for developing players.

Given the nature of the global game, players will ALWAYS leave.

What is important is not the departures. Its what you are doing to develop players while they are in Nigeria.