Super Eagles Camp updates

oyek
Super Eagles Camp updates

Post by oyek »

Premier League stars Kelechi Iheanacho and Wilfred Ndidi have been among the players to already hit the Super Eagles training camp ahead of Friday’s 2020 World Cup qualifier against Liberia in Lagos.

Everton forward Alex Iwobi is the other player from the Premier League in the camp, while South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi and Abia Warriors Adekunle Adeleke, a late call-up, have also reported.

Officials assured the bulk of the 30-man squad will be in camp later today

It is expected that coach Gernot Rohr will line up his strongest team for Friday’s clash against Liberia at the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos after which the players from the Premier League will return to their base as they will not feature in the second qualifier in Cape Verde on September 7 as it is on the UK Red List of the Coronavirus protocol.

The players in England would have to quarantine for at least 10 days on return to their base should they visit Cape Verde.

https://scorenigeria.com.ng/
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
Re: Super Eagles Camp updates

So we are going to play Cape Verde with "hey you" players if wen't using the UK players. btw who are these so call UK players?

Even with our full squad Cape Verde are no push overs. If we get a draw away it will be a decent result.
oyek

Post by oyek »

The latest update is that there are now as many as 11 cal-ups in the Super Eagles camp in Lagos led by the likes of Kenneth Omeruo and Oghenekaro Etebo just as Kevin Akpoguma has become the second invitee to pull out of the World Cup qualifiers.

Other arrivals are Henry Onyekuru, goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, uncapped Kingsley Michael as well as Chidera Ejuke from Russian club CSKA Moscow.

They join early birds Wilfred Ndidi, Kelechi Iheanacho and Alex Iwobi.

In the meantime, Hoffenheim defender Akpoguma is now the second call-up after Brentford midfielder Frank Onyeka to pull out of the Eagles qualifiers versus Liberia and Cape Verde after he tested positive for Coronavirus.

That could well explain the last-minute invitation handed Abia Warriors Adekunle Adeleke.

The Eagles will have their first training this evening.
https://scorenigeria.com.ng/omeruo-eteb ... pulls-out/

oyek wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 3:51 pm The latest update is that there are now as many as 11 cal-ups in the Super Eagles camp in Lagos led by the likes of Kenneth Omeruo and Oghenekaro Etebo just as Kevin Akpoguma has become the second invitee to pull out of the World Cup qualifiers.

Other arrivals are Henry Onyekuru, goalkeeper Francis Uzoho, uncapped Kingsley Michael as well as Chidera Ejuke from Russian club CSKA Moscow.

In the meantime, Hoffenheim defender Akpoguma is now the second call-up after Brentford midfielder Frank Onyeka to pull out of the Eagles qualifiers versus Liberia and Cape Verde after he tested positive for Coronavirus.

That could well explain the last-minute invitation handed Abia Warriors Adekunle Adeleke.

tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Spot on.....it would be a struggle even with the "best 11"
Mr Shows wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 3:31 pm Even with our full squad Cape Verde are no push overs. If we get a draw away it will be a decent result.
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

iworo wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:04 pm
oyek wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 3:51 pm The latest update is that there are now as many as 11 cal-ups in the Super Eagles camp in Lagos led by the likes of Kenneth Omeruo and Oghenekaro Etebo just as Kevin Akpoguma has become the second invitee to pull out of the World Cup qualifiers.

I hope Hoffenheim are not pulling the wool over our eyes!

Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr furious over Premier League's 'red zone' decision

By Colin Udoh

Nigeria men's national team coach Gernot Rohr says the decision of the English Premier League to restrict players from traveling to certain "red zone" countries over COVID-19 fears will tarnish the integrity of the World Cup qualifiers.

Rohr named his squad for Nigeria's opening two World Cup qualifiers against Liberia and Cape Verde this week, but was forced to name an additional six players as back up for the second game.

Eight of the players in the squad play in England and Scotland, and will be out of the second game at Cape Verde, a country that falls under the UK's "red zone" COVID infection classification.

The Super Eagles mentor told ESPN the decision was tough to swallow, especially after the concessions that were made during the Euros.

"It is difficult to understand why England is giving exception to the Euro but not for the other World Cup games," he said.

"They could do everything for the Euro where England participated but nothing for the World Cup players. It is very important for each country who has ambitions to qualify and this kind of decision will tarnish the competition."

For the Super Eagles, this means William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun, Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, Frank Onyeka, Joe Aribo, and Oghenekaro Etebo will all not be available for the trip away to Cape Verde.

That is one hundred percent of Nigeria's starting midfield, fifty percent of the starting back four, and a third of his front three.

Rohr will essentially be preparing for the second game with almost an entirely different team from the one that will play against Liberia.

He added: "We are preparing the team as best as possible but we will not have these players who are some of our best players.

"All our midfielders will not be there. Our central defense also will not be there and our good striker Kelechi will also not be there. So it will not be easy against a very difficult team like Cape Verde."

The Premier League announced that they "reluctantly but unanimously" acted because players would be required to quarantine in hotels for 10 days upon their return, forcing them to miss at least two league games.

This despite FIFA scrapping a temporary law brought in during the pandemic, which allowed clubs to refuse to release players for games if they have to quarantine for more than five days on their return from international duty.

According to the Premier League statement, "Not only would players' welfare and fitness be significantly impacted, but they would also be unavailable to prepare for, and play in, two Premier League match rounds, a UEFA club competition matchday and the third round of the EFL Cup.

"This period takes into consideration 10 days of hotel quarantine on return to England but does not include any additional time that would be required for players to regain match fitness."

To make up for the absentees, Rohr has called up seven others as back up including FC Lorient's Terem Moffi, CSSKA Moscow's Chidera Ejuke and the Italy-based duo of Tyronne Ebuehi and Kingsley Michael.

With the news only coming after the German had sent in his original squad of 23 to the NFF, he says it was tough coming up with the additional names.

The German said: "It is a big challenge for us to replace nine players from our first list and to find in a few days only the players who can, with a good level, replace them.

"Fortunately, we have a scouting team and we have other players in the focus since a long time so we could invite six players to replace our eight or nine players from the UK.

"So they will be here for one game and then we have to change completely the team. But we have to handle and manage the situation, that is why we are all the time positive about the possibility to see some new players like Innocent, like Kingsley Michael, like Ejuke."

For the NFF, the situation and its timing also presents a significant financial headache, with the federation already groaning under serious budgetary constraints, despite getting some assistance from the government of Lagos State.

"We budgeted for 23 players," an NFF source told ESPN. "Unfortunately, despite these new and unforeseen circumstances, we cannot have access any more funds so we will have to make do in whatever way we can."

Meanwhile, in another administrative disappointment, CAF have approved 5000 spectators at the Teslim Balogun Stadium for the game on September 3, way down from the 12 000 requested by the NFF.

CAF wrote in the letter signed by Raul Chipenda, Development Director: "As it is known, we would like to reiterate that the CAF and FIFA covid-19 match protocols clearly state that all matches must be played behind closed doors.

"Nonetheless, CAF analysed and assessed your request from a medical, stadium requirements compliance, and safety & security perspective in your venue. Accordingly, a decision has been taken to exceptionally allow the presence of 5,000 spectators in the aforementioned match."

Nigeria World Cup qualifiers squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

REPLACEMENTS: Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Valentine Ozornwafor (Sporting Charleroi, Belgium); Tyronne Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Kingsley Michael (Bologna FC, Italy)

https://www.espn.co.uk/football/english ... e-decision

Mr Shows wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 3:31 pm Even with our full squad Cape Verde are no push overs. If we get a draw away it will be a decent result.
you mean a minnow like cape verde? when last did you see them in a major tournament? The almighty CApe Verde that has been to just 2 AFCONS, and lost all their AFCON games in 2015.. ok... carry on, una done start to find excuses for ****

tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:17 pm
you mean a minnow like cape verde? when last did you see them in a major tournament? The almighty CApe Verde that has been to just 2 AFCONS, and lost all their AFCON games in 2015.. ok... carry on, una done start to find excuses for ****
I would agree with you if this were at a neutral venue during major competition....this is a one off in their house, their conditions......a banana skin if ever there was one
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

HIGHLIGHTS | #TotalAFCONQ2021 | Round 5 - Group F: Cape Verde 3-1 Cameroon

Mozambique vs Cape Verde | AFCON QUALIFIERS HIGHLIGHTS | 3/30/2021

Senegal Vs Cape Verde (2 - 0) All Goals and Extended Highlights –International Friendly

The INCREDIBLE XI Cape Verde could have had with all these dual nationality players | Oh My :D :D

oyek

Post by oyek »

delisyomie don

Post by delisyomie don »

you are very correct!
thanks

delisyomie don wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 7:33 pm
you are very correct!
so now losing and dropping points during a WCQ is now acceptable. something Amodu and Keshi never ever experienced .

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 8:11 pm
you are very correct!
so now losing and dropping points during a WCQ is now acceptable. something Amodu and Keshi never ever experienced .
BigP no take Cape Verde play oh! no say I no warn you oh!!

DIMKA76 wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 8:15 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 8:11 pm
you are very correct!
BigP no take Cape Verde play oh! no say I no warn you oh!!
so you mean a trash team like Cape Verde is now a big time team for the SE...smh.. why una like to give **** free pass?

See training site.

The guys had to prepare their mind for the nonsense planning by NFF

highbury wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 10:13 pm The guys had to prepare their mind for the nonsense planning by NFF
lovely :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap: naija and swag , we no dey carry last 8-)

My nephew just tested positive in Nigeria despite being fully vaccinated and testing negative 3 days before his trip.. He doesnt have any symptoms either.
Dammy wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:11 pm
iworo wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:04 pm

I hope Hoffenheim are not pulling the wool over our eyes!

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 5:03 pm
The way you reason is unusual......Who lost to Mexico 4-0 too, I guess that puts us in the same class as Cape Verde.

highbury wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 10:10 pm See training site.

It's NOT a training site, but the hotel's outdoor volleyball area.
Absolutely NOTHING wrong with it for simple manual exercises.