MERCY AKIDE Expresses Interest to be First Female Manager of Super Eagles.......

As we await the expiration of Gernot Rohr's term as national team coach.....
Nigerian Football Legend Mercy Akide-Udoh reveals interest in Super Eagles Coaching job, Why Not?
By Adebanjo - September 23, 2021085
https://www.footballlive.ng/nigerian-fo ... ob-why-not

Former Nigerian Women's national team forward Mercy Akide has hinted she would consider coaching the Super Eagles. She is currently head coach of Regent University Women's Soccer team. Photo credit | IG (colinudoh)

In 2021, four years after Brigitte Tonon led Benin’s Men’s national basketball team to the FIBA AfroBasket regional qualifiers, Liz Mills became the first woman named as head Coach of a men’s national team – or any men’s team for that matter – to an international competition in Africa.

Mills guided Kenya to the second round of the AfroBasket in February and her feat just like that of Tonon years before, is blazing the trail for the incursion of women into what was hitherto an exclusive Men-only club.
That stereotype still exists in football, the greatest sport in the world, but what if one of the biggest football teams in Africa opted to break that ceiling?

On Wednesday, former African Women’s footballer of the year and two-time FIFA World All-Star Mercy Akide-Udoh implied she could throw her hat in for the Super Eagles job.

In an interview on Brila FM, while speaking on her coaching career – which happened out of the blues – the 46 year-old and current Head Coach, Regent University Women’s Soccer team spoke on her early Coaching inspirations and her dedication to also empower the girl child back home.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: MERCY AKIDE Expresses Interest to be First Female Manager of Super Eagles.......

Enugu II wrote: Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:52 pm As we await the expiration of Gernot Rohr's term as national team coach.....
Nigerian Football Legend Mercy Akide-Udoh reveals interest in Super Eagles Coaching job, Why Not?

Former Nigerian Women's national team forward Mercy Akide has hinted she would consider coaching the Super Eagles. She is currently head coach of Regent University Women's Soccer team. Photo credit | IG (colinudoh)

In 2021, four years after Brigitte Tonon led Benin’s Men’s national basketball team to the FIBA AfroBasket regional qualifiers, Liz Mills became the first woman named as head Coach of a men’s national team – or any men’s team for that matter – to an international competition in Africa.

Mills guided Kenya to the second round of the AfroBasket in February and her feat just like that of Tonon years before, is blazing the trail for the incursion of women into what was hitherto an exclusive Men-only club.
That stereotype still exists in football, the greatest sport in the world, but what if one of the biggest football teams in Africa opted to break that ceiling?

On Wednesday, former African Women’s footballer of the year and two-time FIFA World All-Star Mercy Akide-Udoh implied she could throw her hat in for the Super Eagles job.

In an interview on Brila FM, while speaking on her coaching career – which happened out of the blues – the 46 year-old and current Head Coach, Regent University Women’s Soccer team spoke on her early Coaching inspirations and her dedication to also empower the girl child back home.
There are no details of the Brila FM interview, but I believe her experience is more relevant to managing the Super Falcons.
Re: MERCY AKIDE Expresses Interest to be First Female Manager of Super Eagles.......

Obong wrote: Thu Sep 23, 2021 9:23 pm
Enugu II wrote: Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:52 pm As we await the expiration of Gernot Rohr's term as national team coach.....

There are no details of the Brila FM interview, but I believe her experience is more relevant to managing the Super Falcons.
Obong,

Could you expand on your thinking a bit? Why would that experience not be transferable to the Super Eagles? Just a note, we have sen both Paul Hamilton and Ismaila Mabo among others transfer their experience coaching men team to the Falcons.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Your desperation to get rid of Rohr knows no bounds.

...the day they find enough money to pay off Rohr, that's the day they will cut off his contract.
Unfortunately I don't see that day any time soon.
All future prospects may have to wait and wait and wait.

mcal wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:26 am ...the day they find enough money to pay off Rohr, that's the day they will cut off his contract.
True talk. As far as we know that time comes up after the coming World Cup qualifiers. If he fails to win the AFCON, it may be see you later, Rohr.

Enugu II wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 1:15 am
mcal wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 12:26 am ...the day they find enough money to pay off Rohr, that's the day they will cut off his contract.
True talk. As far as we know that time comes up after the coming World Cup qualifiers. If he fails to win the AFCON, it may be see you later, Rohr.
The world cup qualifying final round is AFTER afcon.

It would be the utmost stupidity to fire Rohr right before the playoff.

I'm pretty sure the NFF are not that retarded.

If Rohr qualifies us to the World Cup, he would take us there. All of you guys and your whining will be irrelevant.

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 1:58 am

If Rohr qualifies us to the World Cup, he would take us there. All of you guys and your whining will be irrelevant.
Don't know exactly when the consideration will be and I do not care what that definitive date is. What I care about is that he can be fired when his contract is over if he fails to win the AFCON and/or get to the Round of 16 at the World Cup. His contract should bot be renewed if he fails to do that whenever that time coms. That is what is important. St that time, Nigeria ought to seek another coach and move on.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Sep 23, 2021 9:36 pm

Obong,

Could you expand on your thinking a bit? Why would that experience not be transferable to the Super Eagles? Just a note, we have sen both Paul Hamilton and Ismaila Mabo among others transfer their experience coaching men team to the Falcons.
EII, I’ve never believed in comparing women to men athletically because men are physically and athletically superior to women. It’s not a fair comparison. That’s just the fact of life. Akide, being a former female athlete, cannot fully imagine what it takes to be an Iheanacho or an Osimhen because of her physical shortcomings. It’s a place she’s never been to and can never get to. Realistically then, how would she ever be able to inspire either men to greater heights in football❓❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 3:48 am

Obong,

EII, I’ve never believed in comparing women to men athletically because men are physically and athletically superior to women. It’s not a fair comparison. That’s just the fact of life. Akide, being a former female athlete, cannot fully imagine what it takes to be an Iheanacho or an Osimhen because of her physical shortcomings. It’s a place she’s never been to and can never get to. Realistically then, how would she ever be able to inspire either men to greater heights in football❓❗️

TTTK,

However, she is not expected to play with these players.....

We have women referees today in men's football and they are doing remarkably well. There are many men coaches today who never were as athletically gifted as those that they now coach. Some of the gifted coaches in men football never even played at the top level. Coaching does not require one to be athletically gifted. What it requires is to be intellectually gifted as well as to have a leadership sand managerial acumen. Those have little to do with athleticism.

Obong,

Me, I will like to know too.

Abi the men won't take instructions from a woman coach?

The lady has a good knowledge of the game and has a passion for the sport. Every now and then we let out our deep-seated patriarchy abi na misogyn out.

She will make a great Super Eagles coach!

Enugu II wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 2:31 am
vancity eagle wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 1:58 am

Don't know exactly when the consideration will be and I do not care what that definitive date is. What I care about is that he can be fired when his contract is over if he fails to win the AFCON and/or get to the Round of 16 at the World Cup.
His contract should bot be renewed if he fails to do that whenever that time coms
. That is what is important. St that time, Nigeria ought to seek another coach and move on.
Prof, what i do not understand is why guys are hyperventilating on this Rohr contract issue. Rohr has just about 14 months to go. I am very certain that both parties would part ways after that NO MATTER WHAT THE RESULTS ARE! What I see happening is Rohr being some sort of consultant to the Federation, that is if he achieves great success e.g. winning AFCON/ at least 2nd round at World Cup, but there would definitely be a new coach of the SE at the start of 2023.

kalani JR wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:46 am She will make a great Super Eagles coach!
Based on sentiment or what❓❗️

E be like say aunty wan age aggressively overnight - no try am o :lol:

I back her 100% for the Super Falcons job!

TonyTheAlexKiller, you.. you... you... at 72, can you fully imagine what it takes to be an Iheanacho or an Osimhen?

Mods, I don't know how to report posts and issues with this new forum design but I will like to beg a responsible Mod to please remove the deceptive Tiger picture that Pa Tony decided to use as his display picture and replace it with that of something more appropriate like a Rat or a Lizard. Using a deceptive username is annoying enough, I think it's a huge insult upon injury on our great forumers to top it up with a deceptive display picture when we all know the real capability of Pa Tony. Is this an old age attempt at intimidating we young members? Please review and act accordingly. That is my innocent submission. Thank you sirs.
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 1:13 pm
kalani JR wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 8:46 am She will make a great Super Eagles coach!
Based on sentiment or what❓❗️

Murds, as the saying goes,... birds of the same feather flock together. Please let's encourage people of the same age feather to take their argument about what profile picture to use to another forum. Thanks in advance...

Prof.,
Please point us to the clause (or performance section) within his most recent contract with the NFF which 'mandates' he wins the upcoming AFCON and/or get to the Round of 16 at the Qatar World Cup, as a pre-condition for his continued engagement?
Unless something catastrophic happens prior to the AFCON Semis, there will be no contractual basis to 'fire' him, regardless of whatever the anti-Rohr brigade might want or wish.
Dude will likely disengage AFTER the world cup, even if he meets or exceeds your wishes.
Enugu II wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 2:31 am Don't know exactly when the consideration will be and I do not care what that definitive date is. What I care about is that he can be fired when his contract is over if he fails to win the AFCON and/or get to the Round of 16 at the World Cup. His contract should bot be renewed if he fails to do that whenever that time coms. That is what is important. St that time, Nigeria ought to seek another coach and move on.

Uncle, happy new weekend and happy new Monday in advance!
My fellow CE youth caucus members also mentioned your profile picture too as deceptive claiming that you took that picture over 5 years ago. I told them we youths don't see any difference between ages 70 and 75. So we have no issue with you sir :mrgreen:
1naija wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 6:25 pm Murds, as the saying goes,... birds of the same feather flock together. Please let's encourage people of the same age feather to take their argument about what profile picture to use to another forum. Thanks in advance...
Last edited by YemiBrazil on Fri Sep 24, 2021 9:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

...it will be a disastrous qualifier if he is fired.
But again I'll reiterate, until the NFA finds enough money to pay him off, he will remain the SE coach thru qualifier and Qatar proper.
They can do shenanigans with local coaches as per pay, but not oyinbo, fifa will deal with them.

mcal wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 9:28 pm
...it will be a disastrous qualifier if he is fired.
But again I'll reiterate, until the NFA finds enough money to pay him off, he will remain the SE coach thru qualifier and Qatar proper.
They can do shenanigans with local coaches as per pay, but not oyinbo, fifa will deal with them.
Mcal

He will be out of the job if he fails to do well at the World Cup and fails to win the AFCON. If it us not clear by now, recall the delay in his contract renewal. Now he has to prove it or head home. The only thing that will keep him on the job in this two pins is to avoid paying him when sacked while his contract is on. The countdown is on. The savior us win the AFCON or do well at the World Cup. The pressure us on.

1naija wrote: Fri Sep 24, 2021 5:06 pm TonyTheAlexKiller, you.. you... you... at 72, can you fully imagine what it takes to be an Iheanacho or an Osimhen?

Bia dis my senior uncle, I hope you have taken your meds today. Regardless of how old you think I am, the point is I am not self-indulgent enough to pretend I can coach the SuperEagles. Mercy, who hasn’t coached any team of consequence suddenly feels she can coach the SuperEagles? Good luck with that🙂❗️