NFF BATTLE IN THE OPEN: BALOGUN'S DAYS WILL BE NUMBERED....

Take that to the bank. The NFF will pressure Rohr to drop Balgun. That pressure has begun already. Can Rohr resist it, can he survive it? That is the ultimate question. The NFF now has an excuse to give Balogun the boot. They had wanted it all along given Balogun's role on the payment issues. Now, the NFF has a solid excuse. Bet on it. The question is how strongly can Rohr be in wading off the sharks.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
tedder89
Re: NFF BATTLE IN THE OPEN: BALOGUN'S DAYS WILL BE NUMBERED....

Post by tedder89 »

Prof - Unless Rohr decides that Balogun is no longer useful to him, I don't see him toeing the NFF line

Why? He has leverage because he's owed 9 months salary.....what are they going to do, sack him? Where will they find US$360k from?

In addition, they would need to pay him off for his future salary through the end of the contract; NFF does not have the money and government won't bail them out......

Rohr will leave when his contract is over, not before

I still think we will win our group and qualify for the next round....we may even win on Sunday, stranger things have happened
Enugu II wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:27 pm Take that to the bank. The NFF will pressure Rohr to drop Balgun. That pressure has begun already. Can Rohr resist it, can he survive it? That is the ultimate question. The NFF now has an excuse to give Balogun the boot. They had wanted it all along given Balogun's role on the payment issues. Now, the NFF has a solid excuse. Bet on it. The question is how strongly can Rohr be in wading off the sharks.
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

Just curious, why is this an issue for discussion?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Cuz this is a discussion forum......you lost me
txj wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:19 pm Just curious, why is this an issue for discussion?

Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.

tedder89 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:15 pm Prof - Unless Rohr decides that Balogun is no longer useful to him, I don't see him toeing the NFF line

Why? He has leverage because he's owed 9 months salary.....what are they going to do, sack him? Where will they find US$360k from?

In addition, they would need to pay him off for his future salary through the end of the contract; NFF does not have the money and government won't bail them out......

I still think we will win our group and qualify for the next round....we may even win on Sunday, stranger things have happened
Enugu II wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 9:27 pm Take that to the bank. The NFF will pressure Rohr to drop Balgun. That pressure has begun already. Can Rohr resist it, can he survive it? That is the ultimate question. The NFF now has an excuse to give Balogun the boot. They had wanted it all along given Balogun's role on the payment issues. Now, the NFF has a solid excuse. Bet on it. The question is how strongly can Rohr be in wading off the sharks.
Not quite. You are correct about his contract leverage. However, if he seeks a contract renewal he will find that if he does not do the NFF bidding then he will not get renewed even if he gets to the last 16 of the WC or say the final of AFCON. He will be reminded then.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

tedder89 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:22 pm Cuz this is a discussion forum......you lost me
txj wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:19 pm Just curious, why is this an issue for discussion?
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

tedder89

Post by tedder89 »

Prof - You really think he will want to renew?

At his age? with Naija wahala?
Enugu II wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:23 pm
tedder89 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:15 pm Prof - Unless Rohr decides that Balogun is no longer useful to him, I don't see him toeing the NFF line

Not quite. You are correct about his contract leverage. However, if he seeks a contract renewal he will find that if he does not do the NFF bidding then he will not get renewed even if he gets to the last 16 of the WC or say the final of AFCON. He will be reminded then.

tedder89 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:22 pm Cuz this is a discussion forum......you lost me

Duh...

Why is it important to be a subject of discussion?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:36 pm

Duh...

Why is it important to be a subject of discussion?
txj,

Think for a second here ... if you do not realize why, I bet you will find out a few days soon.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:25 pm
Enugu created a crisis where there was none, kai..... agents have expanded their pool of tactics. :laugh:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:55 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:25 pm
Enugu created a crisis where there was none, kai..... agents have expanded their pool of tactics. :laugh:
Emir,

The correct word is not "creating" but "foreseeing." You will learn more sooner than later. Stay tuned.

EII, if really having the NFF tell the coach which player(s) to drop is an ongoing issue,
then we can all see why we are where we've found ourselves. Rohr was hired to coach, and
should be fired based on his job performance and not because he keeps a player whose politics
the NFF does appreciate. If the NFF can intrude on player selection, pressure the coach to take
action on players it has disputes with, any wonder why the federation cannot attract a better
coach than who they have?
Again, our football problems are cases of "too many cooks".

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

joao wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:14 am EII, if really having the NFF tell the coach which player(s) to drop is an ongoing issue,
then we can all see why we are where we've found ourselves. Rohr was hired to coach, and
should be fired based on his job performance and not because he keeps a player whose politics
the NFF does appreciate. If the NFF can intrude on player selection, pressure the coach to take
action on players it has disputes with, any wonder why the federation cannot attract a better
Joao
Why do you think Musa is still in the team?
It is for similar reasons.

E11, this your theory get as e be! Pinnick has publicly supported Balogun to bounce back from the blunder

Dammy wrote: Sat Oct 09, 2021 5:38 pm E11, this your theory get as e be! Pinnick has publicly supported Balogun to bounce back from the blunder
Ok ooo. Public and back room different ooo.

Oguleftie wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 4:15 pm
joao wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 5:14 am EII, if really having the NFF tell the coach which player(s) to drop is an ongoing issue,
Joao
You took my thunder right there!!! I was about to lay that on the table.

If the NFF signed a contract that does not provide for accountability for under-performance then shame on them. They’d probably be the only football organization in the entire universe to do so. Hopefully, the NFF had fairly competent lawyers who would have specified a termination for cause clause in the contract. This would allow the NFF to terminate any coach for cause without any consequences. They would only have to worry about any backpay owed❗️

Enugu II wrote: Sun Oct 10, 2021 12:05 am
Oguleftie wrote: Fri Oct 08, 2021 4:15 pm
Joao
You took my thunder right there!!! I was about to lay that on the table.
So you agree we have an NFF micro managing the coach by influencing player selections, and all you guys see
as wrong is the coaching? If the aforementioned is true, does any of you know any good and reputable coach
that will like to take over after Rohr? If not, please enjoy what you have and stop the anguish and lamentations.

Joao

You may ask how come many coaches still want to work in Nigeria when they know about irregular pay? Interferences? Etc? Fact is human beings will always make decisions based on available options of benefits and drawbacks all calculated.

Well he did score the first goal!

Eaglezbeak wrote: Sun Oct 10, 2021 2:47 pm Well he did score the first goal!
Yes. His first ever for Nigeria but the issue for the NFF guys is not about his play on the field but his leadership for player rights off the field. Two different things.

Enugu II wrote: Thu Oct 07, 2021 10:23 pm

I doubt it he’d want to renew his contract, working with Nigerians isn’t a walk in the park and if Nigeria don’t pay what they owe him they’ll have to take it up with FIFA and that’ll probably end in them having to pay or they’ll face a sanction of some sort.