KANU in midfield: Sense or Madness?

SENSE
23%
Kanu haters been smoking head-BANGAs
77%

Total votes: 13

Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

All of una opening mouth gboa gboa to blame Kanu, where are your gumsions?

How on earth can you expect Kanu to play well in Midfield? It makes no sense.

Ajax played him once in midfield in the 1995 Champions League final because of injuries and suspensions. As expected, he neither had the physique nor the aggression for that role and was messed up by Deschamps and Di Livio.

Now we expect an "off- colour" Kanu to perform miracles like Vieira in midfield?

Nonsense and Ingredients

Shio!!
A stubborn goat can never learn from past mistakes. Nuff said.

Post by 27 »

Your poll has been found to be wholly undemocratic and unfair by independent observers.
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

for what reason? because nobody else has a logical counter-manifesto?

Nonsense and Ingredients

Shio!
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

hehehehehe,

why still no response from the Kanu bashers club?
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

What are you saying? That Kanu should be in the lineup somewhere? Is this a campaign by you for Kanu?
You need to put the country first, before your fascinatio with Kanu. Kanu has no place in this african one-on-one contest. This is not about position of play in the field; hee should not have been invited to camp.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

What are you saying? That Kanu should be in the lineup somewhere? Is this a campaign by you for Kanu?
You need to put the country first, before your fascinatio with Kanu. Kanu has no place in this african one-on-one contest. This is not about position of play in the field; hee should not have been invited to camp.
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Oguleftie,
ol boy, please stop yarning like this. If this is a democracy, let the people register their feelings.

People are bashing Kanu. Fine....... but there must be some sort of rationale to it right?

So, do YOU think Kanu is a midfielder?
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Jiggerman, you're a real Jiggerman.

You had the balls to say the seemingly unsayable - ie, that Kanu was not as bad as many are making out. I've watched that game THREE TIMES NOW. The few times we came close to scoring, Kanu's hand was in it.

Particularly that part where he swerved the Moroccan defence before laying an incisive pass to JAG in the 18, who fired the ball into the net for a goal that was disallowed cos JAG was half a yard offside.

That contribution ALONE by Kanu, in my view FAR SURPASSES anything that YAK for instance, did, or even Utaka. Both were running around aimlessly, and fruitlessly, while Kanu was forced back to defend in many situations.

This tired him out in the second half, not surprisingly!
Imagination is more important than knowledge

- Albert Einstein

Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

ROSSIKE,

hehehe, can you "hear" the silence from the bashers? Simple question, no answer.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

Jiggerman, the silence of the mob is indeed, deafening.

- Albert Einstein

Kanu doesn't have the workrate, the engine, or the tenaciousness to play in a modern midfield. Only a third-rate coach will play the Kanu of today there - where his lack of stamina is so apparent.

Kanu's best use is as a support striker - the link b/w attack and midfield. A speedy Aghahowa would benefit from his passing and ability to hold up the ball. Kanu will also be useful if we had a very mobile box-to-box operator in midfield alongside Okocha to make late runs into the box.
ROSSIKE

Post by ROSSIKE »

As calmer heads such as CIC have noted, KANU is hardly to blame for the predicament he found himself in against the Atlas Lions of Morocco.

- Albert Einstein

Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

jiggerman etc

The issue is not whether Kanu can deliver through passes for a strike on goal. The issue is we first have to contain the opposition in midfield and prevent them from running rampage there; these african games are no longer a talent/skill contest override, instead hussling, quickness, and fitness are becoming more important. I hope you get where we are going with this.
Jiggerman21

Post by Jiggerman21 »

Oguleftie,

nah, I don't get it. How is it Kanu's responsibility to marshall the midfield? He simply is not compatible for that role.

When I wrote up the "I blame Kanu tread," some wise a$s said Kanu was not a foward, but a Midfielder. The point is wherever on the field he is, He is minus 2. It's been evident since 98, but we have just never accepted.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu