Nigeria vs Egypt 1-0

Heliopolis
Re: Nigeria vs Egypt Live! 1-0

Post by Heliopolis »

Lucky win. We go take you in 2nd leg.

Tbite wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:58 pm If it was Rohr we would have lost and he would have told us that it is because we don't have players like Lewandowski and Suarez.
And Salah

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:57 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:56 pm
txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:55 pm what a counter!!!!!
Denied a befitting ending by Ejuke's boneheaded shot
I'll rather look at a superb stop by the GK
The angle was too narrow except if the GK was sleepy, Ejuke should have squared no doubt.

donadoni

Post by donadoni »

So great to see Nigeria playing like Nigeria - that is what we have been missing

Siddonlook11 wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:42 pm Omo ...I love Aribo .

Silently doing the biz
Aribo is a BALLER!!!!

Loved to see my boy Aina show how to play the Fullback position. **** had him not seeing playing time.

For me, Aribo is that player like the late Muda Lawal who just balls and does everything. Plugs in where you need him and has a high football IQ.

aruako1 wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:59 pm
Benedict Iroha wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:57 pm Pinnick needs to calm down on the hire of the Portuguese, he will be a blatant ediot to replace Eguoveon if Naija go far.
Eguavoen will be replaced after the tournament. A deal is a deal.

Excellent start for the Super Eagles!!!
If he gets to at least the semis, I think we should pay the Portuguese guy off and keep Egu.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:58 pm Aribo my MOM by a country mile...
What a player he is. Way to step up at the biggest stage.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Speculative tactic by Queiroz completely nullified by a discipline performance in central MF by Aribo and Ndidi, with wide players staying wide to create room underneath for Kele.

Great tactical balance.

On to the next

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

How many saves did you want him to make?
Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:58 pm Maduka made ONLY ONE SAVE GUYS, let that sink in

theYemster wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:58 pmSo Moses once again terrorises Egypt.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: And parted the red sea many times today. :D

Heliopolis wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:00 pm Lucky win. We go take you in 2nd leg.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Good one!

Benedict Iroha wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:57 pm Pinnick needs to calm down on the hire of the Portuguese, he will be a blatant ediot to replace Eguoveon if Naija go far.
I honestly think the NEW coach shouldn't have been hired
chif456

Post by chif456 »

Aribo is an absolute baller . A proper modern midfielder. He and Ndidi did their thing.

Men they all balled. Ndidi and Aribo in the midfield. The wingbacks defended well, but for me Simon sas our best player.

txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:45 pm We've been wasteful with the opportunities we have had to secure the game
This game shouldn't have been this close.

Very wasteful with our opportunities.

Haba! No post game analysis by Bein sports. Don't they know we need to bask in the glory of our victory?

Heliopolis wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:00 pm Lucky win. We go take you in 2nd leg.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: 'Lucky win?' Heliopolis, if this game is played twice, I believe we will win it again

Lolly wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:01 pm

If he gets to at least the semis, I think we should pay the Portuguese guy off and keep Egu.
I don't believe he'll take Nairas.
Looks like Picnick is going to be in serious okra soup if Egu pulls this AFCON off.

Cally wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:00 pm What a start!! Well played!

Aribo specifically impressed me so much.
Aribo, Ndidi, Omeuro, Moses, Aina, and Awoniyi all impressed. Moses needs to learn to cross better though.

Lolly wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:01 pm

I don't believe he'll take Nairas.
Looks like Picnick is going to be in serious okra soup if Egu pulls this AFCON off.

chif456

Post by chif456 »

Aribo is an absolute baller . A proper modern midfielder. He and Ndidi did their thing.
hestonap

Post by hestonap »

Enugu II wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 5:59 pm I am impressed with how lively Nigeria has been. I almost did not recognize our team. Kudos to the lads. On the front foot!! I love it. I also liker the pressure when Egypt has the ball. We have not allowed them to settle down.
Prof, abeg told them. So the same players who could not string passes against 'lesser opposition' compared to the Egyptians over the past several months look a totally different enterprise.

So what changed ?

A coach who believes in the ability of his players. On who knows his onions.

All some of us have asked from the start, is stop playing cowardly football and let us play like men, even if we lose, let us compete properly. Yet the dude was stinking up the joint with arguably our most in-depth collection of players in a long time.

Congrats to Egu and the boys today. hey played with confidence, swagger worked hard and were a pride and joy to behold.
God bless and keep Nigeria and make his face shine on her undeserving as she may be.

Which were the wasted opportunities?
Cellular wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 7:04 pm
txj wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:45 pm We've been wasteful with the opportunities we have had to secure the game
This game shouldn't have been this close.

Very wasteful with our opportunities.