Rohr on Morocco & Nigeria comparison

oyek
Rohr on Morocco & Nigeria comparison

Post by oyek »

Former Super Eagle Head coach Gernot Rohr discuss Reason why Morocco football is ahead of Nigerian squad👀🤔🤔🇳🇬👇👇

Rohr said to Augsburger-Allgemeine when asked why Morocco’s football program is more advanced than Nigeria’s: “Inadequate infrastructure and poor education are the challenges in such countries.

“This is seen in poor upkeep, worn-out fields, or abandoned stadiums. This was something I personally witnessed in Lagos, a city of 19 million people. Another issue in Nigeria was the shoddy management of their own championship, which was constantly interrupted.

Despite the fact that so many people played football, most clubs didn’t even have a youth division. Everything was handled by for-profit institutions that sought to develop talent and generate quick money."

The three-time African champion Super Eagles are now under the management of Portuguese coach Jose Peseiro.
Source: uzomedia tv
If not for Jesus, where will i be?
Re: Rohr on Morocco & Nigeria comparison

Like a gilted ex who will never move on with her/his fooking life, I guess we are stuck with this low life for ever. Tufiakwa! :oops:

danfo driver wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 4:11 pm Like a gilted ex who will never move on with her/his fooking life, I guess we are stuck with this low life for ever. Tufiakwa! :oops:
Bros, I believe Rohr was really hurt by his sack and difficulty to catch on elsewhere. It really games at you when reading these interviews. Well, he could have avoided all this by doing much better while on the job.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 4:16 pm
danfo driver wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 4:11 pm Like a gilted ex who will never move on with her/his fooking life, I guess we are stuck with this low life for ever. Tufiakwa! :oops:
Bros, I believe Rohr was really hurt by his sack and difficulty to catch on elsewhere. It really games at you when reading these interviews. Well, he could have avoided all this by doing much better while on the job.
You know he was doing charity work, teaching the natives how to learn the game. Going to AFCON and World Cup to learn...

I would have loved to see what he would have done with Morocco, Egypt, Algeria, or even South Africa with the advanced infrastructure.

Or maybe he would have said being hired 3 months before the World Cup, what did they expect him to do? Perform a miracle?

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 5:42 pm
You know he was doing charity work, teaching the natives how to learn the game. Going to AFCON and World Cup to learn...

I would have loved to see what he would have done with Morocco, Egypt, Algeria, or even South Africa with the advanced infrastructure.

Or maybe he would have said being hired 3 months before the World Cup, what did they expect him to do? Perform a miracle?
Cell

The thing that gets me is that we will swallow it up as some Gospel. Without that infrastructure we still ranked #5 in 1994 and beat Bulgaria. Incompetence has excuses and the gullible will swallow excuses up.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Incredible!

Aren't our stadia and infrastructure currently in a dilapidated state in need of major repair and upgrade? Weren't Nigeria's mediocre organizational and management problems evident to all and sundry? Don't we have major problems with our league schedule and club management in our local football today? Did the man lie about any of these things?
Why is it that Nigerians in general always refuse to listen to and learn from the truth when its told to them? They would rather listen to someone who stokes their ego and blows smoke up their behinds? Its the same in every facet of the Nigerian society.

You taut 1994 (close to TWO decades ago) as a benchmark, because they were ranked 5th in the world. How exactly did Nigeria benefit from it? What progress has been made hence? (and please, don't even mention the Olympics, as we all know all those men weren't U23). Can you compare the National stadium in Surulere then to its current state now? Or any other stadium in Nigeria? Did Nigeria not get knocked out in the round of 16 in 1994, in comparison to Morocco who will go down in history as a WC semifinalist - a feat Nigeria has NEVER attained?

You label the man as incompetent, yet, he engineered the qualification of the country to a world cup (with a game to spare
- never done before) and claimed a bronze medal (not done since) after not qualifying the prior edition before he came on board. He had also engineered the qualification of Nigeria for the AFCON and the final round of the WCQ (again, with a game to spare), yet he is incompetent?

But when y'all got him sacked, the so called local best coach couldn't even get past a mediocre Tunisia team and ended up with Nigeria's WORST AFCON record in 41 years, but of course, to y'all, that was okay. For the icing on the cake, this same local coach couldn't get past a Ghanaian team at its lowest ebb, for what should have been a place in the world cup.
And yet, yall are making excuses up and down, refusing to come to terms with the FACT that firing Rohr was really a daft idea. Well, good luck to yall.

The gullibility here is y'all refusing to admit the unfortunate truth, when its staring you right in the face!
Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 5:47 pm Cell

The thing that gets me is that we will swallow it up as some Gospel. Without that infrastructure we still ranked #5 in 1994 and beat Bulgaria. Incompetence has excuses and the gullible will swallow excuses up.

Otitokoro wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 6:50 pm Incredible!
Aren't our stadia and infrastructure currently in a dilapidated state in need of major repair and upgrade? Weren't Nigeria's mediocre organizational and management problems evident to all and sundry? Don't we have major problems with our league schedule and club management in our local football today? Did the man lie about any of these things?
Why is it that Nigerians in general always refuse to listen to and learn from the truth when its told to them? They would rather listen to someone who stokes their ego and blows smoke up their behinds? Its the same in every facet of the Nigerian society.

You taut 1994 (close to TWO decades ago) as a benchmark, because they were ranked 5th in the world. How exactly did Nigeria benefit from it? What progress has been made hence? (and please, don't even mention the Olympics, as we all know all those men weren't U23). Can you compare the National stadium in Surulere then to its current state now? Or any other stadium in Nigeria? Did Nigeria not get knocked out in the round of 16 in 1994, in comparison to Morocco who made it to the Semi's - a feat Nigeria has NEVER attained?

You label the man as incompetent, yet, he engineered the qualification of the country to a world cup (with a game to spare
- never done before) and claimed a bronze medal (not done since) after not qualifying the prior edition before he came on board. He had also engineered the qualification of Nigeria for the AFCON and the final round of the WCQ (again, with a game to spare), yet he is incompetent?

But when y'all got him sacked, the so called local best coach couldn't even get past a mediocre Tunisia team and ended up with Nigeria's WORST AFCON record in 41 years, but of course, to y'all, that was okay. For the icing on the cake, this same local coach couldn't get past a Ghanaian team at its lowest ebb, for what should have been a place in the world cup.
And yet, yall are making excuses up and down, refusing to come to terms with the FACT that firing Rohr was really a daft idea. Well, good luck to yall.

The gullibility here is y'all refusing to admit the unfortunate truth, when its staring you right in the face!

I was expecting some of natives to show up.

The players he was using were they from the local leagues?

He went to the World Cup to learn. Went to AFCON to learn.

He doesn't live in Naijaria... doesn't even understand Naijaria or Naijarians and what makes us tick.

The worst damage he did to Naijaria and Naijarians was the damage he did to our psyche.

Some of you natives actually believed you don't deserve to be on the world stage.

Dude was rightfully fired. The fact he was replaced by the wrong person does not mean he wasn't rightfully fired.

You taut 1994 (close to TWO decades ago) as a benchmark, because they were ranked 5th in the world. How exactly did Nigeria benefit from it? What progress has been made hence? (and please, don't even mention the Olympics, as we all know all those men weren't U23). Can you compare the National stadium in Surulere then to its current state now? Or any other stadium in Nigeria? Did Nigeria not get knocked out in the round of 16 in 1994, in comparison to Morocco who will go down in history as a WC semifinalist - a feat Nigeria has NEVER attained?

KPOM ×1000

The big elephant in the room they continue to try and ignore.

Local coach = worst Afcon in over 30 years plus failing to get by an average Ghana team with a brand new coach.

It's a monumental failure of epic proportions and people are still focusing on Rohr.

I dont think Rohr was the greatest, but he honestly wasn't that bad either.

Much better than all of our recent local coaches.
Gboye7777

Post by Gboye7777 »

Kpom

Infrastructure, one can understand.

Which one is poor education?

Rohr, failed because he took a contractor approach, to his job. He came in, before the game and left after the game. All the natives supported this approach.

Give him Morocco, he would exit in the group stages.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 7:04 pm

KPOM ×1000

The big elephant in the room they continue to try and ignore.

Local coach = worst Afcon in over 30 years plus failing to get by an average Ghana team with a brand new coach.

It's a monumental failure of epic proportions and people are still focusing on Rohr.

I dont think Rohr was the greatest, but he honestly wasn't that bad either.

Much better than all of our recent local coaches.
No one but **** and his acolytes keep bringing him up.

You all are actually poor students of history. It was NOT the same Ghana team that played in the AFCON that we played in the qualifiers. They saw that they needed to do something about the way they did and they proceeded to do something about it.

Ghana who couldn't beat us still went to the World Cup and secured 4 points.

The article being discussed talked about infrastructure being part of the reason we couldn't replicate what Morocco did.

It is NOT the reason and has never been.

The Moroccan team just like ours have mostly foreign-based and some foreign-born Moroccans.

They hired the right coach for them.

fabio wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 7:24 pm Infrastructure, one can understand.

Which one is poor education?

Rohr, failed because he took a contractor approach, to his job. He came in, before the game and left after the game. All the natives supported this approach.

Give him Morocco, he would exit in the group stages.
He won't get a Morocco, CIV, Egypt, Algeria, Zambia, South Africa, or Angola because unlike us, they know his limitations.

He would coach them to come to the World Cup to learn.

Our infrastructure is not top notch but it has never been even in 1994 or 1970 ir 1996. Does infrastructure matter? Yes it does. Is it the only variable. Absolutely not. There are far more variables that determine success and even Argentina and others like Morocco do not have all possible variables. That is something that should be understood.

The point is, therefore, that citing one variable as Gospel is false. Such fly by night analysis is just not compelling.

I pointed out to you 1994 because we still had comparatively poor facilities and yet did better than several other nations. Now, and in a few years, we will do better with poor facilities. Let me add, watch this space and tell me what you will state if Nigeria was to win the AFCON with this same Morocco participating. What will be your explanation then? Facilities? Ooo, players were all foreign based? The AFCON was played in great facilities like the clubs in Europe? Take your pick meanwhile the facilities in Nigeria may have gotten worse by them.

The man spoke the truth!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 7:48 pm

The man spoke the truth!
Which truth?

We just can't let you natives propagate a single story as the "truth".

So it is “Inadequate infrastructure and poor education are the challenges in such countries"?

Egypt with arguably the best league and best player in Africa didn't go the World Cup, so too did South Africa which can also be argued to have one of the best-run leagues.

**** was losing to CAR and tying Sierra Leone who have better facilities and better education.

At least he did not use his normal excuse of the type of teams or leagues our players play in.

Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 8:05 pm

The man spoke the truth!
Which truth?

So it is “Inadequate infrastructure and poor education are the challenges in such countries"?

Egypt with arguably the best league and best player in Africa didn't go the World Cup, so too did South Africa which can also be argued to have one of the best-run leagues.

**** was losing to CAR and tying Sierra Leone who have better facilities and better education.

At least he did not use his normal excuse of the type of teams or leagues our players play in.
You may also add the United States and Canada not winning it whereas Morocco advanced further. What I see is the difficulty of going through intricate and complex analysis. That surely is a challenge. Instead the preference is for the simplistic.

Enugu II wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 8:10 pm
Cellular wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 8:05 pm

The man spoke the truth!
Which truth?

You may also add the United States and Canada not winning it whereas Morocco advanced further. What I see is the difficulty of going through intricate and complex analysis. That surely is a challenge. Instead the preference is for the simplistic.
I tell you.

Our biggest impediment is SELF SABOTAGE!

Even at the previous World Cups or the height of our glory, Olympic Gold and AFCON titles... it is in spite of our attempts at sabotaging the team and the goal of winning.

He is here like a typical foreigner who doesn't bother to look deeply at a problem and casually regurgitates nonsense for the benefit of the natives.

In CE , we have people who never thinks outside the box, I cannot believe otikorro fell for the gullible infrastructure crap, Qatar, Saudi, Austrailia, Japan, South Africa, Egypt etc all have better stadiums etc compared to us and i mean in numbers. We do have two up to world-standard facilities that can host any major games in Abuja and Uyo..
Now please explain the following matches below

in the history of out football, we've never lost or dropped so many points at home compared to the trash we went through with ****

Are we a mid-level team in Africa accepting rubbish about not up to par with Senegal /Egypt/Algeria?? Now they are using Morocco to ridicule a 3 time African champion..The only CAF team in the history of the worldcup to make it out of the group stages 3 freaking times.

All of una watch this space and una eye go soon clear . With the rubbish those SE players have gone through, we cannot get worse than the rubbish **** left us with.. 6 years and zero foundation. When Westerhof left, the foundation was set and we went on to dominate the continent for 10 plus years..shame no dey catch una to use a failure like **** that won nothing coaching the SE for the longest...shame, shame, shame

Like what he did with FC Girondins de Bordeaux at the UEFA Cup finals?

Otitokoro wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 8:37 pm Like what he did with FC Girondins de Bordeaux at the UEFA Cup finals?

Or what he did in Niger Republic and the other two African countries that he managed. Right? Or the fact that he managed the same Nigeria that became African champions under three others and had a Nigerian coach who qualified them for two World Cups that is some how now trumpeted as a huge achievement under Rohr. The fact remains that no matter how it is cut or sliced, Rohr was ordinary. Nothing magical. Nigeria had seen better and will see better.

You had to go all the way back to 1996? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Otitokoro wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 8:37 pm Like what he did with FC Girondins de Bordeaux at the UEFA Cup finals?

oyek wrote: Mon Dec 19, 2022 3:57 pm Former Super Eagle Head coach Gernot Rohr discuss Reason why Morocco football is ahead of Nigerian squad👀🤔🤔🇳🇬👇👇

Rohr said to Augsburger-Allgemeine when asked why Morocco’s football program is more advanced than Nigeria’s: “Inadequate infrastructure and poor education are the challenges in such countries.

“This is seen in poor upkeep, worn-out fields, or abandoned stadiums. This was something I personally witnessed in Lagos, a city of 19 million people. Another issue in Nigeria was the shoddy management of their own championship, which was constantly interrupted.

Despite the fact that so many people played football, most clubs didn’t even have a youth division. Everything was handled by for-profit institutions that sought to develop talent and generate quick money."

The three-time African champion Super Eagles are now under the management of Portuguese coach Jose Peseiro.
Source: uzomedia tv
For me this is simply a case of the right message, wrong messenger and wrong time. If he said this when he was actually relevant (SE Coach) i'd understand but he was too preoccupied playing politics.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

My people, getting to the second round in 1994 and being ranked fifth is no useful achievement if there was no continuity. Winning age grade tournaments by cheating is also no positive achievement especially if you cannot build on this.

Regardless of what Rohr has to say, the truth remains, we are no better off today than 1990. It is unfathomable that we are content being mediocre and we remain stuck in second gear.

When you look at sports that are not managed by anyone Nigerian, watch how our talent excels. Today, if the the NFL permitted a team made up of players of Nigerian descent to be on a national team, Nigeria would win by a landslide. Why? Coaching, infrastructure, organization and the like are not impeded. Additionally, there is no corruption in the process of development.

Nigeria, Cameron, Congo and predominant black African countries need to get it right. Not only in sports but in life. We may call the Arab Africans any number of names and reject coach Rohr but the fact remains that while we achieved so much in chaos, we should be further along. We should be world champions, have a pipe line of the best players knocking at our door domestically and internationally and Brazil should be looking up at us and saying “I wish we could be like Nigeria”.