BREAKING: NFF Extends Peseiro's Contract..........

Peseiro's Contract Extended Until After the AFCON in February ..... Semi-Final Target Set
https://bestchoicesports.com.ng/nff-ext ... con-target
- in By Amaechi Agbo

The Nigeria Football Federation, NFF has extended the contract of Jose Peseiro as Super Eagles Coach until after the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations, AFCON in Cote D’Ivoire next year

This is as the federation also issued the Portuguese a semi-final target at the AFCON 2023 continental biennial football showpiece which will hold between January and February next year.

His contract is due to expire by June 30

Peseiro signed a one-year contract with NFF in may last year and was promised an extension if he could take Nigeria to Ivory Coast next January and win the AFCON trophy which the Super Eagles last won in 2013 in South Africa under late Coach Stephen Keshi.

Already he has qualified the team for the tournament but Nigerians are still much sceptical of his capability to lead the national team back to its glory days.

Jose Peseiro’s reign, as short as it has been, so far, has seen the Super Eagles come under a very bad patch, littered with poor results and indifferent displays. The team struggles in every match, no matter the opposition. Many Nigerians are of the opinion that with the coach in charge, the Eagles cannot get past the quarter-finals of the 24-team AFCON tournament.

Although NFF has not made official statement on the extension, the federation had few days ago opened a website portal asking Nigerian to vote for or against the extension of the Portuguese contract.

With the results of the poll not yet made public, it has been gathered that the 63-year-old will guide the three-time Africa champions to the 2023 AFCON finals in Cote D’Ivoire

Since his employment last year, Peseiro played a total of ten matches; won 4 and lost 6. The coach lost all five friendly matches played by the Super Eagles

The biggest humiliation was the Super Eagles’ 0-1 home loss to Guinea Bissau in Abuja in March this year.

Nigerians, outraged over the defeat and the woeful performance of the team, “called for the Portuguese head”

Super Eagles are going to the AFCON tournament next year as one of the favourite teams to win the competition she last won ten years ago in South Africa
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: BREAKING: NFF Extends Peseiro's Contract..........

He's useless but it's the most logical decision since he met his target, if Pissero can actually man up and stop being loyal to certain garbage players, he might be decent.

Sanity prevails for the moment.

What happened to the poll? :rotf:

Well, we are in for another Round of 16 AFCON exit.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 12:39 am Well, we are in for another Round of 16 AFCON exit.
Do you wanna bet on that ?

At least we learned from our last mistake.

Now the NFF needs to complete leave Peseiro alone to chose the best players and stop mandating players on him.

How can you set targets when you don't even let him choose his own players.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 12:47 am
Lolly wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 12:39 am Well, we are in for another Round of 16 AFCON exit.

Now the NFF needs to complete leave Peseiro alone to chose the best players and stop mandating players on him.

But they won’t leave him alone to chose his own players especially since he comes across as someone desperate for a job. He just bagged a 6months extension at 70k per month. You can do the math on that one.

I won’t be so sure that they won’t lose in the round of 16 or next since nothing will change on the NFF side.

so negative

INEC already declared the results bro.

Abi e no load for IREV?

Cmoke :D :D :D :D :D

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Jun 26, 2023 11:57 pm What happened to the poll? :rotf:

Even this idea of setting semi-final target is unorthodox, senseless and stupid

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

They should have fired him and install a local coach like they did to Rohr and see where that gets us.

jette1 wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 2:56 pm

Even this idea of setting semi-final target is unorthodox, senseless and stupid
It is stupid, but it's better than mandating he wins the whole thing.

So, not one of the ITKs for CE applied for the job?
I hope they will let the cook do him job, instead of saying 'add some pepper here, and a little salt there'.

joao wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 4:51 pm So, not one of the ITKs for CE applied for the job?
I hope they will let the cook do him job, instead of saying 'add some pepper here, and a little salt there'.
Do you think they would hire a Naijarian?

On this board are licensed coaches and top administrators. Do you think a WOWO will hire them?
Or like with our diaspora players, NFF will only get interested in them when another country shows interest?

If it is a local coach, it is called corruption but if it is a foreign coach, it is called NFF interference, na wah oh!...Any coach that tolerates such interference is as bad as the NFF itself, period!

gochino wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 9:24 pm

If it is a local coach, it is called corruption but if it is a foreign coach, it is called NFF interference, na wah oh!...Any coach that tolerates such interference is as bad as the NFF itself, period!

Cellular wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 9:47 pm

No foreign Coach would be so insensitive to completely act irrespective of culture on the ground when they arrive. Even in situations where there are indifferent they would work with what they see unless it is completely outrageous like when Denarby quit and went to India

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

No that is false.

It is a FACT, that the NFF have been forcing Musa on 3 SE coaches. One who was a local coach.

They are also currently forcing homebased players on Peseiro. That is the definition of interference.

I assume you are referring to Keshi, because what he did cannot be compared to any of these 3 coaches.

While at most Rohr, Egu, and Peseiro may have had 1 or 2 dodgy callups, Keshi literally had half a team of dodgy callups. Pretty much the entire bench. There is no excusing or spinning that.

He was running a full blown marketing operation.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 10:39 pm

No that is false.

It is a FACT, that the NFF have been forcing Musa on 3 SE coaches. One who was a local coach.

They are also currently forcing homebased players on Peseiro. That is the definition of interference.

I assume you are referring to Keshi, because what he did cannot be compared to any of these 3 coaches.

While at most Rohr, Egu, and Peseiro may have had 1 or 2 dodgy callups, Keshi literally had half a team of dodgy callups. Pretty much the entire bench. There is no excusing or spinning that.

Doggy call-ups that won an AFCON?

You also missed the part where the then NFF literally held him hostage and held their money unless he added some NFF influenced players?

This Coach doesn't have the team to reach the semi-final. I will be surprised if they reach the QF!

Cellular wrote: Wed Jun 28, 2023 12:58 am
vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jun 27, 2023 10:39 pm

No that is false.

Doggy call-ups that won an AFCON?

You also missed the part where the then NFF literally held him hostage and held their money unless he added some NFF influenced players?
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: I will take dodgy call-ups any day, any time if they win the AFCON. What I will not take is hyped line-ups that falter at every turn. Tufiakwa!!!!!

The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Those dodgy call ups lead to DNQ for a common AFCON.

And then we missed the one after that as well. Remember Keshi even tried to hang on to the job after failing to qualify for AFCON.

That type of corruption will always come back to haunt you. I am sure you guys were proud we failed to qualify for back to back AFCONS. The worst failure in SE history.