Kelechi Nwakali…

Re: Kelechi Nwakali…

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 5:18 pm Anchormen
[1] Wilfred Ndidi
[2] Frank Onyeka
[3] Raphael Onyeadika

Box-to-box midfielders
[1] Alhassan Yusuf
[2] Kelechi Nwakali
[3] Joe Aribo

Playmakers
[1] Alex Iwobi
[2] Michael Olise
[3] Tom Dele-Bashiru

We need two of each for a major competition like the World Cup.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

wiseone wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 5:08 pm Excellent. Ok, you win: he is not an AM. What use does the SE have for yet another holding midfielder that does not score or assist? The SE already has a surplus of options in that area (Ndidi, Onyeka, Onyedika, Yusuf)
Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 10:04 pm Thinking he is an AM is where you made the first mistake, anybody that has actually watched him will know he is a CM and trying to judge a midfielder by their goal contributions is silly. Those are for attackers
Are you still asking this after watching the Afcon final?? We lost that final because our players were burnt out and our coach didn't have enough quality to replace them. Secondly, Nwakali is a completely different type of Midfielder from those guys you mentioned, we have one creative midfielder, Iwobi, the rest are destroyers, who are good at doing the dirty work. Don't know which category Aribo falls into.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 2:04 am
Sunset wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 10:04 pm Thinking he is an AM is where you made the first mistake, anybody that has actually watched him will know he is a CM and trying to judge a midfielder by their goal contributions is silly. Those are for attackers
wiseone wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 7:48 am Every single time an SE squad is announced, there is massive clamour for him to be called up as if he is the second coming of Okocha or KDB. His career track record is not overwhelming. He:

-has scored a grand total of 13 goals in his entire career as a professional footballer (8 years) despite being an AM

-failed to make it to a top division team in England, Holland 🇳🇱, Portugal 🇵🇹, and now Spain 🇪🇸

-has scored 0 goals in 26 games this season

-has only 13 assists in his entire 8 year career in which he has played nearly 200 matches

-has 3 times as many career yellow cards than goals

What is the clamour for a non-scoring and non-assisting attacking midfielder who has spent his entire career playing 2nd division football, who gets booked 3x more than he scores or assists, and who scores or assists only once every 14 matches?

He has to win balls though. He seems adept at redistribution and not much else. More worrying, is it is clear that he is able to put himself about with effort but in several matches he appears as if he has gone asleep. Man, he really has to do far more for me.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 6:39 pm
Enugu II wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 2:04 am
wiseone wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 7:48 am Every single time an SE squad is announced, there is massive clamour for him to be called up as if he is the second coming of Okocha or KDB. His career track record is not overwhelming. He:

-has scored a grand total of 13 goals in his entire career as a professional footballer (8 years) despite being an AM

-failed to make it to a top division team in England, Holland 🇳🇱, Portugal 🇵🇹, and now Spain 🇪🇸

-has scored 0 goals in 26 games this season

-has only 13 assists in his entire 8 year career in which he has played nearly 200 matches

-has 3 times as many career yellow cards than goals

What is the clamour for a non-scoring and non-assisting attacking midfielder who has spent his entire career playing 2nd division football, who gets booked 3x more than he scores or assists, and who scores or assists only once every 14 matches?

He has to win balls though. He seems adept at redistribution and not much else. More worrying, is it is clear that he is able to put himself about with effort but in several matches he appears as if he has gone asleep. Man, he really has to do far more for me.
It looks like his level is championship or a newly promoted team. Some players can't cut it in the big leagues.
sabb

Post by sabb »

txj wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 4:36 pm :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

The legend of Bagger Vance continues...

Kelechi Nwakali, a legend before his time
I actually like his game and I watch him a lot at C D Chaves but even now he doesn't get as much first team action as he got when he first started. They have a game on Friday against Benfica, let's hope he gets game time
To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli

Nigeria lost the AFCON final because Ivory Coast had 3 central midfielders while Nigeria had only 2, Ivory Coast was at home and had a racuous home crowd behind them, and because after noticing that they were outnumbered in midfield, Nigeria did not adjust its tactics or change its 3-4-3 formation.

Having an average 2nd division midfielder who collects yellow cards like an addict would not have changed the result.
gochino wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 6:11 pm
Are you still asking this after watching the Afcon final?? We lost that final because our players were burnt out and our coach didn't have enough quality to replace them. Secondly, Nwakali is a completely different type of Midfielder from those guys you mentioned, we have one creative midfielder, Iwobi, the rest are destroyers, who are good at doing the dirty work. Don't know which category Aribo falls into.

wiseone wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 10:52 pm Nigeria lost the AFCON final because Ivory Coast had 3 central midfielders while Nigeria had only 2, Ivory Coast was at home and had a racuous home crowd behind them, and because after noticing that they were outnumbered in midfield, Nigeria did not adjust its tactics or change its 3-4-3 formation.

Having an average 2nd division midfielder who collects yellow cards like an addict would not have changed the result.
gochino wrote: Tue Mar 26, 2024 6:11 pm
Oh so you don't even know he plays in the portuguese 1st division?? Ok, then our discussion doesn't make sense.

On this forum I keep hearing how Nwakali has incisive passing and can play a killer ball. Yet strangely, such alleged passing skills have led to only 13 goals for teammates in the nearly 200 games he has played in his career.

5 different SE coaches have had the chance to pick him, yet none of them has ever selected him consistently. Why may that be?

wiseone wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:07 pm On this forum I keep hearing how Nwakali has incisive passing and can play a killer ball. Yet strangely, such alleged passing skills have led to only 13 goals for teammates in the nearly 200 games he has played in his career.

5 different SE coaches have had the chance to pick him, yet none of them has ever selected him consistently. Why may that be?
wiseone,

Nwakali's legend is only IMAGINED. :rotf: :rotf: You remember, Rabiu Ibrahim? If you do, Nwakali has long become the new Rabiu Ibrahim.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

wiseone wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:07 pm On this forum I keep hearing how Nwakali has incisive passing and can play a killer ball. Yet strangely, such alleged passing skills have led to only 13 goals for teammates in the nearly 200 games he has played in his career.

To be fair, he did “okay” in the match he started in AFCON 2021. I have always said his issue is lack of energy. And when he tries to track back or tackle, he ends of fouling the opponent. He is not quick on the feet for a midfielder.

But I just want to see him once more play a full 90 minutes for the SE. You never know. He might be a perfect fit for a SE 3-man midfield.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:38 pm

To be fair, he did “okay” in the match he started in AFCON 2021. I have always said his issue is lack of energy. And when he tries to track back or tackle, he ends of fouling the opponent. He is not quick on the feet for a midfielder.

But I just want to see him once more play a full 90 minutes for the SE. You never know. He might be a perfect fit for a SE 3-man midfield.
Lolly,

You stated all that about the guy and yet you still want to see him in a 3-man midfield. You realize teams use 4-5 men in the midfield. With what you just described, who are the players who will do the donkey work for him in ball winning? I dey shake my head oooo!

We can also add Bartholomew "1 bicycle kick that went wide" Ogbeche to the list of 🇳🇬 players that CE thinks are Ballon D'or worthy, yet have journeymen careers.
Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:32 pm wiseone,

Nwakali's legend is only IMAGINED. :rotf: :rotf: You remember, Rabiu Ibrahim? If you do, Nwakali has long become the new Rabiu Ibrahim.

wiseone wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:43 pm We can also add Bartholomew "1 bicycle kick that went wide" Ogbeche to the list of 🇳🇬 players that CE thinks are Ballon D'or worthy, yet have journeymen careers.
Enugu II wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:32 pm wiseone,

If that’s what you think; has it ever crossed your mind that Super Eagles coach starting with Eguavon are responsible for Nwakili’s football travails. Let’s hope finidi doesn’t join this guilty list.

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

You are right there fella. Eguavoen and other SE coaches told Nwakali to create only 13 assists in 8 years, and to get booked 3-4 times as much as he assists. They also forced him to spend 95+% of his career playing for reserve and 2nd division teams.
jette1 wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:47 pm
If that’s what you think; has it ever crossed your mind that Super Eagles coach starting with Eguavon are responsible for Nwakili’s football travails. Let’s hope finidi doesn’t join this guilty list.

wiseone wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:54 pm You are right there fella. Eguavoen and other SE coaches told Nwakali to create only 13 assists in 8 years, and to get booked 3-4 times as much as he assists. They also forced him to spend 95+% of his career playing for reserve and 2nd division teams.
Have you even watched him play? He’s primarily a CDM over the last few yrs, that’s not a position for scoring an assisting unless the team’s offense is designed for him to be a distributor. Your use of stats is delusional. How many assists does Onyeka and Yusuf have in the same period. Sorry but you seem to be confused.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 1:40 am
wiseone wrote: Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:54 pm You are right there fella. Eguavoen and other SE coaches told Nwakali to create only 13 assists in 8 years, and to get booked 3-4 times as much as he assists. They also forced him to spend 95+% of his career playing for reserve and 2nd division teams.
Have you even watched him play? He’s primarily a CDM over the last few yrs, that’s not a position for scoring an assisting unless the team’s offense is designed for him to be a distributor. Your use of stats is delusional. How many assists does Onyeka and Yusuf have in the same period. Sorry but you seem to be confused.
He just has not done much to deserve the hype. Let’s give him his year as CDM, does that explain the output the 7 years before than and the constant travails in lower division football prior to this year. U-17 WC was 9 years ago folks!

Sunset wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 4:05 am
Was he given credit for the goal? Just asking based on what I see via this video.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:07 am
Was he given credit for the goal? Just asking based on what I see via this video.

It was going in anyway. Das ma boi. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 5:30 am

That ball was going well wide.
Look again.

Look again. The 4th take is the best angle.

Damunk wrote: Tue Apr 16, 2024 6:25 am

Look again. The 4th take is the best angle.
Ok Mr Stevie Damunk Wonder, I don look again and na goal I see. :thumbs:

There is an old man in this forum that gets off Kelechi!