Why was PESEIRO offered Big Contract INITIALLY???

There are things that may you shrug your shoulders and one of them is the fact that Jose Peseiro initially received a contract that was estimated to be almost double what his predecessor, Gernot Rohr, was paid. This is a shocking revelation, to state the least, and for several reasons.
The Conditions Before Peseiro Was Hired
1. The SE was at a low-ebb -- There was no question that Nigeria was tottering at the time Peseiro was hired. Losing to CAR at home and then tying with both S/Leone and CPV at home was more than a handwriting on the proverbial wall. The Manager had to be replaced with one with newer ideas. However, did Amaju Pinnick and his crew find that Manager that was to take Nigeria to Nirvana? I think not. Peseiro was promoted as such a Manager and as we now know, he was offered a contract that indicated that belief. But there was nothing in Peseiro's past that warranted such belief. He had accomplished ery little in his resume except for his association with periodization. Nothing else. Instead, he had to be hyped by his employers to justify the expenditure and to create a belief that Nirvana was possible.

2. Gernot Rohr appeared to lack answers -- Rohr had a spectacular period during the qualifiers for the WC 2018 when the SE was arguably the best African team. But that was the team's peak under Gernot Rohr. After his contract was renewed, he appeared to be coasting. BTW, it was not the field. Afterall, it was on the same field that Rohr hammered Cameroon 4-0. The fact is Nigerias's longest ever serving coach Gernot Rohr had ran out of ideas. Pinnick and administrators desperate to top their era with a big win, needed to oust Rohr and replace him with something better. They did the ousting but did they replace with something better? I doubt it but the jury is still, arguably, still out.

3. Pinnick was seeking Big Accomplishment -- There is no doubt that Pinnick's era as NFF President was a struggle to achieve greatness. To nbe bigger than any NFF President before him could ever claim. He believed that the path was to hire foreign and to make the SE as foreign as ever. He quickly ousted Keshi in order to achieve that goal. He quickly wanted to recruit players from European academies to achieve that dream and this he sought right a few weeks after he was elected. He visited London and scheduled a trial for youth players as a pathway and began to quickly turn his focus to such players and the SE complexion quickly change on the field but that was never matched by Nigeria's results on the field. To be sure, Pinnick used similar strategy as Director of Sports in Nigeria and achieved great success. But it never materialize at the SE level. Peseiro was the new gambit to make those dreams come to fruition.

Amaju Pinnick's Antecedents
1. Talk Big and Act BIG This was and is Pinnick's way. He talks big and also acts big. That is critical to his dream. There is nothing wrong with that. However, it perhaps explains why a huge salary was awarded to Peseiro to look the part.

2. Belief in Foreign Solutions -- As mentioned above, this is always Amaju Pinnick. He used it to achieve siuccess with Delta sports but it never materialized in Nigeria's football for him. But did he try? YES, he did and BIG! If he was not checkmated by the media, even the underaged team recruitment base would have changed deeply. He just had no believf in local talents.

Could the NFF have Hired Peseiro or someone Similar @Less?

There is absolutely no denial that this was and is possible. That Peseiro took less in the last couple of days tells you all you need to know. There are more accomplished managers in Africa earning less today that would have gladly come tgo Nigeria. The large outlay that Peseiro sdigned under Pinnick was more about Pinnick than it ever was about Perseiro. TYaker that to the bank. That it eventuaslly has led to debts in case of player bonuses, the fact that it has prevented the international team from prosecuting friendlies, the fact that it will cost more in the near future may be attributed to the SPorts MInistry taking over payment and off the table of non-state s[omnsors, is not the issue here. We must understand what caused these problems and ask whether it was all worth it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: Why was PESEIRO offered Big Contract INITIALLY???

yea 70k a month . That must have been one of the highest paid coaches. Even 50k is still massive

$70k per month is a pittance for a coach and 4 assistants for the SE. Y’all wanna win Afcon and WC without making any significant investments. The Nigerian national team head coach should be making $100k/ month plus additional $200k per months on assistants, physiotherapists, doctors , scouts and video guy.Southgate makes £5m yearly, that’s over $550k per month. Stop the nonsense.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:41 am $70k per month is a pittance for a coach and 4 assistants for the SE. Y’all wanna win Afcon and WC without making any significant investments. The Nigerian national team head coach should be making $100k/ month plus additional $200k per months on assistants, physiotherapists, doctors , scouts and video guy.Southgate makes £5m yearly, that’s over $550k per month. Stop the nonsense.
you are a comedian, you want to pay a coach in Nigeria 100k :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: let us get real. football is a sport

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:54 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:41 am $70k per month is a pittance for a coach and 4 assistants for the SE. Y’all wanna win Afcon and WC without making any significant investments. The Nigerian national team head coach should be making $100k/ month plus additional $200k per months on assistants, physiotherapists, doctors , scouts and video guy.Southgate makes £5m yearly, that’s over $550k per month. Stop the nonsense.
you are a comedian, you want to pay a coach in Nigeria 100k :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: let us get real. football is a sport
Sports is huge business. You need to understand that before you make another useless post.

Sorry but bonuses have never been paid. So blaming that on Pinnick and Peseiro is just a lie.

Bonuses were not paid under Rohr.

I'm not buying these excuses.
Next

Post by Next »

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 4:16 am
Sports is huge business. You need to understand that before you make another useless post.
@EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA Nobody is denying that and we all know it. The question is; Would NFF able to afford that?
Secondy, how many NT coaches in Africa are earning 100k/month, infact, how many worldwide are earning that much? Even Those earning less than Peseiro are doing that with results (and we know how much Peseiro was and still gonna be "paid")!

Just my two cents.

Cheers
TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!

The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku

You conveniently left out the fact that Pinnick hired Oliseh and Siasia to coach the SE even before Rohr.

In all, FOUR Nigerian coaches failed him - Keshi, Oliseh, Siasia, and Eguavoen! :shock:

The idea that he was focused on a foreign coach does not match his actions. He wanted a local coach, but they ALL failed him. He had no choice but to go foreign. It would've been stupid to keep doing the same thing that's failing.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:14 am There are things that may you shrug your shoulders and one of them is the fact that Jose Peseiro initially received a contract that was estimated to be almost double what his predecessor, Gernot Rohr, was paid. This is a shocking revelation, to state the least, and for several reasons.
The Conditions Before Peseiro Was Hired
1. The SE was at a low-ebb -- There was no question that Nigeria was tottering at the time Peseiro was hired. Losing to CAR at home and then tying with both S/Leone and CPV at home was more than a handwriting on the proverbial wall. The Manager had to be replaced with one with newer ideas. However, did Amaju Pinnick and his crew find that Manager that was to take Nigeria to Nirvana? I think not. Peseiro was promoted as such a Manager and as we now know, he was offered a contract that indicated that belief. But there was nothing in Peseiro's past that warranted such belief. He had accomplished ery little in his resume except for his association with periodization. Nothing else. Instead, he had to be hyped by his employers to justify the expenditure and to create a belief that Nirvana was possible.

2. Gernot Rohr appeared to lack answers -- Rohr had a spectacular period during the qualifiers for the WC 2018 when the SE was arguably the best African team. But that was the team's peak under Gernot Rohr. After his contract was renewed, he appeared to be coasting. BTW, it was not the field. Afterall, it was on the same field that Rohr hammered Cameroon 4-0. The fact is Nigerias's longest ever serving coach Gernot Rohr had ran out of ideas. Pinnick and administrators desperate to top their era with a big win, needed to oust Rohr and replace him with something better. They did the ousting but did they replace with something better? I doubt it but the jury is still, arguably, still out.

3. Pinnick was seeking Big Accomplishment -- There is no doubt that Pinnick's era as NFF President was a struggle to achieve greatness. To nbe bigger than any NFF President before him could ever claim. He believed that the path was to hire foreign and to make the SE as foreign as ever. He quickly ousted Keshi in order to achieve that goal. He quickly wanted to recruit players from European academies to achieve that dream and this he sought right a few weeks after he was elected. He visited London and scheduled a trial for youth players as a pathway and began to quickly turn his focus to such players and the SE complexion quickly change on the field but that was never matched by Nigeria's results on the field. To be sure, Pinnick used similar strategy as Director of Sports in Nigeria and achieved great success. But it never materialize at the SE level. Peseiro was the new gambit to make those dreams come to fruition.

Amaju Pinnick's Antecedents
1. Talk Big and Act BIG This was and is Pinnick's way. He talks big and also acts big. That is critical to his dream. There is nothing wrong with that. However, it perhaps explains why a huge salary was awarded to Peseiro to look the part.

2. Belief in Foreign Solutions -- As mentioned above, this is always Amaju Pinnick. He used it to achieve siuccess with Delta sports but it never materialized in Nigeria's football for him. But did he try? YES, he did and BIG! If he was not checkmated by the media, even the underaged team recruitment base would have changed deeply. He just had no believf in local talents.

Could the NFF have Hired Peseiro or someone Similar @Less?

There is absolutely no denial that this was and is possible. That Peseiro took less in the last couple of days tells you all you need to know. There are more accomplished managers in Africa earning less today that would have gladly come tgo Nigeria. The large outlay that Peseiro sdigned under Pinnick was more about Pinnick than it ever was about Perseiro. TYaker that to the bank. That it eventuaslly has led to debts in case of player bonuses, the fact that it has prevented the international team from prosecuting friendlies, the fact that it will cost more in the near future may be attributed to the SPorts MInistry taking over payment and off the table of non-state s[omnsors, is not the issue here. We must understand what caused these problems and ask whether it was all worth it.
EII,

You know this question is best directed at Amaju Pinnick… and my educated guess is he’ll have no credible answer🤔❗️

Orion wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 10:34 am You conveniently left out the fact that Pinnick hired Oliseh and Siasia to coach the SE even before Rohr.

In all, FOUR Nigerian coaches failed him - Keshi, Oliseh, Siasia, and Eguavoen! :shock:

The idea that he was focused on a foreign coach does not match his actions. He wanted a local coach, but they ALL failed him. He had no choice but to go foreign. It would've been stupid to keep doing the same thing that's failing.
Bro, don’t let facts get in the way of an agenda!

Orion wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 10:34 am You conveniently left out the fact that Pinnick hired Oliseh and Siasia to coach the SE even before Rohr.

Pinnick never wanted a local manager. Pinnick confirmed this by himself. He stated that hiring Oliseh was never his choice. He had a Serbian lined up but the VP Akinwunmi fought for Oliseh and persuade the Board and Pinnick on that. But make no mistake, Oliseh was never a Pinnick choice and he openly states as much.

I bet you think it is Pinnick's idea to invite the local players that were called up under his tenure, as well? You need to understand the politics inside the NFF. Perfunctorism does not camouflage an ideology.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

They need to go see what Spain’s women coach was making before the WC and what they are proposing to pay him in his upcoming extension.

packerland wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 1:17 pm
They need to go see what Spain’s women coach was making before the WC and what they are proposing to pay him in his upcoming extension.
Using this logic NPFL teams should also see what City and Real are paying their players and offer the same accordingly…like wth? Wetin consign Spain with Africa? How much are other African coaches being paid should be where we start the comparison…

Enugu II wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 12:57 pm

Pinnick never wanted a local manager. Pinnick confirmed this by himself. He stated that hiring Oliseh was never his choice. He had a Serbian lined up but the VP Akinwunmi fought for Oliseh and persuade the Board and Pinnick on that. But make no mistake, Oliseh was never a Pinnick choice and he openly states as much.
The facts belie what you believe he was "focused on". The facts are what counts not conjecture. Oliseh was his first hire. And no, the appointment wasn't forced on him. He was the boss, and the buck stops with him. He clearly arrived at the conclusion that Oliseh was the way forward. BTW, the Oliseh hire was not an isolated event. His subsequent actions in hiring Siasia and Eguavoen demonstrate that he believes in Nigerian coaches - if only they can meet their objectives!

Oliseh failed by acting immaturely. Then he gave another Nigerian coach the chance, and that guy failed, too. If one of those two guys had succeeded in the routine job of qualifying for the AFCON (and meeting their other objectives), there would have been no Rohr.

Orion wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:11 pm

The facts belie what you believe he was "focused on". The facts are what counts not conjecture. Oliseh was his first hire. And no, the appointment wasn't forced on him. He was the boss, and the buck stops with him. He clearly arrived at the conclusion that Oliseh was the way forward. BTW, the Oliseh hire was not an isolated event. His subsequent actions in hiring Siasia and Eguavoen demonstrate that he believes in Nigerian coaches - if only they can meet their objectives!

Oliseh failed by acting immaturely. Then he gave another Nigerian coach the chance, and that guy failed, too. If one of those two guys had succeeded in the routine job of qualifying for the AFCON (and meeting their other objectives), there would have been no Rohr.
We all remember how Pinnick crowned Oliseh as “The Guardiola of Africa” and paid him 3 months salary upfront! Yet someone wants us to believe otherwise!

maceo4 wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 1:56 pm
Using this logic NPFL teams should also see what City and Real are paying their players and offer the same accordingly…like wth? Wetin consign Spain with Africa? How much are other African coaches being paid should be where we start the comparison…
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: leave them, they live abroad so, how people live in struggling nations is not their business, so they just talk anyhow. 450k naira is just $500.00

Dammy wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:40 pm

We all remember how Pinnick crowned Oliseh as “The Guardiola of Africa” and paid him 3 months salary upfront! Yet someone wants us to believe otherwise!
Yep, they use it as a convenient excuse for why those guys failed. Just use revisionism and blame someone else. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Dammy wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 2:40 pm

Yup, thanks for reminding us. :clap: :clap: :clap:
The internet does not forget.
In July Nigerian FA president Amaju Pinnick hailed Sunday Oliseh as the Guardiola of Africa but enter 2016 and the novice coach has delivered little.
The 41-year-old, who has played for Ajax Amsterdam, Borussia Dortmund and Juventus in the past, was brought in to rejuvenate the Super Eagles, Nigeria’s national team, after Stephen Keshi’s disappointing reign. But Oliseh’s erratic behaviour (notably his infamous YouTube rant), lack of experience and disappointing results have cast a shadow over Nigeria’s footballing future

What were your emotions when you were appointed as head coach of Nigeria?
I was delighted when I was appointed because very few players get the opportunity in their careers to captain Nigeria and to coach Nigeria. It’s a dream for a lot of captains. For me, it is good to have this opportunity.

You have limited coaching experience, so did your appointment come as a surprise?
No, Nigerians know that if I was European and not African, I would have already coached a top club in Europe. I think the Nigerian FA chose me because they feel I am the most qualified for the job at the moment.

MORE HERE
Oliseh clearly disagrees with Prof. :idea:

Also....
Why we appointed ‘Pep Guardiola of Africa’ for Super Eagles — Pinnick

Amaju Pinnick, president of the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), praised Oliseh as the Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich coach) of Africa.

“Today is another historic day in the history of Nigeria football. Today we have been able to present the Pep Guardiola (Bayern Munich coach) of Africa,” Pinnick remarked.

“We know that Sunday Oliseh can deliver. Talking to Sunday Oliseh, we are very excited, about his advancement. On the field we have not been able to have a replacement for him.

“As a member of the FIFA technical study group, he is vastly travelled and trained.

“I can assure you that we are going to have one of the best coaches Nigeria ever had.

“On behalf of the federation we will give him 100 percent support. We will follow all the clauses of this contract.”

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/07/why ... er-eagles/

The Guardiola of Africa, the term was dumb then and it's still dumb now.

Damunk, always defending his friend Peak-Milk.

fabio wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 3:39 pm Damunk, always defending his friend Peak-Milk.
'Brother' Fabio, forever looking for ways to put a man down.
When was the last time you ever saw a bottle half full?

Try and reflect on this famous quote:
"There is so much good in the worst of us, and so much bad in the best of us, that it ill-behooves any of us to find fault with the rest of us." - James Truslow Adams :idea:

I was being generous by comparing them to Spain’s women coach and not the men’s. NPFL coaches don’t even make what North African club managers make. I will publish the article shortly.

Y’all acting like 70k per month is too much for a National team coach for a country whose number one sport is football. I believe Peseiro has to pay his assistants plus taxes in Portugal or whatever tax the crooks in NFF deducts from his check 😂
Yes, the NFF might be broke but they are too lazy to go out and get sponsors. Heck, 30 out of 36 governors in Nigeria can afford to pay him out of their pocket. Y’all want to tell me that a country a big as Nigeria can’t reserve $1.6 dollars (70k/month) for 2 years to pay a quality coach?

Will y’all be complaining if we hired Mourinho or Ancelloti for 70k per month. Ancellotti’s Italian sit probably cost 3k 😆. Some of y’all are composing about the 70k because you think Peseiro is a poor coach.

packerland wrote: Tue Sep 05, 2023 4:55 pm
I was being generous by comparing them to Spain’s women coach and not the men’s. NPFL coaches don’t even make what North African club managers make. I will publish the article shortly.

Y’all acting like 70k per month is too much for a National team coach for a country whose number one sport is football. I believe Peseiro has to pay his assistants plus taxes in Portugal or whatever tax the crooks in NFF deducts from his check 😂
Yes, the NFF might be broke but they are too lazy to go out and get sponsors. Heck, 30 out of 36 governors in Nigeria can afford to pay him out of their pocket. Y’all want to tell me that a country a big as Nigeria can’t reserve $1.6 dollars (70k/month) for 2 years to pay a quality coach?

Will y’all be complaining if we hired Mourinho or Ancelloti for 70k per month. Ancellotti’s Italian sit probably cost 3k 😆. Some of y’all are composing about the 70k because you think Peseiro is a poor coach.
my goodness do you live in a bubble? How the heck do your reason? What's the GDP in Nigeria?