Dominic Solanke wants to play for Nigeria

And with his current form this season? only a disingenuous person will be opposed to that switch happening...yes we have a plethora of forwards BUT Solanke brings something different stylistically from what we have, my boy can dribble, pass intelligently, hold up play brilliantly and finish with aplomb. Solanke's versatility means he can also play as a CAM and even as a winger effectively and majority of his goals this season have come from different positions around the 18 yrd box.

I say NFF fast-track him into the NT once everything is valid.
Re: Dominic Solanke wants to play for Nigeria

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2023 4:46 pm And with his current form this season? only a disingenuous person will be opposed to that switch happening...yes we have a plethora of forwards BUT Solanke brings something different stylistically from what we have, my boy can dribble, pass intelligently, hold up play brilliantly and finish with aplomb. Solanke's versatility means he can also play as a CAM and even as a winger effectively and majority of his goals this season have come from different positions around the 18 yrd box.

He should goan apply to get his Naija passport.
Then write an application (in septuplicate).
Retain a column of reporters.
Hire Tobi17 and other non-disingenuous (earnest) people to promote him on CE.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2023 4:46 pm And with his current form this season? only a disingenuous person will be opposed to that switch happening...yes we have a plethora of forwards BUT Solanke brings something different stylistically from what we have, my boy can dribble, pass intelligently, hold up play brilliantly and finish with aplomb. Solanke's versatility means he can also play as a CAM and even as a winger effectively and majority of his goals this season have come from different positions around the 18 yrd box.

Tobi, please tell me you are joking.
A take God beg you.

Midfielders, defenders, or goal keepers please.

Hell I'll even take a good winger.

We don't need any more strikers.

Cellular wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2023 5:03 pm

He should goan apply to get his Naija passport.
Then write an application (in septuplicate).
Retain a column of reporters.
Hire Tobi17 and other non-disingenuous (earnest) people to promote him on CE.

Nope

Tufiakwa.

Why not. He is no less Nigerian than the others.

Though I can’t see who he would displace. At least not now.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Dec 12, 2023 7:43 pm Why not. He is no less Nigerian than the others.

Though I can’t see who he would displace. At least not now.
If he wants to play for Nigeria, he should contact the proper authorities to do the switch and obtain his passport. He should the prepare and work hard. If he performs in Div 1 AFTER THE AFCON, and the coach believes he is better than others, he will be invited. Its that simple.

But good luck to him, the competition is fierce - Osihmen, Boniface, Umar, Moffi, Orban etc etc

He looks decent statistically but he’s 26 and already has an England cap. Is he eligible for a switch❓🤔❗️

If he wants, to play as a Goalie or defender, he can come , however, Playing as a striker for Nigeria, that wan pass mount Everest oo, the competition to play as a 9 for Nigeria no be beans ooo, Currently the best footballer out of Africa is the starting 9 for Nigeria.

Considering the massive drop-off recently experienced by the SE, with Osimhen and Awoniyi injured, its clear that there is still a gulf in class between those 2 and the others that still needs to be filled.
There is nothing wrong with the young man throwing his hat into the ring The only issue is that, since he already played for the England youth teams and once for the 3 lions (even though a friendly game in 2017), his clearance wait time could be several months - unless he has commenced the switch.
All the best to Dominic!

Considering the massive drop-off recently experienced by the SE, with Osimhen and Awoniyi injured, its clear that there is still a gulf in class between those 2 and the others that still needs to be filled.
There is nothing wrong with the young man throwing his hat into the ring The only issue is that, since he already played for the England youth teams and once for the 3 lions (even though a friendly game in 2017), his clearance wait time could be several months - unless he has commenced the switch.
The more quality strikers we have in our stables, the greater the competition which only bodes well for the SE.
Wish Dominic all the best!
Last edited by Otitokoro on Wed Dec 13, 2023 3:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Will be tough for him but he can invited for a friendly after Afcon.

ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 3:39 am Will be tough for him but he can invited for a friendly after Afcon, if he is performing better than other strikers we have.

I corrected your post. You are welcome.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 3:22 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 3:39 am Will be tough for him but he can invited for a friendly after Afcon, if he is performing better than other strikers we have.

He is performing better than Awoniyi for one...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 4:53 pm

I believe we have 2 or 3 spots in the squad. Now, he has to try to outperform Osimhen, Boniface, Sadiq, Moffi, Lookman, Akor Adams and Orban. That is 7 players (excluding Awoniyi).

danfo driver wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 5:12 pm

I believe we have 2 or 3 spots in the squad. Now, he has to try to outperform Osimhen, Boniface, Sadiq, Moffi, Lookman, Akor Adams and Orban. That is 7 players (excluding Awoniyi).

His competition is Moffi for the 4th spot.
Lookman is a wide MF/FWD

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 5:20 pm

Lookman is a wide MF/FWD
Just to confirm your position, he has surpassed Akor Adams and Orban in the pecking order?

Also, we do not select 4 CFs in a squad of 23. If we do that, where would you cut to fit in the CFs?

What should help players is their versatility to play a number of positions.

If somebody can only play CF, unless they are Osimehn their chances of making squad should be slim.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 5:43 pm

Lookman is a wide MF/FWD
Just to confirm your position, he has surpassed Akor Adams and Orban in the pecking order?

Also, we do not select 4 CFs in a squad of 23. If we do that, where would you cut to fit in the CFs?

Both Akor and Orban are below his level.

The key IMO is that he can play from wide and as support for Osimhen.

Both Boniface and Sadiq are best as lone strikers.

In the wide positions we only have two quality players- Samu and Lookman

txj wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 11:52 pm

Lookman is a wide MF/FWD

Samu isn't even better than Simon. Bit I agree we can do with more wide quality players.

Does Solanke really fit that bill or is this another case of forcing strikers where they don't belong?

vancity eagle wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 1:04 am
txj wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 11:52 pm

Lookman is a wide MF/FWD

Samu isn't even better than Simon. Bit I agree we can do with more wide quality players.

Does Solanke really fit that bill or is this another case of forcing strikers where they don't belong?
Everytime I’ve watched Solanke he plays as a CF, he’s in no way a wide player, where is this wide talk coming from?

https://www.transfermarkt.us/dominic-so ... ler/258889