PICKING Goalkeepers for Nigeria's 23-player SQUAD For AFCON....Your Choice

Pick Your three (3) Goalkeepers

Poll ended at Wed Jan 03, 2024 7:46 pm

Francis UZOHO (Omonia, CYPRUS)
19%
Olorunlreke OJO (Enyimba)
6%
Maduka OKOYE (Udinese, ITALY)
21%
Adeleye ADEBAYO (Hapoel Jerusalem, ISRAEL)
10%
Stanley NWABILI (Chippa Utd, S/AFRICA)
29%
Amas OBASOGIE(Bendel Insurance)
15%

Total votes: 52

PICKING Goalkeepers for Nigeria's 23-player SQUAD For AFCON....Your Choice

Goalkeeping is Nigeria's most controversial position and considered the team's Achilles' Heel as the AFCON approaches. Please select your top 3 for the squad.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: PICKING Goalkeepers for Nigeria's 23-player SQUAD For AFCON....Your Choice

Why does any other goalie deserve a chance over Okoye? He might not be a starter for Udinese but he’s the most vetted of them all except of Uzoho whose vetting has shown he’s a consistent apere. I put my money on Okoye but it’s probably better for his career not to play for Nigeria until he secures the No 1 position at Udinese because our next goalie is probably DOA based on the level of criticism he’s likely to receive.

Maduka OKOYE
Stanley NWABILI
Amas OBASOGIE

Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo
Kingdom Osayi

would be my 3 choices.
But if Okoye and Uzoho start getting regular minutes for their clubs and get back into form. I would take them both and drop Ojo and Obasogie.

ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Dec 13, 2023 10:25 pm Amas Obasogie
Olurenke Ojo
Kingdom Osayi

would be my 3 choices.
But if Okoye and Uzoho start getting regular minutes for their clubs and get back into form. I would take them both and drop Ojo and Obasogie.
The votes here allow you to make changes and it stays on till very close to the real squad announcement.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

People are just dropping names of people they’ve never seen perform; just CE for you❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 1:40 pm People are just dropping names of people they’ve never seen perform; just CE for you❗️

Another way to say Uzoho is going to Afcon. We might not have a choice. Surely, at least 1 of the listed goalies is sure to be a basket too. Since Rufai in 94, we only produced 4 good keepers in Vince, Ike, Ejide and the guy that got sick (name?), that’s 4 in 30yrs. :laugh: The real question then becomes which basket should we take to Afcon? The basket we know or the one we don’t? :laugh:

Prof., you don't have the best goalie in the NPFL, Kingdom Osayi?

Kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Stanley Nwabili

With them, all I see is the upside.

Cellular wrote: Thu Dec 14, 2023 5:46 pm Prof., you don't have the best goalie in the NPFL, Kingdom Osayi?

Kingdom Osayi
Amas Obasogie
Stanley Nwabili

With them, all I see is the upside.

This man sef...

Why do you like grasshopper catchers?

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Atubola
Atubola
Atubola
COMPARE TO PROVISIONAL LIST: PICKING Goalkeepers for Nigeria's 23-player SQUAD For AFCON....Your Choice

PROVISIONAL LIST OF 27 BY NIGERIA .... via Owngoal ( :???: :???: )

Francis UZOHO
Stanley Nwabili
Adebayo Adeleye
Olorunleke Ojo

CE SELECTION?

Francis Uzoho
Maduka Okoye
Amas Obasogie
Stanley Nwabili