Formation ko, Formashon nii. Na Formation we go chop?

Billybones
Formation ko, Formashon nii. Na Formation we go chop?

Post by Billybones »

People on this forum keep harping, “If we had this formation, or If we had that formation,” and fail to realize that soccer is a free-flowing game. They neglect Soccer 101 (having all 11 player's hustle for loose balls).

In yesterday’s game there was no one running into open space, no one running towards crosses that were played slightly short, no one closing down on opposition players.

Hustling for the ball is a characteristic displayed by teams that are hungry to win which was lacking in the SE, so it should not come as a shock that we lost. We need to have everyone hustle for the ball (yes including Okocha), if he can do it at Bolton surely he can do it here.
Last edited by Billybones on Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:44 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Stopyra10

Post by Stopyra10 »

GUniea Score!!! hehehehehehehehehe :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Okocha who now positions himself on the right hand side...watchout.. Okocha..Okocha..Still Okocha!!! what a run by JAYJAY!!
Stopyra10

Post by Stopyra10 »

even guinea have a jayjay look alike!!! hehehehehehe from a distance!!! :mrgreen:
Okocha who now positions himself on the right hand side...watchout.. Okocha..Okocha..Still Okocha!!! what a run by JAYJAY!!

Billybones,

It takes more than 10 players aimlessly chasing and hussling for the ball to win a game.

All teams must have structure, hence the need for a formation. It's from this that a coach can get the right balance for the team, enabling it to play to it's strength.

After all his time in charge CCC failed to build a TEAM and he left for Tunisia with certain players who have never played together in a competitive game.

That lack of cohension was part of the problem yesterday.

Cheers
Stopyra10

Post by Stopyra10 »

ive notice that even the small oyinbo coaches with these other teams emphasis hustling and movinf for the ball!!!! what is ccc doing??
Billybones

Post by Billybones »

Mr Shows,

Structure, Structure, na structure we go chop?

U call chasing after the ball aimless? All I can say is that, it is that kind of attitude that will get U the result that we had yesterday.

In yesterday’s game there was ....
no one running into open space, (as a result few meaningful goal scoring opportunities were created).

no one running towards crosses that were played slightly short, (as a result any chances SE created in the 18-yard box were quickly rendered impotent by Moroccan defenders/goal keeper intercepting the ball).

no one closing down on opposition players (which resulted in the Moroccan player being able to pick out his team-mate in our 18-yard box and the unmarked player having all the time in the world to pose for photo b/4 scoring.

As U can see all the microstructure in the world will not help U if your team is not willling to fight for loose balls.
senator

Post by senator »

Billybones,
And if there is no structure and you have a Kanu midfield with no particular position, you expect him to hustle for the ball???????
''Watching United today was like watching your woman with another man. They were where we should have been, doing exactly what we should have been doing, and deep inside you know they were doing it better than we ever have.'' __Arsenal Fan after watching Man Utd defeat Roma 7-1 10/04/07

mouko wrote:
''Going by this list Nigeria would survive if they can score more than they would concede.''
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

I am with Billybones on this one. The reason we lost that game was because the Morrocans wanted it more than we did and they hustled. The shame of this is that we have the faster and stronger team but you would not know it looking at that game. The hustle factor has been something lacking in Nigerian football for a while now. It's almost as if the players are afraid of making a mistake. Until we get our hustle game back, we will keep seeing results like this. This talk of that formation and this formation is nonsense if your players are not going to hustle for the ball. If our boys had shown more desire and hustle yesterday, they would have won that game inspite of the formation and player selection.

In closing, go back and look at our Olympic games against Brazil and Argentina. Those games were the epitome of hustle. We won those games not because we were the better team technically, but because we were hungry and we hustled for EVERY ball. Where is Mobi Oparaku when you need a hustler? Until we start playing with more urgency, we will get keep getting embarrased. Talent does not mean jack if you don't combine it with hustle.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."
Billybones

Post by Billybones »

Senator,

Players who are unwilling to hustle must be relegated to the bench. There is no room for Bigmanism in football. U put Kanu as a striker and he fails to score a single goal in 2WC and 2Nations cup. U put him in midfield and he is lost, so why is this player anywhere near the field? If we need fans to support the team we can have them sitting in the stands.
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

coaching is no cake walk. coaching is a hard job.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.

Billybones: You da man. I am getting mighty pissed off with the formation freaks on this forum. Players win matches not formations. With the best formation in the world you will lose if you stick the wrong personnel in there. Like playing Kanu in midfield, with Okocha fetching and carrying. Square pegs in round holes.

Chukwu bombed b/c of the personnel he used not b/c of the formation - or lack of it.
Blakes

Post by Blakes »

yesterdays loss = screwed up formation + lack of team determination.simple.
Climb the ladder to succes, escalator style
-Biggie
mastermind

Post by mastermind »

cic old boy wrote:Billybones: You da man. I am getting mighty pissed off with the formation freaks on this forum. Players win matches not formations. With the best formation in the world you will lose if you stick the wrong personnel in there. Like playing Kanu in midfield, with Okocha fetching and carrying. Square pegs in round holes.

Chukwu bombed b/c of the personnel he used not b/c of the formation - or lack of it.
so u think a 4-1-5 formation will win any match for you? putting all 5 attackers in 1 game is a no no cos there will be no midfilders to create goals for them. If u have something like this 4-4-2, then u gat 4 midfielders creating scoring chances for 2 strikers.

Formation win games not just players. The players know that they cannot win the game with that kinda formation anyways cos the coach put wrong players on the field and played the ones on the field out of position. CCC sucks.

Mastermind thank you.

Btw I do not disagree with the fact that the lack of hussle contrubuted to our failure. BB u are spot on there.

Cheers

Mastermind: You don't get it. We were meant to play 4-4-2 yesterday, but used the wrong personnel.
Novocaine

Post by Novocaine »

Honestly yesterday our players were playing as if they did not want to get their brand new dresses dirty. No one wanted to break a sweat, which really puzzles me b/c at the end of the match, players are going to exchange shirts anywayz. Its not like they were playing Cameroon and knew no one was going to be exchanging shirts at the end of the day.
Last edited by Novocaine on Wed Jan 28, 2004 10:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

The players themselves are not even good enough to wear eagles jerseys; it just happens that's all we got; these are not the days when naija have good players. Otherwise people like Aiyegbeni, Utaka, Abbey, Olofinjana, Kanu etc would not be wearing eagles jerseys.
Some forumers try to make others believe these are good players, but that is far from the truth.

Some people here dont seem to get the concept of football other than its 11 vs 11.

The players didnt hustle, that is a fact. They were lethargic and had their usual but no longer acceptable lazy runs and pass.

The formation is crucial to the creation of goals and the defence thereof . If the formation is sort out right then there is a chance to hustle the opponent, close them down, force them to play nonsense etc. If u just have 11 players hustling aimlessly ie wherever the ball is, then we are done for

damni thought we used 10-10-321 formation?Get da hell outta here witht hat formation crap.Thank goodness somebody is finally making some sense.

omotori

Post by omotori »

plus a good formation improves hustle.

the biggest hustle position in the team is DM.

so if a coach wants to inspire hustle, he does not field an aging immobile support striker (at the AM position which by the way also requires good hustle) in place of a second DM.

another big hustle killer is fielding players out of position with no clear mission.
akidi

Post by akidi »

Blame CCC for efrithing...If una think say una betta, make una apply for the job...

Billybones, no mind them...Na formation we go chop...
GUNNAS 4 LIFE BBBAAABBBYYY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

"We thought Obasi was the best player to play and that was the reason. I thought he did a very good first half but he got tired in the second half but he lived up to the expectation I had on him," Lagerback explaining why he started Obasi over Osaze...

Ol boy, Lagerbagger is suffering from acute malaria oooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

akidi wrote:Blame CCC for efrithing...If una think say una betta, make una apply for the job...

Billybones, no mind them...Na formation we go chop...
no be formation u go chop, na headless chickens wey dey mirandabout u go chop.

Una wey dey talk say formation no matter, we might as well play 10 strikers randomly and see how we do. we will ask them to hustle though
Oguleftie

Post by Oguleftie »

You are correct. After all we heard about Lawal at Faro yet he was a no-show in the lineup. Kanu has no place with JJ on the field. You need 4 players ,say, in the midfield to win balls and let JJ play total football as he reads the game.