Argentina vs Nigeria March 20th 2024 ( Yokohama Japan)

We play them in a friendly
8 JanuaryFriendly Guinea 2–0 Nigeria Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
14 January2023 AFCON GS Nigeria 1–1 Equatorial Guinea Abidjan, Ivory Coast
18 January2023 AFCON Ivory Coast 0–1 Nigeria Abidjan, Ivory Coast
22 January2023 AFCON Guinea-Bissau v Nigeria Abidjan, Ivory Coast
20 MarchFriendly Argentina v Nigeria Yokohama, Japan
June2026 World Cup qualification Nigeria v South Africa
June2026 World Cup qualification Benin v Nigeria

Re: Argentina vs Nigeria March 20th 2024 ( Yokohama Japan)

Invite 50 percent new players. 50 percent old players.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 1:42 pm Invite 50 percent new players. 50 percent old players.
So kindly name the 12 players you would drop from the current 25-man squad.
Oya….
BigMuze

Post by BigMuze »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 10:29 am We play them in a friendly
Is this confirmed? I can’t find it anywhere. If this is true, did Argentina miss us that much at the last WC that they think they have to re familiarise for next time? 🤔🤔🤔
"Everyone, and particularly every true beliver, should decide which is more important to them. But as for me, I choose eternity over lifetime".

Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 1:45 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 1:42 pm Invite 50 percent new players. 50 percent old players.
Oya….
Keep Nwabili. Ekong, Yusuf. Ndidi, Iwobi, Lookman, Chukwuze, Simon. Osimhen. Boniface, Awoniyi. The rest can rest. I am not dropping anyone. Just trying out new players to promote competition and build depth. And will advise players to play regularly for their clubs. Also can't play at lower divisions.

Two of my clients must make the list.

Obinna Nwobodo and Chuba Akpom.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 2:32 pm
Damunk wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 1:45 pm
Oya….
Keep Nwabili. Ekong, Yusuf. Ndidi, Iwobi, Lookman, Chukwuze, Simon. Osimhen. Boniface, Awoniyi. The rest can rest. I am not dropping anyone. Just trying out new players to promote competition and build depth. And will advise players to play regularly for their clubs. Also can't play at lower divisions.
it’s one match.
Mention the 12 players you would drop for the game.
It’s not about ‘‘the rest’’. :roll:

Mention them by name and who you’d replace them with.
Nor be by mealy-mouth dem dey do am.

That's not how to build a team. That's how to build confusion. There will hopefully be a few players who get a look in but what you're calling for is madness. Besides, Peseiro has looked at other options during friendly windows. The issue with him is that he won't look at other options in official matches.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 10:29 am We play them in a friendly

Kudos to the NFF but hopefully they'll be arranging another friendly for us in this window.

Have you joined the names listing crew? You have not watched Obinna Nwobodo play this season. Last season was his breakout season in my opinion, and he is not better than Ndidi, Oyeaka, and Alhasan (if he continues with the form he displayed in the first). I am not saying he is a bad player or that he should not be looked at, at some point. He is going to have to move to a higher profile league and perform much better than he has so far to displace any of the players we have on the radar now.

I don't even know where this Akpom guy plays talkess watching him play. I don't understand the hype

Cellular wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 2:43 pm Two of my clients must make the list.

What’s the point of playing Argentina again? How does that prepare us for Benin and SA? If they’re going on a Jamboree to Japan, I rather they play Japan or Korea than Argentina.

What would be the purpose of that? Discover new talent that we already have? I think we need to start building this team for the World cup, should we qualify (which we will). This means we should play the core players in the team in every friendly we play from here through the World cup, and sprinkle a player here and there for depth at certain positions.
Last edited by 1naija on Sun Jan 21, 2024 6:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.

You could not have said it better.
1naija wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:31 pm What would be the purpose that? Discover new talent that we already have? I think we need to start building this team for the World cup, should we qualify (which we will). This means we should play the core players in the team in every friendly we play from here through the World cup, and sprinkle a player here and there for depth at certain positions.

ANC wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:47 pm You could not have said it better.
1naija wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:31 pm What would be the purpose that? Discover new talent that we already have? I think we need to start building this team for the World cup, should we qualify (which we will). This means we should play the core players in the team in every friendly we play from here through the World cup, and sprinkle a player here and there for depth at certain positions.
Add Ndidi,Nwakali and Boniface to the current squad and that’s it.

Nwakali again. Ha
Add Bobby Boucher aka Ahmed Musa while you r @ it.
Afterall Bobby Boucher is the highest scoring SE in WC history.

Maybe they are the one using the match to prepare for another game or evaluate some players.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:28 pm What’s the point of playing Argentina again? How does that prepare us for Benin and SA? If they’re going on a Jamboree to Japan, I rather they play Japan or Korea than Argentina.

BTW, the 2026 WC final will be in Dallas. Nigeria must be one of the teams, and I will.be there live and direct.

The following need to be looked at

Tella, Dele Bashiru, Ejuke, Nwakali, Ogbu, Rasheed

Drop

Musa, Onuachu, Oko, Awaziem, Aribo,

mystic wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 4:34 pm

That's not how to build a team. That's how to build confusion. There will hopefully be a few players who get a look in but what you're calling for is madness. Besides, Peseiro has looked at other options during friendly windows. The issue with him is that he won't look at other options in official matches.
I don't think we have a team or a good coach. Ask yourself can the team compete at the world cup? We need to test a new system and new options. Also need a new coach. If we followed your approach and there was no Afcon and pressure from the public. Uzoho would still be number one. Yusuf would never play for Nigeria. Captain aMusa would still be starting for Nigeria.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 7:40 pm

I don't think we have a team or a good coach. Ask yourself can the team compete at the world cup? We need to test a new system and new options. Also need a new coach. If we followed your approach and there was no Afcon and pressure from the public. Uzoho would still be number one. Yusuf would never play for Nigeria. Captain aMusa would still be starting for Nigeria.
Who is this world class coach we will hire ?

Pesseiro is good enough. The best thing for SE is stability and to build on what we have.

Keep the coach and keep 80% of the team.

Yes we do need a fresh 20% however.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 8:05 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 7:40 pm

Who is this world class coach we will hire ?

Pesseiro is good enough. The best thing for SE is stability and to build on what we have.

Keep the coach and keep 80% of the team.

Yes we do need a fresh 20% however.
Peseiro is not good enough. I will always call am like I see am.

We certainly need new blood.

A new addition like Obinna Nwobodo doesn’t necessary have to be better than the likes of Ndidi. The question should be what will he bring that we don’t already have? Is he a better tackler than Ndidi? The old Ndidi had legs like an octopus and was a ball winner. While Ndidi offers much more offensively these days, I don’t think he’s the same ‘Destroyer’ type player that we once knew.
1naija wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 5:23 pm Have you joined the names listing crew? You have not watched Obinna Nwobodo play this season. Last season was his breakout season in my opinion, and he is not better than Ndidi, Oyeaka, and Alhasan (if he continues with the form he displayed in the first). I am not saying he is a bad player or that he should not be looked at, at some point. He is going to have to move to a higher profile league and perform much better than he has so far to displace any of the players we have on the radar now.

I don't even know where this Akpom guy plays talkess watching him play. I don't understand the hype

Cellular wrote: Sun Jan 21, 2024 2:43 pm Two of my clients must make the list.