Have you noticed there are no longer tired legs in the Eagles?

Do you know why this is? It is because half of the team are foreign-born and when they say they are 28, we know for certain that they are 28 and not 36.

Inadvertently, the massive influx of diasporans like Aina, Ekong, Ajayi, Iwobi, Lookman, Aribo, etc, has managed to not only bring the average age of the etam down but also reduce age cheating significantly. Those who think this is not an issue need to look at the fact there is not one Nigerian referee at this tournament.

Caf is not keen on Nigerian referees because it cannot certify their ages. As a nation, we need to make a solemn pledge today that we will never ever age-cheat again when it comes to football.
Re: Have you noticed there are no longer tired legs in the Eagles?

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 2:32 pm Do you know why this is? It is because half of the team are foreign-born and when they say they are 28, we know for certain that they are 28 and not 36.

Inadvertently, the massive influx of diasporans like Aina, Ekong, Ajayi, Iwobi, Lookman, Aribo, etc, has managed to not only bring the average age of the etam down but also reduce age cheating significantly. Those who think this is not an issue need to look at the fact there is not one Nigerian referee at this tournament.

Caf is not keen on Nigerian referees because it cannot certify their ages. As a nation, we need to make a solemn pledge today that we will never ever age-cheat again when it comes to football.
The main point in your post makes sense, and is laudable.

However, your point about referees is a strange one. What is the correlation between age and refereeing ability? You know that there are referees in their late 40s and even 50s still performing well in leagues and tournaments at the highest levels, right?
If Nigerians are not being selected, it may be due to competence, and not age-falsification.

"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)

Ayo Akinfe wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 2:32 pm Do you know why this is? It is because half of the team are foreign-born and when they say they are 28, we know for certain that they are 28 and not 36.

Hehehe.
This man is a real fire starter :rotf:

Cally wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 2:42 pm

However, your point about referees is a strange one. What is the correlation between age and refereeing ability? You know that there are referees in their late 40s and even 50s still performing well in leagues and tournaments at the highest levels, right?
If Nigerians are not being selected, it may be due to competence, and not age-falsification.
Say no more baba. You have said it all.

Cally wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 2:42 pm

KPOM :thumb:

But on a serious note, I am a bit worried about how we have used Osinmeh in this tournament. We play the semi's on Wednesday and the final is on the weekend. Hope he has enough in his tank to get us over the finishing line...The Dude puts in a full shift every game. He was shattered by the end of the Angola game..

Mr Shows wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 6:12 pm But on a serious note, I am a bit worried about how we have used Osinmeh in this tournament. We play the semi's on Wednesday and the final is on the weekend. Hope he has enough in his tank to get us over the finishing line...The Dude puts in a full shift every game. He was shattered by the end of the Angola game..
It might just be the heat and humidity making things appear or even feel worse.
He puts in this kind of shift all the time.
I hope they gave him some extra rest.

Mr Shows wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 6:12 pm But on a serious note, I am a bit worried about how we have used Osinmeh in this tournament. We play the semi's on Wednesday and the final is on the weekend. Hope he has enough in his tank to get us over the finishing line...The Dude puts in a full shift every game. He was shattered by the end of the Angola game..
We had no choice as we had no had no easy games. Awoniyi would have helped because he is like Osimhen lite; with his pressing and energy. He just has two to games to go; pretty sure he will be okay.

Ekong actually monitors the players and tells Peseiro if anyone is out of gas. He once got Onyeka replaced for being too tired.

I guess he is aware of the real ages of his team mates, so is watching them. Going forward, this is something we need to pay attention to going forward!

airwolex wrote: Mon Feb 05, 2024 9:26 pm
We had no choice as we had no had no easy games. Awoniyi would have helped because he is like Osimhen lite; with his pressing and energy. He just has two to games to go; pretty sure he will be okay.
Every time Paul Onuachu has come on, he hasn't looked as menacing and we never seem to make the most of his ariel advantage.

Against Bafana Bafana, Playing Kelechi as a second striker behind Ademola Lookman may be worth looking at. Although the odds are probably on the gaffer starting with our first 11.

Mr Shows wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 12:23 am
Every time Paul Onuachu has come on, he hasn't looked as menacing and we never seem to make the most of his ariel advantage.

Against Bafana Bafana, Playing Kelechi as a second striker behind Ademola Lookman may be worth looking at. Although the odds are probably on the gaffer starting with our first 11.
Onuachu isn’t brought on to ‘menace’ anything or anybody.
He is brought on to be a stumbling block for both his opponents and his own team.
“Just confuse everybody for two minutes and your job is done”.

Damunk wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 12:54 am
Mr Shows wrote: Tue Feb 06, 2024 12:23 am

Onuachu isn’t brought on to ‘menace’ anything or anybody.
He is brought on to be a stumbling block for both his opponents and his own team.
“Just confuse everybody for two minutes and your job is done”.
sarkin doya

Post by sarkin doya »

Haba Ayo! This type of statement without facts and statistics is quite something. While it is true that age verification was an issue for some of the players of the earlier youth age teams, we need to be careful about painting prior SE teams with this wide brush. They used to say that Kanu's age was falsified and yet this gem of a player was playing till his mid-thirties! What percentage of the prior SE teams would you say had the 8 year gap you mention above?