Why haven't we seen any through balls for Osimhen?

All dis cross and head over the bar is getting tiring. Feed him on the ground ... and into space!

Re: Why haven't we seen any through balls for Osimhen?

Easy question

Lack of an attacking midfielder

Yep not a lot but he got feed by Lukman and missed the chance in the semi's also he got fed by Chukwueze for the pena which cap scored.

Luqman got fed by Chukwueze as well the one he took one too many touches and the SA keeper took from his feet.

I believe Iheanacho also fed Terem for the red card although that was way back but was untouchable by the SA defender he would have had to foul Terem earlier ( which in hindsight was a better option ) ...

We have seen two. One against Equatorial Guinea and the other against Cote D Ivoire
Polly

Post by Polly »

And why is there almost no shooting from the outside?

Because Peseiro is playing Iwobi so deep. If we move Iwobi higher up the pitch we will see some more through balls.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

:evil: :twisted:
Our mid-field sucks... and our offense is not organized enough to score more goals. I hope a lot of this is corrected for the finals !!
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Polly wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:02 pm And why is there almost no shooting from the outside?
The truth is those long range shots are not the most precise and that's actually why they are very dangerous for the goalie. We need to be taking at least a couple in each game just to keep the defense honest. Sometimes those shot go in. Sometimes the shot get deflected and go in. Oliseh and Okocha used to do this a lot.
"It is not who you are that holds you back, it's who you think you are not."

Naija fan wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:31 pm
Polly wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:02 pm And why is there almost no shooting from the outside?
The truth is those long range shots are not the most precise and that's actually why they are very dangerous for the goalie. We need to be taking at least a couple in each game just to keep the defense honest. Sometimes those shot go in. Sometimes the shot get deflected and go in. Oliseh and Okocha used to do this a lot.
Iwobi has been trying them. Osimhen tried one against SA. E no easy
Last edited by airwolex on Fri Feb 09, 2024 8:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Sunday Oliseh goal against Spain

Naija fan

Post by Naija fan »

Okocha goal against Cameroon CAN 2000

2 problems

1. Iwobi is too far back. I've been complaining about this ever since 442, but 343 has bamboozled some people.

2. Osimehn needs to make better runs. His game is too one dimensional and relies on much Braun but little brains.
kendo

Post by kendo »

Very few go in.
Some go over the bar or go wide.
It's possible but takes a lot of precision and technique
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

That’s probably Sadiq’s specialty.
But you are right. It doesn’t happen regularly with this group, or for that matter previous squads in recent years.

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 12:54 am 2 problems

1. Iwobi is too far back. I've been complaining about this ever since 442, but 343 has bamboozled some people.

2. Osimehn needs to make better runs. His game is too one dimensional and relies on much Braun but little brains.
I would really like to know what you do for a living and how well you do it! :curse:

Na Sadiq be that but we sent him home to get Onachu the time kill specialist :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

mastermind

Post by mastermind »

We are in the finals and people are still looking at Oliseh's through pass. This is 2024 football has changed.
http://www.melangeGO.com/
A family oriented online fashion store. Offering high quality products at low cost.
kali

Post by kali »

Osihmen is being marked tightly and playing a conventional 9. Lookman has reaped the benefits because most times it leaves him open. Osihmen has been more successful when he drifts wide to exploit space and drag the defence wide.

kali wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 2:56 am Osihmen is being marked tightly and playing a conventional 9. Lookman has reaped the benefits because most times it leaves him open. Osihmen has been more successful when he drifts wide to exploit space and drag the defence wide.
And Osimehn is the ONLY forward to be marked tightly ?

The true greats will find space to operate no matter how tightly they are marked.

Osimehn needs to IMPROVE.

Making through passes is not easy. Think about this, how many through passes have been made against Nigeria's defense? The reason is just how the defenses are set up. The defenses, at this competition, are often compact meaning they squeeze the spaces and, thus, prevent through passes. The only one you can make successfully (without it being intercepted) is to the wide areas where the block is thin and may not quickly get over and what is happening is that such passes that get there are actually the reason you are seeing more crosses because the recipient often cannot shoot directly at goal and is left with the cross being the only viable option beyond a back pass often to an upcoming wingback. Go watch the videos.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
kali

Post by kali »

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 3:51 am
kali wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 2:56 am Osihmen is being marked tightly and playing a conventional 9. Lookman has reaped the benefits because most times it leaves him open. Osihmen has been more successful when he drifts wide to exploit space and drag the defence wide.
And Osimehn is the ONLY forward to be marked tightly ?

The true greats will find space to operate no matter how tightly they are marked.

Osimehn needs to IMPROVE.
Watch the way Osihmen plays for Napoli and for SE. For Napoli he plays centrally in a 4-3-3 where he has two good dribbling wingers who often opt to cut into the box or interplay passes to him there. For Nigeria he has been isolated up top by Lookman and Moses who only cross in to him.

Osihmen played a whole lot better with Chukwueze on the wing who finds him. Unfortunately Chukwueze is very poor in defense.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 7:35 pm All dis cross and head over the bar is getting tiring. Feed him on the ground ... and into space!
He was fed on the ground against EQ, CIV and Angola but missed all three clear chances.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
eyan

Post by eyan »

Scipio Africanus wrote: Fri Feb 09, 2024 7:35 pm All dis cross and head over the bar is getting tiring. Feed him on the ground ... and into space!
He missed the ones given to him in group stages.