Liverpool Midfielder Jones Confirms His Eligibility To Play For Nigeria, Backs Super Eagles To Win AFCON

Liverpool midfielder Cutis Jones has backed the Super Eagles of Nigeria to win tomorrow's Africa Cup of Nations final match against the host Cote d'Ivoire, OwnGoalNigeria.com reports.
The 22 year old has stepped up this season for the table toppers following the sale of the midfield duo of Jordan Henderson and Fabinho making a total of 16 appearances with one assists and one goal.

With Nigeria through to the AFCON final, Jones posted his message of goodwill to the Nigerian team telling them to do it for us, referring to himself as a Nigerian confirming reports that he is of Nigerian descent.

From our checks he has been following the team since the start of the tournament and just like many Nigerians posted his relief when they got past South Africa in the semi final via a 4-2 penalty shoot out win.

Jones is of Nigerian descent through his grandmother and has represented England at U21 level. Considering his recent performances, Jones could be called up to Gareth Southgate's squad for this summer's Euros.

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/02/10/l ... win-afcon/
Re: Liverpool Midfielder Jones Confirms His Eligibility To Play For Nigeria, Backs Super Eagles To Win AFCON

Curtis Jones
Joshua Orobosa Zirkzee ( bayern academy product and another rising star in the Seria A)
Elijah Adebayo
Gab Osho

All these players have been meticulously following the success of the Eagles on their socials...make of that what you want but imagine the number of p
our duals nationals who will line up for Nigeria especially if we win the AFCON? I hope NFF don't miss out on this opportunity to rebrand the NT with this unexpected success.
Re: Liverpool Midfielder Jones Confirms His Eligibility To Play For Nigeria, Backs Super Eagles To Win AFCON

Not a single quote.

"From our checks" 😁

LOL. Which spot is he looking to take? The one that has been reserved for Aribo? :lol:
wazobia

Post by wazobia »

He is going to play for England
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'

wazobia wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:06 am He is going to play for England
In what position? At the age of 23? :lol: :lol: :lol: By next year's Euros (which he will not be a part of), he will be 24. His mates have already won 30 caps for their countries.

See e mouth like "he is going to play fo England." How many squads are England permitted?

Bellingham
Rice
Alexander-Arnold
Henderson
Philips
Gallagher
Palmer
Foden
Grealish
Madisson

Then you have the likes of:

Mount
Eberechi Eze
James Ward-Prowse
Loftus-Cheek
Willock
Longstaff
Ramsey
Smith-Rowe
Dewsbury-Hall
Skipp
Gibbs-White
Rico Lewis
Alex Scott
Morgan Rogers

Even his friend sef, Elliot. :lol: :lol: :lol:
wazobia

Post by wazobia »

danfo driver wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:17 am
In what position? At the age of 23? :lol: :lol: :lol: By next year's Euros (which he will not be a part of), he will be 24. His mates have already won 30 caps for their countries.

See e mouth like "he is going to play fo England." How many squads are England permitted?

Bellingham
Rice
Alexander-Arnold
Henderson
Philips
Gallagher
Palmer
Foden
Grealish
Madisson

Mount
Eberechi Eze
James Ward-Prowse
Loftus-Cheek
Willock
Longstaff
Ramsey
Smith-Rowe
Dewsbury-Hall
Skipp
Gibbs-White
Rico Lewis
Alex Scott
Morgan Rogers

Don’t know why you are throwing insults but continue with your pipe dreams, he is probably angling for an England call up

https://www.fourfourtwo.com/news/englan ... -southgate
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO

WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'

ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'

OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'

The YeyeMan wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 11:52 pm Not a single quote.

"From our checks" 😁
Welcome back. :D

wazobia wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:49 am
danfo driver wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:17 am

Bellingham
Rice
Alexander-Arnold
Henderson
Philips
Gallagher
Palmer
Foden
Grealish
Madisson

Mount
Eberechi Eze
James Ward-Prowse
Loftus-Cheek
Willock
Longstaff
Ramsey
Smith-Rowe
Dewsbury-Hall
Skipp
Gibbs-White
Rico Lewis
Alex Scott
Morgan Rogers

Don’t know why you are throwing insults but continue with your pipe dreams, he is probably angling for an England call up

https://www.fourfourtwo.com/news/englan ... -southgate
Sorry, where? :blink:
goke313

Post by goke313 »

If they want to play for the Super Eagles, they have the resources to get in contact with our FA and coaching staff to do so

"From our checks" 😁
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: "sources told us"

danfo driver wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 1:02 am

"From our checks" 😁
Which device have you logged in from? Laptop or phone? :D

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 4:24 am
danfo driver wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 1:02 am

"From our checks" 😁
Which device have you logged in from? Laptop or phone? :D
Good to see you back. Must have been difficult for you. :D

I am still laughing at that fool Eze.

Guy could have really built a legacy with SE.

He would rather twerk to "God save the King" in meaningless matches.

Lol Tomori and Tammy Abraham will be regretting their decisions.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:17 am I am still laughing at that fool Eze.

Part of the fault lies with Pinnick. This boy attended a training camp with the SE in London and went to visit Pinnick in his London home.
Those were missed opportunities and if the NFF President cannot convince a player to switch allegiance to Nigeria, who else can do it?
It’s a shame because down the line, he will realise the opportunities that he missed just like his predecessors like Agbonlahor, Ehiogu, Fashanu etc

Dammy wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:39 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 5:17 am I am still laughing at that fool Eze.

Part of the fault lies with Pinnick. This boy attended a training camp with the SE in London and went to visit Pinnick in his London home.
Those were missed opportunities and if the NFF President cannot convince a player to switch allegiance to Nigeria, who else can do it?
It’s a shame because down the line, he will realise the opportunities that he missed just like his predecessors like Agbonlahor, Ehiogu, Fashanu etc
And Onuoha, who has admitted it publicly.

Now, he’s going crazy in the studio when we win at AFCON. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/68235103

I'd argue that the NFF President - at least that one - was the least likely to convince any player to switch. Eze's peers and footballers like Okocha and Kanu would have presented a more compelling narrative.

Showboy

Post by Showboy »

Damunk wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 9:53 am

And Onuoha, who has admitted it publicly.

Now, he’s going crazy in the studio when we win at AFCON. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/av/football/68235103
Yes o! I saw that too.

But between gritted teeth - he had his chance :taunt:
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

The YeyeMan wrote: Sun Feb 11, 2024 12:14 pm

I'd argue that the NFF President - at least that one - was the least likely to convince any player to switch. Eze's peers and footballers like Okocha and Kanu would have presented a more compelling narrative.

During their time, what was going to make you proud about being a super eagles player?

Why is he a fool? He got an England call-up and accepted. We take this thing to personal abeg. As if we wouldn't do the same.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

Guys, let’s be real. If this was 2022, post World Cup, fine. We are two years from the next one.

How many midfielders can England carry? In addition to the obvious supporting cast to Fosen, Mount, Bellingham and co, do you really think a competition squad can have Eze, Jones, Madueke? Two of those three will NEVER make the squad. Not for the Euros and not for the Mundial.

Lai lai!!

Funny enough, with Nathan Tella's progress in Bundesliga and how he destroyed the Championship last season, he is someone who may have had a chance to be selected for England - when you look at England's wingers. :shock: