Eguavoen, Siasia, Finidi, Amunike or Salisu

Re: Eguavoen, Siasia, Finidi, Amunike or Salisu

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 2:31 am
Enugu II wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 2:03 am
aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:34 am
Enugu II wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:24 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:19 am Which one do you want? Take your pick now so we can win the next Afcon.
Emir

There is nothing wrong with Peseiro. For me, Nigeria should keep him. He just has to get rid of players not able to give 110.
His tactics cost us. He needs to go or we will watch the world cup at home
But you want him to use the tactics that saw us lose to CAR and others? Really. His tactics that took us to AFCON final when we did not contemplate such! Yet, you want him replaced because somehow we would have win today using tactics that severally failed us even at home against mighty CAR? Please explain. Really.....
Tournament football and WCQ are 2 entirely different things which require different approaches.

343 may work for a while in a tournament, but it will be A DISASTER in WCQ .

Aruako is right. Teams will sit back against us and with this nonsense we are playing, there will be many draws. We will not qualify. We are already 4 point behind where we should be. We cannot fall behind any more.

This nonsense 343 is so toothless. If Peseiro cannot play the same attacking football which saw us create 4 clear chances vs Equatorial Guinea, then he should leave.

Repeatedly speaking confidently about something you obviously do not understand and/or makes any sense.

Nigeria executed perhaps the best WCQ series using a 3-4-3 under Phillipe Troussier, with Grba Lawal as LWB.

Its NOT the formation. Its NEVER the formation. Its about how you execute.

Just because you are able to repeatedly talk sh1t does not or will not magically make it right or make it sensible...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

The first thing they should do is stop saying things like a semifinal appearance will automatically trigger a contract extension. Just say the NFF would have an option to renew. The coach will then have to decide to accept to come back.

The technical crew will have to decide how they want Nigeria to play. Review the problems. Write a report with recommendations to the NFF executive council. Then use that report to search for a replacement. Listen to the candidates, ask them how they plan to build Nigeria into a contender. Then make the hire.

If I were was hiring a coach. I would listen to how he plans to wprk with other national team coaches. A team that is hard to beat, that will score a lot of goals and play good defence. I want a young coach that will be with the team for the next 10 to 15 years, I want a coach that will live in Nigeria. A coach that will attend NPFL games and also coach the CHAN team. A coach that will attend U20 or U17 games.

txj wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 8:10 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:19 am Which one do you want? Take your pick now so we can win the next Afcon.
Emir

There is nothing wrong with Peseiro. For me, Nigeria should keep him. He just has to get rid of players not able to give 110.
But you want him to use the tactics that saw us lose to CAR and others? Really. His tactics that took us to AFCON final when we did not contemplate such! Yet, you want him replaced because somehow we would have win today using tactics that severally failed us even at home against mighty CAR? Please explain. Really.....
Tournament football and WCQ are 2 entirely different things which require different approaches.

Aruako is right. Teams will sit back against us and with this nonsense we are playing, there will be many draws. We will not qualify. We are already 4 point behind where we should be. We cannot fall behind any more.

This nonsense 343 is so toothless. If Peseiro cannot play the same attacking football which saw us create 4 clear chances vs Equatorial Guinea, then he should leave.

Repeatedly speaking confidently about something you obviously do not understand and/or makes any sense.

Nigeria executed perhaps the best WCQ series using a 3-4-3 under Phillipe Troussier, with Grba Lawal as LWB.

Just because you are able to repeatedly talk sh1t does not or will not magically make it right or make it sensible...
Troussier played 3-5-2

aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 8:15 pm
Emir

Troussier played 3-5-2

The Nigerian press reported it as a 5-3-2.

He played a 3-4-3 nominally.
Transitioning to a 5.3.2 and/or 4-4-2 as the game demanded

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 8:54 pm
aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 8:15 pm

Emir

Troussier played 3-5-2

The Nigerian press reported it as a 5-3-2.

He played a 3-4-3 nominally.
Transitioning to a 5.3.2 and/or 4-4-2 as the game demanded
It was his signature formation. In South Africa he was credited for introducing 3-5-2 as well

Against Guinea in 1997 the line up was Baruwa, Eguavoen, Okechukwu, West, Lawal, Oliseh, Adepoju, Finidi, Okocha, Akpoborie, Amokachi. How wasn't this a 3-5-2?

aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:15 pm Against Guinea in 1997 the line up was Baruwa, Eguavoen, Okechukwu, West, Lawal, Oliseh, Adepoju, Finidi, Okocha, Akpoborie, Amokachi. How wasn't this a 3-5-2?

And who do you think was the RWB?

txj wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:20 pm
aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:15 pm Against Guinea in 1997 the line up was Baruwa, Eguavoen, Okechukwu, West, Lawal, Oliseh, Adepoju, Finidi, Okocha, Akpoborie, Amokachi. How wasn't this a 3-5-2?

Finidi and Lawal provided the width in the 5 man midfield.

Emir

aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:22 pm

Let me help you. Okocha played as a left a left attacking MF, as part of the three upfront. But the fluidity meant the could drop him into CM and become a 3 in MF...

Back then I helped FRCN interpret this very game...

txj wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:39 pm

Let me help you. Okocha played as a left a left attacking MF, as part of the three upfront. But the fluidity meant the could drop him into CM and become a 3 in MF...

But Troussier has always played 3-5-2 everywhere.

1. Vietnam
https://e.vnexpress.net/news/football/v ... 00696.html

2. South Africa

https://mg.co.za/article/1998-01-09-who ... troussier/

3. Japan

https://www.skysports.com/football/news ... nese-squad

Why did he just happen to choose 343 in Nigeria and all the journalists in Nigeria (ironically like journalists in other places he has coached) described his formation as 3-5-2?

aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:47 pm

1. Vietnam

2. South Africa

3. Japan

Why did he just happen to choose 343 in Nigeria and all the journalists in Nigeria (ironically like journalists in other places he has coached) described his formation as 3-5-2?

I'm telling you what he did in Nigeria. I was explaining what he did to Nigerian journalists. I realize this is hard to believe :rotf: , but it what it is...

Guardiola played a 4-3-3 in Spain. And a 4-2-3-1 in Germany. And in England sometimes with a fluid 3 at the back...

txj wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:57 pm
aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 9:47 pm

1. Vietnam

2. South Africa

3. Japan

I'm telling you what he did in Nigeria. I was explaining what he did to Nigerian journalists. I realize this is hard to believe :rotf: , but it what it is...

Guardiola played a 4-3-3 in Spain. And a 4-2-3-1 in Germany. And in England sometimes with a fluid 3 at the back...
Ok. We have different recollections and it is plausible that Okocha sometimes drifted to the attack to make it a 3 in front. I particularly remember that game against Guinea because Eguavoen was sent off for a second yellow for taking his shirt off while celebrating Amokachi's second goal before Titi Camara scored to put us in a tight spot late in the game.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Is it Only Finidi. Siasia. Amunike we have? If thats the pool right now for Local Coaches.

Sia sia stands above them all. We have seen hihs work at the Olympics and Nat.Team
Amunike is next in line. Finidi first Nat. assignment as Assistant.

Make all 3 go for interview . Goodluck to the best of them..

We need our Flair of Soccer to Rise. Enough of this jungle european tacktis crap.
We be Naija we sabi footbal. We dont rely on crap tacktis...ooooo