SAY NO to AMAJU & FOREIGN COACHES, WE have LEGIONS OF PRO EX-PLAYERS !!

Re: SAY NO to AMAJU & FOREIGN COACHES, WE have LEGIONS OF PRO EX-PLAYERS !!

Damunk,

His question was about doctors and not surgeons. It is your profession and you will agree with me that there is a difference between those two terms. As far as I am aware, a surgeon is a specialist and not all physicians are surgeons. I will argue that I am perfectly correct with my answers about physicians. If you have followed the media reports, many Nigerian physicians are being recruited to practice in the Middle East and Canada as we write. That is awash in the media and has led to Nigeria attempting to stem the outflow. For further information on this, please clicking on the accompanying link: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC9764293/

Now if you are asking about a specialist, I bet you that there are Nigerian specialists as well.
Damunk wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 12:09 am
Enugu II wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 6:34 pm
Iworo

Funny that you will ask that question. Let me answer that, today physicisns who practised in Nigeria are hired all over the world. I have a relation who was hired from Nigeria and currently practising in Canada after passing the exam there.
Prof, this is hardly true and very rare.
This is my profession and very few surgeons (especially surgeons) are hired straight out of Nigeria to an equivalent position or higher in the top countries of the world.
Such a Nigerian would have to be highly experienced and skilled…accomplished even.
Your relation is a very rare exception.
Most if not all who have that privilege are likely to have become highly trained abroad and then relocated to Nigeria before being enticed back.

It’s just the norm.

You just can’t walk into a top medical job out here in the west.
You get here, do your exams and work your way up, competing with colleagues wey you senior.

We all had to do it.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 12:09 am
aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 6:48 pm
iworo wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 5:47 pm
aruako1 wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 12:31 pm
Lolly wrote: Mon Feb 19, 2024 11:17 am
aruako1 wrote: Sat Feb 17, 2024 10:05 am
Lolly wrote: Thu Feb 15, 2024 12:32 pm

Equal opportunity means what? To get an interview? Peseiro has more international experience than all our current probables put together, though he is a poor coach as we have seen. But you would expect him to get shortlisted before any of the local boys going by his CV. That’s why we always ask the question. What has Amuneke, Finidi or Oliseh done apart from coaching the SE and with little success?

On remuneration, Keshi got equal treatment. That has been discussed and proven.
Amuneke coached in Tanzania, Sudan and Zambia. Finidi coached Enyimba to become the NPFL champion. Oliseh has coaxing experience in Europe. Egbo has coached in the Champins League. The ceiling is low for local coaches because we are willing to bring in average managers like Rohr and Peseiro at every opportunity.

Southgate was not the most experienced or accomplished English manager when he took over. He got Middlesbrough relegated but has now led England to its best tournament performances since 1966.

And to even suggest that our coaches get equal treatment in remuneration or employment conditions is laughable.
So which one amongst the current local coaches has a better resume than Peseinro? If we were to interview all of them and make a decision on merit, who should get the job?

I have told you that Keshi’s pay was on par with the foreign coach’s pay at that time. So I don’t know what is laughable. Do you have contrary information?
Finidi and Amuneke had better resumes for a job as an African national team coach. Having coached in Europe and Venezuela has little or no bearing on your ability to coach an African team. Even with Keshi, he was paid significantly less than Rohr and Peseiro in USD terms. So it is laughable to claim that local coaches are treated at par when it comes to remuneration and working conditions.
Let me ask you a very honest question. If we were to hypothetically change the title and job responsibilities of local coaches and José Peseiro from “coach” to “surgeon,” and based solely on their experiences, who would be your preferred choice for a life-and-death surgical situation?
For an African team before the AFCON I would take one of Finidi or Amuneke ahead of Peseiro. They have more experience of the African game. Renard is another issue. He would be my choice ahead of the two local coaches I mentioned.
More experience of the African game?
Bruv.
These ain’t the 80s or 90s.
Most national team players aren’t home based and most managers are modeling their play on European ball. So your point is a little off the mark
It still matters. There is a long list of high profile European coaches that have failed in Africa. The mist successful foreign coaches often tend to be the ones that understand the African game. Javier Clemente, Berti Vogts, Vahid Halilhodžić, Chris Houghton, Hector Cuper are a few examples of coaches that came to Africa with huge reputations and failed. So having a glittering list of past jobs is not my oly requirement. The analogy with surgery is a misplaced one.

Schillachi wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 1:46 am Most of you all are ignoring the elephant in the room. We can't afford to pay anyone in dollars. So one of the requirements is that the coach must be willing to receive their salary in Naira.
A inconvenient truth.

aruako1 wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:23 am
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 12:09 am More experience of the African game?
Bruv.
Most national team players aren’t home based and most managers are modeling their play on European ball. So your point is a little off the mark
It still matters. There is a long list of high profile European coaches that have failed in Africa. The mist successful foreign coaches often tend to be the ones that understand the African game. Javier Clemente, Berti Vogts, Vahid Halilhodžić, Chris Houghton, Hector Cuper are a few examples of coaches that came to Africa with huge reputations and failed. So having a glittering list of past jobs is not my oly requirement. The analogy with surgery is a misplaced one.
Chief, any coach that fashions his plans around ‘the African game’ is already self-limiting.
I’m not sure what this ‘African game’ actually is apart from pandering to the stereotypes of the physical and “athletic” African player playing “naive” football.

Historically, what has the ‘African’ game actually done for Africa?
Let’s for one moment even say it is clearly defined. A coach who understands it well enough and has the resources might win AFCON.
Great. He has the ‘African game’ on lockdown.
Then what?

There is nothing particularly advantageous in being an ‘African’ player, or deploying the principles of this so-called ‘African game’ in today’s global game. I pretty much bet you that if any one of Spain, England, Germany, Argentina or Brazil were to be given a special invitation to feature in AFCON, they’d probably win it.
I’d put my money on it.

So I’d rather have a coach - any credible coach, local or foreign - take charge of Nigeria with a global mindset, not a limited ‘African game’ one. And like it or not, most of our top players only learnt the basics of the game on African soil. Their development to the top of their profession was learnt in Europe under mostly European and South American coaches. Anyone that disputes this is in serious denial.

I’ve got to be honest, right now I’d prefer a World Cup s/f to an AFCON title.
Been there, done that, worn the T-shirt with a gold, silver and bronze medallion round my neck.

Just saying’….

Damunk wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 8:14 am
Bruv.
Chief, any coach that fashions his plans around ‘the African game’ is already self-limiting.
I’m not sure what this ‘African game’ actually is apart from pandering to the stereotypes of the physical and “athletic” African player playing “naive” football.

Let’s for one moment even say it is clearly defined. A coach who understands it well enough and has the resources might win AFCON.
Then what?

There is nothing particularly advantageous in being an ‘African’ player, or employing the principles of this so-called ‘African game’ in today’s global game. I pretty much bet you that if any one of Spain, England, Germany, Argentina or Brazil were to be given a special invitation to feature in AFCON, they’d probably win it.
I’d put my money on it.

So I’d rather have a coach - any credible coach, local or foreign - take charge of Nigeria with a global mindset, not a limited ‘African game’ one. And like it or not, most of our top players only learnt the basics of the game on African soil. Their development to the top of their profession was learnt in Europe under mostly European and South American coaches. Anyone that disputes this is in serious denial.

Been there, done that, worn the T-shirt with a gold, silver and bronze medallion round my neck.

Just saying’….
A coach can have a global mindset and still understand the intricacies of the African game - they are not mutually exclusive. You have to qualify from Africa to reach the global stage. And some coaches, foreign and local, have combined both well. Remember the premises of the discussion was that it should have been a no brainer to pick Peseiro (before he joined the SE) over our local coaches simply because of the teams on his CV - I do not agree with that premise.

If the question had been about Renard or Troussier for instance, my answer would have been different. There is a reason why my current favourites are Mosimane and Goncalves. They are foreign but none of them has coached at a big European club before. They however have that African experience that we need to get to the global stage.

Damunk wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 8:14 am
Bruv.

Then what?

There is nothing particularly advantageous in being an ‘African’ player, or employing the principles of this so-called ‘African game’ in today’s global game. I pretty much bet you that if any one of Spain, England, Germany, Argentina or Brazil were to be given a special invitation to feature in AFCON, they’d probably win it.
I’d put my money on it.

Just saying’….
Well done.
Couldn’t be stated any more clearly or eloquently.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

Damunk wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:27 am
Schillachi wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 1:46 am Most of you all are ignoring the elephant in the room. We can't afford to pay anyone in dollars. So one of the requirements is that the coach must be willing to receive their salary in Naira.
A inconvenient truth.
:evil: :twisted:
That is a lie ... our govt. has a lot of millions and billions in their private accounts ...if they truly like their citizenries, and know after all their gaffes, gullashes and thefts that the ONLY thing that now bring us joy in the country is Soccer ...they will set soccer monies especially aside in separate accounts to pay best coaches foreign OR local in full and right on time !! :thumbs:

Jeez ...don't they see the number of Nigerians who died alone in this AFCON alone, our govt. are crazy selfish mofos.. :scared:

Mr Amajuuuu :woot: ...wake up and go to the office of the president and demand Nigerians passionate interest from the office of the president directly ...that is what Westeroff did back in the days .. !! :thumbs:
=================================================================
Truth ... be told ..BOLDLY !! Aaaaagghhh gaadddammnnn ittt !!!!! :mrgreen:

@Damunk, couldn’t agree more. The most recent edition of the AfCON showcased how far behind the African game is, from a footballing perspective. Entertaining? Absolutely, in that Hollywood, high drama, erratic storyline, bombs and exaggerated explosions, kind of way. The plethora of shots from angles beyond a Pythagorean wet dream, immeasurable.

Select few aside, it seemed very much a battle of brawn and athleticism more often than not. One would go as far as arguing the charge of perpetuating stereotypes vs many of the coaches. Big, strong, powerful, not remotely cerebral from the impression of team strategy. Much like Joga Bonita, which in the modern market, is as impactful as a eunuch with a 12 pack of Durex, the “African game”, is antiquated and a big, burly nothingness on a global scale.

Time to get with the times.
Last edited by Coach on Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Coach wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 6:18 pm @Damunk, could agree more. The most recent edition of the AfCON showcased how far behind the African game, from a footballing perspective. Entertaining? Absolutely, in that Hollywood, high drama, erratic storyline, bombs and exaggerated explosions, kind of way. The plethora of shots from angles beyond a Pythagorean wet dream, immeasurable.

Select few aside, it seemed very much a battle of brawn and athleticism more often than not. One would go as far as arguing the charge of perpetuating stereotypes vs many of the coaches. Big, strong, powerful, not remotely cerebral from the impression of team strategy. Much like Joga Bonita, which in the modern market, is as impactful as eunuch with a 12 pack of Durex, the “African game”, is antiquated and a big, burly nothingness on a global scale.

Time to get with the times.
Still doesn't explain why so many accomplished European coaches like Clemente, Halilhodžić, Vogts etc have not done well in Africa. To get to the big dance of the WC you still have to negotiate games where the conditions and mentality are different from Europe. There is a reason why the last three AFCONS have been won by local coaches. So understanding African football is still "with the times".

^As did the ice age to the dinosaurs. Vogts, Rohr, Halilhodzic, Clemente, Dad’s army. Not enough space in the dosette-box for the antimalarials. They stood no chance.

Coach wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:27 pm ^As did the ice age to the dinosaurs. Vogts, Rohr, Halilhodzic, Clemente, Dad’s army. Not enough space in the dosette-box for the antimalarials. They stood no chance.
I think you will find that the question I responded to was whether I would have hired Peseiro based on his CV. Would you agree that he was in the category of coaches you have mentioned above?

Peseirosaurus Rex. His fossilisation dates way back before Braga and Porto. Just what Peter Pangeria ordered.

Coach wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:47 pm Peseirosaurus Rex. His fossilisation dates way back before Braga and Porto. Just what Peter Pangeria ordered.
So we are in agreement

Once upon a time dinosaurs walked all four corners of the earth. The Komodo dragon is testimony to the fact they still move amongst us today. Some in mould others in mentality. Being “local” is by no means an assurance of modernism.

Coach wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 10:36 pm Once upon a time dinosaurs walked all four corners of the earth. The Komodo dragon is testimony to the fact they still move amongst us today. Some in mould others in mentality. Being “local” is by no means an assurance of modernism.
Except that nobody said so. I was asked specific questions about specific managers.
kash n' karry

Post by kash n' karry »

Tobi17 wrote: Wed Feb 28, 2024 4:37 pm Owngoal just reported it on their site, can anyone verify this information?

https://x.com/owngoalnigeria/status/176 ... 87666?s=20
Thanks Peseiro .... for leaving the SE. Good luck to you !! :mrgreen:
But next time when you get to any finals ...coach your teams to play to win NOT to play not to lose !!
One move is a courage {high positive ambition}, the other move is fear {low negative aim} !!!

NOTE :::
To the NFF watch out for low aim ONLY defensive coaches, the likes of Peseiro, Rohr, Vogt, Onigbinde etc etc...
They can't achieve much let alone over achieve for our lofty soccer expectations and over abundant talents !!
:woot:
==============================================================
Aaaaaggghh gaaaddammmnn ittt !! Wherez my Heineken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen:
Re: SAY NO 2 FOREIGN COACHES, WE HV A LEGION OF PRO EX-PLAYERS !!

kash n' karry wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:46 am
bunda wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:41 am what have we. won with our attacking style ???
WE NEED TO PLAY PRAGMATIC -NON COWARDLY FOOTBALL
STRONG DEFENSE AND MIDFIELD AND A CLINICAL ATTACK
we have lost 5 AFCON FINALS
Giant of Africa with only 3 Afcon titles -
we have under achieved BIG TIME!!
With our attacking style we have won an Olympic gold and Olympic silver, gotten to the Junior U-20 WC finals twice, won 5-6 U=17 WC and won like say 11 women's AFCON titles .... So, no doubt the attacking style with a mid-field's heavy possession are our truest identities :???:
I’m sorry but some of those age titles were tainted with cheating(I don’t care if it’s 1 player). Yes, I don’t have a proof but I don’t need a proof to tell you that more than half of our governors & senators are thieves. What has the attacking style won for the SE?

We would’ve won this AFCON if the coach carried the right players and played his bench. The Falcons would’ve beaten England if one or two things bounced their way. We just have to trust the system with a bit fine tuning here and there and we will be alright. Starting all over because you didn’t win it all is not the way to go.
kash n' karry
Re: SAY NO 2 FOREIGN COACHES, WE HV A LEGION OF PRO EX-PLAYERS !!

Post by kash n' karry »

packerland wrote: Thu Feb 29, 2024 12:15 pm
kash n' karry wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:46 am
bunda wrote: Mon Feb 12, 2024 12:41 am what have we. won with our attacking style ???
WE NEED TO PLAY PRAGMATIC -NON COWARDLY FOOTBALL
STRONG DEFENSE AND MIDFIELD AND A CLINICAL ATTACK
we have lost 5 AFCON FINALS
Giant of Africa with only 3 Afcon titles -
we have under achieved BIG TIME!!
With our attacking style we have won an Olympic gold and Olympic silver, gotten to the Junior U-20 WC finals twice, won 5-6 U=17 WC and won like say 11 women's AFCON titles .... So, no doubt the attacking style with a mid-field's heavy possession are our truest identities :???:
I’m sorry but some of those age titles were tainted with cheating(I don’t care if it’s 1 player). Yes, I don’t have a proof but I don’t need a proof to tell you that more than half of our governors & senators are thieves. What has the attacking style won for the SE?

We would’ve won this AFCON if the coach carried the right players and played his bench. The Falcons would’ve beaten England if one or two things bounced their way. We just have to trust the system with a bit fine tuning here and there and we will be alright. Starting all over because you didn’t win it all is not the way to go.
Sorry to burst you bubble .. .but if you don't have proof of age related cheating then all you doing is speculations and assumptions Packerland !! :scared:
AND assumptions is da mother of all fvcck ups !! :taunt: :taunt:

Now the Super Falcons who have won many AFCON titles along AND with our Olympic achievements they are not age related so I wonder what excuse you have for those ones ??

Losing this past AFCON title, doesn't have anything to do with the player quality, as our players are already playing in multiple grade "A" leagues in way higher numbers than all our African opponents and adversaries :blink:
What undid the Super Eagles is the tactic and style employed by the coach who deployed a game of playing not to lose rather THAN playing to win outright. The former is a defensive negative tactic soccer which needs ample luck to win, the latter is an offensive barrage positive soccer tactic which overwhelms your opponent - Big difference !!

Now that big difference is the exact reason why coach Peseiro MUST GO, as he presided over our worst game while at the most important stage of the the tounament .... called the FINALS !! :drool:
============================================================
Aaaaagghhh gaaaddammnn itt.. ..wherez my Heinenken + big wet bubble booty chics ? :mrgreen: