Nigeria Afcon Finals Vs A-List Teams except 1980(Algeria)

goldenera94
Nigeria Afcon Finals Vs A-List Teams except 1980(Algeria)

Post by goldenera94 »

Green Eagles/Super Eagles, played in 8 Afcon Finales 1980, 1984, 1988, 1990, 1994, 2000, 2013, & 2023, & 15 or 16 Semi-Finals, My focus is on the finals. Eagles won 3/8, except for Algeria in 1980, Nigeria lost all other Final matches against A-List Africa Footballing Nations of Cameroun, Algeria(1990), & Ivory Coast. And also lost 2000 Afcon at home in Lagos. Segun Odegbami was quoted to have rationalized our loss to the Elephant some days ago due to home advantage, nearly 60k Ivoriens as the 12th player, and an intimidating atmosphere. Odegbami further said Naija took advantage of the same in the 1980 final Vs Algeria(a better side). My question is what about 2000 Final? Or do we lack the killer instinct to get the job done?
Finally, Eagles' last 2 Afcon wins were against lower-rated African Footballing Nations of Zambia & Burkina Faso
Goldenera94
Re: Nigeria Afcon Finals Vs A-List Teams except 1980(Algeria)

goldenera94 wrote: Sun Feb 18, 2024 2:54 am Green Eagles/Super Eagles, played in 8 Afcon Finales 1980, 1984, 1988, 1990, 1994, 2000, 2013, & 2023, & 15 or 16 Semi-Finals, My focus is on the finals. Eagles won 3/8, except for Algeria in 1980, Nigeria lost all other Final matches against A-List Africa Footballing Nations of Cameroun, Algeria(1990), & Ivory Coast. And also lost 2000 Afcon at home in Lagos. Segun Odegbami was quoted to have rationalized our loss to the Elephant some days ago due to home advantage, nearly 60k Ivoriens as the 12th player, and an intimidating atmosphere. Odegbami further said Naija took advantage of the same in the 1980 final Vs Algeria(a better side). My question is what about 2000 Final? Or do we lack the killer instinct to get the job done?
Finally, Eagles' last 2 Afcon wins were against lower-rated African Footballing Nations of Zambia & Burkina Faso
You mean in the pre-VAR era, when the refs couldn’t tell that Ikpeba’s PK actually crossed the line?! :lol:

Rankings (or even ‘pedigree’) are of little probity in tournament football, because it essentially boils down to the form of any collection of 21 or 23 players over 6 or 7 games played over a couple of weeks. See Greece, Denmark, Zambia, Qatar, etc.