NFF makes decision on Peseiro’s contract renewal

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has offered Jose Peseiro a new contract to remain as Super Eagles coach but with the same monthly salary of $50,000.

Peseiro’s deal as Nigeria coach expired at the end of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations where the country finished second after losing the final game to Ivory Coast.

The Portuguese coach has been at the helm of the Nigeria national team since May 2022 and he took a huge pay cut from $70,000 in 2023 to continue as the Super Eagles coach after months of non-payment of salary.

One of Peseiro’s targets was to lead Nigeria to AFCON 2023 semi-final which he achieved and he guided the country to a podium finish as silver medallists.

The 63-year-old, in a recent interview, disclosed that he would decide on his future after taking a short break from football.

The former Venezuela coach has emerged as target for several countries after his AFCON feat with Nigeria, with Algeria reportedly eyeing his services.

Nigeria’s next competitive outing will be the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers in June with games against South Africa and Benin Republic scheduled.

The Super Eagles currently sit third in Group C behind leaders Rwanda and South Africa, after settling for draws against Lesotho and Zimbabwe in November 2023.

https://afrosportnow.com/nff-makes-deci ... t-renewal/
Re: NFF makes decision on Peseiro’s contract renewal

Algeria hired Petkovic.

iworo wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 4:18 am NFF makes decision on Peseiro’s contract renewal

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) has offered Jose Peseiro a new contract to remain as Super Eagles coach but with the same monthly salary of $50,000.

Peseiro’s deal as Nigeria coach expired at the end of the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations where the country finished second after losing the final game to Ivory Coast.

The Portuguese coach has been at the helm of the Nigeria national team since May 2022 and he took a huge pay cut from $70,000 in 2023 to continue as the Super Eagles coach after months of non-payment of salary.

One of Peseiro’s targets was to lead Nigeria to AFCON 2023 semi-final which he achieved and he guided the country to a podium finish as silver medallists.

The 63-year-old, in a recent interview, disclosed that he would decide on his future after taking a short break from football.

The former Venezuela coach has emerged as target for several countries after his AFCON feat with Nigeria, with Algeria reportedly eyeing his services.

Nigeria’s next competitive outing will be the 2026 FIFA World Cup qualifiers in June with games against South Africa and Benin Republic scheduled.

The Super Eagles currently sit third in Group C behind leaders Rwanda and South Africa, after settling for draws against Lesotho and Zimbabwe in November 2023.

DRAWS AGAINST LESOTHO & ZIMBABWE - ENOUGH SAID

I'm guessing Nigeria doesn't have a local coach that can achieve those feat against some of the continent's door mats. BTW, where were those matches played?

Bell wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 5:29 am
iworo wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 4:18 am NFF makes decision on Peseiro’s contract renewal

I'm guessing Nigeria doesn't have a local coach that can achieve those feat against some of the continent's door mats. BTW, where were those matches played?
After watching Afcon, you are still calling teams door mats. Smh..go ask Ghana about Comoros

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 8:13 am

After watching Afcon, you are still calling teams door mats. Smh..go ask Ghana about Comoros
They never learn.

It’s the Nigerian sense of entitlement on the African continent that other Africans despise.
Door mats?
I really fear for the next local coach that gets the job if he has that mentality.
Nigerians will eat him raw and spit out the bones.

Were we supposed to be happy about a home draw with Lesotho and another draw with a Zimbabwean team forced to play home games in Rwanda?

aruako1 wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 4:18 pm

We beat CIV in their own backyard

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 4:42 pm

We lost to Guinea Bissau in our own backyard.

Babalawo wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 6:22 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 01, 2024 4:42 pm

We lost to Guinea Bissau in our own backyard.

yeap we sure did, we also lost to CAR etc. For me the SE stays forever (until Yeshua comes back) I support Green White Green that is my team, coaches do come and go. This is the norm.

Now the NFF must get someone much better than JP and get the SE winning again and again, because winning is sweet and i mean very sweet

wiseone wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 1:04 pm
Breaking news? Clowns everywhere.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

NFF is really slow. It doesn't this long to appoint another journey man coach.

Now that they have advertised. They just started the process to look for another coach. March 12 is the deadline to apply,. They will then set up committees that will interview coaches. The committee will present reports to the exco, They will then make a decision. After the decision is made, they will then start negotiating a contract, We are still about a few months away from a new coach, It usually takes 3 to 6 months. This is how they do business. Eguavon or an interim coach will probably handle the qualifiers in June.

Some what, I feel that negotiation continues. This is a last ditch effort to force Peseiro's hands. It is a dangerous tactics but effective if Peseiro has no viable option. The issue here is really about money and the gap between the coach and the NFF is very wide and an agreement may not be close.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 3:37 pm Some what, I feel that negotiation continues. This is a last ditch effort to force Peseiro's hands. It is a dangerous tactics but effective if Peseiro has no viable option. The issue here is really about money and the gap between the coach and the NFF is very wide and an agreement may not be close.
I don’t think Pesseiro wants to return otherwise he would ask for a more realistic salary. He knows they don’t have $120k, never had it, can’t get it and will never have it.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 3:41 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 3:37 pm Some what, I feel that negotiation continues. This is a last ditch effort to force Peseiro's hands. It is a dangerous tactics but effective if Peseiro has no viable option. The issue here is really about money and the gap between the coach and the NFF is very wide and an agreement may not be close.
I don’t think Pesseiro wants to return otherwise he would ask for a more realistic salary. He knows they don’t have $120k, never had it, can’t get it and will never have it.
Where are the other offers waiting for him? :taunt:

wanaj0 wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 8:15 pm
Where are the other offers waiting for him? :taunt:
Not having an offer doesn’t mean he wants to return. He likely thinks it’s not worth the hassle and if he has to take it then he wants a ridiculous amount. He certainly isn’t motivated by winning Afcon next yr or the WC. Sometimes we ain’t worth the hassle.

Emir,

In negotiation, how do you exactly know what the other party has? The strategy is to push the limits and force tge other to act. For instance when the NFF offered 50k was it their limit? Nope! How do we know? Because peseiro refused and NFF came back with 80k. The deal is push until you discover the limit. I am certain Peseiro does not expect to get 150k. It was simply his first offer. He is likely to accept something less but that has to be discovered.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 10:59 pm
Emir,

In negotiation, how do you exactly know what the other party has? The strategy is to push the limits and force tge other to act. For instance when the NFF offered 50k was it their limit? Nope! How do we know? Because peseiro refused and NFF came back with 80k. The deal is push until you discover the limit. I am certain Peseiro does not expect to get 150k. It was simply his first offer. He is likely to accept something less but that has to be discovered.
Peseiro has moved on and the coaching position has been declared open for any serious candidate

Please let's close this Peseiro chapter and move on already, na wa o.

Tobi17 wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 11:05 pm
Enugu II wrote: Fri Mar 08, 2024 10:59 pm
Emir,

Peseiro has moved on and the coaching position has been declared open for any serious candidate

Please let's close this Peseiro chapter and move on already, na wa o.
Tobi

I am not certain it is closed with any certainty. We have not heard from Peseiro on that.

My interpretation is that both parties are now playing a dangerous game of roulette hardball. Let's see who blinks first.