WING PLAY IS BAAAACK!

Finally, goals will be banged again.:thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

SA go hia wen! :thumbs:
Re: WING PLAY IS BAAAACK!

Checkers tactics. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

1naija wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 1:31 am Checkers tactics. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

He is actually well spoken, perhaps that is the reason he appears to be well respected in NFF.

ANC wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 1:33 am
1naija wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 1:31 am Checkers tactics. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

He is actually well spoken, perhaps that is the reason he appears to be well respected in NFF.
Onku sure knows one when he sees it. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Babadee

Post by Babadee »

He said all that and still lost to a depleted Tunisia.

Also it’s childish to think only wing okay will win you matches.

Super Eagles problem is the midfield and not wingers right now.

Although not traditional wingers

Not a fan of Egu as I think he's part of the whole problem that defines NFF and our football quagmires...but I feel we're being harsh on him if we're judging him by his frustrating AFCON and WC campaigns. For one, the blame squarely lies on the entire NFF fools that fired a coach who qualified his own team to a tournament one month to the tournament proper...Eguavoen was asked to pilot a crashing flight and to be fair had the team playing some decent football until he got found out with his outdated wing-play tactics. Add to that the string of bad luck events like losing Iwobi to a red card, Ndidi injuries and very little time to build his own team before and after the AFCON.

If he can roll up his sleeves up, and scout for more midfielders including the exciting prospects who never got their chance under Peseiro, then we might be solid enough before the WCQ depending on who's coach. We are almost sorted out in GK thanks to Nwabili and okayish in defence (Eguavoen should give the likes of Igoh Ogbu a chance etc), attack is solid already so the foundation isn't particularly shaky. I really need us to utilize the international friendly window to access new players and test our depth. NFF should get serious and look for teams we can play even if it's Trinidad and Tobago for goodness sake.

Babadee wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:04 am He said all that and still lost to a depleted Tunisia.

Did you mean a depleted Nigeria, with Iwobi sent off just a few minutes into the second half?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:15 am
Babadee wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:04 am He said all that and still lost to a depleted Tunisia.

Did you mean a depleted Nigeria, with Iwobi sent off just a few minutes into the second half?
Pesseiro made the finals even though 4 major players were injured and half the team was injured in the final. He was 30mins from beating the host team twice at home to win Afcon. Has any team ever beaten the host twice ?

Football is a very funny game sha, Egu played 6 games before JP took over, he won 3, lost 1 and drew 2, we controlled and dominated possession in every game. Now Coach JP, won a lot of games at the AFCON 5 wins 1 draw and a loss while allowing the opposition to dominate.

"That is football" as the late great Keshi use to say

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:55 am

Pesseiro made the finals even though 4 major players were injured and half the team was injured in the final. He was 30mins from beating the host team twice at home to win Afcon. Has any team ever beaten the host twice ?
LOL. You are equating those injuries where players were still FIT ENOUGH to play to a team playing with 10 v 11? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 4:01 am

LOL. You are equating those injuries where players were still FIT ENOUGH to play to a team playing with 10 v 11? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
It was 11 v 11 against Ghana.
kendo

Post by kendo »

Let's take this with temperance.
Ekong had to take injections into his leg... not even general pain-killers. This is trying to push the body beyond it's limit and risking your wellbeing in the long-run.
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

kendo wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 10:07 am
Let's take this with temperance.
Ekong had to take injections into his leg... not even general pain-killers. This is trying to push the body beyond it's limit and risking your wellbeing in the long-run.
But it’s kind of normal in professional sport.
It’s not black and white like many are trying to paint it.

Give Eguavoen time, he will be ok, his team didn't play badly...How was Peseiro's record before Afcon?? They only started playing well when he had enough time with the team during the Afcon preparation.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:05 am Not a fan of Egu as I think he's part of the whole problem that defines NFF and our football quagmires...but I feel we're being harsh on him if we're judging him by his frustrating AFCON and WC campaigns. For one, the blame squarely lies on the entire NFF fools that fired a coach who qualified his own team to a tournament one month to the tournament proper...Eguavoen was asked to pilot a crashing flight and to be fair had the team playing some decent football until he got found out with his outdated wing-play tactics. Add to that the string of bad luck events like losing Iwobi to a red card, Ndidi injuries and very little time to build his own team before and after the AFCON.

If he can roll up his sleeves up, and scout for more midfielders including the exciting prospects who never got their chance under Peseiro, then we might be solid enough before the WCQ depending on who's coach. We are almost sorted out in GK thanks to Nwabili and okayish in defence (Eguavoen should give the likes of Igoh Ogbu a chance etc), attack is solid already so the foundation isn't particularly shaky. I really need us to utilize the international friendly window to access new players and test our depth. NFF should get serious and look for teams we can play even if it's Trinidad and Tobago for goodness sake.
If only you had this epiphany before mocking him after he took over a team in the dying minutes. You were the one that posted about him losing to a "kebab seller".

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 4:11 am

It was 11 v 11 against Ghana.
And he got two draws against Ghana, one aided by a goalkeeping error. He failed to qualify and rightly got stick for it. But let us not defend draws against Lesotho (home), Zimbabwe (we were utterly outplayed against Zimbabwe) and Cape Verde (home) and knock draws against Ghana. For the record, I am against his return.

We are so fixated with his AFCON & WCQ record and we forgot the elephant in the room. After the AFCON loss, we all agreed that we need to play with more midfielders (CM, CAM, CDM etc). Our last 3-4 coaches (foreign or local) and including him have ignored the midfield. The one constant over that period is Egu serving as the Technical Director. Don’t expect it to change. Plus he has been described as an unlucky guy. We will need skill, better organization and some luck to qualify for the WC. DO NOT have this man coach the team!
Last edited by packerland on Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

packerland wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 2:05 pm We are so fixated with his AFCON & WCQ record and we forget the elephant in the room. After the AFCON loss, we all agreed that we need to play with more midfielders (CM, CAM, CDM etc). Our last 3-4 coaches (foreign or local) and including him have ignored the midfield. The once constant over that period is Egu serving as the Technical Director. Don’t expect it to change. Plus he has been described as an unlucky guy. We will need skill, better organization and some luck to qualify for the WC. DO NOT have this man coach the team!
I agree with you. We do not need Eguavoen. He should step out of his NFF comfort zone. The Gambia job is open for instance.
nzeogwu

Post by nzeogwu »

I’m
Not a fan of Egu either and certainly not as a long term solution. However, if we look at just the two AFCON performances 2023 vs 2021 and minus Osimhen, Nigeria played far superior soccer under Eguavoen that the team that just made it to the finals.

The stats don’t lie.

nzeogwu wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 4:52 pm I’m
Not a fan of Egu either and certainly not as a long term solution. However, if we look at just the two AFCON performances 2023 vs 2021 and minus Osimhen, Nigeria played far superior soccer under Eguavoen that the team that just made it to the finals.

The stats don’t lie.
What is superior soccer? Is it on the scoreboard?

What does Peseiro have to do with the point being made❓🤷🏾‍♀️❗️

My only problem with Eguavoen is that he won’t really be in charge of the team… he won’t have the freedom to pick his team, just like we saw in the World Cup qualifiers🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 8:51 pm My only problem with Eguavoen is that he won’t really be in charge of the team… he won’t have the freedom to pick his team, just like we saw in the World Cup qualifiers🤔❗️

Lol, this makes no sense. By the looks of things, he is perhaps the most powerful Nigerian as per football.