Randy Waldrum is next

The first opportunity he gets to dump Nigeria. He will do it.

And the problem is NFF signs bad deals.
1. They structure contracts in a way that favors agents and the coaches.
2. Language like if you qualify the team you get to coach Afcon or if you reach semfinals of Afcon you get an automatic renewal trigger is stupid. So because of Afcon was moved to 2024. Nigeria was forced to keep Peseiro in July of last year. If they had fired him. He would have sued the NFF for 2 years of wages. They had no choice but to offer him a contract renewal for 2 years after Afcon because he met the targets in his contract.
3. Going forward, just do a normal contract. No target for automatic renewal. Give the coach a 2 year or 4 year contract. Put in clauses that can lead to termination like ethics violations and etc. The standard contract. Put in a buyout clauses for both parties. No more nonsense like if they move Afcon from 2024 to 2025, your contract is automatically extended to 2025 or if they move World cup to 2028. You get a 4 year extension in your contract,

4. If you treat your contracts wrongly, they will treat you the same. They forced Randy Waldrum to drop one of his assistants. They frustrate him. The guy will dump Nigeria, The first chance he gets

Re: Randy Waldrum is next

You like talking alot without saying anything...

2/3. Not sure what you mean by 'standard contract'. The unit of measure for any contract performance is usually a mutually agreed indicator (KPI). Parties will mutually agree on realistic and attainable targets in a competition (in this case, like quarter final or other finish) and if the coach meets such target (or set of targets), then that triggers a 'performance benefit' (like a contract renewal or revisit of the T's and C's, like a remuneration clause). Neither of the parties involved (Peseiro or the NFF) were at fault when CAF decided to reschedule the AFCON (COVID = Force Majeure or act of God. Nobody was at fault and so the contract term had to be adjusted).
Buyout clauses are typically embedded in Coaches contracts - that's why when coaches are fired (e.g. not for performance, but because you simply don't like the person - case in point Rohr and some EPL managers) prior to the expiration of the agreed contract term, you pay a penalty if the termination is deemed unjust.

4. That's why you get professionals who know what the heck is at stake on the negotiation table, and not a bunch of gworo chewing imbeciles who don't have a clue about basic Negotiations 101.
ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 10:04 pm The first opportunity he gets to dump Nigeria. He will do it.

2. Language like if you qualify the team you get to coach Afcon or if you reach semfinals of Afcon you get an automatic renewal trigger is stupid. So because of Afcon was moved to 2024. Nigeria was forced to keep Peseiro in July of last year. If they had fired him. He would have sued the NFF for 2 years of wages. They had no choice but to offer him a contract renewal for 2 years after Afcon because he met the targets in his contract.
3. Going forward, just do a normal contract. No target for automatic renewal. Give the coach a 2 year or 4 year contract. Put in clauses that can lead to termination like ethics violations and etc. The standard contract. Put in a buyout clauses for both parties. No more nonsense like if they move Afcon from 2024 to 2025, your contract is automatically extended to 2025 or if they move World cup to 2028. You get a 4 year extension in your contract,

4. If you treat your contracts wrongly, they will treat you the same. They forced Randy Waldrum to drop one of his assistants. They frustrate him. The guy will dump Nigeria, The first chance he gets

Most standard contract don't have automatic contract renewals because you have to negotiate terms of new contracts. They basically have

1. Compensation
2. Tenure. Start and end date
3. Dos and Dont

the problem is Nigeria has weird requirements. The requirements have hurt Nigeria. We couldn't hire a long term coach in July because CAF moved Afcon from 2023 to 2024. The contract said the coach must coach Afcon if he qualifies Nigeria

Otitokoro wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 10:42 pm You like talking alot without saying anything...

2/3. Not sure what you mean by 'standard contract'. The unit of measure for any contract performance is usually a mutually agreed indicator (KPI). Parties will mutually agree on realistic and attainable targets in a competition (in this case, like quarter final or other finish) and if the coach meets such target (or set of targets), then that triggers a 'performance benefit' (like a contract renewal or revisit of the T's and C's, like a remuneration clause). Neither of the parties involved (Peseiro or the NFF) were at fault when CAF decided to reschedule the AFCON (COVID = Force Majeure or act of God. Nobody was at fault and so the contract term had to be adjusted).
Buyout clauses are typically embedded in Coaches contracts - that's why when coaches are fired (e.g. not for performance, but because you simply don't like the person - case in point Rohr and some EPL managers) prior to the expiration of the agreed contract term, you pay a penalty if the termination is deemed unjust.

4. That's why you get professionals who know what the heck is at stake on the negotiation table, and not a bunch of gworo chewing imbeciles who don't have a clue about basic Negotiations 101.
ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Mar 02, 2024 10:04 pm The first opportunity he gets to dump Nigeria. He will do it.

NOTHING ELSE TO ADD.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

The guy I saw on that interview prior to the WC is a mercenary. He will dump Nigeria at short notice if a better offer comes along. And you can't blame him. They treat him badly. I personally don't like his tactics. But if he is your coach, you have to treat him fairly. They have frustrated him by making him drop one of his assistants. I am just saying don't be surprised if Waldrum quits.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 12:21 am The guy I saw on that interview prior to the WC is a mercenary. He will dump Nigeria at short notice if a better offer comes along. And you can't blame him. They treat him badly. I personally don't like his tactics. But if he is your coach, you have to treat him fairly. They have frustrated him by making him drop one of his assistants. I am just saying don't be surprised if Waldrum quits.
I don’t think they will lose sleep if he quits. The problem is that the girls seem to like him based on that Christmas video someone posted. They had to rehire him. Even our mumu NFF know that this team is loaded and might win something or advance farther in the Olympics or the next WC if they qualify.

packerland wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 4:29 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 12:21 am The guy I saw on that interview prior to the WC is a mercenary. He will dump Nigeria at short notice if a better offer comes along. And you can't blame him. They treat him badly. I personally don't like his tactics. But if he is your coach, you have to treat him fairly. They have frustrated him by making him drop one of his assistants. I am just saying don't be surprised if Waldrum quits.
I don’t think they will lose sleep if he quits. The problem is that the girls seem to like him based on that Christmas video someone posted. They had to rehire him. Even our mumu NFF know that this team is loaded and might win something or advance farther in the Olympics or the next WC if they qualify.
I am not a big fan of his tactics and would prefer a local coach. But you have to be professional. Treat your employees well by paying them on time and not frustrating their plans if you want them to stay. Nigeria is getting a bad rep.