Segun ODEGAMI Denounces colonial Mentality and calls for Nigerian-born Manager for SE....

Re: Segun ODEGAMI Denounces colonial Mentality and calls for Nigerian-born Manager for SE....

We have smart capable people in Nigeria. People that understand our culture. People that are committed. People that can drive around Lagos or another state without a translator or a guide. People that speak the language and can communicate well. People that are not foreign mercenaries that will quit on short notice. It is like gravity.

Re: Segun ODEGAMI Denounces colonial Mentality and calls for Nigerian-born Manager for SE....

ohenhen1 wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 8:43 pm We have smart capable people in Nigeria. People that understand our culture. People that are committed. People that can drive around Lagos or another state without a translator or a guide. People that speak the language and can communicate well. People that are not foreign mercenaries that will quit on short notice. It is like gravity.
Why can’t they coach well at the continental level?

Most of our talent Japa outside Africa. Currently reading about more Japa today to Spain and Norway. Also poor funding of the local league. That is why local coaches are not doing well at the continental level. Despite that, Rivers United today defeated a team from Ghana and are now through to the Quarterfinals of the CAF confederation cup.

Your so call mercenary couldn't even beat a local coach with little experience in a cup final. The guy took over after the head coach was fired. I wonder what will happen when a local coached Nigerian team will face Rohr in WC qualfications.

Maybe Peseiro will take over South Africa job and then face Nigeria.

Enugu II wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 12:22 am
Super Eagles: Odegbami tells NFF who to appoint as Peseiro’s replacement
Published on March 2, 2024By Don Silas
https://dailypost.ng/2024/03/02/super-e ... e_vignette

Former Nigeria international, Segun Odegbami, has called on the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), to look inward for an indigenous coach to handle the Super Eagles.

Odegbami made the call in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Saturday in Lagos.
Recall that Jose Peseiro had in a farewell message on his official X handle on Friday, thanked the NFF and other stakeholders for the opportunity given him to serve.

The likes of Emmanuel Amuneke, Sunday Oliseh and Augustine Eguavoen have all been linked with the Super Eagles job following Peseiro’s departure.

Speaking on the development, Odegbami said:

“Unless we want to be enslaved forever, in our colonial mentality where we think that only the white can coach us to success.

“All around us, we hear about some Nigerians who are excelling in all fields of endeavours and they are leaving the country to go and help other countries.

“Football is not a rocket science, but a simple game, we have lots of Nigerians who have all the qualifications to take us to any level.

“For me, I won’t suffer from colonial mentality again and enough of foreign coaches, now, it’s time for a Nigerian Coach to handle our national team.”

He added, “Peseiro did not resign as the story is being peddled, his contract ended and it was not renewed, end of story.”

The problem with statements such as this, which you'll hear quite often, moving forward, is that they are ENTIRELY vacuous and add zero value to public discourse.

How about asking the NFF to first determine what they are looking for in a coach.

Or offer in his considered opinion what kind of coach we should be looking for.

- A protagonist or an antagonist?
- Possession based coach or a counterattacking coach?
- One who emphasizes relationship with the players or one who is data analytics based; or a hybrid...?

Simply saying you want a Nigerian for the job or a foreign coach for the job, rather than a specific quality and standard, is just plain stupid!

That's just a place of origin.

Being a Nigerian is not a coaching quality or qualification. Ditto for a foreign coach...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Thus guy is full unadulterated shait. Name the expert accomplished local coaches you are talking about, .."I don't want to name them because they will shoot them down". Who will shoot them down?

Odegbami did not play or accomplish anything in world foitball to suddenly become an expert in football. He should not be the spokesperson on topics relating to the Super Eagles solely because he played for the national team. Francis Kumbor might as well be an expert pundit on Nigerian football also.

We are heading for a difficult few years ahead.
greg wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 10:43 pm

1naija wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 11:08 pm Thus guy is full unadulterated shait. Name the expert accomplished local coaches you are talking about, .."I don't want to name them because they will shoot them down". Who will shoot them down?

Odegbami did not play or accomplish anything in world foitball to suddenly become an expert in football. He should not be the spokesperson on topics relating to the Super Eagles solely because he played for the national team. Francis Kumbor might as well be an expert pundit on Nigerian football also.

I was just about to post this video.

The Mathematician is always brilliant.

He was an Afcon winner.

felarey wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 7:55 pm
mcal wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 4:08 pm
felarey wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 8:00 am It's not just about local or foreign coach or colonial mentality, there's also exposure and competence. Get a cook currently cooking in a backyard with thatched roof cover, clay pots and firewood. He will bang out excellent efo riro, gbegiri, afang, ofe onugbu, jollof rice etc. Now put the same cook in a modern kitchen with wolf appliances where he has to deliver recipes that require slow cooking, steam ovens with crisp functions etc. He would flame out, not because he's not a good cook but because he doesn't have the exposure and experience to deliver in that environment. He may even burn the house down. Another analogy is taking an excellent teacher using a blackboard and chalk in open air to teach kids and put that same teacher in an classroom with smart boards, smart temp controls, innovative designs, storage solutions, worktop materials suited to subjects etc. That teacher will not be as effective. So it's not just white or nigerian coach, if we have the locals to do the job, that's fine but looking outside is not because of colo-mentality.

I've always thought all these colo-mentality talk is some form of coping method as locals are seen as better suited for maladministration and corruption.
...2 very deferring issues or analogy.
Remember the local coach will be dealing with Nigeria (born) players as per language and directions, while your cook from the thatched corner mama-put will be serving foreign audience from his state of the art kitchen in Hague or elsewhere.
Nigeria (born) players like Ekong, Bassey, Aina, Lookman etc.?? Things are different nowadays. That cook will be going in to compete against chefs in state of the art kitchens.
...that's why I put it that way. The likes of those you mentioned can't be the fulcrum or majority of the SE, while we cast away our local league players..

1naija wrote: Sun Mar 03, 2024 11:08 pm Thus guy is full unadulterated shait. Name the expert accomplished local coaches you are talking about, .."I don't want to name them because they will shoot them down". Who will shoot them down?

Could it be that your brain is full of it? Maybe that would explain why all you see or hear is crap. It is difficult to see or hear clearly when your brain is full of dung

I agree with Odegbami that we should hire a local, BUT he implies we’ve never hired locals before. We have and have had varying degrees of success. It’s not about colonial mentality really

On salary…the issue is that Nigerian coaches simply don’t command the kind of pay that foreign coaches do. The market for them is small, for a variety of reasons bordering on prejudice/racism. Should the NFF now pay $50,000/month to a coach whose next best alternative is unemployment? Maybe we should

deanotito wrote: Mon Mar 04, 2024 3:03 am I agree with Odegbami that we should hire a local, BUT he implies we’ve never hired locals before. We have and have had varying degrees of success. It’s not about colonial mentality really

On salary…the issue is that Nigerian coaches simply don’t command the kind of pay that foreign coaches do. The market for them is small, for a variety of reasons bordering on prejudice/racism. Should the NFF now pay $50,000/month to a coach whose next best alternative is unemployment? Maybe we should
It is colonial mentality when the NFF president said he will not even consider a local coach. Then goes ahead and hire a journey man coach whose only qualification is he is foreign. Rohr was the coach of Niger republic. Had a bad record. It would have made sense if the foreign coach was good.

Former Nigeria international, Segun Odegbami, has called on the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF), to look inward for an indigenous coach to handle the Super Eagles.

Odegbami made the call in an interview with the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) on Saturday in Lagos.
Recall that Jose Peseiro had in a farewell message on his official X handle on Friday, thanked the NFF and other stakeholders for the opportunity given him to serve.

The likes of Emmanuel Amuneke, Sunday Oliseh and Augustine Eguavoen have all been linked with the Super Eagles job following Peseiro’s departure.

“Unless we want to be enslaved forever, in our colonial mentality where we think that only the white can coach us to success.

“All around us, we hear about some Nigerians who are excelling in all fields of endeavours and they are leaving the country to go and help other countries.

“Football is not a rocket science, but a simple game, we have lots of Nigerians who have all the qualifications to take us to any level.

“For me, I won’t suffer from colonial mentality again and enough of foreign coaches, now, it’s time for a Nigerian Coach to handle our national team.”

He added, “Peseiro did not resign as the story is being peddled, his contract ended and it was not renewed, end of story.”
UNLIKE THE REST OF US...

...Odegbami has a platform which I hope will make those making the decisions sit up and reason. I hope his thinking goes straight to Aso Rock and put one giant full stop to all these embarassing and endless debates. While his word is not necessarily gospel, it cannot be ignored either that the man is educated and has been in the halls of football at every level. much more so than anybody on this board.

I can't imagine people coming up with cooking analogies as though Nigerians are being hired to prepare foreign dishes. And if Nigerians are currently unqualified, as falsely alleged, isn't the best decision to train them to become so? How long can you rely on unreliable, costly foreigners who are there primarily for their own interests?

International exposure? Do Europeans and S. Americans ask their coaches if they have been exposed to African football. Aren't the likes of Finidi, Amunike, Oliseh who played domestically and but also internationally better placed to handle a Nigerian team - because they know how to relate to them and also to the international audience? Can foreigners match their understanding of the Nigerian background, mentality and where to find the next Osimhen and Nwabali? Would a Nigerian quit as abruptly as Peseiro or the German coach that, to their shame, took Togo to WC2006 after Keshi gave them once in a lifetime experience?

What exactly have foreign coaches accomplished that is way above what Nigerians have and that cannot be risked? How many of them have performed better than the indigenous Senegalese coach? Many Nigerians think they are as qualified in their professions as their foreign counterparts but refuse to feel the same way about Nigerian coaches.

And let's not use the faceless Nigerian fans as an excuse for our own beliefs. The question is "what do YOU believe? I think it's a little bit patronizing and insulting to think that that Nigerian fan is so mentally limited
that he/she cannot see the big picture and that it cannot be explained to him/her either. Reminds me of Margaret Thatcher cynically using her backbenchers as an excuse for not withholding recognition of the fraudulent Zimbabwe-Rhodesia arrangement.

And, someone, please tell me: if a Nigerian coach is not acceptable now, is it going to be easier in the future?

EnuguII, Ohenhen, thanks. Please, keep it up.

That's Odegbami for you. A shape shifting fraud!

He says, rightly that only a a few coaches win something in football and therefore you should not necessarily look at the past accomplishments of Nigerian candidates, but rather on their plans for the team and intelligence. But then he says of Peseiro that he has no past accomplishments!!!

You cannot have it both ways!

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

This local vs foreign coach debate is getting stale and boring. Why are our local clubs struggling in the continent if we have the types of coaches that we are being forced to believe in. Does it mean that these clubs are not seeing them? It makes zero sense to have a coach that is not at least, at the level of coaching that these players receive at their clubs. We can't just bring a local coach who does not understand the rudiments of the modern day coaching. The players themselves know this. If you doubt, go and ask the Super falcon players how the felt about a local coach when Waldrum was not there. All the noise about the local coach will be meaningless if the players themselves resist any sub par coach. The players are already voicing this out. I would, should I be in their position. Organization is the key and they are more organized in every way, than we are. That's why we have been retrogressing ever since they left us in 1960.

ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Mar 04, 2024 3:15 am
deanotito wrote: Mon Mar 04, 2024 3:03 am I agree with Odegbami that we should hire a local, BUT he implies we’ve never hired locals before. We have and have had varying degrees of success. It’s not about colonial mentality really

It is colonial mentality when the NFF president said he will not even consider a local coach. Then goes ahead and hire a journey man coach whose only qualification is he is foreign. Rohr was the coach of Niger republic. Had a bad record. It would have made sense if the foreign coach was good.
You are being unfair to the same NFF president because prior to his hiring of the “journeyman”, he had hired local coaches….and the result was borderline disastrous

ahidjo2 wrote: Mon Mar 04, 2024 5:37 pm

This local vs foreign coach debate is getting stale and boring. Why are our local clubs struggling in the continent if we have the types of coaches that we are being forced to believe in. Does it mean that these clubs are not seeing them? It makes zero sense to have a coach that is not at least, at the level of coaching that these players receive at their clubs. We can't just bring a local coach who does not understand the rudiments of the modern day coaching. The players themselves know this. If you doubt, go and ask the Super falcon players how the felt about a local coach when Waldrum was not there. All the noise about the local coach will be meaningless if the players themselves resist any sub par coach. The players are already voicing this out. I would, should I be in their position. Organization is the key and they are more organized in every way, than we are. That's why we have been retrogressing ever since they left us in 1960.

LET'S SEE

Odegbami takes one position, the Super Falcons allegedly (sources not provided) take the opposite position. You side with the Super Falcons. Lest we forget, the Super Falcons are coached by a part time college coach from a land where not too long ago soccer was an afterthought. Enough said. BTW, how organized is the Senegal league?

deanotito wrote: Mon Mar 04, 2024 7:46 pm

You are being unfair to the same NFF president because prior to his hiring of the “journeyman”, he had hired local coaches….and the result was borderline disastrous
How was it disastrous?

Let us even admit that it was even disastrous, how can you then make a statement that you will not even consider a local coach?

It is colonial mentality. Go to Germany and ask any club in Germany if they will hire Rohr. Rohr only qualifications are he is cheap and he is foreign.

BTW do you know why Sunday Oliseh left the team?

I personally don't care if the coach is foreign or local. I agree with Odegbami. There is colo mentality in the NFF. Foolish people that employ foreign mercenaries because they are foreign and cheap. We all remember Mr powerpoint Lets look at the resume of Emanuel Amunike a local coach.

Playing career
Barcelona and etc.
Afcon winner
Olympic Gold winner

Coaching career
U17 World cup title. Coached Osimhen and co
Former Tanzania head coach
UEFA pro A license

Now lets look at the resume of Finidi George
Playing career
UEFA champions league title
3 times Dutch title
Afcon winner
Olympic Gold

Coaching career
1x NPFL title
Coached Mallorca youth team
Current assistant SE coach. He knows the players. Fae of Ivory Coast outcoached Peseiro in the Afcon final. Fae was the U23 coach and assistant coach before they fired their journey man coach.

compare that to the experience the current head coach of England had before the English FA gave him the job. And then ask your self. Why is Nigeria hiring Peseiro. ?

Emanuel Amuneke qualified Tanzania to Afcon after winning the U17 world cup. Lets see what he can do with better talent and better resources I think he is going to do well. Findi George will also do well. We don't need any foreign coach.

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 12:46 am

How was it disastrous?

Let us even admit that it was even disastrous, how can you then make a statement that you will not even consider a local coach?

It is colonial mentality. Go to Germany and ask any club in Germany if they will hire Rohr. Rohr only qualifications are he is cheap and he is foreign.

Lol. Not this Sunday Oliseh drivel again. He said juju was chasing him

Btw, Pinnick appointed Amodu (briefly), Keshi (for a long period) and Oliseh (also for a considerable period).

Both Keshi and Oliseh flamed out with Keshi failing to qualify for the Nations Cup and Oliseh looking for pastors to pray for him. Then came Rohr

deanotito wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 3:17 am

How was it disastrous?

Btw, Pinnick appointed Amodu (briefly), Keshi (for a long period) and Oliseh (also for a considerable period).

Both Keshi and Oliseh flamed out with Keshi failing to qualify for the Nations Cup and Oliseh looking for pastors to pray for him. Then came Rohr
You don't know why Oliseh truly decided to quit.
Even if a local coach fails, that doesn't lead you to adopt a policy that you will never consider a local coach.
If I were the NFF,I will use the next week to interview coaches. My preference is Amuneke. Retain Finidi as his assistant.

Nigeria also needs a friendly game in March to test new players.

deanotito wrote: Tue Mar 05, 2024 3:17 am

How was it disastrous?

Dean

You have mixed things here. Are you certain Pinnick appointed all those persons? How?

Bros, the only Nigerian born manager for SE that Pinnick appointed was Oliseh. As for Keshi, Pinnick actively worked to get rid of him and finally succeeded after his initial move was foiled by the Presidency. Simply Google or check CE archives.

When we met with Pinnick in DC, he clearly stated that he did not want to appoint Oliseh but was persuaded by others on the Board. To be clear, he mentioned a specific name that I am leaving out from this forum. At least one other CE member was at that meeting. Let's be clear, Pinnick was not a supporter of a local manager.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics