Ladan Bosso's final squad of 20 for the All African games

:roll:

The biggest surprise is there's no place for a player in the Beyond Limits Academy/Remo Stars.
Last edited by Sunset on Wed Mar 06, 2024 2:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Ladan Bosso's final squad of 20 for the All African games

Bameyi again? :laugh:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 3:53 am Bameyi again? :laugh:

Why are there only 20 on the squad? Was that the maximum number of players allowed by CAF?

olu wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 7:37 am Why are there only 20 on the squad? Was that the maximum number of players allowed by CAF?
Did any of the Viareggio heroes make the U20 squad?
Top scorer Ibrahim Afiz definitely didn’t.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

Guys there is a devil hovering over Nigerian Football. Ladan Bosso to be in a prime position of our Future Footballers is so damning. This man is not a Coach. I swear. Counting from what I saw he did in 2007 in Canada with the talents he has been given to Shepard as a Coach. Up to this day. Has anyone seen any improvement in his style of coaching? and the product of his team on the field? Na who swear for us like this? This man can collect all the coaching Certificate wey deh this world. No ba am abeg..

Youth football is about talent development. There is no need to keep re using players from previous years.

ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 5:12 pm Youth football is about talent development. There is no need to keep re using players from previous years.
Go tell that to Spain, England, Germany, Brazil, Italy, Argentina, etc… :lol:

What we should be singularly concerned with is age fraud. Otherwise, so long as the players are actually within the age limit (albeit in Europe, UEFA allows some participation at certain age levels by players whose biological age is older). their development is generally best served by maximizing their time within the same group and competing with their peers.

Gotti wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 10:14 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 5:12 pm Youth football is about talent development. There is no need to keep re using players from previous years.

What we should be singularly concerned with is age fraud. Otherwise, so long as the players are actually within the age limit (albeit in Europe, UEFA allows some participation at certain age levels by players whose biological age is older). their development is generally best served by maximizing their time within the same group and competing with their peers.

People who track youth team football will tell you that you progress players up the developmental curve, based on their growth in the game, not maximizing time within the same age group...That actually slows their development...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 10:57 pmPeople who track youth team football will tell you that you progress players up the developmental curve, based on their growth in the game, not maximizing time within the same age group...That actually slows their development...
Which fathom “people” are those?!
Why do youth players who make their senior debut at your precious Liverpool still continue to play for the youth teams?!

Meanwhile, players like Harry Kane, John Stones, Callum Chambers, etc., played for the England U-21s even AFTER they had made their full England international debut (by contrast Daga, etc., have NOT even played beyond the U20 NT level).

onovo

Post by onovo »

The team comprises of too many short players !

So Bo$$o the bozo clown is still the U20 coach? We are not serious. When Osimhen's generation retires we will be in serious soup. De play.

Agbako wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 5:02 pm Guys there is a devil hovering over Nigerian Football. Ladan Bosso to be in a prime position of our Future Footballers is so damning. This man is not a Coach. I swear. Counting from what I saw he did in 2007 in Canada with the talents he has been given to Shepard as a Coach. Up to this day. Has anyone seen any improvement in his style of coaching? and the product of his team on the field? Na who swear for us like this? This man can collect all the coaching Certificate wey deh this world. No ba am abeg..
Can you imagine that useless coach has been around since 2007 with nothing to show. Look at this team no U17 player aside from Agada in this team. No Beyond limit player, No other U17 player made the team. The other players from the Italy tournament nko? Nope just a bunch of overaged players like Bamayi. Tufiakwa.

bret- hart wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 5:03 amCan you imagine that useless coach has been around since 2007 with nothing to show. Look at this team no U17 player aside from Agada in this team. No Beyond limit player, No other U17 player made the team. The other players from the Italy tournament nko? Nope just a bunch of overaged players like Bamayi. Tufiakwa.
What do mean “nothing to show”?
Isn’t the “point” of youth teams to harness talent, and not winning?! :P

Bosso is not exactly a great coach…
But his 2007 team produced Elderson Echiejile, Efe Ambrose, Brown Ideye (3vAFCON winners), GK Ikechukwu Ezenwa, etc.

Gotti wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 5:18 am
bret- hart wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 5:03 amCan you imagine that useless coach has been around since 2007 with nothing to show. Look at this team no U17 player aside from Agada in this team. No Beyond limit player, No other U17 player made the team. The other players from the Italy tournament nko? Nope just a bunch of overaged players like Bamayi. Tufiakwa.
What do mean “nothing to show”?
Isn’t the “point” of youth teams to harness talent, and not winning?! :P

Bosso is not exactly a great coach…
But his 2007 team produced Elderson Echiejile, Efe Ambrose, Brown Ideye (3vAFCON winners), GK Ikechukwu Ezenwa, etc.
Not bad from the 2007 set.

The 2019 set that was managed by Paul Aigbogun does not have a single player in SE today, though players like Ozornwafor. Kingsley Michael and Tom Dele-Bashiru have been called up in the past. While others like Eletu, Yira Sor, Akor Adams and Igoh Ogbu are being mentioned as future SEs.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Gotti wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 2:01 am
txj wrote: Wed Mar 06, 2024 10:57 pmPeople who track youth team football will tell you that you progress players up the developmental curve, based on their growth in the game, not maximizing time within the same age group...That actually slows their development...
Which fathom “people” are those?!
Why do youth players who make their senior debut at your precious Liverpool still continue to play for the youth teams?!

Meanwhile, players like Harry Kane, John Stones, Callum Chambers, etc., played for the England U-21s even AFTER they had made their full England international debut (by contrast Daga, etc., have NOT even played beyond the U20 NT level).

If you actually properly followed youth football, you would not be asking the above questions.

The players who break thru to the LFC first team have already been fast tracked. Like Trey Nyoni who is 16rs and plays with the U21s rather than "maximizing time within the same age group"- a euphemism for STANDING STILL!.
Same with Clarke, Danns, McCullum, etc...

2ndly, the example with Kane and others again displays lack of knowledge of youth football.

Take Harry Kane. He was part of the England U-21 starting from 2013, thru the qualification series for the UEFA U21 championship in June 2015, playing his last game on June 24th.

He was ALREADY part of the tournament squad and his senior England call-up/debut simply overlapped an existing commitment to the U21s.

We have a history of delaying player development in search of trophies in the short term without a thought for the long term development of players. That is exactly how we 'delayed' the players we took to the U20s in Saudi Arabia, when the then manager adjudged several of them to be top candidates for the full NT in their positions...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

There's at least one player in this squad that seems to be in this category IMO

Sunset wrote: Thu Mar 07, 2024 5:04 pm

There's at least one player in this squad that seems to be in this category IMO