Why can’t NFF get sponsors after Afcon?

Re: Why can’t NFF get sponsors after Afcon?

Damunk wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 5:40 pm
greg wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:15 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 6:20 am Nationwide League One Unveils N964m Title Sponsorship Deal

The third-tier Nigerian league, Nationwide League One (NLO), on Thursday in Abuja signed a four-year title sponsorship deal worth ₦964 million with New Year Mega Lottery.

The collaboration between the Nationwide League One and New Year Mega Lottery is intended to effectively promote and elevate the status of grassroots football in the country, aiming to establish it as a prominent Nigerian spectacle Representing New Year Mega Lottery, Ms. Obiorah Emmanuella, Head of Corporate Communications, said:
“We are thrilled to enter this sponsorship deal with the Nationwide League One (NLO) and engage a large audience through our brand.

https://www.completesports.com/nationwi ... ship-deal/

Through this collaboration, we are also excited to connect with the future generation of football athletes at the grassroots level across Nigeria and help them grow. The company’s strong commitment to nurturing and empowering talents, fostering opportunities, and gratifying fans within its market are among the primary motivations for aligning with the NLO.”
There is a ton of money sitting on the sidelines with their owners looking for ways to use it. Sometimes all that somebody has to do is open their mouth and ask for help. When they close mouth and say "nobody will give us", then of course they get nothing. Self-fulfilling prophesy.
You do know that you could make a very tidy comission simply by brokering a deal for the NFF, accessing this ton of money of which you speak so eloquently.
End of day, everyone is happy!

Go for it bro! :taunt:
He’s absolutely spot on. At least you should acknowledge the fact that a 3rd tier league is able to get N1B from sponsorships while the NFF struggles year after year to pay salary when they’re in charge of the most valuable football assets in the land. Shebi you claim the economic conditions are too hard. How the the Nationwide league get sponsorship? Did they you juju?

Pinnick told the story about Aiteo once. He was at an African football conference when he got talking with another country's football president. The dude said his federation had been hammering from Aiteo (a Nigerian oil company) for many years. Pinnick could not believe his ears that there was such a sponsor in 9ja while his NFF were suffering. He arrived back home, picked the phone and called Aiteo, and instantly landed one of the largest sponsorships in the history of the NFF. And this one na by mistake o. Imagine a professional company with a vast database of sponsors doing the searching for you.

greg wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:01 pm Pinnick told the story about Aiteo once. He was at an African football conference when he got talking with another country's football president. The dude said his federation had been hammering from Aiteo (a Nigerian oil company) for many years. Pinnick could not believe his ears that there was such a sponsor in 9ja while his NFF were suffering. He arrived back home, picked the phone and called Aiteo, and instantly landed one of the largest sponsorships in the history of the NFF. And this one na by mistake o. Imagine a professional company with a vast database of sponsors doing the searching for you.
I believe that was the sponsor they got to pay Rohr salary until the sponsorship stopped and they started to owe him for months at a time. A top coaching staff would cost about N3b a year. The NFF with all its teams should be able to raise N10b easily Ngr from sponsorships alone. It’s a pittance ,really.

What do governors from Nigeria know about sponsorship?If they want sponsors they’d need to pay an expert to sort out the negotiations and to seek suitors,I don’t see the NFF paying anyone to do that.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:15 pm What do governors from Nigeria know about sponsorship?If they want sponsors they’d need to pay an expert to sort out the negotiations and to seek suitors,I don’t see the NFF paying anyone to do that.
The don’t need Governor. All they need is a competent marketing firm to market the teams and bring in revenue. They won’t hire a good firm because of their greed. A 3rd tier league just got N1B in sponsorship without governors for goodness sake.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 5:56 pm
Damunk wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 5:40 pm
greg wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 9:15 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 15, 2024 6:20 am Nationwide League One Unveils N964m Title Sponsorship Deal

The third-tier Nigerian league, Nationwide League One (NLO), on Thursday in Abuja signed a four-year title sponsorship deal worth ₦964 million with New Year Mega Lottery.

The collaboration between the Nationwide League One and New Year Mega Lottery is intended to effectively promote and elevate the status of grassroots football in the country, aiming to establish it as a prominent Nigerian spectacle Representing New Year Mega Lottery, Ms. Obiorah Emmanuella, Head of Corporate Communications, said:
“We are thrilled to enter this sponsorship deal with the Nationwide League One (NLO) and engage a large audience through our brand.

https://www.completesports.com/nationwi ... ship-deal/

Through this collaboration, we are also excited to connect with the future generation of football athletes at the grassroots level across Nigeria and help them grow. The company’s strong commitment to nurturing and empowering talents, fostering opportunities, and gratifying fans within its market are among the primary motivations for aligning with the NLO.”
There is a ton of money sitting on the sidelines with their owners looking for ways to use it. Sometimes all that somebody has to do is open their mouth and ask for help. When they close mouth and say "nobody will give us", then of course they get nothing. Self-fulfilling prophesy.
You do know that you could make a very tidy comission simply by brokering a deal for the NFF, accessing this ton of money of which you speak so eloquently.
End of day, everyone is happy!

Go for it bro! :taunt:
He’s absolutely spot on. At least you should acknowledge the fact that a 3rd tier league is able to get N1B from sponsorships while the NFF struggles year after year to pay salary when they’re in charge of the most valuable football assets in the land. Shebi you claim the economic conditions are too hard. How the the Nationwide league get sponsorship? Did they you juju?
Of course that’s worth acknowledging. But have you forgotten that it was a sponsor that was paying Rohr’s salary until they started reneging on their contract, blaming the economic climate? Weytin come happen? Nuttin.
Dem taya, dem taya be dat.

But that’s not even the point.
We were all here when Nike sponsored the SE with a rubbish deal. We crucified Pinnick at the time.
In sponsorship there can be ‘ilò̩ ku lò̩’ (please help translate) but the closest translation I can make is ‘nonsense offer’.

When a sponsor comes at you with ‘ilò̩ ku lò̩’ and asks to be given the headline sponsor profile in the contract, barring you from giving it to any one else with a better deal that might come along, will you take it?

Maybe that’s the problem.
1Nb might sound like a lot of money, and probably is to many Nigerian companies, but let’s just speculate for a moment.
Has anyone got any idea how much it might cost to take a 23-man SE squad on one single trip from Naija to the USA to go play a friendly?

So how much ‘sponsorship’ makes financial sense to the NFF?
Suddenly N5b doesn’t seem like that much money at all…
Just sayin’. No be say I dey argue.

It's also not only about getting the sponsors. There is managing them as well which is tough in a country with no maintenance culture. Pinnick did a lot of "petting" and "babysitting" to keep the moneys flowing. This should not have been his job. It's the more reason why sponsors need to be professionally managed. You also never put all your eggs in one sponsor's basket. You should always be looking for more sources of money, and even have a waitlist of future contracts, and more sponsors than u need. It's a novel idea in the Nigerian public sector, but it's not rockert science and all it takes is the right leadership.

greg wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 4:46 am It's also not only about getting the sponsors. There is managing them as well which is tough in a country with no maintenance culture. Pinnick did a lot of "petting" and "babysitting" to keep the moneys flowing. This should not have been his job. It's the more reason why sponsors need to be professionally managed. You also never put all your eggs in one sponsor's basket. You should always be looking for more sources of money, and even have a waitlist of future contracts, and more sponsors than u need. It's a novel idea in the Nigerian public sector, but it's not rockert science and all it takes is the right leadership.
You guys need to dispense with all that romantic fiction about Pinnick. If he did a lot of "petting" and "babysitting" to keep the moneys flowing as you claim, how come we couldn’t afford to pay our coaches salaries or the player’s allowances❓🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 1:08 pm
greg wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 4:46 am It's also not only about getting the sponsors. There is managing them as well which is tough in a country with no maintenance culture. Pinnick did a lot of "petting" and "babysitting" to keep the moneys flowing. This should not have been his job. It's the more reason why sponsors need to be professionally managed. You also never put all your eggs in one sponsor's basket. You should always be looking for more sources of money, and even have a waitlist of future contracts, and more sponsors than u need. It's a novel idea in the Nigerian public sector, but it's not rockert science and all it takes is the right leadership.
You guys need to dispense with all that romantic fiction about Pinnick. If he did a lot of "petting" and "babysitting" to keep the moneys flowing as you claim, how come we couldn’t afford to pay our coaches salaries or the player’s allowances❓🤔❗️

C’mon, let's not beat around the bush. You're aware that sponsors, like Aiteo, are usually responsible for covering the payment of coaches, right?

https://www.goal.com/en-us/news/pinnick ... f1i666f3h6

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2021/01/roh ... onths/amp/

iworo wrote: Sat Mar 16, 2024 6:53 pm

C’mon, let's not beat around the bush. You're aware that sponsors, like Aiteo, are usually responsible for covering the payment of coaches, right?

I’m not getting your point. The fact that we owed coaches and players only means we didn’t have a sponsor, contrary to widespread belief🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 1:58 am

I’m not getting your point. The fact that we owed coaches and players only means we didn’t have a sponsor, contrary to widespread belief🤔❗️

Jeez, not sure if this is laziness to read, agenda-ing or what. The Vanguard article clearly says the sponsorship was interrupted by covid. Looks like you are thinking just like the NFF officials themselves. Sponsors aren't charities or government. They need their brands marketed in exchange for the their money and....lemme stop here. Too energy draining. I'd rather focus on positive ways forward.

greg wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 5:01 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sun Mar 17, 2024 1:58 am

Jeez, not sure if this is laziness to read, agenda-ing or what. The Vanguard article clearly says the sponsorship was interrupted by covid. Looks like you are thinking just like the NFF officials themselves. Sponsors aren't charities or government. They need their brands marketed in exchange for the their money and....lemme stop here. Too energy draining. I'd rather focus on positive ways forward.
Insulting me is not going to alter the end result; we didn’t have sponsors. If for whatever reason (and you are blaming Covid) Alteo or whoever else couldn’t fulfill their obligations, isn’t it still Pinnick’s responsibility to find another sponsor or an alternative? Making excuses never ever solves anything🤔❗️

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Thu Mar 14, 2024 3:13 am By all measure the SE had a successful outing at Afcon after making it to the finals. For a month Nigerians were fixated on the SE and came together across all groups to cheer for Nigeria. A very rare show of support for Nigeria amongst the citizenry brought joy to Nigerians. Nigeria went into Afcon stumbling and bumbling but came out as a top up and coming team in Africa. So why is it that th Nff have not been able to leverage the teams’s success into sponsorships? The team needs money to get better, to pay players and coaches, travel etc. At a time the team is most marketable, why is it that the Nff is unable to get sponsorships?

We have high aspirations as a team. To win Afcon, make it to the WC semis at least, even win the WC. It requires money, the best coaches, facilities, travel arrangements, scouting and, yes, Doctors. We need sponsors.
In real life, nobody really remembers number 2. Who was Abraham Lincoln's vice president? What of Truman's vice president? Who deputized Husseini Mubarak of Egypt? Did you know that even the great Zik had a vice president? Can you name him? We only know CIV and they will get the sponsors. Sorry buddy.
A criminal trial is not a search for truth. Science is a search for truth. Alan Dershowitz

First question I need to ask is would you as a company owner sponsor the NFF?

I know you will say the money is not for the NFF but for the footballers and they will get name recognition.

My response is there is credible suspicion that the money will be looted. They can't even pay the salaries of coaches on time. And they get a lot of funding from the FG, Nike deal and etc. Still the NFF say they are broke. Would you sponsor such an organization.

If it was me. I wouldn't sponsor the NFF. There are cheaper more cost effective ways to have name recognition.

ohenhen1 wrote: Tue Mar 19, 2024 6:20 am First question I need to ask is would you as a company owner sponsor the NFF?

I know you will say the money is not for the NFF but for the footballers and they will get name recognition.

My response is there is credible suspicion that the money will be looted. They can't even pay the salaries of coaches on time. And they get a lot of funding from the FG, Nike deal and etc. Still the NFF say they are broke. Would you sponsor such an organization.

If it was me. I wouldn't sponsor the NFF. There are cheaper more cost effective ways to have name recognition.
Why anyone or company in Nigeria, go sponsor NFF? The same NFF wey dey tell us sey anything born or made in Nigeria is not good enough. Yet, they want Made in Nigeria sponsorship.

The NFF are better off with foreign sponsorship.