Dessers compared Finidi’s style to his predecessor

Cyriel Dessers takes veiled ex Nigeria boss dig

The Ibrox striker ended two years in the international wilderness with a goal on his Super Eagles return.

Cyriel Dessers aimed a thinly-veiled dig at former Nigeria coach Jose Peseiro as he ended his international exile by netting in the first game of new Super Eagles gaffer Finidi George.

The Rangers striker bagged the opener from the penalty spot in a 2-1 victory over Ghana - their first win over the Black Stars in 18 years - and reckons the future is bright under Ajax legend George. Dessers was back in the fold for Nigeria after two years in the wilderness, and the 29-year-old aimed a subtle dig at Portuguese Peseiro who was let go after the expiration of his contract.

George is in interim charge but Dessers compared the former Nigeria winger’s style to his predecessor, saying: “Before the game we had a meeting and he wanted us to press and be more aggressive and I think we did that, especially in the first half. We did it very good and then you see we got chances out of this and it gives confidence to the team that we can attack more, create more chances and that is a good thing. I think this is the way the Super Eagles should play."

Dessers converted from the spot late in the first half after Ghana’s Jerome Opoku handled the ball from Kelechi Iheanacho’s shot. Nigeria now face Mali in a friendly on Tuesday, before Dessers returns to Scotland ahead of Saturday’s domestic return when Rangers face Hibs in the Scottish Premiership.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/foo ... s-32428664
Re: Dessers compared Finidi’s style to his predecessor

iworo wrote: Mon Mar 25, 2024 3:05 am Cyriel Dessers takes veiled ex Nigeria boss dig

The Ibrox striker ended two years in the international wilderness with a goal on his Super Eagles return.

Cyriel Dessers aimed a thinly-veiled dig at former Nigeria coach Jose Peseiro as he ended his international exile by netting in the first game of new Super Eagles gaffer Finidi George.

The Rangers striker bagged the opener from the penalty spot in a 2-1 victory over Ghana - their first win over the Black Stars in 18 years - and reckons the future is bright under Ajax legend George. Dessers was back in the fold for Nigeria after two years in the wilderness, and the 29-year-old aimed a subtle dig at Portuguese Peseiro who was let go after the expiration of his contract.

George is in interim charge but Dessers compared the former Nigeria winger’s style to his predecessor, saying: “Before the game we had a meeting and he wanted us to press and be more aggressive and I think we did that, especially in the first half. We did it very good and then you see we got chances out of this and it gives confidence to the team that we can attack more, create more chances and that is a good thing. I think this is the way the Super Eagles should play."

Dessers converted from the spot late in the first half after Ghana’s Jerome Opoku handled the ball from Kelechi Iheanacho’s shot. Nigeria now face Mali in a friendly on Tuesday, before Dessers returns to Scotland ahead of Saturday’s domestic return when Rangers face Hibs in the Scottish Premiership.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/foo ... s-32428664
LOL. Na because im sdtart game. If say im start under Peseiro, im no go make dis statement ooo!
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I dont see were he compared finidi to peseiro. The "think this is the way the Super Eagles should play" has nothing to do with the way Nigeria played under Peseiro, but more so, a reference to our historical style of play.

such poor journalism
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

How this kid in his true mind think he is a Striker beats me. This guy had few chances in last friendly against Ghana to show that he is a striker he could not. This kid plays upfront and can not execute just one simple move of dribbling? Abeg go learn how to play soccer biko... If they keep you in that team then we sure have a problem. This guy no fit. How can anyone leave Moffi for this guy? how?

He didn't diss Peseiro