If we don't qualify for the World Cup

Re: If we don't qualify for the World Cup

Lolly wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2024 10:01 am
Bell wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2024 7:14 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Apr 05, 2024 5:54 pm Some fans will blame the new coach. But I will not. The fault is squarely on the NFF and WOWO Nigerians. The sad part is they will repeat the same mistakes in 2030. We can only hope we get lucky and lucky our way into good leadership. That is our only chance because the system is setup to encourage the appointment of bad people into high positions.

SAME AS AFCON 2015 WITH KESHI, AFTER BRAZIL 2014

Keshi was riding high after Brazil 2014 and then the NFF decided to sabotage him for AFCON 2015 by keeping things uncertain until very late. Of course, advocates of foreign coaches downplay that important point that they may continue to justify their dislike for local coaches.
These excuses are just so funny. Keshi himself resigned and then changed his mind. And he was solely responsible for the poor results in our 2015 AFCON qualifying disaster.
It really is.
Keshi is now beyond criticism simply because he has passed on.
Before that, Nigerians had no problems critically assessing him, even after he won AFCON 2015.
Now everything has been whitewashed out of respect and so he can do no wrong and never did anything wrong.
Go there and be dead. :rotf:

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Apr 05, 2024 5:54 pm Some fans will blame the new coach. But I will not. The fault is squarely on the NFF and WOWO Nigerians. The sad part is they will repeat the same mistakes in 2030. We can only hope we get lucky and lucky our way into good leadership. That is our only chance because the system is setup to encourage the appointment of bad people into high positions.

Keshi was riding high after Brazil 2014 and then the NFF decided to sabotage him for AFCON 2015 by keeping things uncertain until very late. Of course, advocates of foreign coaches downplay that important point that they may continue to justify their dislike for local coaches.
Bell,

You talked about AFCON 2015 forgetting that even as Keshi was campaigning in the 2014 World Cup, they were clandestinely interviewing candidates for Keshi’s position. We can only imagine just how much emotional pressure that will put on any coach… but WOWOs don’t care about that. All they want to see is an oyibo in charge irrespective of how ill-accomplished he might be🤔❗️

These excuses are just so funny. Keshi himself resigned and then changed his mind. And he was solely responsible for the poor results in our 2015 AFCON qualifying disaster.

ALL YOU'VE SAID IS THAT KESHI RESIGNED & CAME BACK, BUT...

...you haven't refuted the fact that the NFF dithered for a long time (while other countries were planning) making it difficult to put meaningful plans in place. Merely reiterating that it's on Keshi doesn't prove it is. Resigning would tend to support the idea that he felt seriously frustrated because it takes a lot for a Nigerina coach to feel that way about the NFF.

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2024 3:02 pm

Bell,

You talked about AFCON 2015 forgetting that even as Keshi was campaigning in the 2014 World Cup, they were clandestinely interviewing candidates for Keshi’s position. We can only imagine just how much emotional pressure that will put on any coach… but WOWOs don’t care about that. All they want to see is an oyibo in charge irrespective of how ill-accomplished he might be🤔❗️

CORRECT

The NFF strung him along until they couldn't find a foreigner. The foreign coach advocates tend to ignore such facts - the disabling environment Nigerian coaches have to operate under - when making judgments about Nigerian coaches.

Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 06, 2024 12:12 pm

It really is.
Before that, Nigerians had no problems critically assessing him, even after he won AFCON 2015.
Now everything has been whitewashed out of respect and so he can do no wrong and never did anything wrong.
KESHI DOESN'T NEED ME TO BURNISH HIS ACCOMPLISHMENTS

He was as accomplished as any coach that has coached Nigeria, including Westerhof. Think of how much more he could have done if the NFF was on his side. He being a public figure, we are free to discuss his successes and failures without feeling we're disrespecting the departed.

Bell wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 1:33 am

It really is.

He was as accomplished as any coach that has coached Nigeria, including Westerhof. Think of how much more he could have done if the NFF was on his side. He being a public figure, we are free to discuss his successes and failures without feeling we're disrespecting the departed.
Bell,

In my view, what Keshi did in Nigeria even pales in comparison with what he did with Togo! Keshi was no ordinary manager. Take it to the bank. He is a LEHEND. Imagine qualifying Togo for a World Cup finals?
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 2:38 am
Bell wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 1:33 am

It really is.

Bell,

In my view, what Keshi did in Nigeria even pales in comparison with what he did with Togo! Keshi was no ordinary manager. Take it to the bank. He is a LEHEND. Imagine qualifying Togo for a World Cup finals?
The same Togo that finished last in their Afcon group ?

Togo qualifying had more to do with Senegal "shi$$ing the bed" than anything special about Keshi. Senegal took the qualifying process for granted (something Nigeria also does)

Remember Nigeria also failed to qualify that year and was replaced by Angola. Was the Angolan coach special ? Or did Nigeria simply self destruct much like Senegal?

Keshi also squandered Malis golden generation so I refuse to believe he was some kind of super coach. The data doesn't really support that. He had some highs and some lows.