White paper needed on improving Nigeria football

1. Reform in the NFF. They need cut costs and raise revenue. Also political reform. The wrong people are getting top jobs. People that don't know what they are doing.

2. Improve the local league. The league got to generate more money. Reduce the Japa movement. it is so bad there are players going to Moldova and etc to play football. We need to privatize the teams. Govt can slowly divest. Community ownership is something we should look into. May have to suspend relegation for like 10 years to allow teams to build a brand and revenue. I like the U19 league. But we need more initiatives to develop the local league. JAPA is a serious threat to Nigeria.
3. Develop local institution for referees and coaches. It is a shame that Nigeria can't have one referee at Afcon. It is a shame on our country. Also need to give coaches the best education and give them opportunities. ''
4. Develop infrastructure. I don't like the small capacity stadiums they are building in Lagos. We have got to see football or sports as a major business. The minimum should be 45K seater stadiums. They should link the rail lines and other transportation service to a new 60K seater stadium in Lagos. Gave shops and restaurants next to the stadium. Have hotels next the stadium. Have family beaches next to the stadium. Have good security.

Re: White paper needed on improving Nigeria football

The white paper was already written 10yrs ago but as usual you’re not current. Laws were adopted by the NPFL that’ll required state govt to divest from clubs but was never enforced. The even gave them to option to adopt corporate governance and get listed on the stock exchange but nobody did anything.

Talking and planning is never our problem, we’re extremely good at that. The US wants to go to Mars by 2030, I bet if you form a committee of Nigerians to get there faster they’d come up with a workable plan to put humans on Mars by 2027. Only problem is that you won’t know until launch date that the contractor awarded the contract to build the spacecraft did not and could not have built it.

Check this out.

https://www.icirnigeria.org/npfl-fails- ... %20Rangers.

‘The clubs owned by the states include Abia Warriors, Akwa United, Enyimba International, Gombe United, Heartlands FC, Kano Pillars, Katsina United, Kwara United, Bayelsa United and Enugu Rangers.

Others are Niger Tornadoes, Plateau United, Rangers International, Rivers United, Shooting Stars SC, Sunshine Stars and Bendel Insurance.”

Am not surprised that the NFF fails to enforce their rules. But we need the NASS to legislate. Change is slow when it comes to Nigeria. Some one onces told me that they would never remove fuel subsidy. Look at what happened.

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:58 pm Am not surprised that the NFF fails to enforce their rules. But we need the NASS to legislate. Change is slow when it comes to Nigeria. Some one onces told me that they would never remove fuel subsidy. Look at what happened.
The NFF does not manage the league, it’s managed by the LMC. The problem is that each one of those states has a vote on who runs the Nff so for all intents and purposes, the teams via the states have a huge say in what happens in the Nff. They’re not going to regulate themselves out and the standards will never improve as long as states that can’t even pay salaries own teams.

It’ll be a bad investment for the private sector to jump into. Just good ol Nigerian cronyism and padi padi govt. We will never be able to stop the Japa movement as long as the status quo remains because playing for state owned teams is like woking at state govt headquarters. Who aspires to do that anymore? So yes, Moldova is a better option.

The main reason we have all these complaints about our football is because,
like every of our institutions, the primary objective of those running the system
is self enrichment. When we can get officials that have little or no interest about
personal financial gains on the job, that's when their main objective would be about
leading the federation to victories, and thus pursuing those objective in earnest.
The objectives are clear, but self interests are derailing things coaches and players selections.

joao wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:59 pm The main reason we have all these complaints about our football is because,
like every of our institutions, the primary objective of those running the system
is self enrichment. When we can get officials that have little or no interest about
personal financial gains on the job, that's when their main objective would be about
leading the federation to victories, and thus pursuing those objective in earnest.
The objectives are clear, but self interests are derailing things coaches and players selections.
As long as the Nff board Chaiman is elected by state govt appointees we will rotate failure like we rotate poverty at the Presidential level. In reality, our football is controlled by state govs. Ideally, the current structure of the Nff should be dismantled and a new organization managed by football professionals should be created. Until then we will perennially be a 2nd rd and out WC team and win Afcon every 10-20yrs.

Nigerians are waiting for someone else to fix their own issues, always complaining , writing grammar on the internet, but waiting for someone else to fix it. Just look at them posting away on a fan forum, instead of going to fix issues they are ranting and punishing social media with rants . Lazy folks all over . You people are no different from those yall complain about

Not all bad news though. I'm seeing some improvements in the league. The pitches are better - although artificial. The privately owned Remo Stars has been a great model for others to follow. I see others - especially in the South East soon replicating and perfecting this model. The Referees Association has finally also woken up to its duties. They've raised the standards and have started to dismiss the rogues amongst them. Better late than never. I see a Nigerian referee being selected for continental games in the next few years. Na small small.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 3:27 pm
ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:58 pm Am not surprised that the NFF fails to enforce their rules. But we need the NASS to legislate. Change is slow when it comes to Nigeria. Some one onces told me that they would never remove fuel subsidy. Look at what happened.
The NFF does not manage the league, it’s managed by the LMC. The problem is that each one of those states has a vote on who runs the Nff so for all intents and purposes, the teams via the states have a huge say in what happens in the Nff. They’re not going to regulate themselves out and the standards will never improve as long as states that can’t even pay salaries own teams.

It’ll be a bad investment for the private sector to jump into. Just good ol Nigerian cronyism and padi padi govt. We will never be able to stop the Japa movement as long as the status quo remains because playing for state owned teams is like woking at state govt headquarters. Who aspires to do that anymore? So yes, Moldova is a better option.
The LMC is an organization governed by the NFF. The LMC must do what the NFF mandates them to do.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:42 pm Nigerians are waiting for someone else to fix their own issues, always complaining , writing grammar on the internet, but waiting for someone else to fix it. Just look at them posting away on a fan forum, instead of going to fix issues they are ranting and punishing social media with rants . Lazy folks all over . You people are no different from those yall complain about
Ok
What are you doing about it?

greg wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 9:00 pm Not all bad news though. I'm seeing some improvements in the league. The pitches are better - although artificial. The privately owned Remo Stars has been a great model for others to follow. I see others - especially in the South East soon replicating and perfecting this model. The Referees Association has finally also woken up to its duties. They've raised the standards and have started to dismiss the rogues amongst them. Better late than never. I see a Nigerian referee being selected for continental games in the next few years. Na small small.
There still a lot of bad officiating. I think it will get to the point of VAR.

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 9:53 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 8:42 pm Nigerians are waiting for someone else to fix their own issues, always complaining , writing grammar on the internet, but waiting for someone else to fix it. Just look at them posting away on a fan forum, instead of going to fix issues they are ranting and punishing social media with rants . Lazy folks all over . You people are no different from those yall complain about
Ok
What are you doing about it?
i am not delusional like you lots , ranting whining , crying left and right over and over and over and over with the same noise yall have been crying about since ojukokoro ... till dis day, none of you have don jack, waiting for who to fix yalls issues ? siddon there and do not get real, yall are ranting to CE and CE members . It is easy to whine , rant complain , but carry your portmantua go fix the wahala, for where, nah to siddon to wait for somebody else to fix am eh.

yall are just a waste of space and pretty much empty vessels ... as they say they make the most noise

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:37 am 1. Reform in the NFF. They need cut costs and raise revenue. Also political reform. The wrong people are getting top jobs. People that don't know what they are doing.

2. Improve the local league. The league got to generate more money. Reduce the Japa movement. it is so bad there are players going to Moldova and etc to play football. We need to privatize the teams. Govt can slowly divest. Community ownership is something we should look into. May have to suspend relegation for like 10 years to allow teams to build a brand and revenue. I like the U19 league. But we need more initiatives to develop the local league. JAPA is a serious threat to Nigeria.
3. Develop local institution for referees and coaches. It is a shame that Nigeria can't have one referee at Afcon. It is a shame on our country. Also need to give coaches the best education and give them opportunities. ''
4. Develop infrastructure. I don't like the small capacity stadiums they are building in Lagos. We have got to see football or sports as a major business. The minimum should be 45K seater stadiums. They should link the rail lines and other transportation service to a new 60K seater stadium in Lagos. Gave shops and restaurants next to the stadium. Have hotels next the stadium. Have family beaches next to the stadium. Have good security.
NOT JUST FOOTBALL - ALL SPORTS

I made such a proposal here a few years ago but I called it "adopting a constantly evolving sports philosophy" to overhaul the way sports are handled in the country. That I think is best initiated by the ministry of sports but involving the major stakeholders.

Building 45-60K capacity stadiums 🏟 costs serious money and is not a very good idea in a country with a history of massive corruption in construction contracts, white elephant projects, and without a culture of fans traveling long distances for away matches.

wiseone wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 4:22 am Building 45-60K capacity stadiums 🏟 costs serious money and is not a very good idea in a country with a history of massive corruption in construction contracts, white elephant projects, and without a culture of fans traveling long distances for away matches.

You are right, might not be a great idea today. But things can change, Remember they originally tried to do a rail network in Lagos and decided not to do it in the 80's. The same project now costs Lagos 10 times the cost to do it. Building 45 to 60 K ultra modern stadium is a long term investment. Work on the maintenance culture. Lease out the stadium to private investors. Get business men like Danogte and etc to invest in a local football team. Have concerts and etc.

Right now they are building new 10K seater stadiums for a population of over 20 million in Lagos. How does that make sense. The biggest functional stadium in Lagos is 25K seater. Even Akwa Ibom have a bigger stadium. Makes no sense commercially.

In your Lagos example, can the Surulere national stadium be repurposed and become the home for a Lagos football team(s)?

Dangote is not likely to invest in a local football team (although his predecessors such as MKO Abiola and Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu did it) because the Nigerian league does not generate enough revenue for it to be a viable investment. It does not have a big broadcast deal like the Premier League, fans do not travel to the other side of the country to watch a football match like away fans do in England, and young kids are more likely to wear a Chelsea or Real Madrid replica shirt 👕 than a Kano Pillars or Lobi Stars shirt.
ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 5:21 am
You are right, might not be a great idea today. But things can change, Remember they originally tried to do a rail network in Lagos and decided not to do it in the 80's. The same project now costs Lagos 10 times the cost to do it. Building 45 to 60 K ultra modern stadium is a long term investment. Work on the maintenance culture. Lease out the stadium to private investors. Get business men like Danogte and etc to invest in a local football team. Have concerts and etc.

Right now they are building new 10K seater stadiums for a population of over 20 million in Lagos. How does that make sense. The biggest functional stadium in Lagos is 25K seater. Even Akwa Ibom have a bigger stadium. Makes no sense commercially.
Last edited by wiseone on Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

wiseone wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 6:18 am In your Lagos example, can the Surelere national stadium be repurposed and become the home for a Lagos football team(s)?.

Dangote is not likely to invest in a local football team (although his predecessors such as MKO Abiola and Emmanuel Iwuanyanwu did it) because the Nigerian league does not generate enough revenue for it to be a viable investment. It does not have a big broadcast deal like the Premier League, fans do not travel to the other side of the country to watch a football match like away fans do in England, and young kids are more likely to wear a Chelsea or Real Madrid replica shirt 👕 than a Kano Pillars or Lobi Stars shirt.
ohenhen1 wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 5:21 am

Nigeria is not a viable football market yet due to some major infrastructural and commercial challenges. The West African market is a much more attractive market as a whole for investors to invest in teams that could play in a 12 team WA Super League. Lagos, Accra, Abijan, Yaoundé, Dakar and Conakry could all represented and you’d have a lot of derby type games. I think it’s very doable.

The infrastructure is not only for football. You will have concerts, conventions and etc.

Babadee

Post by Babadee »

ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Mar 29, 2024 2:37 am 1. Reform in the NFF. They need cut costs and raise revenue. Also political reform. The wrong people are getting top jobs. People that don't know what they are doing.

Let them focus on making a CHAN team from the football pyramid that can beat Super Eagles.

We are not generating enough attacking midfielders any more or they are not been utilized.

They should have regional football centers where the best young talent can meet up and train.

Lastly the NFF should be a coaching hub with a printed mandatory coaching course for local coaches. They can copy South American or Brazil FA in this

So before you can coach you will have to pass NFF coaching course.
Agbako

Post by Agbako »

All good ideas. Emir kogi thanks for digging out that piece on already planned move from 2015 not implemented yet. But from the article Davidson Owumi said implementation will start gradually from this year 2024/2025. So kudos to them.

Now the Super League suggested is a very good idea. But you dont need NFF to put that together. NFF will be an invitee.
I will not use a brash language to brush all like some have done here by accusing most of just loud mouth with no actions.

Why cant few here set up a private Org to plan this tournament of the West African Region? and invite the Nations clubs to participate? I am waiting for your answers. When the various competitions were organized in various parts of the world its not by govt its by private entities who realizes the financial windfall in such competitions...Shikennnaa....