Domenec Torent -New SE coach?

https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/04/01/g ... agles-job/

https://bsnsports.com.ng/post/Ex-Man-Ci ... -Job-If---

Ex-Man City, Bayern Munich Coach, Domenec Torrent Primed Favourite For Super Eagles Job If...

A former assistant to Manchester City boss, Pep Guardiola, who applied for the Super Eagles coaching role, Domenec Torrent has been primed to be announced as the new gaffer if the Nigeria Football Federation Technical Committee settles for foreign coach as manager of Super Eagles, BSNSports.com.ng reports.

An NFF insider, who spoke on condition of anonymity revealed that the rich Curriculum Vitae of Torrent made him stand out as a choice for the Super Eagles job if they dump the choice of making the home based the Head Coach.
Re: Domenec Torent -New SE coach?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 12:32 pm https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/04/01/g ... agles-job/

Ex-Man City, Bayern Munich Coach, Domenec Torrent Primed Favourite For Super Eagles Job If...

A former assistant to Manchester City boss, Pep Guardiola, who applied for the Super Eagles coaching role, Domenec Torrent has been primed to be announced as the new gaffer if the Nigeria Football Federation Technical Committee settles for foreign coach as manager of Super Eagles, BSNSports.com.ng reports.

An NFF insider, who spoke on condition of anonymity revealed that the rich Curriculum Vitae of Torrent made him stand out as a choice for the Super Eagles job if they dump the choice of making the home based the Head Coach.
That would be most unfortunate🤔❗️

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 12:32 pm https://owngoalnigeria.com/2024/04/01/g ... agles-job/

That would be most unfortunate🤔❗️

Hmmm.

A quick google check reveals he would be a bad choice. He has failed in his recent head coach positions - New York City, Flamengo and Galatasaray. He didn’t last more than 6 months in his last two jobs before he was sacked.

He’s had a good career as number 2 working with Guardiola but obviously not a successful career as the number 1 in all the clubs he has managed.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 1:24 pm Hmmm.

A quick google check reveals he would be a bad choice. He has failed in his recent head coach positions - New York City, Flamengo and Galatasaray. He didn’t last more than 6 months in his last two jobs before he was sacked.

He’s had a good career as number 2 working with Guardiola but obviously not a successful career as the number 1 in all the clubs he has managed.
Seems like we are always impressed by names I.e. Peseiro’s connections with Mourinho and now Torent’s relationship with Guardiola

If this is true. This tells me the NFF themselves are not interested in qualifying for the WC or football development. They are more interested in other things. They are leaking stories like the former coach didn't have problem with Sadiq but had problems with Osimhen. Also that the NFF told players they will have a new coach in April. I wish the best. I hope we qualify. But I am not going to let my blood pressure go high for the team.

If I were Finidi I would resign. Look for work in another African country. Does the new expat law apply to the NFF? Or does it only apply for foreign owned companies?

Neither Conceciao or Torent have the right CV or pedigree and they’re both in their 60s.
At this stage, a fully supported Finidi, is a better option

Dammy wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 2:42 pm Neither Conceciao or Torent have the right CV or pedigree and they’re both in their 60s.
You are right bro. The NFF have their own agenda and it is not about getting the right coach. Unless they don’t do their own due diligence and just go by name and association.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

The levy was $15,000 for each director and $10,000 for workers. Apparently Tinubu paused the levy on March 9th. They need to unpause it,

Next

Post by Next »

Today is April 1st!! Just think about that, guys!!🤔
TERRORISM is the WAR of the POOR while WAR is the TERRORISM of the RICH!

The Best Quotes For Me So Far: "I was born here but brought up as an African. When you reach adulthood you either feel African or you don't, and it's not worth playing if you don't have that feeling." Efan Ekoku

Change is slow in Nigeria. Eventually the change will happen in Nigeria, Nigeria coaches are technically competent. Suppoer them. Even if one fails. Hire another and support them. If they hire Torrent. I will support the team even if I think it is a bad idea. I wish the team well and hope we qualify. Again I will not let them raise my blood pressure. If I were the NFF I would

1. Improve the local league
2. Improve officiating
3. Improve infrastructure and playing surface
4. Hire Finidi George, give him a contract until after the World cup. Hire new Gk trainer, set piece specialist, team coach and physical trainer. Would even change the team doctor that misdiagnosed Sadiq at Afcon.
5. Generate more revenue. Mange resources better,

Next wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 4:14 pm Today is April 1st!! Just think about that, guys!!🤔
The rumors have been circulating for over about 2 weeks.

Dammy wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 2:42 pm Neither Conceciao or Torent have the right CV or pedigree and they’re both in their 60s.
The worst thing that can happen to SE, is for us to hire a manager who intends to destroy the foundation of the silver winning team, and NOT CHOOSE PLAYERS BASED ON MERIT.

That is what Finidi intends to do, so in no way can he be a better option.

A foreign coach will not do such a thing.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 5:12 pm
The worst thing that can happen to SE, is for us to hire a manager who intends to destroy the foundation of the silver winning team, and NOT CHOOSE PLAYERS BASED ON MERIT.

That is what Finidi intends to do, so in no way can he be a better option.

A foreign coach will not do such a thing.
Finidi kept the team intact with some tweaks to tactics to produce better offense but he made a blunder by benching Simon and Lookman .

8 years without Nigeria at the World Cup,oh well.

Eaglezbeak wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 5:37 pm 8 years without Nigeria at the World Cup,oh well.
It happens! It’s been 10 yrs for Italy. If they miss the next one it’ll be a 16yrs absence by 2030 WC if they qualify.if they don’t it’ll be 20yrs. 8yrs is Nattin.
:woot:

Civ, Algeria 8 years.. so nothing spoil. Egypt no. Abeg make we hear word. Italy has 4 wcps.. life goes on

kendo

Post by kendo »

Many random names popping up, being tipped to be the next SE coach lol

I imagine Harry Rednap's name will pop up next 😅
Anyone that can fry 3 sets of plantain without putting any in their mouth can keep a secret.

Whatever they decide to do they should hurry up and do it because time is of the essence. We haven’t had a permanent coach in 3 months and the WCQ games are coming up in 60 days. Those who fail to prepare are preparing to fail. SA played Afcon and 2 friendlies with the same coach. Our crucial WC game against them will be our next game and the first game for the next permanent coach if we have one by then. One of the 2 teams is already ahead preparing to succeed. I think you know which team that is.

He loves possession football ✔️
He will definitely fancy ball playing midfielders ✔️
His football philosophy focuses on attacking football ✔️

Hire this man NFF and let him get to work.

Tobi17 wrote: Mon Apr 01, 2024 9:28 pm He loves possession football ✔️
He will definitely fancy ball playing midfielders ✔️
His football philosophy focuses on attacking football ✔️

Hire this man NFF and let him get to work.
Yes o. No more calling 3 midfielders per match. No more calling up players from Tanzania, Somalia and Djibooty anymore, No more benching bundesliga champions like Tella on the bench. Finidi gats to go.
Last edited by bret- hart on Mon Apr 01, 2024 9:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.

So from Rohr to Peseiro and now Torrent. Nigeria don suffer. Anyways I wish them luck. I will support Nigeria through and through even I don't agree with the direction. Change is slow, but eventually it will happen. I think Finidi is best person for the job at this time. Support him. We do need to revamp the team. The team is getting older and there is a lot of injuries. Ekong is out. S Moses is also out. Ndidi didn't look good against Mali. Sanusi is also out injured. We lack depth. So why should any coach keep the same team. Doesn't matter who they hire. The next coach will have to make changes.