Okoye vs Inter

Re: Okoye vs Inter

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 10:58 am
Damunk wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 10:54 am
Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 10:45 am Come on guys , one goalie took us to the Afcon final, the other took us to the rd of 16. One took his chances right away, the other had so many chances, one is ready for the SE today, the other wants no business with the SE right now, and said he is focused on club football

Una dey here dey force what again
But Akpeyi took us to the AFCON Bronze (only one position behind Nwabili’s silver), but they totally vilified the guy for the semi-final loss to a last second, world class goal by Algeria’s Mahrez.
So there’s really very little objectivity in these things.
It’s too sentimental.
Why did Okoye reject the SE before the Afcon and state he is focused on club football

Nwabali is number one for Nigeria. Okoye will need to work very hard to displace him

Dammy wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 11:28 am Nwabali is number one for Nigeria. Okoye will need to work very hard to displace him
Some people disagree because he does not play in Europe.

wanaj0 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 2:59 pm
Dammy wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 11:28 am Nwabali is number one for Nigeria. Okoye will need to work very hard to displace him
If the quality of the league a goalie plays in and the teams he faces every week doesn’t matter, then why have a standard at all? We have a goalie in Ibadan who plays for the Bodija all star team and he’s only 27yrs old. Why should Nwabali be rated ahead of him?

leave them, they are delusional, Okoye is not close to Nwabali be it talent, mental strength or skills . The gap is huge, Okoye and Uzoho are the goalies that sent us backwards, it was so bad until a breath of fresh air Nwabali came to show the level and standards we were used to from the past

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 3:33 pm
If the quality of the league a goalie plays in and the teams he faces every week doesn’t matter, then why have a standard at all? We have a goalie in Ibadan who plays for the Bodija all star team and he’s only 27yrs old. Why should Nwabali be rated ahead of him?
Na quality of club we go chop or what they actually do when they put on the NT jersey? We are acting like Okoye wasn’t starting in the Dutch league when he was flapping and floundering for SE…Nwabali is a don abeg, the way he took on the ANC pressure is really something to marvel at!

maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 3:52 pm

Na quality of club we go chop or what they actually do when they put on the NT jersey
? We are acting like Okoye wasn’t starting in the Dutch league when he was flapping and floundering for SE…Nwabali is a don abeg, the way he took on the ANC pressure is really something to marvel at!
Absolutely! If you have any plans of competing at the highest level,the need for top quality talent is extremely important. There's not a country in the world that has a goalie playing regularly in a Top league that chooses another playing in a much lower rated league regardless of how they feel about the goalie in a lower league.

However, if all you want is to beat Rwandan and SA, qualify for the WC and come back after the 1st rd, then yes, it doesn't really matter where they play. SA, Loas or China, e no blow matter.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 5:01 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 3:52 pm

Na quality of club we go chop or what they actually do when they put on the NT jersey
? We are acting like Okoye wasn’t starting in the Dutch league when he was flapping and floundering for SE…Nwabali is a don abeg, the way he took on the ANC pressure is really something to marvel at!
Absolutely! If you have any plans of competing at the highest level,the need for top quality talent is extremely important. There's not a country in the world that has a goalie playing regularly in a Top league that chooses another playing in a much lower rated league regardless of how they feel about the goalie in a lower league.

However, if all you want is to beat Rwandan and SA, qualify for the WC and come back after the 1st rd, then yes, it doesn't really matter where they play. SA, Loas or China, e no blow matter.
I’m not sure what you mean but we went to ANC final not just with but because of Nwabali, we were losing to the likes of Cape Verde abi kini and crashed out of ANC in round of 16 because of Okoye…like what are you even saying?

Mu guy, when you start waxing queens inkrish like this, we know sey you wan sell us London bridge lol

Damunk wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 6:59 am
Lolly wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 1:08 am
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 9:16 pm
azuka wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 9:11 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 8:39 pm Haaaaa…Okoye gives away a pk.
1-1
Yes he miscalculated. But he made so many great saves. Even the commentator agreed he makes the right decision. I think he's more to compete for SE #1 jersey with Nwabali than the Freiburg goalie.
Nwabali is the sentimental No 1 but everybody knows Oloye should be No 1.
Foul. Error. Iro.

Nwabali is a better goalkeeper and should remain our number 1.
On what basis can anyone say that?
Be honest, in how many games have you watched Nwabali? 10? 15?
Kongi is right.
Nwabali is the sentimental no 1 and may I add, the politically correct no 1.
He is good, no doubt. But he hasn’t been allowed to make his mistakes which will inevitably come. I just hope they don’t give him the Okoye treatment.

Anyone that isn’t mightily impressed by Okoye’s performance at Udinense doesn’t want to be impressed.
The argument on how he performs for the SE sounds good but isn’t really as strong as it sounds.
He’s a keeper, not an outfield player.
He just has to save goals and distribute to his teammates. Finish.

If he performs at club level, he’ll perform at national level.
Anything else is psychological.
Not ability and not inter-player cohesion.
Nwabali is number 1 based on his SE exploits. What is sentimental or politically correct about that? Okoye is a strong number 2 and it is a plus for us.

aruako1 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 6:20 pm
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 08, 2024 8:39 pm Haaaaa…Okoye gives away a pk.
1-1
Yes he miscalculated. But he made so many great saves. Even the commentator agreed he makes the right decision. I think he's more to compete for SE #1 jersey with Nwabali than the Freiburg goalie.
Foul. Error. Iro.

Kongi is right.
He is good, no doubt. But he hasn’t been allowed to make his mistakes which will inevitably come. I just hope they don’t give him the Okoye treatment.

Anyone that isn’t mightily impressed by Okoye’s performance at Udinense doesn’t want to be impressed.
The argument on how he performs for the SE sounds good but isn’t really as strong as it sounds.

Nwabali is number 1 based on his SE exploits. What is sentimental or politically correct about that? Okoye is a strong number 2 and it is a plus for us.
Isn’t this obvious? SE GKs should be judged on what they do for SE, I could care less what you do at your club if it doesn’t translate to the SE, then you are clearly not the one for the job, until you show otherwise…Okoye has to be called, and should fight out for that no. 1 position, but to say it must be his based on club play is not right…and very disrespectful to Nwabali and his exploits saving the SE…

maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 6:57 pm
1-1
Foul. Error. Iro.

Kongi is right.

Isn’t this obvious? SE GKs should be judged on what they do for SE, I could care less what you do at your club if it doesn’t translate to the SE, then you are clearly not the one for the job, until you show otherwise…Okoye has to be called, and should fight out for that no. 1 position, but to say it must be his based on club play is not right…and very disrespectful to Nwabali and his exploits saving the SE…
So how does a goalie who's constantly chopping goals at his club make SE if club form doesn't matter? These a professional players, their club form is the most important requirement in earning an invite to SE. If that doesn't matter then what does? BTW, if you have good standards there's not much of a need to fight for shirts.
Though both goalies are very good, okoye level of performance at a higher level makes him the obvious No 1.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 7:08 pm

Foul. Error. Iro.

Kongi is right.

So how does a goalie who's constantly chopping goals at his club make SE if club form doesn't matter? These a professional players, their club form is the most important requirement in earning an invite to SE. If that doesn't matter then what does? BTW, if you have good standards there's not much of a need to fight for shirts.
Though both goalies are very good, okoye level of performance at a higher level makes him the obvious No 1.
Club form gets you invited to the team, and both have been playing well for their respective clubs and so deserve their respective call ups? Now once you get to camp then what you do in training for the SE and in actual SE games will determine who starts and plays the position.

What’s annoying is you guys are not saying they should duke it out for number one, you in all your wowo-ness is already dashing Okoye the number 1 jersey which is ridiculous given their respective play for the SE…One is a man mountain the other is a small scared boy when it comes to SE…abeg stop insulting Nwabali!

maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 7:57 pm

Foul. Error. Iro.

Kongi is right.

Club form gets you invited to the team, and both have been playing well for their respective clubs and so deserve their respective call ups? Now once you get to camp then what you do in training for the SE and in actual SE games will determine who starts and plays the position.

What’s annoying is you guys are not saying they should duke it out for number one, you in all your wowo-ness is already dashing Okoye the number 1 jersey which is ridiculous given their respective play for the SE…One is a man mountain the other is a small scared boy when it comes to SE…abeg stop insulting Nwabali!
I'm not insulting Nwabali, I believe he's as good as Okoye. All I'm saying is that the standard for players should be raised so that the most vetted players, those who perform weekly at the highest level should play ahead of equally talented players in lower quality leagues except when injuries are a factor.

Gk based on talent and league quality.
1, Okoye
2, Nwabali
3, Okonkwo
4, Uzoho

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 8:29 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 7:57 pm

Foul. Error. Iro.

Kongi is right.

I'm not insulting Nwabali, I believe he's as good as Okoye. All I'm saying is that the standard for players should be raised so that the most vetted players, those who perform weekly at the highest level should play ahead of equally talented players in lower quality leagues except when injuries are a factor.

Gk based on talent and league quality.
1, Okoye
2, Nwabali
3, Okonkwo
4, Uzoho
But if the ones playing in ‘lower’ quality leagues are doing better for SE, doesn’t that tell you something? Footie is not 1+1 = 2, it’s not that straight forward or simplistic. If Nwabalis SE form starts dropping then you start looking at other options, but Nwabali has the number 1 jersey and there is absolutely no need to change it till further notice…Let Okoye come to push him as iron sharpens iron and if he can beat him out fine, but not because of his club, rather what he does in SE camp and SE matches…

maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 8:42 pm But if the ones playing in ‘lower’ quality leagues are doing better for SE, doesn’t that tell you something? Footie is not 1+1 = 2, it’s not that straight forward or simplistic. If Nwabalis SE form starts dropping then you start looking at other options, but Nwabali has the number 1 jersey and there is absolutely no need to change it till further notice…Let Okoye come to push him as iron sharpens iron and if he can beat him out fine, but not because of his club, rather what he does in SE camp and SE matches…
This makes no sense, unless of course you have the best keeper in the world.
Nwabali and Okoye have never gone head-to-head and so you can’t say “there’s no reason to change until further notice”. Nwabali’s form (Or Okoye’s for that matter) doesn’t have to “drop” like you say for the other to be considered.

You’ve seen Nwabali in only 8 SE games (and Okoye in double that) and you are already acting like it’s a dead cert that he is undroppable. Meanwhile, we all know it only takes one or two clangers and our fickle fans will drop him like hot amala balls.

The belief by those saying the difference in quality is massive don’t know what they are talking about and those of you not saying such a ridiculous thing are letting it ride like say there’s any basis to it whatsoever. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

We’ll see. I love Nwabili -esp his humility and his spirit, but that’s just sentiment.
He hasn’t really gone through the ringer, thanks in part to the superb defence he had in front of him at AFCON.

The pretty ‘white’ boy that Rohr and Pinnick found has more than his fair share of work cut out.

Damunk wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 11:43 pm
maceo4 wrote: Tue Apr 09, 2024 8:42 pm But if the ones playing in ‘lower’ quality leagues are doing better for SE, doesn’t that tell you something? Footie is not 1+1 = 2, it’s not that straight forward or simplistic. If Nwabalis SE form starts dropping then you start looking at other options, but Nwabali has the number 1 jersey and there is absolutely no need to change it till further notice…Let Okoye come to push him as iron sharpens iron and if he can beat him out fine, but not because of his club, rather what he does in SE camp and SE matches…
Nwabali and Okoye have never gone head-to-head and so you can’t say “there’s no reason to change until further notice”. Nwabali’s form (Or Okoye’s for that matter) doesn’t have to “drop” like you say for the other to be considered.

You’ve seen Nwabali in only 8 SE games (and Okoye in double that) and you are already acting like it’s a dead cert that he is undroppable. Meanwhile, we all know it only takes one or two clangers and our fickle fans will drop him like hot amala balls.

The belief by those saying the difference in quality is massive don’t know what they are talking about and those of you not saying such a ridiculous thing are letting it ride like say there’s any basis to it whatsoever. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

We’ll see. I love Nwabili -esp his humility and his spirit, but that’s just sentiment.
He hasn’t really gone through the ringer, thanks in part to the superb defence he had in front of him at AFCON.

The pretty ‘white’ boy that Rohr and Pinnick found has more than his fair share of work cut out.
He’s the number one until another keeper beats him out to it. That much is clear, just like Uzoho was the number one until Nwabali beat him to it in camp. I already said invite Okoye and let them duke it out in camp so majority of your writing is much ado about nothing.

You guys just want to give Okoye the number when he hasn’t earned it in SE colors. Nwabali showed his usefulness to the team and earned his number 1 spot whether you like it or not, he save our defense many many times at the AFCON including PKs against SA. So stop with the rhetoric of it was the defense and Nwabali was on holiday. When Okoye at the previous AFCON faced literally less than 5 shots the whole tournament, look up how many Nwabali saved against CIV alone in the final. Abeg make we hear word Jo…

maceo4 wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 1:01 am

He’s the number one until another keeper beats him out to it. That much is clear, just like Uzoho was the number one until Nwabali beat him to it in camp. I already said invite Okoye and let them duke it out in camp so majority of your writing is much ado about nothing.

You guys just want to give Okoye the number when he hasn’t earned it in SE colors. Nwabali showed his usefulness to the team and earned his number 1 spot whether you like it or not, he save our defense many many times at the AFCON including PKs against SA. So stop with the rhetoric of it was the defense and Nwabali was on holiday. When Okoye at the previous AFCON faced literally less than 5 shots the whole tournament, look up how many Nwabali saved against CIV alone in the final. Abeg make we hear word Jo…
Imagine a GK having his baptism in an ANC tournament! What else is there for him to prove? Imagine the pressure. The same Okoye was fast tracked into the SE. Invited for the last ANC and turned us down. Yet we want to crown him and replace the one who saved us at the ANC! What a way to reward loyalty and good performance.

All of you are running with a false premise.
The debate here is the sweeping statement that “Nwabali is better than Okoye”.
No one can say that. It’s ridiculous, as is the reverse, “Okoye is better than Nwabali”. :roll:

Only Kongi has carried it further by suggesting Okoye should just walk into the no1 spot without a proper assessment. That’s his personal opinion.
But it is a fact that he is playing in a superior league and excelling there. Seems some of you are very happy to dismiss that for personal reasons and you all need to ask yourselves why.

Una too like to find one gotya misspeak by one person and then run with it as if it carries the weight of contrary opinion. That is not what I am saying, or the others praising Okoye.

Personally, I believe that in a fair fight Okoye will reclaim his number 1 spot eventually and anyone that has a problem with that should go file a petition to FIFA.

Right now, Nwabali has earned his position. We are suddenly blessed with at least two top class keepers but I am aware Nwabali has only played eight games and has benefitted from a superb defence.
That is a good thing and is not in doubt.
pindal123

Post by pindal123 »

I think most people is deceived by Okoye's performance.
He makes some very spectacular saves but he is discontinuous and especially he is poor in exits.

wanaj0 wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 8:35 am
maceo4 wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 1:01 am

Imagine a GK having his baptism in an ANC tournament! What else is there for him to prove? Imagine the pressure. The same Okoye was fast tracked into the SE. Invited for the last ANC and turned us down.
So he is now untouchable?
He has done exceptionally well and in your opinion, is anyone actually contesting that?
So am I right in concluding that the SE goalkeeping position is now closed?

Kindly clarify exactly what your point is, because you are simply stating the obvious.

Yet we want to crown him and replace the one who saved us at the ANC!. What a way to reward loyalty and good performance

The rest of this your post is pure sentiment.
It’s like you are saying that regardless, his spot is cemented “until further notice” because he did us a favour and ‘saved us’. Please, what is his job description? :taunt:

Thank God you’re not the SE coach. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

pindal123 wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 9:36 am I think most people is deceived by Okoye's performance.
He makes some very spectacular saves but he is discontinuous and especially he is poor in exits.
Stand up from your armchair in front of your TV and go tell that to his various coaches and his fellow professional footballers across Europe. :taunt:

Damunk wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 9:31 am All of you are running with a false premise.
No one can say that. It’s ridiculous, as is the reverse, “Okoye is better than Nwabali”. :roll:

Only Kongi has carried it further by suggesting Okoye should just walk into the no1 spot without a proper assessment. That’s his personal opinion.
But it is a fact that he is playing in a superior league and excelling there. Seems some of you are very happy to dismiss that for personal reasons and you all need to ask yourselves why.

Una too like to find one gotya misspeak by one person and then run with it as if it carries the weight of contrary opinion. That is not what I am saying, or the others praising Okoye.

Personally, I believe that in a fair fight Okoye will reclaim his number 1 spot eventually and anyone that has a problem with that should go file a petition to FIFA.

Right now, Nwabali has earned his position. We are suddenly blessed with at least two top class keepers but I am aware Nwabali has only played eight games and has benefitted from a superb defence.
Superb defence, underplaying Nwabali exploits.

Okoye, also benefitted from superb defence, didn't he and what was the result?

fabio wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 10:12 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Apr 10, 2024 9:31 am All of you are running with a false premise.

Superb defence, underplaying Nwabali exploits.

Okoye, also benefitted from superb defence, didn't he and what was the result?
Selective reading.
Try again.