AMUNIKE - NEW SE COACH

Re: AMUNIKE - NEW SE COACH

vancity eagle wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 8:17 pm
aruako1 wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:31 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:23 pm And if it must be a Nigerian coach at all costs.

Why not the very best Nigerian coach, and not a jobless failure who is waiting for handouts.

Nepotism always has to play a part in these matters.
Do you know the meaning of nepotism? Or is it your fancy word for the day?
The unjust favoritism (giving of jobs or positions) to family or relatives.

In this sense the family is those with connections.

Nepotism is perfect to describe the situation.

But keep your head in the sand.
"Family or relatives" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: . When you are in a pit, stop digging

It's trending on Facebook that Amunike has been formally confirmed as the new coach.

Damunk wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 7:00 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:23 pm And if it must be a Nigerian coach at all costs.

Why not the very best Nigerian coach, and not a jobless failure who is waiting for handouts.

Truth be told, we have very quickly run through the very best - or let’s just say the “most accomplished” - Nigerian coaches: Eguavon (discredited), Finidi (discredited), Amuneke…. good luck! I no envy you.
Uhm, who remain?

It’s not very reassuring and we are scraping the bottom of the barrel here.
But we must show we are a proud and achieving black nation by not hiring anyone other than our own colour.
Who are we doing? :rotf:

Notice you hear very little about our coaches hanging around for ‘govt work’ and lacking that true Nigerian desire for self-improvement.
Notice there is also a loud silence on the CVs of our ‘very best’ and the fact that they cannot even compete with the ‘journeyman’ CVs of ‘the’ White Man.

Which of our ‘very best’ can place their CVs side-by-side with Keshi’s when he applied for the SE job 12 years ago?
Keshi had his major flaws, but he was a pioneer. Probably one of the first to leave Naija and play outside our shores in CIV. Then on to France.
Very much like the English, our sit-at-home coaches are not even being courted by the so-called ‘minnows’ of African football. Not their nations, not their clubs.

So let’s expect miracles and continue to make excuses for our coaches.
Just like we make excuses for our referees.

Allow the WOWOORs to have fun pointing at imaginary WOWOs left and right. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
This may not end well and trust me, many of us will not be laughing.
BUT Amuneke left Nigeria to coach Tanzania and qualified them for AFCON after many years in the wilderness.
Secondly, the other African Countries (including the minnows) are likely not different from the WOWOs of Nigeria.

Even coaches from Egypt are not sought after. It is obvious it is not only about what they can do.

damunk lives in a bubble, how many African coaches are coaching overseas ? in fact how many black coaches are coaching in the EPL, Bundesliga, La liga, Seria A etc? why stop at Nigerian coaches

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 2:49 pm damunk lives in a bubble, how many African coaches are coaching overseas ? in fact how many black coaches are coaching in the EPL, Bundesliga, La liga, Seria A etc? why stop at Nigerian coaches
Excuses. Excuses. Excuses.
Once upon a time people like you would have wailed ‘Oh! How many Nigerian professionals will ever get jobs abroad? How many doctors/bankers/IT experts/lawyers will Oyibo (‘the White Man’) give jobs in their own country?’

Read what I wrote.
I actually emphasised Africa.
I emphasised “a (short) string of NPFL successes” in Nigeria.
Trust me, I’m under no illusions that ‘the’ White Man will jump at Nigerian coaches in our present state.

But I am also under no illusions that Nigerian coaches can be in global demand if only they apply themselves and push like almost every other type of Nigerian professional that are forcing themselves into global reckoning by doing the hard work against all odds.

That’s what you guys are refusing to insist on and are for ever making excuses for.

Gerrit now?
Let’s not argue on that because deep down you know it’s true.

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 2:38 pm

Truth be told, we have very quickly run through the very best - or let’s just say the “most accomplished” - Nigerian coaches: Eguavon (discredited), Finidi (discredited), Amuneke…. good luck! I no envy you.
Uhm, who remain?

But we must show we are a proud and achieving black nation by not hiring anyone other than our own colour.

Notice you hear very little about our coaches hanging around for ‘govt work’ and lacking that true Nigerian desire for self-improvement.
Notice there is also a loud silence on the CVs of our ‘very best’ and the fact that they cannot even compete with the ‘journeyman’ CVs of ‘the’ White Man.

Which of our ‘very best’ can place their CVs side-by-side with Keshi’s when he applied for the SE job 12 years ago?
Keshi had his major flaws, but he was a pioneer. Probably one of the first to leave Naija and play outside our shores in CIV. Then on to France.
Very much like the English, our sit-at-home coaches are not even being courted by the so-called ‘minnows’ of African football. Not their nations, not their clubs.

Allow the WOWOORs to have fun pointing at imaginary WOWOs left and right. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
BUT Amuneke left Nigeria to coach Tanzania and qualified them for AFCON after many years in the wilderness.
Secondly, the other African Countries (including the minnows) are likely not different from the WOWOs of Nigeria.

Even coaches from Egypt are not sought after. It is obvious it is not only about what they can do.
So you are not embarrassed that Amuneke is just about the only one in a footballing country of 200m?
Is that an achievement?
Do you agree or do you not agree that we are seriously underachieving in coaching in Nigeria?
Excuses will get us nowhere.

You are guilty of the very same thing you accuse the NFF of - poor vision.
If you weren’t you wouldn’t be loudly silent on our pathetic coaching pedigree, sotay we - A WHOLE NIGERIA - is having to settle for one local boy who’s CV explains why he’s been out of work for 3 years + and who has nothing more to boast of recently than qualifying a country for AFCON in which they ended up dead last.

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.
:oops: :oops: :oops: :oops:

Call a spade a spade and we will know we are all on the path to salvation. :rotf:

Our NFF isn't a serious organisation prepared for the 21st century. Still lacking in basic organisation and direction and prone to drift with the tide.

They keep playing these political cloak and dagger games and while they do so , endangering our competition chances.

No vision. No plan. Anywhere bele face management.

Little wonder we have been in downward decline. There is now no time to assess Amunike properly ahead of qualifiers. Is this a risk worth taking at this point in time.

This appointment is another of those poisoned chalices. An afterthoight. Amunike, please watch your back. The vultures are never too far away in this energy sapping void that is Nigerian football.

cchinukw wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 3:19 pm Our NFF isn't a serious organisation prepared for the 21st century. Still lacking in basic organisation and direction and prone to drift with the tide.

They keep playing these political cloak and dagger games and while they do so , endangering our competition chances.

No vision. No plan. Anywhere bele face management.

Little wonder we have been in downward decline. There is now no time to assess Amunike properly ahead of qualifiers. Is this a risk worth taking at this point in time.

This appointment is another of those poisoned chalices. An afterthoight. Amunike, please watch your back. The vultures are never too far away in this energy sapping void that is Nigerian football.
Exactly.
The unspoken reality is that amongst those vultures are millions of Nigerian fans that will turn on him the moment he makes his first mistakes - as he inevitably and understandably will - and then clean mouth like dem no dey there.

Eguavoen and Finidi never recover finish, dem don line up Amuneke.

Damunk wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 3:16 pm

Uhm, who remain?

So you are not embarrassed that Amuneke is just about the only one in a footballing country of 200m?
Is that an achievement?
Do you agree or do you not agree that we are seriously underachieving in coaching in Nigeria?

If you weren’t you wouldn’t be loudly silent on our pathetic coaching pedigree, sotay we - A WHOLE NIGERIA - is having to settle for one local boy who’s CV explains why he’s been out of work for 3 years + and who has nothing more to boast of recently than qualifying a country for AFCON in which they ended up dead last.

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

Call a spade a spade and we will know we are all on the path to salvation. :rotf:
We are not underachieving when it comes to local managers

If we had to go for a local coach, it should have been Finidi. How is Amunike going to work on the team for the game against SA in under 4 days? He hasn’t seen most of them close up in over 2 years, some he hasn’t even met.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Uhm, who remain?

Is that an achievement?

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

Yeah, it is all in our mind? Right? We are just making excuses? Right?

Maybe you will believe it if say, The Washington Post, A US-based news organization wrote an article about it.
Maybe them too are just making excuses?

"How English soccer sidelines Black coaches...England’s iconic soccer leagues are powered by Black talent. But when it comes to coaching, former players say they face the same discrimination they did on the pitch."https://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/2 ... diversity/

Congratulations coachie, we move!

Uhm, who remain?

Is that an achievement?

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

How are we underachieving when we don't give them an opportunity.

Guess all the black coaches worldwide are LAZY hence why they are not represented in the various leagues all over the world.

As for Amuneke, Tanzania has qualified for AFCON twice in their history. The first time was in 1980 when Nigeria hosted the tournament. The second time was when Amuneke was their coach. 39 years after the 1980 experience. For a lot of Tanzanians, 2019 was the first time they are seeing their country participating in the tournament. A great achievement after 39 years of trying. If this was achieved by an 'Oyinbo' man I can imagine the spin that will be put around it.

Cellular wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:07 pm

Uhm, who remain?

Is that an achievement?

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

Maybe you will believe it if say, The Washington Post, A US-based news organization wrote an article about it.

"How English soccer sidelines Black coaches...England’s iconic soccer leagues are powered by Black talent. But when it comes to coaching, former players say they face the same discrimination they did on the pitch."https://www.washingtonpost.com/sports/2 ... diversity/
Did not even see your post! :thumbs:

Uhm, who remain?

Is that an achievement?

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

Are you guys in America being cross infected by the MAGA bug?
What has ‘English’ soccer got to do with Nigerian and African football on the continent?

How come you are seeing ‘English’ instead of ‘Nigerian’, and ‘England’ instead of ‘Africa’.

Or are you wearing distortion lenses because I don’t get how I keep wiriting NPFL/ AFRICA and you WOWOOR people keep seeing EPL/ England.

To use Bigporkey’s famous line: “Focus! Focus!”

Damunk wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:19 pm

What has ‘English’ soccer got to do with Nigerian and African football on the continent?

How come you are seeing ‘English’ instead of ‘Nigerian’, and ‘England’ instead of ‘Africa’.

Or are you wearing distortion lenses because I don’t get how I keep wiriting NPFL/ AFRICA and you WOWOOR people keep seeing EPL/ England.

Did you bother to read the article? It is not about just soccer. In the US, they have a color problem when it comes to hiring black coaches. The only league that doesn't have the problem is the NBA.

You talked about Amuneke not putting himself about to get jobs. Where are the jobs?
We are telling you as collaborated by multiple credible sources that opportunities for black coaches are few. That there's discrimination. But you seem to believe that it is our perception and not the reality. Naijaria should always lead the way... we have enough qualified people to still be part of the bias narrative when it comes to hiring football managers. Sorry, if you refuse to get it.

If the news is true. I will support him. He is about to take on a difficult job. I have noticed the pattern in the hiring of local coaches.

Cellular wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:28 pm

Did you bother to read the article? It is not about just soccer. In the US, they have a color problem when it comes to hiring black coaches. The only league that doesn't have the problem is the NBA.

You talked about Amuneke not putting himself about to get jobs. Where are the jobs?
We are telling you as collaborated by multiple credible sources that opportunities for black coaches are few. That there's discrimination. But you seem to believe that it is our perception and not the reality. Naijaria should always lead the way... we have enough qualified people to still be part of the bias narrative when it comes to hiring football managers. Sorry, if you refuse to get it.
Did you need to read the article before you knew there’s discrimination against black football and sports coaches here in the UK, across Europe, and the USA.?
You did? Then welcome to the club, as belated as it is.

We are talking about within Nigeria and Africa. Clubs and not just national teams.
Olamide Ajibolade who you know and admire refers.
He and many new generation coaches like him are doing today what hundreds of our local coaches should have been doing 20 years ago. They are working their way up despite the decrepit system and are asking for no favours.

That’s why we are where we are today - nobody wants to do the hard work.
Amuneke is now the last man standing.
After him, nuttin for us until they are ready.

You can choose to live in denial and give excuses all you like.
Shebi na only una understand meritocracy. :rotf:

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Talk about comedy! These are the teams he has coached:

Reocín (youth)
2008 Al Hazm (assistant)
2008–2009 Julius Berger
2009–2011 Ocean Boys
2014–2017 Nigeria U17
2017–2018 Al Khartoum
2018–2019 Tanzania
2020 Misr Lel Makkasa
2021–2022 Nigeria (assistant)
2022 Zanaco
2022–2023 Zanaco (consultant)

This is what he has won:

FIFA U-17 World Cup: 2015

-------------

Look at his CV above. This is who we hired??!! :lol: :lol: Cant keep a job long enough, coached sh1t teams up and down, and was humiliated at AFCON and joined Eguavoen (his friend who has hired him now) to humiliate us out of a WC place.

Gotta give it to him though. He has spent years standing outside the NFF office waiting for "handout" and I guess they have handed it out to him. :lol: :lol: :lol:

An embarrassing person and an embarrassing situation. :oops:

Damunk wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:52 pm
Cellular wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:28 pm

Did you need to read the article before you knew there’s discrimination against black football and sports coaches here in the UK, across Europe, and the USA.?
You did? Then welcome to the club, as belated as it is.

We are talking about within Nigeria and Africa. Clubs and not just national teams.
Olamide Ajibolade who you know and admire refers.
He and many new generation coaches like him are doing today what hundreds of our local coaches should have been doing 20 years ago. They are working their way up despite the decrepit system and are asking for no favours.

That’s why we are where we are today - nobody wants to do the hard work.
Amuneke is now the last man standing.
After him, nuttin for us until they are ready.

You can choose to live in denial and give excuses all you like.
Shebi na only una understand meritocracy. :rotf:

I suspect you know these things but consciously ignore them for the sake of argument. Let me ask you: in Nigeria, how many times does a state hire non-indigenes? If you know the answer then you know why Nigerian coaches are rarely hired outside Nigeria. You should know that the non-indigene bug does not exist only in Nigeria, it exists everywhere, Africa!

The world obviously is getting better but ever so slowly. As a historian of English football, do you think there were no good Black footballers before Viv Anderson made history with Arsenal? These barriers take time and they only come down gradually and with pressure. Not is handed to you without a fight. This is similar with pressure on current hiring practices in European football circles. They will collapse eventually but it takes pressure and it is gradual.

The current Black managers toiling as assistants at the top of leagues or as coaches at the lower ends will face obstacles but their efforts will likely help someone down the road in 2050. Bet on it. It is persistence that will help.

Never assime that all is currently Nirvana. It is not. You know it! Racism is FAR FROM OVER. The battle is still way ahead.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Uhm, who remain?

Is that an achievement?

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

...we are under achieving in every department in Nigeria, from the president to governors to gutter cleaner you name them.

wanaj0 wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:13 pm

Uhm, who remain?

Is that an achievement?

Brilliant! Oya, deny it.

How are we underachieving when we don't give them an opportunity.

Guess all the black coaches worldwide are LAZY hence why they are not represented in the various leagues all over the world.

As for Amuneke, Tanzania has qualified for AFCON twice in their history. The first time was in 1980 when Nigeria hosted the tournament. The second time was when Amuneke was their coach. 39 years after the 1980 experience. For a lot of Tanzanians, 2019 was the first time they are seeing their country participating in the tournament. A great achievement after 39 years of trying. If this was achieved by an 'Oyinbo' man I can imagine the spin that will be put around it.
Tanzania just qualified for AFCON again.

They got 2 points instead of the ZERO AND DEAD LAST UNDER AMUNIKE.

danfo driver wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 4:57 pm :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Talk about comedy! These are the teams he has coached:

Reocín (youth)
2008 Al Hazm (assistant)
2008–2009 Julius Berger
2009–2011 Ocean Boys
2014–2017 Nigeria U17
2017–2018 Al Khartoum
2018–2019 Tanzania
2020 Misr Lel Makkasa
2021–2022 Nigeria (assistant)
2022 Zanaco
2022–2023 Zanaco (consultant)

This is what he has won:

FIFA U-17 World Cup: 2015

-------------

Look at his CV above. This is who we hired??!! :lol: :lol: Cant keep a job long enough, coached sh1t teams up and down, and was humiliated at AFCON and joined Eguavoen (his friend who has hired him now) to humiliate us out of a WC place.

Gotta give it to him though. He has spent years standing outside the NFF office waiting for "handout" and I guess they have handed it out to him. :lol: :lol: :lol:

An embarrassing person and an embarrassing situation. :oops:
You missed out the last head coach job he had with the NFF, coaching our Under 20s. Most people have probably forgotten that he failed to qualify for the U20s African Championship in 2016, losing at home to Sudan in our last qualifier. He blamed the loss on “mother luck”.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."