Siasia interview

Re: Siasia interview

danfo driver wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 3:32 pm
waka-man wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:55 pm Most talented Nigerian coach ever with the possible exception of Big Boss. The money stuff messed him up big time.

He has coached:

Nigeria U-20
Nigeria U-23
Nigeria
Durgapur FC
Heartland FC (?)
Nigeria
Nigeria U-23

How many trophies has he won?
He won AFCON at both U20 & U23 levels (2005 & 2015) Add that to 2005 U20 World Cup silver, then Silver (2008) & Bronze (2016) at the Olympics. In terms of trophies one of our most successful coaches ever.

Adisboy wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 5:49 pm
waka-man wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2024 10:55 pm Most talented Nigerian coach ever with the possible exception of Big Boss. The money stuff messed him up big time.

He has coached:

Nigeria U-20
Nigeria U-23
Nigeria
Durgapur FC
Heartland FC (?)
Nigeria
Nigeria U-23

He won AFCON at both U20 & U23 levels (2005 & 2015) Add that to 2005 U20 World Cup silver, then Silver (2008) & Bronze (2016) at the Olympics. In terms of trophies one of our most successful coaches ever.
Successful ‘youth’ coaches you mean?

maceo4 wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:31 pm

He has coached:

Nigeria U-20
Nigeria U-23
Nigeria
Durgapur FC
Heartland FC (?)
Nigeria
Nigeria U-23

Let's be honest, U23 is not a "youth" team. To be fair Siasia has never had the chance of building a team at senior level he has always come on as interim when things have gone bad. All the teams he has built have been successful at their levels.

I watch some of these interviews and sometimes I feel like supporting the organizational set up that we call the Super Eagles is immoral. We can say we’re supporting our country and all but the truth is that the corrupt set up of the ministry/NFF uses our support to commit all sorts of evils against coaches and players that never come to light.

It’s an abusive relationship that the NFF/Ministry has with coaches/players. Downright abusive

Adisboy wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:54 pm

He has coached:

Nigeria U-20
Nigeria U-23
Nigeria
Durgapur FC
Heartland FC (?)
Nigeria
Nigeria U-23

Let's be honest, U23 is not a "youth" team. To be fair Siasia has never had the chance of building a team at senior level he has always come on as interim when things have gone bad. All the teams he has built have been successful at their levels.
It’s a youth team, think about it how many of our SE at the last AFCON we’re U-23…his stints coaching senior players is rather poor…

He won AFCON at both U20 & U23 levels (2005 & 2015)
Thanks for this. So he has won 2 youth team trophies in his entire career and he is the most talented Nigerian coach ever? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Add that to 2005 U20 World Cup silver, then Silver (2008) & Bronze (2016) at the Olympics.
Silver and bronze are not trophies. this is just embarassing. :oops:
In terms of trophies one of our most successful coaches ever.
You are sure? With 2 youth team trophies? If that is true, then that thread which spoke about Nigerians being sh1t at coaching must be true. :oops:

Adisboy wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 6:54 pm

He has coached:

Nigeria U-20
Nigeria U-23
Nigeria
Durgapur FC
Heartland FC (?)
Nigeria
Nigeria U-23

Whats stopping him? there are thousands of senior jobs in the world, why has he "never had a chance of building a team at senior level?" Why is no one hiring him since he is the most talented and successful Nigerian coach of all time?

deanotito wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 7:13 pm I watch some of these interviews and sometimes I feel like supporting the organizational set up that we call the Super Eagles is immoral. We can say we’re supporting our country and all but the truth is that the corrupt set up of the ministry/NFF uses our support to commit all sorts of evils against coaches and players that never come to light.

It’s an abusive relationship that the NFF/Ministry has with coaches/players. Downright abusive
The covert dealings in the way we do things generally is quite pervasive in our football.
In an endeavor based on competition, I don't see how transparency can be ignored. It's
the absence of that which is causing all the confusion facing our football.
Imagine the search to finding a coach for the SE, with no concrete information coming
from the NFF about who are responsible for the search, and which candidates are true
contenders. Instead, all we have on the issue are rumors from all types of sources.

It seems our NFF is being run on hope and luck. I like to see how those help qualify our SE for WC 2026.

joao wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 3:10 am
deanotito wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 7:13 pm I watch some of these interviews and sometimes I feel like supporting the organizational set up that we call the Super Eagles is immoral. We can say we’re supporting our country and all but the truth is that the corrupt set up of the ministry/NFF uses our support to commit all sorts of evils against coaches and players that never come to light.

The covert dealings in the way we do things generally is quite pervasive in our football.
In an endeavor based on competition, I don't see how transparency can be ignored. It's
the absence of that which is causing all the confusion facing our football.
Imagine the search to finding a coach for the SE, with no concrete information coming
from the NFF about who are responsible for the search, and which candidates are true
contenders. Instead, all we have on the issue are rumors from all types of sources.

It seems our NFF is being run on hope and luck. I like to see how those help qualify our SE for WC 2026.
But it’s not “hope and luck”. That would be tolerable. It’s deliberate theft and corruption. They put these players and coaches through hell and nobody knows. All we do is just support

danfo driver wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 12:49 am
Thanks for this. So he has won 2 youth team trophies in his entire career and he is the most talented Nigerian coach ever? :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Add that to 2005 U20 World Cup silver, then Silver (2008) & Bronze (2016) at the Olympics.
You are sure? With 2 youth team trophies? If that is true, then that thread which spoke about Nigerians being sh1t at coaching must be true. :oops:
The Unspeakable Truth is that Nigeria has massively underachieved in the coaching department. Massively.
Look at our shortlist of possible Nigerian heirs to the SE job.
It’s actually pathetically poor for a so-called ‘footballing nation’ of 200m people.

Even if we were to expand that local shortlist to 10, it would still be embarrassingly poor. In fact even worse.
Amuneke is now the best we have on offer. No disrespect to a true player legend, his CV is no better than ‘journeymanish’.
That’s being very charitable and very loyal to a fellow Nigerian. If his name was ‘Emmanuelle Amentekele’ or something, he wouldn’t even make the shortlist. Never.

It’s either people are in total denial, or really don’t see what any neutral would see.
We don’t have coaches!
H E L P !!!

Calling Oloye, Txj et al: The Nigerian Coaching ‘Situation’
Aug 10, 2019.

He has coached:

Nigeria U-20
Nigeria U-23
Nigeria
Durgapur FC
Heartland FC (?)
Nigeria
Nigeria U-23

That may be true, but it is all relative and doesn’t say much tbh.
We are not asking much, just evidence that a Nigerian coach is the real deal.

We don’t even have a ‘local’ SAF, Guardiola or someone who has been a winner almost everywhere he has coached in the NPFL.
At least something.
Or a coach that has won a short string of trophies/titles with the same team.
Anything.

Wey dem?
So you see how shallow our coaching ‘depth’ chart really is?
And everyone is okay with that? :oops:

Damunk wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 7:38 am
danfo driver wrote: Sun Apr 21, 2024 12:49 am
The Unspeakable Truth is that Nigeria has massively underachieved in the coaching department. Massively.
Look at our shortlist of possible Nigerian heirs to the SE job.
It’s actually pathetically poor for a so-called ‘footballing nation’ of 200m people.

Even if we were to expand that local shortlist to 10, it would still be embarrassingly poor. In fact even worse.
Amuneke is now the best we have on offer. No disrespect to a true player legend, his CV is no better than ‘journeymanish’.
That’s being very charitable and very loyal to a fellow Nigerian. If his name was ‘Emmanuelle Amentekele’ or something, he wouldn’t even make the shortlist. Never.

It’s either people are in total denial, or really don’t see what any neutral would see.
We don’t have coaches!
H E L P !!!

Calling Oloye, Txj et al: The Nigerian Coaching ‘Situation’
Aug 10, 2019.
What I stated (above highlighted) is not disputable in terms of our Local coaches. This is unfortunately where we are. We are not a serious football nation. We expect success without putting in the work & structure. We are not developing our coaches. We play continental tournaments every year with our "best" NPFL coaches but the results are constantly woefull. We are yet to produce another coach like Amodu in the last 30 years that won a continental tournament then got to the finals of two others. We are just recycling faliures like Eguma, Bosso, Salisu, Boboye etc. Amuneke, Keshi, Siasia, Oliseh, Finidi ete, we all developed abroad and we have virtually run through them. Also their development was self motivated not through some Nigerian structure or support system. This is why we have an extremely small pool of competent local coaches to choose from, with virtually skeletal track records.

He is right though, Local coaches tend to get hired for rescue opportunities. Not given a chance to build a team.

Enugu II wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 1:29 am
ohenhen1 wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2024 9:40 pm
Ohenhen1,

Quite a lot to unpack with this lengthy post of an interview with Siasia but it is WORTH IT. There are so many nuggets. I feel that there were many softball moments especially the question pertaining to the scenario when he was charged by FIFA for negotiating with match fixers. He hit some real points there and points that I have shared myself on this topic. However, he did sanitize moments on the issue.

-- Beyond that, he really is quite direct on many matters and those may not endear him to several guys like Mikel Obi, particularly.
-- He notes, quite importantly, how hiring of local managers is often done last moments and yet the failure of those teams are hung around the neck of those managers. I recall pointing out in addition, the disparate wages paid to managers based on whether they are foreign or not. He reiterates that fact here.
-- He notes that he is still having legal struggles with the lawyer who represented him on the FIFA case because of his (Siasia) inability to pay up the attorney's claims and his view that they are excessive.
-- He notes that he still has a case with FIFA in Atlanta and that a date is fixed for the case in Atlanta which will focus on his claims for compensation from FIFA pertaining to the case.
-- He mentions Chinedu Ogbuke as the most gifted player he has coached. 8-) Dat one surprised me but the reality is that he has been with those players up close.
-- Then he cites the story about Sanni Kaita's stellar work at the Olympics.
-- Then the rubbish attitude of Haruna Lookman. We always suspected the same.

There are much more but it is full of some real good nuggets on the past.

He sure did. He claims he has a hearing in Manhattan in January for what FIFA "did to him". Can't wait to see the details of this one as nothing has changed from the first case he had against them that was dismissed. His lawyer is milking him dry.

metalalloy wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 10:12 pm
Ohenhen1,

Quite a lot to unpack with this lengthy post of an interview with Siasia but it is WORTH IT. There are so many nuggets. I feel that there were many softball moments especially the question pertaining to the scenario when he was charged by FIFA for negotiating with match fixers. He hit some real points there and points that I have shared myself on this topic. However, he did sanitize moments on the issue.

-- Beyond that, he really is quite direct on many matters and those may not endear him to several guys like Mikel Obi, particularly.
-- He notes, quite importantly, how hiring of local managers is often done last moments and yet the failure of those teams are hung around the neck of those managers. I recall pointing out in addition, the disparate wages paid to managers based on whether they are foreign or not. He reiterates that fact here.
-- He notes that he is still having legal struggles with the lawyer who represented him on the FIFA case because of his (Siasia) inability to pay up the attorney's claims and his view that they are excessive.
-- He notes that he still has a case with FIFA in Atlanta and that a date is fixed for the case in Atlanta which will focus on his claims for compensation from FIFA pertaining to the case.
-- He mentions Chinedu Ogbuke as the most gifted player he has coached. 8-) Dat one surprised me but the reality is that he has been with those players up close.

He sure did. He claims he has a hearing in Manhattan in January for what FIFA "did to him". Can't wait to see the details of this one as nothing has changed from the first case he had against them that was dismissed. His lawyer is milking him dry.
Metalalloy,

The Manhattan case is different. I do not know whether it will be successful but it is definitely different. Jurisdiction might be an issue, for one. However, this case is about FIFA needing to pay him compensation based on an argument that his case was wrongly decided and it led to extensive suffering, loss of income, and otherwise.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Enugu II wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:14 am
Ohenhen1,

Metalalloy,

The Manhattan case is different. I do not know whether it will be successful but it is definitely different. Jurisdiction might be an issue, for one. However, this case is about FIFA needing to pay him compensation based on an argument that his case was wrongly decided and it led to extensive suffering, loss of income, and otherwise.
Therein lies the rub. Nothing has changed to make FIFA subject to the jurisdiction of ny courts. And good luck to him arguing that his case was "wrongly decided." His punishment was reduced from a lifetime ban to a 5 year ban (BY CAS and not FIFA as he claims) because he was allegedly a first time offender. That reduction says nothing about his innocence as he spins it here to clueless edafe and emma.

Enugu II wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:52 am
Siddonlook11 wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:03 am Chinedu Ogbuke hmmm now that was a player - If only Injuries let am shine :( :(
Apparently, Siasia ranks the guy very high. I just don't see it ooo. All I will state is that he was a good player but am not with Siasia's view of the guy.
Yeah that was surprising. I think Ogbuke's ceiling was like to become a player like Obafemi Martins. Decent sorta player who could play for big clubs for some time, but nothing transformational

metalalloy wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:27 am
Enugu II wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:14 am
Ohenhen1,

Metalalloy,

Therein lies the rub. Nothing has changed to make FIFA subject to the jurisdiction of ny courts. And good luck to him arguing that his case was "wrongly decided." His punishment was reduced from a lifetime ban to a 5 year ban (BY CAS and not FIFA as he claims) because he was allegedly a first time offender. That reduction says nothing about his innocence as he spins it here to clueless edafe and emma.
Yes, I also thought his explanation had K-leg and I went on the CAS website to see if there was any information on the case (didn't have the patience to look through their bulletins though). The truth is, in my experience, organizations like FIFA don't just railroad people based on the little evidence Siasia claimed they had. And if they did, CAS would reverse it - as they have been known to do. So how can someone email you about helping you get a job and they ban you for life??? I mean, FIFA would be in deep crisis if that was how they dealt with issues. Not 6 months ban....Life....Because an alleged match-fixer simply offered to help you get a job??

deanotito wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:43 am

Yes, I also thought his explanation had K-leg and I went on the CAS website to see if there was any information on the case (didn't have the patience to look through their bulletins though). The truth is, in my experience, organizations like FIFA don't just railroad people based on the little evidence Siasia claimed they had. And if they did, CAS would reverse it - as they have been known to do. So how can someone email you about helping you get a job and they ban you for life??? I mean, FIFA would be in deep crisis if that was how they dealt with issues. Not 6 months ban....Life....Because an alleged match-fixer simply offered to help you get a job??
:D Guy, don't mind Siasia. He knows the audience he was playing to. You can read this thread for specific details of the mess he got himself involved in.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=316693&p=5969711&hi ... a#p5969711

metalalloy wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 2:10 am
deanotito wrote: Tue Apr 23, 2024 1:43 am

:D Guy, don't mind Siasia. He knows the audience he was playing to. You can read this thread for specific details of the mess he got himself involved in.

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=316693&p=5969711&hi ... a#p5969711
Thanks. I've read your post and it makes sense. To be honest, very few public interest issues have made me sadder than the day I first heard this news. So I do hate talking about it as I feel for Siasia, his livelihood and his family. In general, all many of these ex internationals have to feed themselves post-career is coaching. To see that taken from him in that manner was pretty sad.

But like I said, and as you've shown with some detail, in general, organizations like FIFA are not in the business of destroying somebody's life based on the little evidence Siasia claims they have. If that was their M.O, they'd be mired in so much legal drama, that it'd be difficult for them to do anything else. And then CAS would have to sit idly by and watch FIFA do it....Then what purpose does CAS have?

I sure hope he's not paying this American lawyer to sue FIFA sha. Cause if the facts as stated in your post are true, the case ain't going nowhere.

He does make some good points. How can you go from life time ban to 5 years without shearing. He is going to sue for damages. He has a good case if FIFA didn't properly inform him.

ohenhen1 wrote: Sat Apr 20, 2024 2:33 pm Didn't Obasi miss the U20 final due to injury. ?

He was good when he was healthy. A good player that the coach admired highly. Every one has their favorites.
He missed the Olympic final