WHO WILL RESCUE Nigeria from the World Cup ABYSS that a foreign Manager put us?.........

The fact is that as the NFF continues to politik and all manner of influencers are using the media, state officials, and all tactics to push forward their candidate -- both local and foreign --Nigeria remains tattered on third in its World Cup group. See the table placed below. It was achieved under a foreign manager. It is a position that Nigeria has earned under the managership of foreign coach -- Jose Peseiro of Portugal. Let us not forget that FACT. Two points were lost in a home game under his managership. So it is INCREDIBLE for some to argue that the reason a local manager should not be hired is that the local cannot ensure Nigeria's qualification to a World Cup. A local Manager cannnot assure qualification but a foreign manager cannot do so as well.

Yet, years ago, we were in similar predicament under the managership of Johaness Bonfrere and it was worse. Nigeria had little margin of error when the NFF eventually summoned courage to fire Johnaess Bonfrere. Shuaibu Amodu, a local, was hired. The rest is history. Amodu ran the table and Nigeria qualified for the World Cup. History may repeat itself yet again.

I have posted this here to inform everyone that not all of us is bereft of history. So when the ignorant argues that no local Manager can qualify Nigeria for the World Cup, we know better. It already happened? The question is: can it happen again? We watch........
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Re: WHO WILL RESCUE Nigeria from the World Cup ABYSS that a foreign Manager put us?.........

Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 1:49 am The fact is that as the NFF continues to politik and all manner of influencers are using the media, state officials, and all tactics to push forward their candidate -- both local and foreign --Nigeria remains tattered on third in its World Cup group. See the table placed below. It was achieved under a foreign manager. It is a position that Nigeria has earned under the managership of foreign coach -- Jose Peseiro of Portugal. Let us not forget that FACT. Two points were lost in a home game under his managership. So it is INCREDIBLE for some to argue that the reason a local manager should not be hired is that the local cannot ensure Nigeria's qualification to a World Cup. A local Manager cannnot assure qualification but a foreign manager cannot do so as well.

Yet, years ago, we were in similar predicament under the managership of Johaness Bonfrere and it was worse. Nigeria had little margin of error when the NFF eventually summoned courage to fire Johnaess Bonfrere. Shuaibu Amodu, a local, was hired. The rest is history. Amodu ran the table and Nigeria qualified for the World Cup. History may repeat itself yet again.

I have posted this here to inform everyone that not all of us is bereft of history. So when the ignorant argues that no local Manager can qualify Nigeria for the World Cup, we know better. It already happened? The question is: can it happen again? We watch........
GOOD TO HAVE THIS ON RECORD

A foreign coach digs a hole for Nigerian and jumps ship. Playing against Zimbabwe and Lesotho, two of the remaining minnows in Africa, Nigeria had every right to expect six points. Instead they up with two. And it's all crickets by the foreign coach advocates. Imagine what they'd be saying if this had been under the leadership of a Nigerian coach. WHo needs a knowledge of substitutions when you'd end up with a tie. They are conveniently ignoring so (1) they can use it to disparage a Nigerian coach, or (3) use it as an excuse for a foreign.
Re: WHO WILL RESCUE Nigeria from the World Cup ABYSS that a foreign Manager put us?.........

You people are wasting your time. The likes of Dsmnunk. and co wont show up in this thread
The world class **** has one win five draws and four loses with Benin rep. Pasero tied Lesotho and Zimbabwe. I don't get some CE folks ranting and spamming... They want a white coach, that their NFF wont pay his salaries for months...smh

Stop wasting una times and just laugh

The new coach local or foreign has 8 out of 10 matches to overturn a 2 point deficit to Rwanda and a 1 goal deficit to South Africa.

There are no excuses. NONE. There is quite frankly, nothing to "rescue"

If they feel that is too insurmountable a task, then why on earth are they applying for the job ?

I see the local coach advocates ARE ALREADY MAKING EXCUSES in case their man who has been an utter failure as a national team coach in his previous stint FAILS AGAIN.

There are no excuses. 8 out of 10 matches remain. That is more matches than we played in the last 2 world cup qualifying campaigns.

If we fail to qualify it is on the new coach. At the very least 80% of the blame is.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:00 am The new coach local or foreign has 8 out of 10 matches to overturn a 2 point deficit to Rwanda and a 1 goal deficit to South Africa.

If they feel that is too insurmountable a task, then why on earth are they applying for the job ?

I see the local coach advocates ARE ALREADY MAKING EXCUSES in case their man who has been an utter failure as a national team coach in his previous stint FAILS AGAIN.

There are no excuses. 8 out of 10 matches remain. That is more matches than we played in the last 2 world cup qualifying campaigns.

If we fail to qualify it is on the new coach. At the very least 80% of the blame is.
Kpom! There’re still 24pts up for grabs. The new coach has no excuse whatsoever, he should show us that Nigerians are indeed very good coaches that only needed a chance. All 24pts are very winnable. Either one of Amunike or Finidi can lead the team to SA , Rwanda and Zim to collect our rightfull 3pts.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:00 am The new coach local or foreign has 8 out of 10 matches to overturn a 2 goal deficit to Rwanda and a 1 goal deficit to South Africa.

There are no excuses. NONE.

EIGHT MATCHES PLENTY, BUT WHY ERASE THE MARGIN OF ERROR

You can't afford to give points away so instead of cruising to qualification every match becomes more of a "must win". The ability of the coach is not the only factor to consider. What about, we forbid, injuries to multiple key players, referee action or loss of form? And if Peseiro can only bag draws against the concensus minnows, one of them a home match, what can we expect against the stronger teams?

AND WHY THE HECK DID THE FOREIGN COACH ADVOCATES NOT CALL FOR HIS HEAD ON A PLATTER? DID THEY THINK THEY WERE MEANINGLESS FRIENDLIES?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:23 am
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:00 am The new coach local or foreign has 8 out of 10 matches to overturn a 2 point deficit to Rwanda and a 1 goal deficit to South Africa.

Kpom! There’re still 24pts up for grabs. The new coach has no excuse whatsoever, he should show us that Nigerians are indeed very good coaches that only needed a chance. All 24pts are very winnable. Either one of Amunike or Finidi can lead the team to SA , Rwanda and Zim to collect our rightfull 3pts.
REALLY?

You realize that one of the matches was a home match, right? And having mismanaged, is that the end of foreign coaches?

Bell wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 2:38 am
Enugu II wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 1:49 am The fact is that as the NFF continues to politik and all manner of influencers are using the media, state officials, and all tactics to push forward their candidate -- both local and foreign --Nigeria remains tattered on third in its World Cup group. See the table placed below. It was achieved under a foreign manager. It is a position that Nigeria has earned under the managership of foreign coach -- Jose Peseiro of Portugal. Let us not forget that FACT. Two points were lost in a home game under his managership. So it is INCREDIBLE for some to argue that the reason a local manager should not be hired is that the local cannot ensure Nigeria's qualification to a World Cup. A local Manager cannnot assure qualification but a foreign manager cannot do so as well.

GOOD TO HAVE THIS ON RECORD

A foreign coach digs a hole for Nigerian and jumps ship. Playing against Zimbabwe and Lesotho, two of the remaining minnows in Africa, Nigeria had every right to expect six points. Instead they up with two. And it's all crickets by the foreign coach advocates. Imagine what they'd be saying if this had been under the leadership of a Nigerian coach. WHo needs a knowledge of substitutions when you'd end up with a tie. They are conveniently ignoring so (1) they can use it to disparage a Nigerian coach, or (3) use it as an excuse for a foreign.
Peseiro did not "jump ship"

The NFF tied him down to a foolish short sighted contract. When he easily met the terms of the contract laid out before him, he was in the superior position to re negotiate. Had the NFF simply offered him a more long term contract, we would not be in this position where we are scrambling.

As for 2 points from 2 matches, so what.

Are you that scared ? Do you have such little confidence in your man Amunike, that he cannot overturn a 2 point deficit to the almighty Rwanda over EIGHT MATCHES.

You seriously cannot have such a low opinion and low confidence in your highly acclaimed "local coach"

After all we've overturned losses to CAR and Guinea Bissau to still end up topping our group in the past, so please spare me the very lame excuses.

8 matches. Let me repeat. 8 matches. Down 2 point to Rwanda. Any coach who cannot overturn that given the talent we possess IS A PISS POOR COACH.

Bell wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:25 am
vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:00 am The new coach local or foreign has 8 out of 10 matches to overturn a 2 goal deficit to Rwanda and a 1 goal deficit to South Africa.

You can't afford to give points away so instead of cruising to qualification every match becomes more of a "must win". The ability of the coach is not the only factor to consider. What about, we forbid, injuries to multiple key players, referee action or loss of form? And if Peseiro can only bag draws against the concensus minnows, one of them a home match, what can we expect against the stronger teams?

AND WHY THE HECK DID THE FOREIGN COACH ADVOCATES NOT CALL FOR HIS HEAD ON A PLATTER? DID THEY THINK THEY WERE MEANINGLESS FRIENDLIES?
Stop your LAME a$$ excuses.

Rohr qualified us from a group of death and even dashed away 3 points for playing Shehu when he was ineligible.

Our new coach has EIGHT MATCHES. He even has plenty of room to make even more errors.

If he cannot qualify us he has no business being coach.

You guys are so lame and pathetic you are already .making excuses with EIGHT REMAINING MATCHES.

South Africa's road record is horrific by the way.

None of the teams in our group will get much on the road. It's not like we have really strong teams in our group. Nothing like what Rohr had to endure.

There is nothing stopping us from qualifying if we get our coaching appointment correct.

If we fail to qualify it will mean the NFF made the wrong move in handling the coaching situation.

Bell wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:27 am

REALLY?

You realize that one of the matches was a home match, right? And having mismanaged, is that the end of foreign coaches?
Why are you concerned about the past and not the future? 8 games left, we’re 2 pts out of 1st place with 24pts up for grab. Shouldn’t you be talking about how a local coach will swoop up the pts? All the new coach has to do is win the next 2 games and we’re likely top of the group. SA at home is beans, Benin at a neutral location is moin moin. What are u afraid of?

There is money to be made from hiring foreign coaches. That is the primary motivation. If one were to uncover the anonymous comments supporting the hiring of a foreign coach in Nigeria in 2024, one would realize that money is the sole motivator. Don’t be surprised if some of the proponents of a foreign coach have an account in CE and are trying to force us into their narrative. Some have valid reasons without any devious motivations.Regardless, I firmly believe that any serious country should not entrust the position of coach of the SE to a foreigner. I support any competent Nigerian to coach a Nigerian team. If he fails, we fire him and hire another Nigerian. Period! We must sink or swim with our own. How can a nation under the umbrella of Nigeria head to a competition with a foreigner as the leader? Doesn’t that shame anyone with any iota of self-respect?

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:47 am

REALLY?

Why are you concerned about the past and not the future? 8 games left, we’re 2 pts out of 1st place with 24pts up for grab. Shouldn’t you be talking about how a local coach will swoop up the pts? All the new coach has to do is win the next 2 games and we’re likely top of the group. SA at home is beans, Benin at a neutral location is moin moin. What are u afraid of?
KPOM.

But they are already making excuses for the failure they must see as a decent possibility.

These are not SE fans. They will sabotage SE and dreams of many just to satisfy their WOWOOR agenda.

highbury wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:51 am There is money to be made from hiring foreign coaches. That is the primary motivation. If one were to uncover the anonymous comments supporting the hiring of a foreign coach in Nigeria in 2024, one would realize that money is the sole motivator. Don’t be surprised if some of the proponents of a foreign coach have an account in CE and are trying to force us into their narrative. Some have valid reasons without any devious motivations.Regardless, I firmly believe that any serious country should not entrust the position of coach of the SE to a foreigner. I support any competent Nigerian to coach a Nigerian team. If he fails, we fire him and hire another Nigerian. Period! We must sink or swim with our own. How can a nation under the umbrella of Nigeria head to a competition with a foreigner as the leader? Doesn’t that shame anyone with any iota of self-respect?
What have we accomplished compared to the likes of Portugal and Belgium, who have foreign coaches.

Your talking points are foolish and outdated.

Even Brazil was trying to get a foreign coach.

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:33 am

Rohr qualified us from a group of death and even dashed away 3 points for playing Shehu when he was ineligible.

Our new coach has EIGHT MATCHES. He even has plenty of room to make even more errors.

You guys are so lame and pathetic you are already .making excuses with EIGHT REMAINING MATCHES.

SO YOU'RE SAYING IT'S OKAY TO WIPE OUT THE MARGIN OF ERROR?

I've said eight games are plenty to clean up the mess of another foreign coach (hello Johannes Bonfrere). But that's assuming everything goes well. Now the team cannot afford injuries, a flat turnout or coaching mistakes. Why not qualify ASAP and use the balance of matches for tuneups? Making excuses? Nope. Because its hasn't even been confirmed that the job is going to a Nigerian.

And I ask again, why were the foreign coach advocates not up in arms?
ahidjo2

Post by ahidjo2 »

You can imagine. 8 more games and 24pts and Nigeria can not overtake Rwanda with 2 pts and South Africa with 1 point? Is this a joke or what? Has there been anytime any team felt threatened by this kind of scenario? Even with one match left, the points deficit can still be overcome. The kind of things people post here. Bizarre! It's just like saying that a team in the premiership with two point gap and with 8 games to go has already won. Absolutely ridiculous stuff. Seems they are already lining up excuses should their preferred coach fumble?
Last edited by ahidjo2 on Mon Apr 22, 2024 4:00 am, edited 1 time in total.

Moving forward, I will always reject a foreign coach for my team. Always!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:47 am

REALLY?

THE PAST? QUALIFICATIONS ARE ONGOING, SIR

"All the coach has to do is win the next 2 games", right, something a vaunted foreign coach couldn't accomplish. What Paseiro has done is reduce if not eliminate the margin of error. So instead of qualifying early with the spare matches to use for experimenting with new players and tactics, and mastering the elementary principles of substitutions (ha ha), every future match will be tension-filled.

ahidjo2 wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:57 am

You can imagine. 8 more games and 24pts and Nigeria can not overtake Rwanda with 2 pts and South Africa with 1 point? Is this a joke or what? Has there been anytime any team felt threatened by this kind of scenario? Even with one match left, the points deficit can still be overcome. The kind of things people post here. Bizarre! It's just like saying that a team in the premiership with two point gap and with 8 games to go has already won. Absolutely ridiculous stuff. Seems they are already lining up excuses should their preferred coach fumble?
What they are doing is simple.

Making excuses because they know their guy is a fraud.

If you were so confident, no way will you behave in such a pathetic manner as this.

Can u imagine how low they are setting expectations ? It is downright pathetic.

I dont care if the coach is local or foreign, should the coach fail, he is a poor coach.

Bell wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:55 am

I've said eight games are plenty to clean up the mess of another foreign coach (hello Johannes Bonfrere). But that's assuming everything goes well. Now the team cannot afford injuries, a flat turnout or coaching mistakes. Why not qualify ASAP and use the balance of matches for tuneups? Making excuses? Nope. Because its hasn't even been confirmed that the job is going to a Nigerian.

Pesseiro had to deal with injuries, flat turnouts and coaching mistakes but he was expected to overcome them I’m 90mins. What are your expectations for Amuneke or any local coach hired?

IF THE RACE IS TIGHT, YOU NEED EVERY POINT

Nigeria can only control its matches. It cannot stop the team now at the top from winning. If the next coach (not confirmed yet he's Nigerian) drops points at the rate Paseiro did, you think Nigeria will qualify? Or are you assuming the next coach will do better than Paseiro?

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 4:06 am

What they are doing is simple.

Making excuses because they know their guy is a fraud.

If you were so confident, no way will you behave in such a pathetic manner as this.

Can u imagine how low they are setting expectations ? It is downright pathetic.

I dont care if the coach is local or foreign, should the coach fail, he is a poor coach.
Are you trying to convince us? 😂 😂 😂. Your opinion is already fossilized ( foreign coach lover). Theirs is already fossilized ( Nigerian coach lover). So go and sleep. You are not changing minds. No one is afraid to fail. Failure is part of life.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 4:08 am
Bell wrote: Mon Apr 22, 2024 3:55 am

Pesseiro had to deal with injuries, flat turnouts and coaching mistakes but he was expected to overcome them I’m 90mins. What are your expectations for Amuneke or any local coach hired?
"...he was expected to overcome them..."

Expecting him to overcome them and actually overcoming them are not the same thing. Injuries? Can you rule out injuries going forward? You take your points when you get them (every capable coach should know that) because no one knows the future.